DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the pending claims, 1-20, received 10 October 2024. Accordingly, the detailed action of claims 1-20 is as follows:
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/10/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9, 11, 13, 15-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang et al (US 20190074053 A1, hereafter referred to as Bang) in view of Parikh et al (US 20150006140 A1, hereafter Parikh).
Regarding claim 1, Bang teaches a storage processing unit comprising: a first interface circuit configured to connect to a host server (Bang [0034] teaches a host interface connecting a storage device host and supplying power to the storage device via the interface) and receiving power (Bang [0034] teaches the host interface supplies power to the storage device) and one or more control signals from the host server when the host server is operating normally (Bang [0032] teaches the host controls a data processing operation of the first storage device, wherein instructions and data are exchanged between the host and storage device via the host interface [0035]), the first interface circuit being in a first clock domain in the storage processing unit (Bang [0068] teaches clocks supplied to a clock domain when power is supplied from the host such that the storage device belongs to a clock domain and users power and a clock supplied for the domain [0066-0068]);
a second interface circuit configured to connect to a storage device (Bang [0045, 0171] teaches a memory including a plurality of memory channels, as logical devices [0048], which connect to the memory to control the transmission of instructions or data [0048, 0171]);
a processing system coupled to the first interface circuit and the second interface circuit (Bang [0042] teaches a plurality of processing cores which perform operations of the first storage device in the first storage device including operations correspond to a command transmitted from the host [0034]) and configured to provide the host server with storage services (Bang [0042] teaches performing operations corresponding to data processing commands transmitted by the host such that the processing cores exchange data and commands with the host via the host interface) for a plurality of storage volumes, the processing system being in a second clock domain of the storage processing unit (Bang [0060] teaches the first storage device belonging to a clock domain wherein the storage device operates in the lower power mode when the power is not supplied from the host resulting in a different clock being supplied with a low frequency corresponding to the low power [0068]);
a backup power unit coupled to provide power (Bang [0054-0055] teaches an additional power module to supply power when power supplied by the host is insufficient or disconnected from the storage device) to the second clock domain when the host server fails to provide power through the first interface circuit (Bang [0014] teaches a lower clock frequency than when the power is supplied from the host such that a different clock is supplied with a low frequency corresponding to the low power when power is not supplied from the host [0068]).
However, Bang does not explicitly teach the storage volumes as virtual storage volumes.
Parikh, in an analogous art, teaches the storage volumes as virtual storage volumes (Parikh [0029] teaches datastores as virtualized representations of storage facilities) such that Parikh teaches a processing system coupled to a first interface circuit and second interface circuit (Parikh [0029] teaches a managing module which manages operations the storage including access by host computers to the datastores of storage pods) and configured to provide the host server with storage services for a plurality of virtual storage volumes (Parikh [0029] teaches the hosts accessing the storage device comprised of datastore and pods).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bang in view of Parikh in order to configure the plurality of storage volumes, as taught by Bang, include a plurality of virtual storage volumes, as taught by Parikh.
KSR rationale, B simple substitution of one known element (storage volumes as taught by Bang) for another known element (virtual storage volumes as taught by Parikh) in order to yield predictable results (access to storage by the host computer) supports the conclusion of obviousness.
Regarding claim 2, Bang-Parikh teaches the limitations of claim 1, as rejected above.
Additionally, Bang teaches the storage processing unit wherein the second clock domain operates on the power from the backup power unit when the first interface circuit is not receiving power from the host server (Bang [0166-0167 and 0172-0173] teaches using a clock of a lower frequency when there is no power supplied from the host).
Regarding claim 3, Bang-Parikh teaches the limitations of claim 1, as rejected above.
Additionally, Bang teaches the storage processing unit wherein the backup power unit comprises a battery (Bang [0055]).
Regarding claim 4, Bang-Parikh teaches the limitations of claim 1, as rejected above.
Additionally, Bang teaches the storage processing unit further comprising a connector configured for installation of the storage processing unit as a resident with the host server (Bang [0038] teaches the storage device connects into a slot in peripheral interface).
Regarding claims 9 and 11, they do not teach or further limit over the limitations presented above with respect to claims 1 and 2.
Therefore, claims 9 and 11 are rejected for the same reasons set forth above regarding claims 1 and 2.
Regarding claims 13 and 15, they do not teach or further limit over the limitations presented above with respect to claims 9 and 11
Therefore, claims 13 and 15 are rejected for the same reasons set forth above regarding claims 9 and 11.
Regarding claim 16, Bang-Parikh teaches the limitations of claim 13, as rejected above.
Additionally, Bang teaches the method further comprising installing the storage processing unit as a resident with the host server through a connector (Bang [0038] teaches the storage device connects into a slot in peripheral interface).
Claims 7, 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang et al (US 20190074053 A1, hereafter referred to as Bang) in view of Parikh et al (US 20150006140 A1, hereafter Parikh) as applied above regarding claim 1, further in view of Kulshreshtha et al (US 10601683 B1, hereafter referred to as Kulshreshtha).
Regarding claim 7, Bang-Parikh teaches the limitations of claim 1, as rejected above.
