DETAILED ACTION
In the response to this office action, the Examiner respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the Examiner in prosecuting this application.
CONTINUED EXAMINATION UNDER 37 CFR 1.114
RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed 10/09/2025, in which:claims 1 and 11 are amended; and the rejections of the claims are traversed. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and an Office Action on the merits follows.
CLAIM REJECTIONS - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gieseke et al. US 20140336876 in view of Baillot US 20120120070 and further in view of Miyoshi et al. US 20070009137.
Consider claim 1. Gieseke discloses a method of selectively presenting information to a user of a wearable head device heads-up glasses e.g. google glass eyeglasses [0004][0015], the method comprising:
detecting, via a camera of the wearable head device, a user is looking at a view target of a vehicle [0023] detect viewing direction of person wearing the wearable head device [0025] user looking at a non-transparent portion of the vehicle ,
determining, based on a relationship between the view target and a field of view of the camera, whether a gaze direction of the user is toward the view target [0025] driver’s gaze is determined to be towards a non-transparent portion of the vehicle;
in accordance with a determination that the gaze direction of the user is toward the view target, presenting a first content via a see-through display of the wearable head device [0025] in response to gaze being towards the non-transparent portion of the vehicle a virtual display depicts a scene of the exterior of the car [0026] the virtual image may be displayed at or by the glass worn by the driver while the driver is operating the vehicle; and
in accordance with the determination that the gaze direction of the user is away from the view target, forgoing presenting the first content via the see-through display [0026] when the display of the glasses is not activated the driver views through the lenses of the glasses [0030] the display is activated when the driver views non-transparent portions that hide or obstruct outside view, wherein:
said presenting the first content comprises presenting the first content at a location in the vehicle determined based on a location of the view target [0025][0026][0030].
Gieseke does not explicitly disclose detecting the view target using the camera, the view target comprising a light emitter; the camera is configured to detect light of a first wavelength outside a visible spectrum; the light emitter is configured to emit light of the first wavelength; and further configured to detect light emitted from the light emitter of the view target of the vehicle
Baillot et al. however discloses detecting the view target using the camera [0020] the tracking mechanism is a camera [0023] camera 18, the view target comprising a light emitter [0019] active marker is attached to object. the active marker has a source that produces IR or UV light and uses the light to create a pattern. [0021] marker may refer to one or more LEDs or patterns. see marker’s constellation; the camera is configured to detect light of a first wavelength outside a visible spectrum; the light emitter is configured to emit light of the first wavelength [0019-0020] the emitter emits IR or UV light and the camera captures the IR or UV light which cannot be seen by a human further configured to detect light emitted from the light emitter of the view target of the vehicle[0019-0020] active marker is attached to object. the emitter emits IR or UV light and the camera captures the IR or UV light which cannot be seen by a human.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wearable head device of Gieseke to include detecting the view target using the camera, the view target comprising a light emitter; the camera is configured to detect light of a first wavelength outside a visible spectrum; the light emitter is configured to emit light of the first wavelength; further configured to detect light emitted from the light emitter of the view target of the vehicle, as taught by Baillot, to provide precise and continuous position and orientation tracking [0011].
Gieseke as modified by Baillot do not disclose a focus distance of the first content is determined based on a location of an object external to the vehicle.
Miyoshi however discloses a focus distance of the first content is determined based on a location of an object external to the vehicle. fig. 4 [0147] change displays of a viewpoint converted image of a zone having a high probability of collision by different hues based on the distance and relative speed between the owner s vehicle and a second body, and the probability of collision calculated based on the aforementioned pieces of information. [0086] change color or hue based on distance or probability of collision. [0138-0139] describes an embodiment which uses an HMD.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wearable head device of Gieseke as modified by Baillot to include, a focus distance of the first content is determined based on a location of an object external to the vehicle., as taught by Miyoshi, to enable a driver or a pedestrian to recognize a risk of collision more intuitively, thereby assisting to accomplish safe driving or walking [0149].
Consider claim 2. Gieseke as modified by Baillot disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the light of the first wavelength comprises infrared light Baillot [0019-20].
Motivation to combine is similar to motivation in claim 1.
Consider claim 3. Gieseke as modified by Baillot and Miyoshi disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising determining a light characteristic from the light emitter Baillot [0019] active marker is attached to object. the active marker has a source that produces IR or UV light and uses the light to create a pattern. [0021] marker may refer to one or more LEDs or patterns. see marker’s constellation, wherein the first content is determined according to the determined light characteristic. Gieseke the content is determined based on the object the user is looking at [0025][0026][0030]. Baillot the visible light characteristic of the object is determined based on the one or more LED pattern.
