DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgments
Claims 10 & 11 are canceled.
Claims 1-9, & 12-21 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9, & 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1: claims 1-9 are directed to a method and claims 12-21 are directed to a product; these fall within the statutory categories.
Step 2A, prong 1: claim 1, for example, recites the abstract idea of managing data/content exchange between clients and service providers:
receiving, […], search criteria;
receiving, [...], a provider object that meets the search criteria,
the provider object associated with a provider system of the one or more provider systems, the provider object comprising one or more fields associated with respective content item types;
populating, [...], a field of the provider object with a respective content item of content items for populating the one or more fields,
the content items received from a plurality of computing devices, including at least one computing device excluded from the computing-process flow,
the respective content item being of a same respective content item type associated with the field, to generate an altered provider object; and
providing, via the [...], the altered provider object to the client device.
These steps fall within “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” (managing relationships/interactions).
Additionally, the steps can be performed mentally or manually and do not require a particular machine.
Step 2A, prong 2: claims 1, 12, and 21 recite additional elements that fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claims 1, 12, and 21 recite generic computer components (e.g. intermediation server, client device, provider system and computer-readable storage medium storing instructions for implementing a computing-process flow).
These elements merely use a computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea; mere instructions to apply the abstract idea on a computer do not provide an inventive concept (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The additional elements are recited at a high level of generality and amount to generic data gathering, data analysis and processing, and managing the exchange of data content among one or more entities.
The specification (e.g., ¶ [0054]) indicates use of a general-purpose computer; generic computers performing generic functions do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Viewed individually and as an ordered combination, the additional elements do not provide a practical application: no improvement to computer functionality or another technology/technical field; no use of a particular machine; no transformation; and no meaningful limitations beyond linking the abstract idea to a technological environment (see MPEP §2106.04).
Step 2B: the claims fail to recite additional elements that amount to an inventive concept.
For the reasons stated in Step 2A, prong 2, claims 1, 12, and 21 merely apply the abstract idea using generic computer implementation managing data exchange between clients and service providers (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Individually and in combination, the additional elements do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea: no technological improvement; no computer-functionality improvement; no particular machine; no transformation; no specific limitations beyond conventional activity; no unconventional steps; and no other meaningful limitations (see MPEP 2106.05(a)-(h)).
Dependent claims (2-9 & 13-20) further describe the abstract idea and do not add elements that integrate it into a practical application or provide significantly more; they are also not patent-eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, & 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Texier et al. (US 20230206138 Al) (“Texier”) in view of Huang et al (US 20190155915 A1) (“Huang”).
As per claims 1, 12 & 21, Texier discloses:
implementing, via an intermediation server (intermediation server 108), a computing-process flow associated with a client device (client device 104) and one or more provider systems (provider system 102) ((¶ [0067], fig. 1 & related text);
receiving, via the intermediation server, from the client device, during implementation of the computing-process flow, search criteria (flight search criteria) (¶¶ [0060], [0091]);
receiving, via the intermediation server, during implementation of the computing-process flow, a provider object that meets the search criteria (provider systems 102 may return respective offers that meet the criteria) (¶¶ [0062]-[0063], [0066], [0091]),
the provider object associated with a provider system of the one or more provider systems, the provider object comprising one or more fields (data filed associated with data objects) associated with respective content item types (item attributes) (¶ [0059]);
populating, via the intermediation server, a field of the provider object with a respective content item of content items for populating the one or more fields, the content items received from a plurality of computing devices ((¶¶ [0071], [0097], [0117], [0122])- the intermediation server 108 generally controls operation of the computing- process flow 110 at the client device 104 by providing the predefined data description, which may be provided at a display screen associated with the client device 104, and which enables the client device 104 to populate data fields of the predefined data description, which are returned to the intermediation server 108 to order an associated service),
the respective content item being of a same respective content item type associated with the field, to generate an altered provider object (¶ [0071]- the client device 104 to populate data fields of the predefined data description); and
providing, via the intermediation server, during implementation of the computing-process flow, the altered provider object to the client device (¶¶ [0116], [0086], fig. 2-204 & related text).
