DETAILED ACTION
Status
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed on 6/4/2026, which amended claims 1, 6, 14, and 20. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an optical axis adjustment mechanism” in lines 3-5 in claim 16. See MPEP 2181, subsection I.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 10, 11, 13-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai (US PGPub 2009/0201479) in view of Oemrawsingh et al. (US PGPub 2019/0377267, Oemrawsingh hereinafter) in view of Nishikawa et al. (US PGPub 2018/0297147, Nishikawa hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Arai discloses a profile display device (Figs. 1-3, 8, paras. [0034], [0043]-[0046], [0072]-[0074], [0081], excimer laser light source 8 in a projection exposure apparatus) comprising:
an interface configured to receive a beam profile of laser light (Figs. 1-8, paras. [0043]-[0045], [0046]-[0048], [0053]-[0065], [0072]-[0075], [0083], [0092], a rotation angle monitor 10 with sensors 13A and 13B or area sensor 14 acquires the external shape (see at least para. [0065]) and external shape rotation of the laser beam LB. The detection signals are supplied to detection/rotation calculating unit 11);
a processor (Figs. 1-5, 8, paras. [0045], [0053], [0056], [0059]-[0060], [0072], [0074]-[0075], [0083], [0092], memory/correction calculating unit 12, 12A) configured to generate a shifted outline by shifting a position of an outline of the beam profile in accordance with deviation of a light intensity distribution in the beam profile (Figs. 1-8, paras. [0045], [0053], [0056]-[0062], [0065], [0072], [0074]-[0075], [0083], [0092], memory/correction calculating unit 12, 12A stores the changes of the rotation angle of the laser beam LB detected by the rotation angle monitor with sensors 13A and 13B or area sensor 14 as a function of operation state and emission time (see Fig. 5)). Arai does not appear to explicitly describe an imaginary line, a display configured to display the beam profile and the shifted outline in a superimposed manner.
Oemrawsingh discloses a display configured to display the beam profile and the shifted outline (Figs. 2, 6, 8, paras. [0019], [0047], [0053], [0064], [0069], [0083]-[0088], a controller 16a includes a display monitor to display images and a reference point to a user for visual inspection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a display configured to display the beam profile and the shifted outline as taught by Oemrawsingh in the profile display device as taught by Arai since including a display configured to display the beam profile and the shifted outline is commonly used to provide visual feedback for an operator to facilitate adjustment (Oemrawsingh, paras. [0013], [0019], [0086]-[0087]).
Although Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh discloses the beam profile and displaying the beam profile and shifted outline (Arai, Figs. 1-8, paras. [0043]-[0045], [0046]-[0048], [0053]-[0065], [0072]-[0075], [0083], [0092], a rotation angle monitor 10 with sensors 13A and 13B or area sensor 14 acquires the external shape (see at least para. [0065]) and external shape rotation of the laser beam LB. The detection signals are supplied to detection/rotation calculating unit 11, and as modified by Oemrawsingh, Figs. 2, 6, 8, paras. [0019], [0047], [0053], [0064], [0069], [0083]-[0088], a controller 16a includes a display monitor to display images and a reference point to a user for visual inspection), Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh does not appear to explicitly describe an imaginary line, displaying the beam profile and the shifted outline in a superimposed manner.
Nishikawa discloses a shifted outline, that is an imaginary line (Figs. 1, 3, 12-14, paras. [0125], [0127]-[0138], [0156]-[0160], LCD 77 displays an editing window and displays data content including workpiece contour image Io, guide pattern Ig, machining content image Im, feature points P in display section 81);
a display configured to display the beam profile and the shifted outline in a superimposed manner (Figs. 1, 3, 12-14, paras. [0009], [0125], [0127]-[0138], [0156]-[0160], LCD 77 displays an editing window and displays superimposed content contour image Io, guide pattern Ig, machining content image Im, feature points P in display section 81).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included an imaginary line, displaying the beam profile and the shifted outline in a superimposed manner as taught by Nishikawa in the profile display as taught by Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh since including an imaginary line, displaying the beam profile and the shifted outline in a superimposed manner is commonly used to help the user to operate the input operation to edit and implement the edits to adjust processing with improved precision (Nishikawa, paras. [0007], [0009], [0127]).
