DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 15-21, drawn to a method of preparing an electrode in the reply filed on October 13, 2026 is acknowledged. The cancellation of non-elected claims 1-14 is also acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hovis (US 2016/0216233) in view of Chou (US 2007/0095664).
Regarding claim 15, Hovis teaches a method of preparing an electrode (Fig. 13; ¶61) comprising:
etching a hole within a first dielectric layer (Fig. 13; ¶61: the layer of dielectric 1 is etched to create a well) disposed onto a conductive layer (Fig. 13; ¶61: the metal 6 layer (M6)), wherein the hole comprises an exposed surface of a conductive layer (Fig. 13: step B);
depositing a working electrode at least onto the exposed surface of the conductive layer within the hole (Fig. 13; ¶61: the deposited metal or metal oxide in the well forms a working electrode); and
depositing a cap layer onto the surface of the working electrode (Fig. 13; ¶61: a layer of dielectric 2 is deposited on top of the dielectric 1 and the working electrode).
Hovis does not teach the working electrode comprising a ruthenium-containing film.
However, Chou teaches a biosensor comprising an extended gate field effect transistor (EGFET) structure (Fig. 3; ¶81) with a ruthenium oxide (RuO) or ruthenium nitride (RuN) sensing membrane prepared by radio frequency (RF) sputtering (¶12) and a low cost process for the preparation of RuO or RuN film for ISFET by RF sputtering deposition (¶13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hovis by incorporating a ruthenium-containing film, e.g., RuO or RuN, on the working electrode as taught by Chou because ruthenium dioxide has low resistance, high surface area, multi-redox-active pairs, excellent adhesion of enzymes and compounds, excellent reversibility in electrochemistry, high stability in acidic solution, and good pH sensitivity (¶82).
Claim(s) 16 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hovis in view of Chou, and further in view of Anderson (US 5,585,776).
Regarding claim 16, Hovis in view of Chou discloses all limitations of claim 15 and wherein the depositing of the working electrode comprises (i) performing one of a sputter deposition or a plasma vapor deposition (Chou ¶12) using a ruthenium target in a nitrogen atmosphere to provide the ruthenium-containing film (¶20: with a ruthenium target supplied with N2 for preparation of ruthenium oxide film). Chou further discloses preparing the ruthenium oxide film at room temperature (25°C).
Hovis and Chou fail to teach heating the provided ruthenium-containing film at a temperature of at least 150°C.
However, Anderson teaches thin film resistors having a low temperature coefficient of resistance (TCR), good stability, and good resistance to corrosion (Col. 1, ll. 7-9). For fabrication of stable, low TCR RuO resistor an annealing step is required (col. 4, ll. 38-39) after deposition (Col. 4, ll. 41-42). The annealing temperature is substantially greater than normal operating temperature (Fig. 3: annealing temperature at 250 ⁰C for TCR = 0; col. 4, ll. 65-66), which overlaps the temperature range as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hovis and Chou by incorporating an post-sputtering annealing step at a temperature within the claimed range because the annealing would result the ruthenium film having a low temperature coefficient of resistance (TCR), good stability, and good resistance to corrosion (Col. 1, ll. 7-9). Here, the claimed limitations are obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claims 20-21, Hovis in view of Chou discloses all limitations of claim 15 and wherein the depositing of the working electrode comprises (i) performing one of a sputter deposition or a plasma vapor deposition (Chou ¶12) using a ruthenium target (¶20: with a ruthenium target supplied with N2 for preparation of ruthenium oxide film), wherein the sputter deposition or the plasma vapor deposition process comprises (i) introducing nitrogen into the deposition chamber at a flow rate of between 10 sccm and 100 sccm (¶87: nitrogen at 20-40 sccm; also see ¶107: the flow rate of nitrogen was 30 sccm), and (ii) introducing argon into the deposition chamber at a flow rate of 10 sccm (¶87: argon at 10~20 sccm), and wherein a deposition pressure within the deposition chamber is maintained at between 5 mTorr to 25 mTorr during the deposition (¶87: the RF sputtering is performed at a pressure of 10 mtorr), and wherein the deposition is performed using a power ranging from 50 watts to 250 watts (¶87: the RF sputtering is performed at a power of 100 W).
Hovis and Chou fail to teach heating the provided ruthenium-containing film at a temperature of at least 150°C (claim 20) or wherein the heating is performed at least 200°C (claim 21).
However, Anderson teaches thin film resistors having a low temperature coefficient of resistance (TCR), good stability, and good resistance to corrosion (Col. 1, ll. 7-9). For fabrication of stable, low TCR RuO resistor an annealing step is required (col. 4, ll. 38-39) after deposition (Col. 4, ll. 41-42). The annealing temperature is substantially greater than normal operating temperature (Fig. 3: annealing temperature at 250 ⁰C for TCR = 0; col. 4, ll. 65-66), which overlaps the temperature ranges as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hovis and Chou by incorporating an post-sputtering annealing step at a temperature within the claimed ranges because the annealing would result the ruthenium film having a low temperature coefficient of resistance (TCR), good stability, and good resistance to corrosion (Col. 1, ll. 7-9). Here, the claimed limitations are obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 17-19 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not disclose nor render obvious all of the cumulative limitations of claims 4 or 8 with particular attention to the limitations:
wherein the working electrode is characterized as having a surface composition ratio of (N+O)/Ru as measured by X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy ranging from between 1.5 and 3.5 (claim 17);
wherein the working electrode is characterized as having a double-layer capacitance ranging from between 180 pF/um2 to 320 pF/um2 (claim 18);
wherein the working electrode is characterized as having a nitrogen content of at least 5% nitrogen but not more than 15% (claim 19).
Here, Hovis teaches a method of preparing an electrode (Fig. 3: an extended gate field effect transistor (EGFET) containing a sensing film) comprising: etching a hole within a first dielectric layer (Fig. 3: the layer of dielectric 1) disposed onto a conductive layer (Fig. 13: the metal 6 layer (M6)), wherein the hole comprises an exposed surface of a conductive layer (Fig. 13: step B); depositing a working electrode at least onto the exposed surface of the conductive layer within the hole (Fig. 13; ¶61: the deposited metal or metal oxide in the well forms a working electrode); and depositing a cap layer onto the surface of the working electrode (Fig. 13: a layer of dielectric 2). Chou teaches a biosensor comprising an extended gate field effect transistor (EGFET) structure (Fig. 3; ¶81) with a ruthenium oxide (RuO) or ruthenium nitride (RuN) sensing membrane prepared by radio frequency (RF) sputtering (¶12) and a low cost process for the preparation of RuO or RuN film for ISFET by RF sputtering deposition (¶13). The RF sputtering is performed at a pressure of 5~30 mtorr and power of 80~120 W, and the ratio of argon and nitrogen range is 10~20:20~40 sccm (¶87). Anderson teaches fabricating of stable, low TCR RuO resistor an annealing step is required after deposition (Col. 4, ll. 38-39, 41-42) at an annealing temperature at 250 ⁰C (Fig. 3; col. 4, ll. 65-66). However, none of Hovis, Chou, and Anderson teaches the obtained working electrode would have a surface composition ratio of (N+O)/Ru between 1.5 and 3.5 or a double-layer capacitance ranging from between 180 pF/um2 to 320 pF/um2 or a nitrogen content of at least 5% nitrogen but not more than 15%.
Conclusion
/C. SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795