Motivation to combine is similar to motivation in claim 1.
Consider claim 4. Gieseke as modified by Baillot and Miyoshi disclose the method of claim 3, wherein the visible light characteristic comprises a blinking rate of the light Baillot [0021] the light sources have to activate in order to emit light.
Motivation to combine is similar to motivation in claim 1.
Consider claim 5. Gieseke as modified by Baillot and Miyoshi disclose the method of claim 3, wherein the light characteristic comprises one or more of a light geometry and a light pattern Baillot [0021] pattern or marker constellation.
Motivation to combine is similar to motivation in claim 1.
Consider claim 6. Gieseke as modified by Baillot and Miyoshi disclose the method of claim 1, wherein said determining whether the gaze direction of the user is toward the view target comprises detecting, via the camera of the wearable head device, one or more objects in the vehicle Gieseke [0023][0025][0026][0030].
Consider claim 7. Gieseke as modified by Baillot and Miyoshi disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the vehicle is a moving vehicle and wherein the user is seated in a passenger seat of the vehicle Gieseke [0026] the virtual image may be displayed at or by the glass worn by the driver while the driver is operating the vehicle. [0030] but could be a passenger in the passenger seat.
Consider claim 8. Gieseke as modified by Baillot and Miyoshi disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the relationship between the view target and the field of view of the camera comprises an angle between the gaze direction and light from the light emitter Gieseke [0023] detect viewing direction of person wearing the wearable head device [0025] user looking at a non-transparent portion of the vehicle. also see Baillot [0019-0021].
Consider claim 9. Gieseke as modified by Baillot and Miyoshi disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising in accordance with the determination that the gaze direction of the user is toward the view target: determining that the gaze direction of the user is no longer toward the view target; in accordance with the determination that the gaze direction of the user is no longer toward the view target, ceasing the presentation of the first content. Gieseke [0027] display based on driving condition or triggering event includes system determining if the driver is viewing a particular direction... displayed views may also be based on driver’s gaze [0035] if one content is being displayed it can be stopped according to driving condition.
Consider claim 10. Gieseke as modified by Baillot and Miyoshi disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising: detecting, via the camera, a second view target of the vehicle, the second view target Gieseke [0025] the first view target can be the hood of the car as second view object can be a side door of the vehicle comprising a second light emitter Baillot [0019] active marker is attached to object. the active marker has a source that produces IR or UV light and uses the light to create a pattern. [0021] marker may refer to one or more LEDs or patterns. see marker’s constellation; determining, based on a relationship between the second view target and the field of view of the camera, whether the gaze direction of the user is toward the second view target Gieseke [0025] driver’s gaze is determined to be towards a non-transparent portion of the vehicle. side door; in accordance with a determination that the gaze direction of the user is toward the second view target, presenting a second content via the see-through display Gieseke [0025] in response to gaze being towards the non-transparent portion of the vehicle a virtual display depicts a scene of the exterior of the car [0026] the virtual image may be displayed at or by the glass worn by the driver while the driver is operating the vehicle; and in accordance with a determination that the gaze direction of the user is away from the second view target, forgoing presenting the second content via the see-through display. Gieseke [0026] when the display of the glasses is not activated the driver views through the lenses of the glasses [0030] the display is activated when the driver views non-transparent portions that hide or obstruct outside view.
Motivation to combine is similar to motivation in claim 1.
Claim 11 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 1 where the processor is wearable computer or processor [0004].
Claim 12 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 2.
Claim 13 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 3.
Claim 14 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 4.
Claim 15 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 5.
Claim 16 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 6.
Claim 17 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 7.
Claim 18 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 8.
Claim 19 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 9.
Claim 20 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 10.
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
Applicant's arguments file have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (pages 6-7) that the cited references fail to disclose “a focus distance of the first content is determined based on a location of an object external to the vehicle.”
The Office agrees and has accordingly updated the rejection to include the Miyoshi reference which clearly shows that the distance different objects are displayed and highlighted, e.g. as bodies A B C, are relative to their distance to the vehicle (see rejection above for further details).
V. CONCLUSION
IBRAHIM A. KHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2628
/IBRAHIM A KHAN/ 03/05/2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628