DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maeda (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0290997).
Regarding claim 1, in Figure 10, Maeda discloses an interconnect substrate comprising: a first interconnect layer (41); an insulating layer (33) formed on the first interconnect layer and containing a filler (paragraphs [0036] and [0038]); a via hole (43) penetrating the insulating layer and reaching an upper surface of the first interconnect layer; and a second interconnect layer (44) filling the via hole and electrically connected to the first interconnect layer, the second interconnect layer extending from inside the via hole and along an upper surface of the insulating layer (via conductor 44 extends along a small portion of the upper surface of lower insulating layer 51), wherein the insulating layer includes a first insulating layer (51) covering the first interconnect layer and a second insulating layer (52) laminated on the first insulating layer, the second insulating layer is thinner than the first insulating layer (Figure 10), an amount of the filler contained in the second insulating layer is smaller than an amount of the filler contained in the first insulating layer (the grain diameter of the inorganic material in the lower insulating layer 51 is decreased, allowing the lower insulating layer 51 to contain an increased amount of the inorganic material, paragraphs [0008], [0054], [0059]), in cross-sectional view, an inner surface of the via hole is inclined relative to a direction perpendicular to the upper surface of the first interconnect layer (Figure 10), in the cross-sectional view, an angle of the inner surface of the via hole in the first insulating layer with respect to the upper surface of the first interconnect layer is larger than an angle of the inner surface of the via hole in the second insulating layer with respect to the upper surface of the first interconnect layer (Similar to Figure 1B of the claimed invention: the angle α [let’s call it α], is between the bottom side surface of via conductor 44 and top surface of conductor layer 41; the angle β [let’s call it β], is the angle between the inclined side surface of via conductor 44 that intersects at the upper surface of lower insulating layer 51 and the upper surface of lower insulating layer 51; α ˃ β).
Regarding claim 2, Maeda discloses wherein a thickness of the second insulating layer is 1 μm or more and 2 μm or less (paragraph [0014]).
Regarding claim 3, Maeda discloses wherein a roughness of an upper surface of the second insulating layer is 250 nm or more and 300 nm or less in terms of an arithmetic average roughness Ra (paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 4, Maeda discloses wherein an amount of the filler contained in the first insulating layer is 70 wt% or more (paragraph [0012]).
Regarding claim 5, Maeda discloses wherein in the cross-sectional view, the angle of the inner surface of the via hole in the first insulating layer with respect to the upper surface of the first interconnect layer is from 70 degrees to 90 degrees, and the angle of the inner surface of the via hole in the second insulating layer with respect to the upper surface of the first interconnect layer is from 30 degrees to 60 degrees (Figure 10).
Conclusion
TREMESHA W. BURNS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/TREMESHA W BURNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847