DETAILED ACTION
Priority
1. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/11/24 has been entered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
3. The drawings filed on 10/11/24. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Objections
4. Claim 13 is objected because there is a symbol “(“ in line 6 is unclear.
For the purpose of examination, the claim 13 is interpreted in view of the objections/rejections indicated above as follow: “converting [ ( ] the curved unit region”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-3, 7-9, 12, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hughes (Pub. No. 2008/0158572) in view of Oh et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0060767), further in view of Nicastro et al. (2021/0374986). Hereafter “Hughes”, “Oh”, “Nicastro”.
Regarding Claim(s) 1, 12, Hughes discloses an object thickness measuring apparatus (figures 1-3) comprising:
a first scan unit configured to scan an opaque layer excluding an outermost transparent layer (figures 1, 2, laser 32 with laser beam 44, scan opaque layer 26 excluding an outermost transparent layer 24 at point G; [0038], lines 1-4);
a second scan unit configured to scan the outermost transparent layer (figures, 1, 2, ray HI is imaged on position sensitive device 36, centered at a distance y from the OA is not different from a second scan unit scanning the outermost transparent layer 24 with reflected ray HI. The claim does not require that the first scan unit is different from the second scan unit. In the other words, the first scan unit could be the same second scan unit. Note: Hughes also discloses a second scan unit different from the first scan unit in figure 3); and
a controller configured to calculate a thickness of the portion from dimensional data generated by collecting image data measured by the first scan unit and image data measured by the second scan unit (Abstract; [0004, 0035, 0038]; Figure 1, controller 60, calculate a thickness of the portion of transparent layer 22. It is inherent that detectors images from the first and second reflected rays of the beam at first and second distances offset from first and second optical axes is not different from three- dimensional data).
However, Hughes does not disclose a transfer unit configured to transfer a pouch-type rechargeable battery including a sealing portion, and three- dimensional data generated by collecting image data. Oh discloses a transfer unit configured to transfer battery including a sealing portion (figures 4, 5, [0057, 0063, 0065, 0070, 0083, 0084, 0085, 0091]. Note: a pouch-type rechargeable battery is just one type of the battery). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Hughes by having a transfer unit and a pouch-type rechargeable battery in order to transfer one type of battery.
Moreover, Hughes in view of Oh does not disclose three- dimensional data generated by collecting image data. Nicastro discloses three- dimensional data generated by collecting image data ([0044-0048]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Hughes and Oh by having three- dimensional data in order to generate output image data comprising thickness data for the set of objects in the scene efficiently (Nicastro, Abstract).
Regarding Claim(s) 2, 14, Hughes as modified by Oh and Nicastro, discloses the object thickness measuring system according to claims 1 and 12 as stated above, except for the Equation: U = W + (K*2) wherein U indicates an entire thickness of the sealing portion, W indicates a thickness of the entire opaque layer excluding the outermost transparent layer in the sealing portion, and K indicates a thickness of one transparent layer. Hughes also discloses the Equation: U = W + (K*2), (the following figure 3, K is the thickness of transparent layers 124, 125, W is the thickness of opaque layer 126, U is entire thickness of the target).
Regarding Claim(s) 3, Hughes as modified by Oh and Nicastro, discloses the object thickness measuring system according to claim 1 as stated above, except for a guide member; a support member coupled to the guide member and configured to move along the guide member; and two distance measuring sensors coupled to the support member, spaced apart from one another, and configured to measure a distance to an object. Oh discloses a guide member; a support member coupled to the guide member and configured to move along the guide member; and two distance measuring sensors coupled to the support member, spaced apart from one another, and configured to measure a distance to an object (figure 4, a guide member 31, a support member 30, two distance measuring sensors 10). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Hughes by having a guide member; a support member in order to guide and support sensor for the system, (Oh, figure 4, a guide member 31, a support member 30, two distance measuring sensors 10).
Regarding Claim(s) 7, Hughes as modified by Oh and Nicastro, discloses the object thickness measuring system according to claim 1 as stated above, except for the second scan unit includes a confocal sensor. Hughes discloses a confocal sensor (figures 1, 2, detectors 34, 48 is not different from a confocal sensor; [0039], lines 13-17).
