DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 3/16/2026. Claims 1 and 14 were amended. Claims 15-20 were newly added. No claims were canceled. Likewise, claims 1-20 were pending for examination.
Title 35, U.S. Code
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phipps et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2007/222606) in view of Breed (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2008/100706) further in view of Tuttle (U.S. Patent 8665072) and still further in view of Nysen (AU 2011354510B2).
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Phipps teaches a system (Figs 3-5, ¶025-¶046) comprising:
an enclosure (element 72) comprising an opening disposed through a thickness of a wall of the enclosure; an antenna arrangement comprising:
a first antenna portion (element 86) located internally within the enclosure; and
a second antenna portion (element 84) attached to the first antenna portion and at least partially extending through the opening, wherein the second antenna portion is galvanically connected to the first antenna portion; and
a communication device (element 76) located externally of the enclosure,
the communication device comprising a device antenna (Fig 3, ¶037, reader antenna 30). Phipps may be interpreted as teaching wherein the second antenna portion is located in a near-field region of the device antenna such that the device antenna and the second antenna portion couple to one another to transmit signals between the communication device and the antenna arrangement (based on ¶007 & ¶038), but does not explicitly mention the feature with the same claimed detail. In any event, Breed from an analogous art also teaches a system (Figs 3-4, ¶073-¶083) comprising:
an enclosure (Fig 4, ¶075; “shipping container”) comprising:
an antenna arrangement (elements 48, 54 and 56) comprising:
a first antenna portion (element 48) located internally within the enclosure; and
a second antenna portion (element 56) located externally of the enclosure; and
a communication device (Fig 3 & ¶073; interrogator 44) located externally of the enclosure,
the communication device comprising
a device antenna (Fig 3, ¶073; “antenna 46”) wherein the second antenna portion is located in a near-field region of the device antenna such that the device antenna and the second antenna portion couple to one another to transmit signals between the communication device and the antenna arrangement (¶073-¶083).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine the system of Phipps with the concept of a device antenna wherein the second antenna portion is located in a near-field region of the device antenna such that the device antenna and the second antenna portion couple to one another to transmit signals between the communication device and the antenna arrangement, as taught by Breed
in order to enhance the communication amongst the devices about the container as a convenience to users.
Phipps and Breed whether alone or in combination are silent on the enclosure comprising an opening disposed through a thickness of a wall of the enclosure; and an antenna arrangement comprising: a first antenna portion located internally within the enclosure; and a second antenna portion attached to the first antenna portion and at least partially extending through the opening. Tuttle from an analogous art teaches the concept of an enclosure (shipping container 12) comprising an opening (opening 19) disposed through a thickness of a wall of the enclosure (col 2:20-29; Vertical wall 14 has a first surface 16 disposed within container 12 and an opposing second surface 18 which may be an exterior wall surface of the container. An opening 19 is shown passing through wall 14 near an upper corner of the container); and an antenna arrangement comprising: a first antenna portion located internally within the enclosure; and a second antenna portion attached to the first antenna portion and at least partially extending through the opening, wherein the second antenna portion is connected to the first antenna portion (col 2:29-46; a passive radio antenna element 20 is shown disposed spanning wall 14 through opening 19. Passive radio antenna element 20 may include a first antenna 22 disposed proximate interior wall surface 16 and a second antenna 24 disposed proximate exterior wall surface 18. A connector 26 may span wall 14 through opening 19 to connect first antenna 22 with second antenna 24) and
a communication device located externally of the enclosure, the communication device comprising a device antenna wherein the second antenna portion is located in a near-field region of the device antenna such that the device antenna and the second antenna portion couple to one another to transmit signals between the communication device and the antenna arrangement (see Figs 1-2 & 5).Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to further combine the system of Phipps with the concept of the enclosure comprising an opening disposed through a thickness of a wall of the enclosure; and an antenna arrangement comprising: a first antenna portion located internally within the enclosure; and a second antenna portion attached to the first antenna portion and at least partially extending through the opening and an antenna arrangement comprising: a first antenna portion located internally within the enclosure; and a second antenna portion attached to the first antenna portion and at least partially extending through the opening, wherein the second antenna portion is connected to the first antenna portion, as taught by Tuttle in order to enhance the communication amongst the devices about the container as a convenience to users.
Phipps, Breed nor Tuttle discloses wherein the second antenna portion is galvanically connected to the first antenna portion. Nysen from an analogous antenna art teaches the concept wherein the second antenna portion is galvanically connected to the first antenna portion (¶008; an object of the present technology is to provide an antenna having external and internal structures… an antenna comprising: a conductive first plate and a conductive second plate, the conductive first plate 5 and the conductive second plate disposed and having a first galvanic connection between an edge of the conductive first plate and an edge of the conductive second plate to form an external antenna structure). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to further combine the system of Phipps, Breed and Tuttle with the concept wherein the second antenna portion is galvanically connected to the first antenna portion, as taught by Nysen in order to enhance the safety amongst the electrical devices about the container.