Regarding claim 2, Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh in view of Nishikawa discloses wherein the processor generates the shifted outline at regular intervals based on the beam profile newly received via the interface (Arai, Figs. 1-8, paras. [0045], [0053], [0056]-[0062], [0065], [0072], [0074]-[0075], [0083], [0092], memory/correction calculating unit 12, 12A stores the changes of the rotation angle of the laser beam LB detected by the rotation angle monitor with sensors 13A and 13B or area sensor 14 as a function of operation state and emission time), and
the display updates display of the beam profile and the shifted outline every time the processor generates the shifted outline (Arai, Figs. 1-8, paras. [0045], [0053], [0056]-[0062], [0065], [0072], [0074]-[0075], [0083], [0092], memory/correction calculating unit 12, 12A stores the changes the laser beam LB detected by the rotation angle monitor with sensors 13A and 13B or area sensor 14 as a function of operation state and emission time, and as modified by Oemrawsingh, Figs. 2, 6, 8, paras. [0019], [0047], [0053], [0064], [0069], [0083]-[0088], the display monitor displays images and the reference points to the user for visual inspection during alignment).
Regarding claim 3, Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh in view of Nishikawa discloses wherein the outline has a rectangular shape (Arai, Figs. 1, 5, paras. [0043], [0047], [0054], [0056]-[0062], the laser beam is rectangular, and as modified by Oemrawsingh, Figs. 2, 6, 8, paras. [0019], [0047], [0053], [0064], [0069], [0083]-[0088], the display monitor displays images and the reference points).
Regarding claim 5, Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh in view of Nishikawa discloses wherein the processor generates the outline by performing edge detection on the beam profile (Arai, Figs. 1-8, paras. [0043]-[0045], [0046]-[0048], [0053]-[0065], [0072]-[0075], [0083], [0092], a rotation angle monitor 10 with sensors 13A and 13B or area sensor 14 acquires the external shape (see at least para. [0065]) and external shape rotation of the laser beam LB).
Regarding claim 10, Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh in view of Nishikawa discloses wherein the processor determines whether or not the deviation of the light intensity distribution is within an allowable range (Arai, Figs. 1-8, paras. [0045], [0053], [0056]-[0062], [0065], [0072], [0074]-[0075], [0083], [0092], memory/correction calculating unit 12, 12A stores the changes of the rotation angle of the laser beam LB detected by the rotation angle monitor with sensors 13A and 13B or area sensor 14 as a function of operation state and emission time. The laser beam components are controlled to correct the beam rotation if necessary, and as modified by Oemrawsingh, Figs. 2, 6, 8, paras. [0019], [0047], [0053], [0064], [0069], [0083]-[0088], the controller 16a determines beam alignment, and the display monitor displays images for visual feedback to a user), and the display displays information indicating whether or not the deviation of the light intensity distribution is within the allowable range in accordance with the determination by the processor (Oemrawsingh, Figs. 2, 6, 8, paras. [0019], [0047], [0053], [0064], [0069], [0083]-[0088], the display monitor displays images for visual feedback to a user).
Regarding claim 11, Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh in view of Nishikawa discloses wherein the display further displays the outline (Arai, Figs. 1-8, paras. [0045], [0053], [0056]-[0062], [0065], [0072], [0074]-[0075], [0083], [0092], memory/correction calculating unit 12, 12A stores the changes of the rotation angle of the laser beam LB detected by the rotation angle monitor with sensors 13A and 13B or area sensor 14 as a function of operation state and emission time, and as modified by Oemrawsingh, Figs. 2, 6, 8, paras. [0019], [0047], [0053], [0064], [0069], [0083]-[0088], a controller includes a display monitor to display images and a reference point to a user for visual inspection).
Regarding claim 13, Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh in view of Nishikawa discloses wherein the outline and the shifted outline have the same shape and the same size (Arai, Figs. 1-8, paras. [0045], [0053], [0056]-[0062], [0065], [0072], [0074]-[0075], [0083], [0092], the laser beam has the same shape and size and is rotated progressively).