Texier does not disclose the content items received from a plurality of computing devices including at least one computing device excluded from the computing-process flow.
Huang, however, discloses the content items received from a plurality of computing devices including at least one computing device excluded from the computing-process flow (¶¶ [0074], [0085], claim 3).
59. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Texier’ systems for managing content to incorporate a content filter (excluding unwanted content/providers), as disclosed by Huang, in order to improve the quality of search results corresponding to requested content, thereby enhancing the user’s experience.
As per claims 2 & 13, Texier discloses as shown above.
Texier further discloses replacing an existing content item in the field with the respective content item, the existing content item provided by the provider system, to override the existing content item (¶¶ [0116], [0122], [0116], [0070]- updating or modifying provider objects with new data descriptions, which may include replacing or overriding existing data.).
As per claims 3 & 14, Texier discloses as shown above.
Texier further discloses:
wherein the content items comprise a set of given content items of the same respective content item type associated with the field (¶¶ [0122], [0116], [0070]),
wherein the set of given content items includes the respective content item,
wherein the set of given content items are associated with respective priorities ( ¶¶[0115], [0133], Fig. 13: Describes scenarios where multiple predefined data descriptions may be available and the system selects among them, which may be interpreted as prioritization.),
wherein populating the field of the provider object with the respective content item comprises: selecting the respective content item, from the set of given content items, according to the respective priorities (¶¶ [0150], [0151]- While only one offer 814, 816 is depicted from each of the provider systems 102 for illustrative purposes, it is understood that a plurality of respective offers from the provider systems 102 may be provided as respectively received in the responses 808, 810.), and.
As per claims 4 & 15, Texier discloses as shown above.
Texier further discloses:
wherein the content items comprise a set of given content items of the same respective content item type associated with the field (¶¶ [0122], [0116], [0070]),
wherein the set of given content items includes the respective content item, wherein the field is associated with a respective priority (¶¶ [0115], [0133], [0169]) (e.g. data fields defined by predefined data description and are labeled as non-optional and/or mandatory and mapping content items to fields based on metadata),
wherein the set of given content items are associated with respective priorities, and wherein populating the field of the provider object with the respective content item comprises: selecting the respective content item, from the set of given content items, that has a same respective priority as the respective priority of the field (fig. 13; ¶ [0169], [0171]- GUI 1222 that includes fields 1304, 1306, 1306 (e.g. data fields) defined by the predefined data description 214-1. The header information of the predefined data description 214-1 is provided in a header of the GUI 1222. Furthermore, the fields 1304, 1306, 1308 respectively correspond to the lines of data ( e.g. (Location, String, True, "Pickup address") (Time, TimeHHMM, True, "Pickup time") (Addllnfo, String, False, "Additional info")) of the predefined data description 214-1, and are labelled with respective text from such lines. The fields 1304, 1306 are understood to be non-optional and/or mandatory to be filled in, as per the text "True" in the lines of data of the predefined data description 214-1, as indicated by an asterisk("*") adjacent the fields 1304, 1306)
As per claims 5 & 16, Texier discloses as shown above.
Texier further discloses wherein the provider object comprises a plurality of the one or more fields associated with the same respective content item type, the plurality of the one or more fields including the field, and wherein the method further comprises: populating, the plurality of the one or more fields with respective content item, including the respective content item, of the same respective content item type associated with the plurality of the one or more fields (fig. 13; ¶¶ [0058], [0059], [0115], [0133], Fig. 13 [0169], [0171]- GUI 1222 that includes fields 1304, 1306, 1306 (e.g. data fields) defined by the predefined data description 214-1. The header information of the predefined data description 214-1 is provided in a header of the GUI 1222. Furthermore, the fields 1304, 1306, 1308 respectively correspond to the lines of data ( e.g. (Location, String, True, "Pickup address") (Time, TimeHHMM, True, "Pickup time") (Addllnfo, String, False, "Additional info")) of the predefined data description 214-1, and are labelled with respective text from such lines. The fields 1304, 1306 are understood to be non-optional and/or mandatory to be filled in, as per the text "True" in the lines of data of the predefined data description 214-1, as indicated by an asterisk("*") adjacent the fields 1304, 1306)
As per claims 6 & 17, Texier discloses as shown above.