Regarding claim 2, Phipps, Breed, Tuttle and Nysen in combination teach the system according to claim 1, and both do not explicitly mention in which range the distances between the device antenna and the second antenna are chosen. However, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention and upon reading the reference, would have recognized that the whole system would be totally operable when the coupled antennas operate in a near field regime. It would require no more than "ordinary skill and common sense," to what range the distances between the device antenna and the second antenna are chosen. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to try choosing the range of the distances between the device antenna and the second antenna, as a person with ordinary skill would have good reason to pursue known options within his or her technical grasp.
Regarding claim 3, Phipps, Breed, Tuttle and Nysen in combination teach the system according to claim 1, and Breed further teaches wherein the system comprises a further communication device located internally within the enclosure, and the antenna arrangement is configured to transmit signals between the first antenna portion and the further communication device (Fig 4, ¶076). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine the system of Phipps with the concept wherein the system comprises a further communication device located internally within the enclosure, and the antenna arrangement is configured to transmit signals between the first antenna portion and the further communication device, as taught by Breed in order to enhance the communication amongst the devices about the container.
Regarding claim 4, Phipps, Breed, Tuttle and Nysen in combination teach the system according to claim 3, and Breed further teaches, wherein the further communication device comprises at least one of: a sensor and an identification module (¶103). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine the system of Phipps with the concept wherein the further communication device comprises at least one of: a sensor and an identification module, as taught by Breed in order to enhance the communication for detection amongst the devices about the container.
Regarding claim 5, Phipps, Breed, Tuttle and Nysen in combination teach the system according to claim 3, and Breed further teaches, wherein the further communication device comprises a temperature sensor to determine a temperature within the enclosure (¶103; “sensors may be temperature sensors”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine the system of Phipps with the concept wherein the further communication device comprises a temperature sensor to determine a temperature within the enclosure, as taught by Breed in order to further enhance the communication for environmental detection properties amongst the devices about the container.
Regarding claim 6, Phipps, Breed, Tuttle and Nysen in combination teach the system according to claim 3, and Breed further teaches, wherein the further communication device comprises at least one of: a vibration sensor, a shock sensor, a humidity sensor (¶103; “…humidity…vibration…sensors”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine the system of Phipps with the concept wherein the further communication device comprises at least one of: a vibration sensor, a shock sensor, a humidity sensor, as taught by Breed in order to further enhance the communication for several environmental detection properties amongst the devices about the container.
Regarding claim 7, Phipps, Breed, Tuttle and Nysen in combination teach the system according to claim 3, and Breed further teaches wherein the further communication device is located in a far-field region of the first antenna portion (see Fig 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine the system of Phipps with the concept wherein the further communication device is located in a far-field region of the first antenna portion, as taught by Breed in order to enhance the communication amongst devices about the container.
Regarding claim 8, Phipps, Breed, Tuttle and Nysen in combination teach the system according to claim 3, and Phipps further teaches wherein the antenna arrangement is passive (Fig 5).
Regarding claim 9, Phipps, Breed, Tuttle and Nysen in combination teach the system according to claim 1, and Phipps further teaches/infers wherein the first antenna portion is electrically connected to the enclosure because there will be some capacitive coupling between the first antenna portion and the metallic enclosure.
Regarding claim 10, Phipps, Breed, Tuttle and Nysen in combination teach the system according to claim 1, and Phipps further teaches wherein the first antenna portion is substantially free of sharp edges (see Figs 1-9).
Regarding claim 11, Phipps, Breed, Tuttle and Nysen in combination teach the system according to claim 1, and Phipps further teaches wherein the first antenna portion (element 86) comprises a planar antenna (Fig 5).
Regarding claim 12, Phipps, Breed, Tuttle and Nysen in combination teach the system according to claim 1, and Phipps further teaches wherein the first (element 86) and second (element 84) antenna portions are separate components physically attached to one another (Fig 5).
Regarding claims 13 and 15, Phipps, Breed, Tuttle and Nysen in combination teach the system according to claims 1 and 14 respectively, and Breed further teaches system wherein the enclosure comprises a shipping container/ transportation unit (¶075; shipping container).
Regarding claim 16 (New), Phipps, Breed, Tuttle and Nysen in combination teach the system according to claim 1, and Tuttle further discloses comprising an insulating member located in the opening, wherein the insulating member insulates the antenna arrangement from the enclosure (col 2:65 – col 3:10; the connector 26 is insulated relative to the wall 14 to avoid electrical coupling with the wall 14. For example, the entire length of the connector 26 may be insulated, the portion through opening 19 can be insulated, or some portion of the length of the connector 26 may be insulated. If some portion of the length of the connector 26 is insulated, that portion would be positioned in the opening 19. In some embodiments, the connector 26 is not insulated but the opening 19 has an insulator providing electrical insulation, and the connector passes through the insulator. In some embodiments, the opening 19 is sealed relative to the connector 26, e.g., with non-conductive material, after the connector 26 is caused to extend through the opening). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to further combine the system of Phipps and Breed with the concept of an insulating member located in the opening, wherein the insulating member insulates the antenna arrangement from the enclosure, as taught by Tuttle in order to enhance the electrical safety amongst the devices about the enclosure.