Regarding claim 14, Arai discloses a laser device (Figs. 1-3, 8, paras. [0034], [0043]-[0046], [0081], excimer laser light source 8) comprising:
a laser oscillator configured to output laser light (Figs. 1-3, 8, paras. [0034], [0043]-[0046], [0081], excimer laser light source 8 performs pulse oscillation to output a laser beam);
a beam profiler configured to acquire a beam profile of the laser light (Figs. 1-5, 8, paras. [0043], [0046]-[0048], [0053]-[0059], [0062]-[0065], [0072]-[0074], [0083], a rotation angle monitor 10 with sensors 13A and 13B or area sensor 14 acquires the external shape (see at least para. [0065]) and external shape rotation of the laser beam LB);
a processor (Figs. 1-5, 8, paras. [0045], [0053], [0056], [0059]-[0060], [0072], [0074]-[0075], [0083], [0092], memory/correction calculating unit 12, 12A) configured to generate a shifted outline by shifting a position of an outline of the beam profile in accordance with deviation of a light intensity distribution in the beam profile (Figs. 1-8, paras. [0045], [0053], [0056]-[0062], [0065], [0072], [0074]-[0075], [0083], [0092], memory/correction calculating unit 12, 12A stores the changes of the rotation angle of the laser beam LB detected by the rotation angle monitor with sensors 13A and 13B or area sensor 14 as a function of operation state and emission time). Arai does not appear to explicitly describe an imaginary line, a display configured to display the beam profile and the shifted outline in a superimposed manner.
Oemrawsingh discloses a display configured to display the beam profile and the shifted outline (Figs. 2, 6, 8, paras. [0019], [0047], [0053], [0064], [0069], [0083]-[0088], a controller 16a includes a display monitor to display images and a reference point to a user for visual inspection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a display configured to display the beam profile and the shifted outline as taught by Oemrawsingh in the laser device as taught by Arai since including a display configured to display the beam profile and the shifted outline is commonly used to provide visual feedback for an operator to facilitate adjustment (Oemrawsingh, paras. [0013], [0019], [0086]-[0087]).
Although Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh discloses the beam profile and displaying the beam profile and shifted outline (Arai, Figs. 1-8, paras. [0043]-[0045], [0046]-[0048], [0053]-[0065], [0072]-[0075], [0083], [0092], a rotation angle monitor 10 with sensors 13A and 13B or area sensor 14 acquires the external shape (see at least para. [0065]) and external shape rotation of the laser beam LB. The detection signals are supplied to detection/rotation calculating unit 11, and as modified by Oemrawsingh, Figs. 2, 6, 8, paras. [0019], [0047], [0053], [0064], [0069], [0083]-[0088], a controller 16a includes a display monitor to display images and a reference point to a user for visual inspection), Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh does not appear to explicitly describe an imaginary line, displaying the beam profile and the shifted outline in a superimposed manner.
Nishikawa discloses a shifted outline, that is an imaginary line (Figs. 1, 3, 12-14, paras. [0125], [0127]-[0138], [0156]-[0160], LCD 77 displays an editing window and displays data content including workpiece contour image Io, guide pattern Ig, machining content image Im, feature points P in display section 81);
a display configured to display the beam profile and the shifted outline in a superimposed manner (Figs. 1, 3, 12-14, paras. [0009], [0125], [0127]-[0138], [0156]-[0160], LCD 77 displays an editing window and displays superimposed content contour image Io, guide pattern Ig, machining content image Im, feature points P in display section 81).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included an imaginary line, displaying the beam profile and the shifted outline in a superimposed manner as taught by Nishikawa in the laser device as taught by Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh since including an imaginary line, displaying the beam profile and the shifted outline in a superimposed manner is commonly used to help the user to operate the input operation to edit and implement the edits to adjust processing with improved precision (Nishikawa, paras. [0007], [0009], [0127]).
Regarding claim 15, Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh in view of Nishikawa discloses further comprising: a slit arranged on an optical path of the laser light output from the laser oscillator (Arai, Figs. 1-5, 8, [0043], [0047], [0054], [0056]-[0062], [0077], [0079], the aperture plate 7 includes a slit to shape the laser beam to a rectangle, and illumination system blind 27 includes a blind to produce a slit shape).
