Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. With respect claim 6, “two of said reinforcing protrusions” is vague and indefinite and lack of antecedent basis since applicant inferentially claims there are two protrusions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Heckmann et al (EP 2008855 A2).
With respect to claim 1. Heckmann discloses a holder for an exhaust system of an internal combustion engine, the holder comprising: a holder body (1) having a holder base (5) and a holder wall (U-shaped wall 7 and 25) extending from said holder base; a holder pin (13) extending from an outer face of said holder wall; and, said holder pin having a pin recess (R, see markup above) being formed in at least one peripheral region thereof.
With respect to claim 2, Heckmann discloses the holder of claim 1 as advanced above, wherein at least one of the following applies (highlighted in bold applies): i) said holder base (5) is formed so as to be plate-shaped; and, ii) a fastening member reach-through opening is provided in said holder base; and, iii) an anti-rotation protrusion extending in an opposite direction to an extension direction of said holder wall with respect to said holder base is provided on said holder base.
With respect to claim 3, Heckmann discloses the holder of claim 1 as advanced above, wherein at least one of the following applies (highlighted in bold applies): i) said holder wall (U-shaped wall 7 and 25) extends at least in some regions along an outer peripheral region of the holder base; and, ii) said holder wall is formed in an annular manner substantially without interruptions; and, iii) said holder wall has a varying wall height starting from said holder base.
With respect to claim 4, Heckmann discloses the holder of claim 3 as advanced above,, wherein said holder pin (13) is provided on said holder wall in a region (upper region of wall 25) thereof having a maximum wall height.
With respect to claim 8, Heckmann discloses the holder of claim 1 as advanced above, wherein said pin recess in said holder pin (13) is formed at least in a first end region (E1, see markup above) of said holder pin adjoining said holder wall.
With respect to claim 9, Heckmann discloses the holder of claim 1 as advanced above, wherein said holder pin (13) defines a pin longitudinal axis and extends in a direction of said pin longitudinal axis; and, said pin recess (R, see markup above) is formed in said holder pin extending in the direction of said pin longitudinal axis so as to be open radially to the outside.
With respect to claim 10, Heckmann discloses the holder of claim 1 as advanced above, wherein said holder pin (13) has a second end region (E2, see markup above) remote from said holder wall; and, said holder pin has a pin head (27) protruding with respect to an outer dimension of said holder pin at said second end region; and, said pin recess (R, see markup above) extends up to said pin head.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heckmann et al (EP 2008855 A2) in view of Noll (DE 102014005286 B3).
With respect to claim 5, Heckmann discloses the holder of claim 1 as advanced above except for wherein at least one reinforcing protrusion adjoining said holder base is provided on an inner face of said holder wall.
Noll discloses a holder for an exhaust system of an internal combustion engine, the holder comprising: a holder body (figure 2) having a holder base (28) and a holder wall (24) extending from said holder base; a holder pin (26) extending from an outer face of said holder wall; and wherein at least one reinforcing protrusion (P, see markup above) adjoining said holder base is provided on an inner face of said holder wall.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have modify the holder of Heckmann such that wherein at least one reinforcing protrusion adjoining said holder base is provided on an inner face of said holder wall for reinforcement purposes as taught to be desirable by Noll.
With respect to claim 6, Heckmann and Noll combined discloses the holder of claim 5 as advanced above, wherein Noll discloses two of said reinforcing protrusions (P, see markup above) arranged at a distance from one another are provided on said inner face of said holder wall; and, wherein at least one of the following applies: i) said holder pin (26, figure 3) adjoins said outer face of said holder wall between said two reinforcing protrusions; and, ii) at least one of said two reinforcing protrusions adjoins said holder wall in an overlapping manner.
With respect to claim 7, Heckmann and Noll combined discloses the holder of claim 5 as advanced above, wherein Noll discloses at least one of the following applies: i) at least one of said two reinforcing protrusions (P, see markup above) is in the form of a rib; and, b) at least one of said two reinforcing protrusions (P, see markup above) transitions into a wall region of said holder wall having a greater wall thickness which decreases in a direction away from said one reinforcing protrusion.
With respect to claims 13-16, Heckmann discloses the holder of claim 1 as advanced above except for wherein said holder body is formed integrally with the holder pin as a die-cast part (per claims 13 and 15) and the die-cast part made from aluminum (per claims 14 and 16).
Noll discloses a holder for an exhaust system of an internal combustion engine, the holder comprising: a holder body (figure 2) having a holder base (28) and a holder wall (24) extending from said holder base; a holder pin (26) extending from an outer face of said holder wall; and wherein at least one reinforcing protrusion (P, see markup above) adjoining said holder base is provided on an inner face of said holder wall wherein Noll discloses a method comprising: making the holder body integrally as a die-cast part and wherein the die-cast part is made integrally from aluminum (Noll discloses in the “Description”, paragraph 21, “The flange part and the mounting part may be formed of metal. For example, the flange part and the mounting part may be made by die- casting aluminum.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have modify the holder of Heckmann such that said holder body is formed integrally with the holder pin as a die-cast part and the die-cast part made from aluminum as such method and material is old and well-known in the art as demonstrated by Noll.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heckmann et al (EP 2008855 A2).
With respect to claims 11 and 12, Heckmann discloses the holder of claim 1 as advanced above except for wherein said pin recess has a recess depth that is at least 30% or 50% of a cross-sectional dimension of said holder pin in a recess depth direction. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to make the pin recess has a recess depth that is at least 30% or 50% of a cross-sectional dimension of said holder pin in a recess depth direction. , since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art of record further demonstrate exhaust holders interest.
/Ko H Chan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631
Khc