DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 6,244,053 to Gulati et al. (Gulati).
In reference to claim 1, Gulati teaches a transfer system (FIG. 3-5) for transferring temperature sensitive fluids (col 1, lines 12-21) from a supply tank (41, FIG. 3-4) to a receiver tank (42, FIG. 3-4), wherein the supply tank (41, FIG. 3-4) and the receiver tank (42, FIG. 3-4) are fluidly connected by a piping arrangement (col 6, lines 10-23), said piping arrangement comprising at least two thermally insulated transfer lines (43 and 44, FIG. 3-4); and first and second piping assemblies (inherent in the structure of FIG. 3-4; said lines comprise couplings, valves and sealants) associated with the receiver and the supply tank (41, FIG. 3-4), respectively, wherein one end of each transfer line (43 and 44, FIG. 3-4) is connected with one of the supply (41, FIG. 3-4) and receiver tank and the other end of each transfer line is provided with a coupling (52, FIG. 3-4) for coupling the other end with the other one of the supply (41, FIG. 3-4) and receiver tank (42, FIG. 3-4), wherein the transfer system is selectively operable in a transfer mode (FIG. 3) and an idle mode (FIG. 4) by appropriately coupling and decoupling the first and second transfer lines (43 and 44, FIG. 3-4), wherein, in the transfer mode (FIG. 3), the first and the second transfer lines (42, FIG. 3-4) fluidly connect the supply tank (41, FIG. 3-4) with the receiver tank (42, FIG. 3-4), such that fluid flows through the first and second transfer lines (42, FIG. 3-4) and the first and second pipe assemblies, and in that, in the idle mode (FIG. 4), the first and second transfer lines (42, FIG. 3-4) form a closed loop enabling a continuous flow of fluid through the first and second transfer lines (42, FIG. 3-4), and in that the first and the second pipe assemblies are part of the closed loop enabling a continuous flow of fluid through the first and the second pipe assemblies (col 3, lines 22-53).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati over WO 2016/051768 to Unno et al. (Unno).
In reference to claim 2, Gulati teaches the transfer system according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the first pipe assembly conducts a liquid phase of the fluid, and the second pipe assembly conducts a gaseous phase of the fluid. Unno teaches a liquefied hydrogen transport system (FIG. 1-4) wherein the first pipe assembly conducts a liquid phase of the fluid, and the second pipe assembly conducts a gaseous phase of the fluid. Unno teaches a liquefied hydrogen transport system (FIG. 1) wherein the first pipe assembly conducts a liquid phase of the fluid (4, FIG. 1), and the second pipe assembly conducts a gaseous phase of the fluid (5, FIG. 1) in order to prevent the mixing and subsequently formation of a two-phase LNG which damages the equipment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gulati, to have the first pipe assembly conduct a liquid phase of the fluid and the second pipe assembly conduct a gaseous phase of the fluid, as taught by Unno, in order to prevent the mixing and subsequently formation of a two-phase LNG which damages the equipment.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See attached PTO-892 for relevant prior art.
/FILIP ZEC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
7/25/2026