Regarding claim 16, Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh in view of Nishikawa discloses further comprising: an optical axis adjustment mechanism configured to be capable of adjusting a posture of an optical element included in the laser oscillator (Arai, Figs. 1-8, paras. [0043]-[0045], [0053], [0056]-[0062], [0065], [0072], [0074]-[0075], [0083], [0092], the excimer laser light source optical elements, such as mirror 3, mirror 2, are adjusted by adjusting four driving units 6A-6D, and as modified by Oemrawsingh, Figs. 2, 6, 8, paras. [0013], [0019], [0040], [0047], [0053], [0056], [0064], [0069], [0083]-[0088], the optical devices of the beam delivery system 1a such as mirrors, lenses, or beam-splitters and/or a position of the laser are adjusted according to visual feedback),
wherein the display updates display of the shifted outline when the beam profile is changed with operation of the optical axis adjustment mechanism (Arai, Figs. 1-8, paras. [0043]-[0045], [0053], [0056]-[0062], [0065], [0072], [0074]-[0075], [0083], [0092], memory/correction calculating unit 12, 12A stores the changes of the rotation angle of the laser beam LB detected by the rotation angle monitor with sensors 13A and 13B or area sensor 14 as a function of operation state and emission time, and as modified by Oemrawsingh, Figs. 2, 6, 8, paras. [0013], [0019], [0040], [0047], [0053], [0056], [0064], [0069], [0083]-[0088], the images are displayed while adjusting the mirrors to properly align the beam).
Regarding claim 18, Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh in view of Nishikawa discloses wherein the optical axis adjustment mechanism is capable of adjusting the posture of the optical element in parallel with outputting of a plurality of pulses of the laser light by the laser oscillator (Arai, Figs. 1-8, paras. [0043]-[0045], [0053], [0056]-[0062], [0063]-[0065], [0072], [0074]-[0075], [0083], [0092], the optical elements, such as mirror 3, mirror 2, are adjusted by adjusting four driving units 6A-6D, and as modified by Oemrawsingh, Figs. 2, 6, 8, paras. [0013], [0019], [0040], [0047], [0053], [0056], [0064], [0069], [0083]-[0088], the images are displayed while adjusting the mirrors to properly align the beam).
Regarding claim 19, Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh in view of Nishikawa discloses wherein the processor determines whether or not the deviation of the light intensity distribution is within an allowable range (Arai, Figs. 1-8, paras. [0045], [0053], [0056]-[0062], [0065], [0072], [0074]-[0075], [0083], [0092], memory/correction calculating unit 12, 12A stores the changes of the rotation angle of the laser beam LB detected by the rotation angle monitor with sensors 13A and 13B or area sensor 14 as a function of operation state and emission time. The laser beam components are controlled to correct the beam rotation if necessary, and as modified by Oemrawsingh, Figs. 2, 6, 8, paras. [0019], [0047], [0053], [0064], [0069], [0083]-[0088], the controller 16a determines beam alignment, and the display monitor displays images for visual feedback to a user), and the display displays information indicating whether or not the deviation of the light intensity distribution is within the allowable range in accordance with the determination by the processor (Oemrawsingh, Figs. 2, 6, 8, paras. [0019], [0047], [0053], [0064], [0069], [0083]-[0088], the display monitor displays images for visual feedback to a user).
Regarding claim 20, Arai discloses an electronic device manufacturing method (Figs. 1-3, 8, paras. [0002], [0034], [0043]-[0046], [0072]-[0074], [0081], [0096], a projection exposure apparatus produces a semiconductor device), comprising:
generating laser light using a laser device (Figs. 1-3, 8, paras. [0034], [0043]-[0046], [0081], excimer laser light source 8 outputs a laser beam);
outputting the laser light to an exposure apparatus (Figs. 1-3, 8, paras. [0002], [0034], [0043]-[0046], [0072]-[0074], [0081], [0096], a projection exposure apparatus); and
exposing a photosensitive substrate to the laser light in the exposure apparatus to manufacture an electronic device (Figs. 1-3, 8, paras. [0002], [0034], [0043]-[0046], [0072]-[0074], [0078]-[0085], [0096], the projection exposure apparatus exposes a wafer W using the laser beam to produce a semiconductor device), the laser device including:
a laser oscillator configured to output the laser light (Figs. 1-3, 8, paras. [0034], [0043]-[0046], [0081], excimer laser light source 8 performs pulse oscillation to output a laser beam);
a beam profiler configured to acquire a beam profile of the laser light (Figs. 1-5, 8, paras. [0043], [0046]-[0048], [0053]-[0059], [0062]-[0065], [0072]-[0074], [0083], a rotation angle monitor 10 with sensors 13A and 13B or area sensor 14 acquires the external shape (see at least para. [0065]) and external shape rotation of the laser beam LB);
a processor (Figs. 1-5, 8, paras. [0045], [0053], [0056], [0059]-[0060], [0072], [0074]-[0075], [0083], [0092], memory/correction calculating unit 12, 12A) configured to generate a shifted outline by shifting a position of an outline of the beam profile in accordance with deviation of a light intensity distribution in the beam profile (Figs. 1-8, paras. [0045], [0053], [0056]-[0062], [0065], [0072], [0074]-[0075], [0083], [0092], memory/correction calculating unit 12, 12A stores the changes of the rotation angle of the laser beam LB detected by the rotation angle monitor with sensors 13A and 13B or area sensor 14 as a function of operation state and emission time). Arai does not appear to explicitly describe an imaginary line, a display configured to display the beam profile and the shifted outline in a superimposed manner.
