DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Phillips et al. (US 5820332 A, hereafter Phillips).
Regarding Claim 1, Phillips discloses a heavy-duty coupler for attaching an implement to work vehicle comprising:
a first bracket that extends rearward and is configured for attachment to the implement (Figure 1 and 2: 28, Figure 7 also shows a view of the bracket);
a first engagement plate portion configured to contact the first implement carrier (Figures 1 and 2: 14);
a first lip configured for engagement with a top edge of the first implement carrier, wherein the first lip is angled with respect to the first engagement plate portion (Figures 1 and 2: lips 22 the first lip is left and second is right, Column 3 Lines 30-43: an implement carrier with a male portion engages with the first lip and second lip);
a second engagement plate portion configured to contact the second implement carrier (Phillips Column 1 Lines 53-56: coupler is made to handle multiple types of implements which includes a second implement carrier different from the first, Phillips Figures 1 and 2: the second engagement plate portion 14 that lies in the same plane as the first engagement plate portion in the same way as the applicant's embodiments as multiple types of implements and work tools can couple to the same plate, Applicant's Specification Paragraph 83, Applicant's drawings Figures 8-11);
a second lip configured for engagement with a top edge of the second implement carrier, wherein (Figures 1 and 2: lips 22 the first lip is left and second is right, Column 3 Lines 30-43: different implement carrier with the same male portion can engage with the first and second lip)
the second lip is angled with respect to the second engagement plate portion (Figures 1 and 2: right lip, Column 2 Lines 56-65).
Regarding Claim 11, Phillips discloses the limitations of claim 1 in addition to disclosing the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first engagement plate portion and the second engagement plate portion lie in a same plane (Figures 1 and 2: the second engagement plate portion 14 that lies in the same plane as the first engagement plate portion in the same way as the applicant's embodiments, Applicant's Specification Paragraph 83, Applicant's drawings Figures 8-11).
Regarding Claim 14, Phillips discloses a method of using a mounting apparatus to provide compatibility of an implement to a power, the method comprising: attaching the first bracket of an apparatus to the implement;
operating the first power machine to engage a top edge of the first implement carrier with a first lip and first engagement plate portion of the apparatus (Figures 1 and 2: lips 22 the first lip is left and second is right, Column 3 Lines 30-43: an implement carrier with a male portion engages with the first lip and second lip); and
operating the second power machine to engage a top edge of the second implement carrier with a second lip and second engagement plate portion of the apparatus (Figures 1 and 2: lips 22 the first lip is left and second is right, Column 3 Lines 30-43: different implement carrier with the same male portion can engage with the first and second lip, Phillips Column 1 Lines 53-56: coupler is made to handle multiple implements which includes a second implement carrier different from the first, Phillips Figures 1 and 2: the second engagement plate portion 14 that lies in the same plane as the first engagement plate portion in the same way as the applicant's embodiments as multiple types of implements and work tools can couple to the same plate, Applicant's Specification Paragraph 83, Applicant's drawings Figures 8-11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 12, 13, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phillips et al. (US 5820332 A, hereafter Phillips) in view of Seifert (US 2021/0238823 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Phillips discloses the limitations of claim 1. Philips does not disclose a first flange having a first aperture, wherein the first aperture is configured to receive a first pin of the first implement carrier; and
a second flange having a second aperture, wherein the second aperture is configured to receive a second pin of the first implement carrier.
Seifert discloses a skid steer mount the uses multiple flanges, that have different sized apertures, along the bottom side of the apparatus (Figure 3: there are multiple flanges 26A with multiple pin receiving holes 34A) for the purpose of allowing the mount to engage/latch with the engagement mechanism of the loader (Paragraph 61).
It would It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date to modify the invention of Phillips by including the flanges and pin receiving holes disclosed by Seifert to the bottom side of Philips invention for the purpose of allowing the mount to engage/latch with the engagement mechanism of the loader.
Regarding Claim 3, Phillips in view of Seifert disclose the limitations of claim 2. The combination as applied in claim 2 does not disclose a third flange having a third aperture, wherein the third aperture is configured to receive a third pin of the second implement carrier.
Seifert discloses a skid steer mount the uses multiple flanges, that have different sized apertures, along the bottom side of the apparatus (Figure 3: there are multiple flanges 26A with multiple pin receiving holes 34A) for the purpose of allowing the mount to engage/latch with the engagement mechanism of the loader (Paragraph 61).
It would It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date to modify the combination as applied in claim 2 by including the use of multiple flanges along the bottom side of the apparatus, disclosed by Seifertm by including a third flange with a pin receiving hole along the bottom side of the combination as applied in claim 2 to allow further engagement/latching with the engagement mechanism of the loader.
Regarding Claim 4, Phillips in view of Seifert disclose the limitations of claim 3. The combination as applied in claim 3 discloses the third flange is positioned between the first and second flanges (placing multiple flanges along the bottom side of the apparatus as disclosed by Seifert would make the third flange positioned between the first and second flanges).
Regarding Claim 12, Phillips discloses the limitations of claim 1 but does not disclose the first engagement plate portion and the second engagement plate portion lie in different planes.
Seifert discloses a skid steer mount the uses a first engagement plate portion and a second engagement plate portion that is recessed rearward relative to the first engagement plate portion which create a first and second pocket respectively (Figure 18: first plate portion 32M, second plate portion 46M, Figure 20: first pocket 18M, second pocket 20M, Paragraphs 74 and 75). The pockets are used to allow different sized work machines to attach to the device (Paragraph 6).
It would It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Phillips by making the second engagement plate portion recessed to create a first and second pocket as disclosed by Seifert for the purpose of allowing different sized work machines to attach to the device.
