DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 5, 6, 11, 14, 15, 16, 17 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 11, 13, 14, 15, 16 and 19 respectively of U.S. Patent No.12120210 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because said instant claims are merely a broader version od said patented claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 6335949 B1), hereinafter, Kim, in view of Schenk (US 20050169362 A1) hereinafter, Schenk.
Regarding claim 1:
Kim discloses a method for tracking a sampling phase in a receiver device, the method comprising:
receiving an input signal at the receiver device (Fig. 1, receiver input r(t) is received at ADC 100; Column 2, lines 21-28);
sampling, by the receiver device, the input signal to generate a sampled input signal, the input signal sampled at a current sampling phase corresponding to a sampling clock (Column 1, lines 50-58; Column 2, lines 21-28; input signal is sampled by ADC 100 according to sampling timing phases i.e. at a current sampling phase corresponding to a sampling clock as claimed );
equalizing, by the receiver device, the sampled input signal to generate an equalized input signal (Column 2, lines 20-37);
determining, by the receiver device based at least in part on the equalized input signal, phase gradient information indicative of a phase offset of the current sampling phase from an optimal sampling phase for the input signal (Column 2, lines 28-38, the modeling portion 106 uses the equalizer input and circuit 108 determines the phase gradient which is used to correct phase sampling -timing phase (i.e. indicative of claimed phase offset)and based on the output of modeling portion (claimed optimal sampling phase)); and
applying, by the receiver device, the phase gradient information to reduce the phase offset for a subsequent sampling operation (Column 2, lines 28-38, sampling timing phase is corrected using the phase gradient, i.e. to reduce the phase offset for a subsequent sampling operation).
Kim discloses all the limitations above, but fails to explicitly disclose optimal sampling phase corresponding to an estimated peak of the input signal.
However, Schenk discloses a receiver (Fig. 1) with a sampler (Fig. 1, A/D) and an equalizer (Fig. 1, equalizer EQ) with optimal sampling phase corresponding to an estimated peak of the signal (Paragraph [0103], optimal sampling phase is at the maximum signal to noise ratio, i.e. corresponding to an estimated peak of the signal )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that Kim’s optimal sampling phase of the input signal corresponding to an estimated peak of the signal as disclosed by Schenk, thereby resulting in claimed invention. It would have been obvious because the peak implies lowest noise.
Regarding claim 2:
Kim and Schenk disclose all limitations of claim 1 above. Kim further discloses wherein applying the phase gradient information to reduce the phase offset for a subsequent sampling operation includes adjusting one or more parameters of the receiver device based on the phase gradient information (Column 4, lines 18-65; equation 14).
Regarding claim 3:
Kim and Schenk disclose all limitations of claim 2 above. Kim further discloses the method wherein adjusting a parameter among the one or more parameters includes performing, based on the phase gradient information, one of i) increasing a current value of the parameter by an adjustment step or ii) decreasing the current value of the parameter by the adjustment step (Column 4, lines 18-65; equation 14, step sizes are claimed adjustment step).
Regarding claim 4:
Kim and Schenk disclose all limitations of claim 1 above. Kim further discloses the method wherein determining the phase gradient information includes: determining a current channel response estimate based on the input signal sampled at the current sampling phase; determining one or more skewed channel response estimates corresponding to the input signal sampled at one or more sampling phases skewed relative to the current sampling phase; and determining the phase gradient information based on the current channel response estimates and the one or more skewed channel response estimates (Column 4, lines 9-65; channel characteristics of Fig. 3A are claimed current channel response and channel characteristics with phase delays of Fig. 3B are channel response estimates corresponding to the input signal sampled at one or more sampling phases skewed relative to the current sampling phase).
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Yang (US 7948703 B1), hereinafter Yang, and Schenk.