Oemrawsingh discloses a display configured to display the beam profile and the shifted outline (Figs. 2, 6, 8, paras. [0019], [0047], [0053], [0064], [0069], [0083]-[0088], a controller 16a includes a display monitor to display images and a reference point to a user for visual inspection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a display configured to display the beam profile and the shifted outline as taught by Oemrawsingh in the laser device in the electronic device manufacturing method as taught by Arai since including a display configured to display the beam profile and the shifted outline is commonly used to provide visual feedback for an operator to facilitate adjustment (Oemrawsingh, paras. [0013], [0019], [0086]-[0087]).
Although Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh discloses the beam profile and displaying the beam profile and shifted outline (Arai, Figs. 1-8, paras. [0043]-[0045], [0046]-[0048], [0053]-[0065], [0072]-[0075], [0083], [0092], a rotation angle monitor 10 with sensors 13A and 13B or area sensor 14 acquires the external shape (see at least para. [0065]) and external shape rotation of the laser beam LB. The detection signals are supplied to detection/rotation calculating unit 11, and as modified by Oemrawsingh, Figs. 2, 6, 8, paras. [0019], [0047], [0053], [0064], [0069], [0083]-[0088], a controller 16a includes a display monitor to display images and a reference point to a user for visual inspection), Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh does not appear to explicitly describe an imaginary line, displaying the beam profile and the shifted outline in a superimposed manner.
Nishikawa discloses a shifted outline, that is an imaginary line (Figs. 1, 3, 12-14, paras. [0125], [0127]-[0138], [0156]-[0160], LCD 77 displays an editing window and displays data content including workpiece contour image Io, guide pattern Ig, machining content image Im, feature points P in display section 81);
a display configured to display the beam profile and the shifted outline in a superimposed manner (Figs. 1, 3, 12-14, paras. [0009], [0125], [0127]-[0138], [0156]-[0160], LCD 77 displays an editing window and displays superimposed content contour image Io, guide pattern Ig, machining content image Im, feature points P in display section 81).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included an imaginary line, displaying the beam profile and the shifted outline in a superimposed manner as taught by Nishikawa in the laser device in the electronic device manufacturing method as taught by Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh since including an imaginary line, displaying the beam profile and the shifted outline in a superimposed manner is commonly used to help the user to operate the input operation to edit and implement the edits to adjust processing with improved precision (Nishikawa, paras. [0007], [0009], [0127]).
Claims 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh in view of Nishikawa as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Tanaka et al. (US PGPub 2015/0168848, Tanaka hereinafter).
Regarding claim 4, Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh in view of Nishikawa discloses wherein the processor generates the outline so as to surround a portion of the beam profile having a light intensity equal to or higher than a threshold value.
Tanaka discloses wherein the processor generates the outline so as to surround a portion of the beam profile having a light intensity equal to or higher than a threshold value (Figs. 33-38, 40, paras. [0390]-[0410], the beam profile is calculated to surround a light intensity higher than a threshold value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the processor generates the outline so as to surround a portion of the beam profile having a light intensity equal to or higher than a threshold value as taught by Tanaka in the processor in the profile display device as taught by Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh in view of Nishikawa since including wherein the processor generates the outline so as to surround a portion of the beam profile having a light intensity equal to or higher than a threshold value is commonly used to reliably detect the parameters of the laser beam (Tanaka, para. [0394]).