Bang-Parikh, in an analogous art, teaches the storage processing unit wherein the first interface circuit is configured to interface with the host server via a Peripheral Component Interconnect Express (PCIe) bus (Bang [0038]).
However, Bang-Parikh does not explicitly teach the second interface circuit is configured to communicate with the storage device using Non-Volatile Memory Express (NVMe) or Serial Attached SCSI (SAS) protocols.
Kulshreshtha, in an analogous art, teaches the second interface circuit is configured to communicate with the storage device using Non-Volatile Memory Express (NVMe) or Serial Attached SCSI (SAS) protocols (Kulshreshtha [15:16-21] teaches the storage controller interfaces with the storage units via SAS).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bang-Parikh in view of Kulshreshtha in order to configure the second interface to communicate with the storage device, as taught by Bang-Parikh, communicate with NVMe or SAS protocols, as taught by Kulshreshtha.
KSR rationale, B simple substitution of one known element (protocol to communicate with the storage devices, as taught by Bang) for another known element (SAS protocol to communicate with the storage devices, as taught by Parikh) in order to yield predictable results (access to storage by the host computer through the protocol of the second interface circuit) supports the conclusion of obviousness.
Regarding claim 19, it does not teach or further limit over the limitations presented above with respect to claim 7.
Therefore, claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons set forth above regarding claim 7.
Claims 8, 10, 14, 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang et al (US 20190074053 A1, hereafter referred to as Bang) in view of Parikh et al (US 20150006140 A1, hereafter Parikh) as applied above regarding claim 1, further in view of Yu et al (US 20160070474 A1, hereafter referred to as Yu).
Regarding claim 8, Bang-Parikh teaches the limitations of claim 1, as rejected above.
However, Bang-Parikh does not explicitly teach the storage processing unit wherein the backup power unit is configured to activate a smart power management mode to selectively reduce power consumption by disabling non-essential functions of the SPU during extended power outages.
Yu, in an analogous art, teaches the storage processing unit wherein the backup power unit is configured to activate a smart power management mode to selectively reduce power consumption by disabling non-essential functions during extended power outages (Yu [0056] teaches, when preset, isolating unnecessary components so they do not receive backup power).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bang-Parikh in view of Yu in order to configure the SPU, as taught by Bang-Parikh, to have a configuration to selectively reduce power consumption by disabling non-essential functions during extended power outages, as taught by Yu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in order to extend the period of backup power for critical components (Yu [0056]).
Regarding claim 10, Bang-Parikh teaches the limitations of claim 9, as rejected above.
However, Bang-Parikh does not explicitly teach the processor wherein the one or more circuits are further to provide storage services using the backup power unit until the host server resumes normal operation or a safe shutdown is completed.
Yu, in an analogous art, teaches the processor wherein the one or more circuits are further to provide services using the backup power unit until the host server resumes normal operation or a safe shutdown is completed (Yu [0049] teaches using the battery or uninterruptible power supply to properly shut down).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bang-Parikh in view of Yu in order to configure the storage services using backup power, as taught by Bang-Parikh, to continue until a safe shutdown is completed, as taught by Yu.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated according to the reasons set forth above regarding Yu and claim 8.
Regarding claim 14, it does not teach or further limit over the limitations presented above with respect to claim 10.
Therefore, claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons set forth above regarding claim 10.
Regarding claim 20, it does not teach or further limit over the limitations presented above with respect to claim 8.
Therefore, claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons set forth above regarding claim 8.
Claim 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang et al (US 20190074053 A1, hereafter referred to as Bang) in view of Parikh et al (US 20150006140 A1, hereafter Parikh) as applied above regarding claim 1, further in view of Suljic et al (US 20210034128 A1, hereafter referred to as Suljic).
Regarding claim 18, Bang-Parikh teaches the limitations of claim 13, as rejected above.
Additionally, Bang-Parikh teaches the method further comprising: executing data services during a failure of the host server while the storage processing unit operates on backup power (Bang [0076] teaches operations performed in a lower power mode while power is disconnected from the host).
However, Bang-Parikh does not explicitly teach the data services including one or more of data deduplication, compression, and encryption.
Suljic, in an analogous art, teaches method further comprising: executing data services including one or more of data deduplication, compression, and encryption (Suljic [0034] teaches the memory controller is responsible for operations including encryption).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bang-Parikh in view of Suljic in order to configure the data services executed during failure of the host server while the storage processing unit operations on backup power, as taught by Bang-Parikh, include one or more of data deduplication, compression, and encryption, as taught by Suljic.
KSR rationale, B simple substitution of one known element (refresh data operational services, as taught by Bang) for another known element (encryption data operational services, as taught by Parikh) in order to yield predictable results (execution of data services from a host, by a storage processing unit on corresponding storage) supports the conclusion of obviousness.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “a first interface circuit configured to connect…..a second interface circuit configured to connect……a processing system…..configured to provide…..a connector configured for installation…..a processing system further configured to execute data services….a backup power unit configured to activate……” in claims 1, 4, 6-8.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 12 and 17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Flynn et al (CN 103262054 A);
Huang (US 20100226194 A1);
SHEAN TOKUTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2446
/SHEAN TOKUTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2419