Regarding claim 11:
Kim disclose a receiver device (Fig. 1), comprising:
a sampler device (Fig. 1, ADC 100) configured to sample the input signal at a current sampling phase to generate a sampled input signal (Fig. 1, receiver input r(t) is received at ADC 100 (claimed sampler device) . See Column 1, lines 50-58; Column 2, lines 21-28; input signal is sampled according to sampling timing phases i.e. at a current sampling phase as claimed );
an equalizer (Fig. 1, equalizer 102) configured to equalize the sampled input signal to generate an equalized input signal (Column 2, lines 20-37); and
a controller (Fig. 1, units 106 and 108 together are claimed controller) configured to:
determine, based at least in part on the equalized input signal, phase gradient information indicative of a phase offset of the current sampling phase from an optimal sampling phase for the input signal (Column 2, lines 28-38, the modeling portion 106 uses the equalizer input and circuit 108 determines the phase gradient which is used to correct phase sampling -timing phase (i.e. indicative of claimed phase offset)and based on the output of modeling portion (claimed optimal sampling phase)), and
apply the phase gradient information to reduce the phase offset for a subsequent sampling operation (Column 2, lines 28-38, sampling timing phase is corrected using the phase gradient, i.e. to reduce the phase offset for a subsequent sampling operation).
Kim discloses all the limitations above, but fails to explicitly disclose the receiver device comprising front end circuitry configured to receive an input signal, an adaptive equalizer and the optimal sampling phase corresponding to an estimated peak of the input signal.
However, Yang discloses a receiver device (Fig. 3A) comprising front end circuitry (Fig. 3A, front end circuitry 302) configured to receive an input signal (Fig. 3A, readback signal) and an adaptive equalizer (Fig. 3A, adaptive equalizer 323) (Column 8, lines 37-49).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that Kim’s receiver device would comprise front end circuitry configured to receive an input signal, an adaptive equalizer as disclosed by Yang. It would have been obvious because it allows for preprocessing of the input signal and improve performance and reliability (Column 8, lines 37-49; Column 10, lines 49-56).
Further, Schenk discloses a receiver (Fig. 1) with a sampler (Fig. 1, A/D) and an equalizer (Fig. 1, equalizer EQ) with optimal sampling phase corresponding to an estimated peak of the signal (Paragraph [0103], optimal sampling phase is at the maximum signal to noise ratio, i.e. corresponding to an estimated peak of the signal )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that Kim’s receiver as modified by Yang to have optimal sampling phase of the input signal corresponding to an estimated peak of the signal as disclosed by Schenk, thereby resulting in claimed invention. It would have been obvious because the peak implies lowest noise.
Regarding claim 12:
Kim, Yang and Schenk disclose all limitations of claim 11 above. Kim further discloses the receiver device wherein the controller is configured to adjust one or more parameters of the receiver device based on the phase gradient information (Column 4, lines 18-65; equation 14).
Regarding claim 13:
Kim, Yang and Schenk disclose all limitations of claim 12 above. Kim further discloses the receiver device wherein the controller is configured to adjust a parameter among the one or more parameters by performing, based on the phase gradient information, one of i) increasing a current value of the parameter by an adjustment step or ii) decreasing the current value of the parameter by the adjustment step (Column 4, lines 18-65; equation 14, step sizes are claimed adjustment step).
Regarding claim 14:
Kim, Yang and Schenk disclose all limitations of claim 11 above. Kim further discloses the receiver device wherein the controller is configured to:
determine a current channel response estimate based on the input signal sampled at the current sampling phase; determine one or more skewed channel response estimates corresponding to the input signal sampled at one or more sampling phases skewed relative to the current sampling phase; and determine the phase gradient information as a function of the current channel response estimates and the one or more skewed channel response estimates (Column 4, lines 9-65; channel characteristics of Fig. 3A are claimed current channel response and channel characteristics with phase delays of Fig. 3B are channel response estimates corresponding to the input signal sampled at one or more sampling phases skewed relative to the current sampling phase).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8, 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/VINEETA S PANWALKAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635