Regarding Claim(s) 8, Hughes as modified by Oh and Nicastro, discloses the object thickness measuring system according to claim 1 as stated above, except for a photographing unit configured to photograph the pouch-type rechargeable battery to allow the transfer unit to align a position of the pouch-type rechargeable battery. Hughes discloses a photographing unit (figures 1, 2, detectors 34, 48, is not different from a photographing unit). Oh, discloses to align a position of the pouch-type rechargeable battery ([0019, 0054, 0057, 0067, 0078-0081, 0087]. A pouch-type rechargeable battery is just one type of the battery). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Hughes by aligning a position of the battery in order to guide one type of battery for inspection, (Oh, figure 4, a guide member 31, a support member 30, two distance measuring sensors 10).
Regarding Claim(s) 9, Hughes as modified by Oh and Nicastro, discloses the object thickness measuring system according to claim 1 as stated above, except for a light irradiation member configured to irradiate light to the pouch-type rechargeable battery; a position detection member configured to detect a position of the pouch-type rechargeable battery by photographing the pouch-type rechargeable battery; and a laser module configured to irradiate a laser used to focus the position detection member toward the light irradiation member. Hughes discloses a light irradiation member configured to irradiate light to the battery (figures 1, 3, laser devices 32, 44A, 44B emit light); a position detection member configured to detect a position of the pouch-type rechargeable battery by photographing the pouch-type rechargeable battery ([0008, 0021, 0029]); and a laser module configured to irradiate a laser used to focus the position detection member toward the light irradiation member (Figure 1, light beam 44[0039], lines 13-19).
[AltContent: textbox (U)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
Regarding Claim(s) 15 Hughes as modified by Oh and Nicastro, disclose the object thickness measuring system according to claim 12 as stated above, except for before the opaque layer scan operation, a position aligning operation of aligning positions of the rechargeable batteries, and a sensor aligning operation of aligning positions of two distance measuring sensors are performed. Hughes discloses a position aligning operation of aligning positions of the battery, and a sensor aligning operation of aligning positions of two distance measuring sensors are performed (figure 1, aligning positions of the film 22 is not different from aligning positions of the battery, and aligning positions of two distance measuring sensors 36, 48 are performed. Figure 3 discloses similar aligning positions for sensors of devices 30A, 30B and film 122).
7. Claim(s) 4-6, 16, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hughes (Pub. No. 2008/0158572) in view of Oh et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0060767), further in view of Nicastro et al. (2021/0374986), and further in view of KR102287763, (KR 102287763). Hereafter “Hughes”, “Oh”, “KR102287763”. (Please see attached files for reference of KR102287763).
Regarding Claim(s) 4, Hughes as modified by Oh and Nicastro, disclose the object thickness measuring system according to claim 1 as stated above, except for a position alignment jig installed adjacent to the first scan unit and configured to align the first scan unit. KR102287763 discloses a position alignment jig installed adjacent to the first scan unit and configured to align the first scan unit (page 4, lines 11-23; Figures 2-7, jig 220). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Hughes and Oh and Nicastro by having a position alignment jig in order to support battery cell, (Oh, page 4, lines 11-23; Figures 2-7, jig 220).
Regarding Claim(s) 5-6, Hughes as modified by Oh and Nicastro, disclose the object thickness measuring system according to claim 1 as stated above, except for a pillar member; a first jig member coupled to a first side of the pillar member, and configured to have a first length and to include a target portion positioned in a central portion; a second jig member coupled to a first end of an upper surface of the first jig member and configured to have a second length that is shorter than the first length; and a third jig member coupled to a second end of a lower surface of the first jig member and configured to have approximately the second length, and a specific symbol and extends through a center of the first jig member in a vertical direction. KR102287763 discloses a pillar member; a first jig member coupled to a first side of the pillar member, and configured to have a first length and to include a target portion positioned in a central portion (Figures 2-7, jig 220, upper/lower surface adjustment member 312 is not different from a pillar member). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Hughes and Oh and Nicastro by having a pillar member and a first jig member in order to support battery cell, (Oh, page 4, lines 11-23; Figures 2-7, jig 220).
Although Hughes, Oh and Nicastro and KR102287763 do not teach a second jig member coupled to a first end of an upper surface of the first jig member and configured to have a second length that is shorter than the first length; and a third jig member coupled to a second end of a lower surface of the first jig member and configured to have approximately the second length, and a specific symbol and extends through a center of the first jig member in a vertical direction, the shape differences are considered obvious and are not patentable unless unobvious or unexpected results are obtained from these changes. Additionally, the Applicant has presented no discussion in the specification which convinces the Examiner that the particular shape of the jig means is anything more than one of numerous shapes a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing support. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976). It appears that these changes produce no functional differences and therefore would have been obvious.
