DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Creech et al. (US 2023/0304244) in view of “Why use Recycled Concrete/Crushed Concrete” by Superior Groundcover Incorporated {Hereinafter SG}.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Creech discloses an apparatus and method of providing a plurality of structural units for construction of eco-friendly structures in a body of water comprising: a) a primarily calcium carbonate material and b) a cement that is capable of holding the primarily calcium carbonate material in the form of a slab [Abstract; Paragraphs 26 & 27].
Creech fails to disclose breaking up the formed slabs of cement and calcium carbonate material into variable sizes.
Superior Groundcover teaches breaking up slabs of concrete into variable sizes to be recycled as rip-rap [whole document].
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Creech by adding the breaking up step as described by Superior Groundcover to breakdown the slab into various sizes such that it can be used in a number of different applications including along shorelines to control erosion or form a breakwater, making the material incredibly versatile.
Regarding claims 2, 3, 12 and 13, Creech further discloses the calcium carbonate material is aquatic shells [Paragraph 28].
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Creech further discloses the cement is a bio-cement [Abstract].
Regarding claims 5, Superior Groundcover further teaches the concrete slab is broken down into a plurality of units of various sizes [whole document].
Regarding claims 6-10 and 15-19, although the Creech-Superior Groundcover combination is silent as to the size and weight of the structural units, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art attempting to re-create the invention to utilize dimensions of 3 to 24 inches and .5 to 300 pounds based on a number of variables including the density/component mixture of the slab, and the anticipated wave loads that need to be mitigated. Subsequently, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claims 20, Creech further discloses and Superior Groundcover further teaches the structural units form a shoreline stabilization structure [Title and whole document respectively].
Regarding claim 21, Superior Groundcover further teaches the structural units form a revetment structure [whole document].
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Creech-Superior Groundcover as applied to claims 1-20 and 22 above, and further in view of Amari (US 6830411).
The Creech-Superior Groundcover combination is silent as to utilizing the structural units as an artificial reef structure.
Amari teaches using rip-rap [5] as part of an artificial reef structure [Figure 1].
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of the Creech-Superior Groundcover combination by applying it as an artificial reef structure as described by Amari to provide a natural barrier to storms, protect the shoreline from erosion, and create a habitat for aquatic life [Abstract].
Conclusion
KYLE ARMSTRONG, P.E.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3678
/KYLE ARMSTRONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619