Texier further discloses wherein the plurality of the one or more fields associated with the same respective content item type are associated with given respective priorities (¶¶[0059], [0113], [0117]: Discloses provider objects can contain fields for diverse content types (text, graphics, etc.; supporting multiple content types is standard.)
wherein the respective content item are associated with further given respective priorities, and wherein the method further comprises: populating, the plurality of the one or more fields with the respective content item by matching the given respective priorities of the respective content item with the given respective priorities associated with the one or more fields (fig. 13; ¶¶- [0169], [0171]- GUI 1222 that includes fields 1304, 1306, 1306 (e.g. data fields) defined by the predefined data description 214-1. The header information of the predefined data description 214-1 is provided in a header of the GUI 1222. Furthermore, the fields 1304, 1306, 1308 respectively correspond to the lines of data ( e.g. (Location, String, True, "Pickup address") (Time, TimeHHMM, True, "Pickup time") (Addllnfo, String, False, "Additional info")) of the predefined data description 214-1, and are labelled with respective text from such lines. The fields 1304, 1306 are understood to be non-optional and/or mandatory to be filled in, as per the text "True" in the lines of data of the predefined data description 214-1, as indicated by an asterisk("*") adjacent the fields 1304, 1306) .
As per claims 7 & 18, Texier discloses as shown above.
Texier further discloses wherein the plurality of the one or more fields associated with the same respective content item type are associated with respective distributions, and wherein the method further comprises: populating, the plurality of the one or more fields with the respective content item according to the respective distributions wherein the plurality of the one or more fields associated with the same respective content item type are associated with respective distributions, and wherein the method further comprises: populating, the plurality of the one or more fields with the respective content item according to the respective distributions (fig. 13; ¶ [0169], [0171]- GUI 1222 that includes fields 1304, 1306, 1306 (e.g. data fields) defined by the predefined data description 214-1. The header information of the predefined data description 214-1 is provided in a header of the GUI 1222. Furthermore, the fields 1304, 1306, 1308 respectively correspond to the lines of data ( e.g. (Location, String, True, "Pickup address") (Time, TimeHHMM, True, "Pickup time") (Addllnfo, String, False, "Additional info")) of the predefined data description 214-1, and are labelled with respective text from such lines. The fields 1304, 1306 are understood to be non-optional and/or mandatory to be filled in, as per the text "True" in the lines of data of the predefined data description 214-1, as indicated by an asterisk("*") adjacent the fields 1304, 1306) .
As per claims 8 & 19, Texier discloses as shown above.
Texier further discloses wherein the respective content item types (e.g. text) comprise one or more of: an image item type; a video item type; an audio item type; a text item type; a review item type; a description item type; a recommendation item type; a three-dimensional item type; an odor item type; a coordinate item type; an amenity item type; an icon item type; a label item type; a certificate item type; an award item type; and a web-page link item type (¶¶ [0103], [0101], [0113]).
As per claims 9 & 20, Texier discloses as shown above.
Texier further discloses wherein the respective content item types comprise one or more of: an image item type; a video item type; an audio item type; a text item type (text field); a review item type; a description item type; a recommendation item type; a three-dimensional item type; an odor item type; a coordinate item type; an amenity item type; an icon item type; a label item type; a certificate item type; an award item type; and a web-page link item type (¶¶ [0103], [0101], [0113]).
Conclusion
Restriction: Claims 1-9, claims 12-20 and claim 21 do not appear to be patentable distinct as currently recited. Therefore, the claims are not restrictable.
/MAMON OBEID/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3687