Regarding claim 17, Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh in view of Nishikawa discloses the outline has a rectangular shape, and a direction of a long side of the rectangular shape corresponds to a direction of discharge (Arai, Figs. 1, 5, paras. [0043], [0047], [0054], [0056]-[0062], the laser beam is rectangular, and as modified by Oemrawsingh, Figs. 2, 6, 8, paras. [0019], [0047], [0053], [0064], [0069], [0083]-[0088], the display monitor displays images and the reference points). Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the laser oscillator includes a laser chamber accommodating a laser gas and a pair of discharge electrodes arranged in the laser chamber.
Tanaka discloses wherein the laser oscillator includes a laser chamber accommodating a laser gas and a pair of discharge electrodes arranged in the laser chamber (Figs. 4, 29, 33-38, 40, paras. [0127]-[0131], [0145], [0279]-[0280], the laser includes a laser chamber 20 with a laser gas and a pair of discharge electrodes 23, 24), and
the outline has a rectangular shape, and a direction of a long side of the rectangular shape corresponds to a direction of discharge caused by the discharge electrodes (Figs. 4, 29, 33-38, 40, paras. [0127]-[0131], [0145], [0279]-[0280], [0317], [0390]-[0410], the shape of the beam profile is a rectangle with a direction of a long side in a direction of discharge).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the laser oscillator includes a laser chamber accommodating a laser gas and a pair of discharge electrodes arranged in the laser chamber, and the outline has a rectangular shape, and a direction of a long side of the rectangular shape corresponds to a direction of discharge caused by the discharge electrodes as taught by Tanaka in the laser device as taught by Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh in view of Nishikawa since including wherein the laser oscillator includes a laser chamber accommodating a laser gas and a pair of discharge electrodes arranged in the laser chamber, and the outline has a rectangular shape, and a direction of a long side of the rectangular shape corresponds to a direction of discharge caused by the discharge electrodes is commonly used to emit a pulsed laser beam with the desired pulse profile (Tanaka, paras. [0131], [0146], [0317]).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh in view of Nishikawa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Duong et al. (WO 2024/019937, Duong hereinafter) in view of Fuchimukai et al. (WO 2023/152805, Fuchimukai hereinafter).
Regarding claim 6, Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh in view of Nishikawa does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the processor generates the shifted outline by shifting the position of the outline in accordance with a shift of a centroid of the beam profile with respect to a center of the outline of the same profile.
Duong discloses wherein the processor generates the shifted outline by shifting the position of the outline in accordance with a shift of a centroid of the beam profile with respect to a center of the outline (Figs. 12, 14, paras. [0098], [0100], [0123]-[0127], the position of the centroid of beam is stored and the controller controls an actuator to position the centroid towards the stored centroid).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the processor generates the shifted outline by shifting the position of the outline in accordance with a shift of a centroid of the beam profile with respect to a center of the outline as taught by Duong in the profile display device as taught by Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh since including wherein the processor generates the shifted outline by shifting the position of the outline in accordance with a shift of a centroid of the beam profile with respect to a center of the outline is commonly used to accurately align optical modules in the laser (Duong, paras. [0009]-[0010], [0021], [0023], [0126]).
Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh in view of Nishikawa in view of Duong does not appear to explicitly describe shifting the position of the outline in accordance with a shift of the beam profile with respect to the outline of the same profile.
Fuchimukai discloses shifting the position of the outline in accordance with a shift of the beam profile with respect to a center of the outline of the same profile (Figs. 1, 4, 11, pages 7, 11-12 of attached English translation, the beam profiler observers the beam profiles BP0 to BP3 of the lasers beams Lp0 to Lp3 of laser beam pulse Lp simultaneously, and the operator adjusts the postures of mirrors to overlap the beam profiles BP0 to BP3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included shifting the position of the outline in accordance with a shift of the beam profile with respect to a center of the outline of the same profile as taught by Fuchimukai in the profile display as taught by Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh in view of Duong since including wherein the processor generates the shifted outline by shifting the position of the outline in accordance with a shift of a centroid of the beam profile with respect to a center of the outline of the same profile is commonly used to provide direction for adjusting the optical path in a laser device to improve laser output (Fuchimukai, pgs. 7, 11-12).