Regarding claim 18 (New), Phipps, Breed, Tuttle and Nysen in combination teach the system according to claim 1, and Tuttle discloses further comprising an external device (element 30) located externally of the enclosure and configured for communication with the communication device (see Figs 1, 2 & 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to further combine the system of Phipps and Breed with the concept wherein an external device located externally of the enclosure and configured for communication with the communication device, as taught by Tuttle in order to enhance the electrical safety amongst the devices about the enclosure.
Regarding claim 19 (New), Phipps, Breed, Tuttle and Nysen in combination teach the system according to claim 18, and Tuttle further teaches wherein: the antenna arrangement is configured to communicate signals to the external device and the further communication device using the communication device (Tuttle, see Fig 1-2 & 5), and
Nysen further teaches the first antenna portion is configured to communicate the signals to and from the second antenna portion via the galvanic connection (Nysen, see claim 1). The motivation is the same as claim 16.
Phipps, Breed, Tuttle and Nysen do not explicitly mention in which ranges or corresponding communication distances between the antenna portions and any associated communicating devices are chosen. However, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention and upon reading the reference, would have recognized that the whole system would be totally operable when coupled antennas operate in a near field scenario and also in a far field scenario, respectively. It would require no more than "ordinary skill and common sense," to choose appropriate communication ranges according to distances between the communicating devices, such as the device antenna, second antenna, external device and further device. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to try choosing appropriate communication ranges according to distances between the communicating devices, particularly between internal devices and an internal antenna with respect to external devices and the external antenna, as a person with ordinary skill would have good reason to pursue known options within his or her technical grasp.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phipps et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2007/222606) in view of Breed (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2008/100706) further in view of Tuttle (U.S. Patent 8665072) and still further in view of Nysen (AU 2011354510B2) and even still further in view of Powers et al. (WO 2010151902).
Regarding claim 17 (New), Phipps, Breed, Tuttle and Nysen in combination teach the system according to claim 3, but all are silent on wherein the further communication device is connected to an actuator of the enclosure, wherein the actuator is configured to actuate a lock of the enclosure.
Powers from an analogous container art control teaches the concept wherein the further communication device is connected to an actuator of the enclosure, wherein the actuator is configured to actuate a lock of the enclosure (¶008; system includes a lock mechanism configured to lock at least one door of the container in a closed position, a housing enclosing at least a portion of the lock mechanism, and a lock circuit at least partially enclosed within the housing. The lock circuit includes a memory, a lock controller, a wireless module configured to receive information from at least one sensor associated with the container, the information regarding at least one property of the contents of the container, wherein the wireless module is configured to store the information in memory, wherein at least one of the wireless module or the sensor is powered wirelessly, and a lock controller configured to receive commands related to operation of the lock mechanism, to monitor the stored information to identify a change of state of the at least one sensor, and to generate chain of custody data to be transmitted to a remote location via the wireless module. The chain of custody data includes at least two of sensor data, an authentication code associated with the sensor, and/or an authentication code associated with the lock mechanism, also see ¶060; for actuator mechanisms). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to still further combine the system of Phipps, Breed, Tuttle and Nysen with the concept wherein the further communication device is connected to an actuator of the enclosure, wherein the actuator is configured to actuate a lock of the enclosure, as taught by Powers in order to form coupling of electromagnetic radiating components.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phipps et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2007/222606) in view of Breed (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2008/100706) further in view of Tuttle (U.S. Patent 8665072) and still further in view of Nysen (AU 2011354510B2) and even still further in view of Banks et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2006/0097944).
Regarding claim 20 (New), Phipps, Breed, Tuttle and Nysen in combination teach the system according to claim 1, but all are silent on wherein the first antenna portion comprises an aperture through which a part of the second antenna portion is received.
Banks from an analogous antenna connection art teaches the concept wherein the first antenna portion comprises an aperture through which a part of the second antenna portion is received (Abstract; Formation of antenna component connections to antenna components of an antenna aperture (10), also see claim 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to still further combine the system of Phipps, Breed, Tuttle and Nysen with the concept wherein the first antenna portion comprises an aperture through which a part of the second antenna portion is received, as taught by Banks in order to form coupling of electromagnetic radiating components.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s prior art arguments to claims 1-14 have been fully considered, but are moot because independent claims 1 and 14 were amended by Applicant to include new features that were never previously presented. Therefore, the scope of claims 1 and 14 and their dependent claims has changed. However, another prior art is applied to reject these claims, their initial dependent claims and also the newly added dependent claims.
[End of Arguments].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANCIL LITTLEJOHN JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2685
/QUAN ZHEN WANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2685