DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 27, 2026, with regard to claims 11, 12, 14 and 23 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s Arguments (1a), filed April 27, 2026, with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 12-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 recites the limitation "the singular stacked configuration" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11, 15-20 and 23-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USPAP 2023/0165382 (Ermalovich et al. hereinafter).
With regard to claim 11, Ermalovich et al. discloses a bed system comprising:
a mattress (Fig. 1C);
a support panel (12) supporting the mattress;
a frame (10) supporting the support panel (12); and
a modular pneumatic adjustment system, comprising:
a plurality of pneumatic adjustment modules (3) adjustably positioned on the support panel (12) and disposed between the mattress and the support panel (12), each of the pneumatic adjustment modules (3) comprising a base (22) and a bladder (28);
an inflation manifold (paragraph [0008]) comprising a pneumatic pump (46) and a plurality of regulating valves (44), the pneumatic pump (46) connected to provide pressurized air to the plurality of regulating valves (44);
a flexible conduit (42) interconnecting each respective one of the plurality of regulating valves (44) to the bladder (28) of each respective one of the plurality of pneumatic adjustment modules (3); and
a controller (48) operably connected to the pneumatic pump (46) and the plurality of regulating valves (44), the controller (48) configured to provide open and close commands to each of the regulating valves (44) for providing a flow of pressurized air from the pneumatic pump (46) to the respective bladders (28);
wherein the bladder of at least one of the pneumatic adjustment modules (3) includes at least two expandable chambers (50) in a stacked configuration with one of the expandable chambers (50) being positioned above the other of the expandable chambers (50) to be elevated thereby above the support panel (12) when inflated (Fig. 7A).
With regard to claim 15, Ermalovich et al. discloses the bed system of claim 11, wherein the base (22) of each of the plurality of pneumatic adjustment modules (3) is movable.
With regard to claim 16, Ermalovich et al. discloses the bed system of claim 11, wherein the controller (48) is operable to inflate the plurality of pneumatic adjustment modules (3) to incline selective portions of the mattress relative to the support panel (12).
With regard to claim 17, Ermalovich et al. discloses the bed system of claim 11, wherein the controller (48) is in electrical communication with a first set of pneumatic adjustment modules (3) and a second set of pneumatic adjustment modules (3).
With regard to claim 18, Ermalovich et al. discloses the bed system of claim 17, wherein the controller (48) is configured for selective simultaneous inflation of the first set and the second set of pneumatic adjustment modules (3) (paragraphs [0008] and [0031]).
With regard to claim 19, Ermalovich et al. discloses the bed system of claim 18, wherein the controller (48) is configured for selective independent inflation of the first set and the second set of pneumatic adjustment modules (3) (paragraphs [0008] and [0031]).
With regard to claim 20, Ermalovich et al. discloses the bed system of claim 11, further comprising a sheath (24) disposed over the plurality of pneumatic adjustment modules (3).
With regard to claim 23, Ermalovich et al. discloses a pneumatic adjustment system attachable to a support panel (12) of a bed, the system comprising:
a plurality of pneumatic adjustment modules (3) each having one or more inflatable chambers (30, 50);
an inflation manifold (paragraph [0008]) in pneumatic communication with each of the plurality of pneumatic adjustment modules (3), the inflation manifold (paragraph [0008]) comprising a pump (46) and a plurality of regulating valves (44); and
a controller (48) in communication with the inflation manifold (paragraph [0008]) and arranged to control an operation of the pump (46) and the plurality of regulating valves (44) to selectively inflate the one or more inflatable chambers (30, 50) in each of the plurality of pneumatic adjustment modules (3) wherein at least one of the pneumatic adjustment modules (3) includes at least two expandable chambers (50) in a singular stacked configuration with one of the expandable chambers (50) being positioned above the other of the expandable chambers (50) to be elevated thereby above the support panel (12) when inflated (Fig. 7A).
With regard to claim 24, Ermalovich et al. discloses the pneumatic adjustment system of claim 23, wherein the one pneumatic adjustment module includes at least three of the expandable chambers (50) in the singular stacked configuration with a third of the expandable chambers (50) being positioned above the one expandable chamber (50) and the other expandable chamber (50) to be elevated thereby above the support panel (12) when inflated (Fig. 7C).
With regard to claim 25, Ermalovich et al. discloses the bed system of claim 11, wherein the one pneumatic adjustment module includes at least three of the expandable chambers (50) in the singular stacked configuration with a third of the expandable chambers (50) being positioned above the one expandable chamber (50) and the other expandable chamber (50) to be elevated thereby above the support panel (12) when inflated (Fig. 7C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ermalovich et al. in view of USPAP 2023/0190199 (Garcia Molina hereinafter) and USPAP 2014/0345060 (Ribble et al. hereinafter).
With regard to claim 12, Ermalovich et al. discloses all of the limitations except for further comprising sensors in electronic communication with the controller, the sensors arranged to generate a signal representative of an inflation condition of each of the plurality of pneumatic adjustment modules and including one or more accelerometers for determining a level of inflation of the bladder of one or more of the pneumatic adjustment modules.
Garcia Molina teaches a bed (112) with sensors (paragraph [0071]) in communication with a controller (paragraph [0061]) wherein the sensor generates a signal representative of a condition of a user on the mattress (paragraph [0062]) and the bed automatically inflates or deflates an air adjustment system based on the condition of the user (paragraph [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the apparatus of Ermalovich et al. by further comprising sensors in electronic communication with the controller, the sensors arranged to generate a signal representative of an inflation condition of each of the plurality of pneumatic adjustment modules wherein the sensor generates a signal representative of a condition of a user on the mattress and the bed automatically inflates or deflates a pneumatic adjustment module based on the condition of the user as taught in Garcia Molina for the purposes of preventing snoring (paragraph [0062] of Garcia Molina).
Ribble et al. teaches one or more accelerometers for determining a level of inclination representative of inflation of a bladder of one or more pneumatic adjustment modules (paragraph [0165]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to further modify the apparatus of Ermalovich et al. by further comprising that the sensors are one or more accelerometers for determining a level of inclination representative of inflation of a bladder of one or more pneumatic adjustment modules as taught in Ribble et al. for the determining the inclination of the adjustment modules.
With regard to claim 13, the Ermalovich et al. modification with regard to claim 12 discloses the bed system of claim 12, wherein the sensors are configured to generate a signal representative of a condition of a user on the mattress.
With regard to claim 14, the Ermalovich et al. modification with regard to claim 12 discloses the bed system of claim 12, wherein the controller is configured to adjust the inflation condition of one or more of the plurality of pneumatic adjustment modules based on the level of inflation thereof determined with the accelerometer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-10 and 22 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON R EASTMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673