Regarding Claim(s) 16, Hughes as modified by Oh and Nicastro, disclose the object thickness measuring system according to claim 1 as stated above, except for a rechargeable battery supply operation of supplying a rechargeable battery; and a model detecting operation of detecting a model of the rechargeable battery supplied in the rechargeable battery supply operation. KR102287763 discloses battery supply operation of supplying a battery; and a model detecting operation of detecting a model of the battery supplied in the battery supply operation (page 3, lines 26-28, 40-42. Battery cells are inserted and transfer by transfer member is not different from battery supply operation of supplying a battery). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Hughes and Oh and Nicastro by having battery supply operation of supplying a battery in order to supply battery cell for inspection, (Oh, page 3, lines 26-28, 40-42).
8. Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hughes (Pub. No. 2008/0158572) in view of Oh et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0060767), further in view of Nicastro et al. (2021/0374986), and further in view of Mikami (U.S Pub. No. 2014/0238605). Hereafter “Hughes”, “Oh”, “Nicastro”, “Mikami”.
Regarding Claim(s) 11, Hughes as modified by Oh and Nicastro, disclose the object thickness measuring system according to claim 1 as stated above, except for a rail member; a first moving member positioned perpendicular to the rail member and configured to move along the rail member; a second moving member coupled to the first moving member and configured to move along the first mobile member; a holding member configured to hold the pouch-type rechargeable battery; a lifting member coupled to a first side of the holding member and configured to move the holding member in a vertical direction; and a rotating member configured to connect the elevating member and the second moving member and to rotate the elevating member in clockwise and counterclockwise directions with respect to the second moving member.
Oh discloses a rail member; a first moving member positioned perpendicular to the rail member and configured to move along the rail member (figure 4, rail 41, groove 423 is not different from a first moving member moving along the rail member 41); a second moving member coupled to the first moving member and configured to move along the first mobile member (figure 4, base 421 is not different from a second moving member coupled to the first moving member 423); a holding member configured to hold the battery (figure 4clamp 43 is not different from a holding member); a lifting member coupled to a first side of the holding member and configured to move the holding member in a vertical direction (figure 4, clamp 43 can move in a vertical direction. Clamp 43 is not different from a lifting member). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Hughes by having first moving member, a second moving member, a holding member in order to support battery cell, (Oh, page 4, lines 11-23; Figures 2-7, jig 220).
However, Hughes as modified by Oh and Nicastro do not teach rotating member configured to connect the elevating member and the second moving member and to rotate the elevating member in clockwise and counterclockwise directions with respect to the second moving member. Mikami discloses rotating member configured to connect the elevating member and the moving member to rotate in clockwise and counterclockwise directions ([0016-0018]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Hughes and Oh and Nicastro by having a rotating member in order to rotate the battery for inspection, (Mikami, [0016-0018]).
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 10, 13, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
10. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: there was no prior art found by the examiner that suggested modification or combination with the cited art so as to satisfy the combination of all the limitations in claims 10, 13.
11. As claim 10, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious an object thickness measuring apparatus comprising to transfer a pouch-type rechargeable battery including a sealing portion; a first scan unit to scan an opaque layer excluding an outermost transparent layer in the sealing portion; a second scan unit to scan the outermost transparent layer in the sealing portion; to calculate a thickness of the sealing portion from three- dimensional data generated by collecting image data measured by the first scan unit and the second scan unit; wherein to divide the three-dimensional data into certain regions to create a unit region; to convert the unit region of a curved shape into a planar shape; to calculate a thickness of the sealing portion by measuring a distance in a thickness direction in the unit region; in combination with the rest of the limitations of claims 1 and 10.
12. As claim 13, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious an object thickness measuring method comprising scanning an outermost transparent layer in a sealing portion included in a pouch-type rechargeable battery; scanning an opaque layer excluding the transparent layer in the sealing portion; generating three-dimensional data using data obtained by scanning the transparent layer and data obtained by scanning the opaque layer; and a thickness calculating operation of calculating a thickness of the sealing portion from the three-dimensional data; wherein dividing the three-dimensional data into certain regions to generate a unit region; calculating a thickness value of the sealing portion by converting [ ( ] the curved unit region into a planar shape and measuring a distance in a thickness direction from the planar shape; in combination with the rest of the limitations of claims 12 and 13.
Fax/Telephone Information
May 28, 2026
/Tri T Ton/
Primary Examiner Art Unit 2877