Regarding claim 7, Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh in view of Duong in view of Fuchimukai discloses wherein the center is a centroid of a figure defined by the outline (Arai, Arai, Figs. 1-8, paras. [0045], [0053], [0056]-[0062], [0065], [0072], [0074]-[0075], [0083], [0092], memory/correction calculating unit 12, 12A stores the changes of the rotation angle of the laser beam LB detected by the rotation angle monitor with sensors 13A and 13B or area sensor 14 as a function of operation state and emission time, and as modified by Duong, Figs. 12, 14, paras. [0098], [0100], [0123]-[0127], the position of the centroid of beam is stored and the controller controls an actuator to position the centroid towards the stored centroid).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh in view of Duong and Fuchimukai as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Tian et al. (US PGPub 2016/0364886, Tian hereinafter).
Regarding claim 8, Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh in view of Duong and Fuchimukai does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the processor calculates a position of the centroid (Gx,Gy) by following expressions, Gx=Σ(I(X,Y)×X)/Σ(I(X,Y)) Gy=Σ(I(X,Y)×Y)/Σ(I(X,Y)) where I(X,Y) is a light intensity at a point (X,Y) in the beam profile.
Tian discloses wherein the processor calculates a position of the centroid (Gx,Gy) by following expressions,
Gx=Σ(I(X,Y)×X)/Σ(I(X,Y))
Gy=Σ(I(X,Y)×Y)/Σ(I(X,Y))
where I(X,Y) is a light intensity at a point (X,Y) in the beam profile (paras. [0019]-[0020], [0053]-[0055], [0068]-[0070], claim 4, a central position of the laser spot is calculated using the equations for xc and yc).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the processor calculates a position of the centroid (Gx,Gy) by following expressions, Gx=Σ(I(X,Y)×X)/Σ(I(X,Y)) Gy=Σ(I(X,Y)×Y)/Σ(I(X,Y)) where I(X,Y) is a light intensity at a point (X,Y) in the beam profile as taught by Tian in the calculation of the processor in the profile display device as taught by Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh in view of Duong and Fuchimukai since including wherein the processor calculates a position of the centroid (Gx,Gy) by following expressions, Gx=Σ(I(X,Y)×X)/Σ(I(X,Y)) Gy=Σ(I(X,Y)×Y)/Σ(I(X,Y)) where I(X,Y) is a light intensity at a point (X,Y) in the beam profile is commonly used to enable precise and robust calculation of laser spot size (Tian, paras. [0005]-[0006], [0029]).
Regarding claim 9, Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh in view of Duong in view of Fuchimukai and Tian discloses wherein the processor calculates a position of the center Cx in a first direction from a distribution of a light intensity I(Gy) along a straight line in the first direction passing through the position of the centroid (Gx,Gy), and calculates a position of the center Cy in a second direction from a distribution of a light intensity I(Gx) along a straight line in the second direction passing through the position of the centroid (Gx,Gy) and intersecting the first direction (Duong, Figs. 8-11, paras. [0087], [0097]-[0100], [0114], [0115], a distance and direction between the center of gravity of the beam and the center of an aperture is determined in the x direction and the y direction, and as modified by Tian, Fig. 4, paras. [0019]-[0020], [0053]-[0055], [0068]-[0070], claim 4, the centroid is calculated from the intensity distribution).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh in view of Nishikawa as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Duong et al. (WO 2024/019937, Duong hereinafter).
Regarding claim 12, although Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh discloses wherein the display displays the outline and the shifted outline (Arai, Figs. 1-8, paras. [0045], [0053], [0056]-[0062], [0065], [0072], [0074]-[0075], [0083], [0092], memory/correction calculating unit 12, 12A stores the changes of the rotation angle of the laser beam LB detected by the rotation angle monitor with sensors 13A and 13B or area sensor 14 as a function of operation state and emission time, and as modified by Oemrawsingh, Figs. 2, 6, 8, paras. [0019], [0047], [0053], [0064], [0069], [0083]-[0088], the display monitor displays images for visual feedback to a user), Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the display displays the outline and the shifted outline in different display formats.
Duong discloses wherein the display displays in different display formats (Figs. 3-4, paras. [0075]-[0077], the user interface 395 displays information in different modes to provide the user with visual information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the display displays in different display formats as taught by Duong with the outline and the shifted outline in the profile display device as taught by Arai as modified by Oemrawsingh since including wherein the display displays the outline and the shifted outline in different display formats is commonly used to permit the user to visually monitor and control adjustment of the laser (Duong, paras. [0076]-[0077]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINA A RIDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882