Regarding Claim 13, Phillips discloses the limitations of claim 1 but does not disclose the second engagement plate portion is recessed rearward relative to the first engagement plate portion.
Seifert discloses a skid steer mount the uses a first engagement plate portion and a second engagement plate portion that is recessed rearward relative to the first engagement plate portion which create a first and second pocket respectively (Figure 18: first plate portion 32M, second plate portion 46M, Figure 20: first pocket 18M, second pocket 20M, Paragraphs 74 and 75). The pockets are used to allow different sized work machines to attach to the device (Paragraph 6).
It would It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Phillips by making the second engagement plate portion recessed to create a first and second pocket as disclosed by Seifert for the purpose of allowing different sized work machines to attach to the device.
Regarding Claim 15, Phillips discloses the limitations of claim 14 but does not disclose extending a first pin of the first implement carrier into a first aperture of a first flange of the apparatus.
Seifert discloses a skid steer mount the uses multiple flanges, that have different sized apertures, along the bottom side of the apparatus (Figure 3: there are multiple flanges 26A with multiple pin receiving holes 34A) for the purpose of allowing the mount to engage/latch with the engagement mechanism of the loader (Paragraph 61).
It would It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date to modify the invention of Phillips by including the flanges and pin receiving holes disclosed by Seifert to the bottom side of Philips invention for the purpose of allowing the mount to engage/latch with the engagement mechanism of the loader.
Regarding Claim 16, Phillips discloses the limitations of claim 14. Philips additionally discloses the mount is capable of connecting to different implement carriers so a second implement carrier different from the first can be mounted (Phillips Column 1 Lines 53-56). Philips does not disclose extending a first pin of the second implement carrier into a first aperture of a first flange of the apparatus.
Seifert discloses a skid steer mount the uses multiple flanges, that have different sized apertures, along the bottom side of the apparatus (Figure 3: there are multiple flanges 26A with multiple pin receiving holes 34A) for the purpose of allowing the mount to engage/latch with the engagement mechanism of the loader (Paragraph 61).
It would It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date to modify the invention of Phillips by including the flanges and pin receiving holes disclosed by Seifert to the bottom side of Philips invention for the purpose of allowing the mount to engage/latch with the engagement mechanism of the loader.
Claim(s) 5-10, and 17- 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phillips et al. (US 5820332 A, hereafter Phillips) in view of Martin et al. (US 2016/0208455 A1, hereafter Martin).
Regarding claim 5, Phillips discloses the limitations of claim 1. Philip does not disclose the second lip is movable between a first position or a second position.
Martin discloses a work tool coupler for a work tool that uses a spring-based mechanism to move a retention pin in multiple positions (Figures 6-8: spring 150 moves retention pin 132 between an internal position to an outward position, Paragraph 39: the retention pin does not have to be a “pin” it can also be a lip/ridge). for the purpose of allowing the pin to engage and disengage with different work tools (Paragraph 52).
It would It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Phillips by including the spring-based mechanism disclosed by Martin to allow second lip to move in an out position where the lip extends forward from a mounting portion of the apparatus relative to the first engagement plate portion and an in position where the lip extends rearward from a mounting portion of the apparatus relative to the first engagement plate portion for the purpose of allowing the second lip to engage or disengage with different work tools and carriers.
Regarding Claim 6, Philips in view of Martin disclose the limitations of claim 5. The combination as applied in claim 5 discloses the second lip is disposed on a plate (Philips Figures 1 and 2: the lips are on the edge of a plate). The combination as applied in claim 5 does not disclose the removable plate is configured for attachment relative to the first engagement plate portion in the first position or in the second position.
Philips discloses the work vehicle couplings that use a sliding pin wedge will have wear on the pin caused by movement of the pin (Column 1 Lines 26-31).
Martin discloses a work tool coupler for a work tool that may use different embodiments of pins for the purpose of matching the mating shape of the work tool (Figures 6-8: retention pin, Paragraph 39). Martin also discloses being using interchangeable and attachable components for the purpose of reducing costs (Paragraph 3).
It would It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combination as applied in claim 5 by making the plate an interchangeable and attachable component as disclosed by Martin for the purposes of replacing the pin due to wear and matching the mating shape of a respective work tool.
Regarding Claim 7, Philips in view of Martin disclose the limitations of claim 6. The combination as applied in claim 6 discloses in the first position, the removable plate extends forward from a mounting portion of the apparatus relative to the first engagement plate portion (Martin, Figures 6-8: spring 150 moves retention pin 132 between an internal position to an outward position, Paragraph 39: the retention pin does not have to be a “pin” it can also be a lip/ridge, use these teachings to allow second lip to move in an out position where the lip extends forward from a mounting portion of the apparatus relative to the first engagement plate portion).
Regarding Claim 8, Philips in view of Martin disclose the limitations of claim 6. The combination as applied in claim 6 discloses the second position, the removable plate extends rearward from a mounting portion of the apparatus relative to the first engagement plate portion (Martin, Figures 6-8: spring 150 moves retention pin 132 between an internal position to an outward position, Paragraph 39: the retention pin does not have to be a “pin” it can also be a lip/ridge, use these teachings to allow second lip to move in an in position where the lip extends rearward from a mounting portion of the apparatus relative to the first engagement plate portion).
Regarding Claim 9, Philips in view of Martin disclose the limitations of claim 5. The combination as applied in claim 5 discloses a spring-loaded mechanism that biases the second lip toward the first position, in which the second lip extends forward relative to the first engagement plate portion (Martin, Figure 8: the spring 150 biases the retention pin in the out position or engaged position, Paragraphs 12 and 57: the spring is biased in both the first and second position).
Regarding Claim 10, Philips in view of Martin disclose the limitations of claim 5. The combination as applied in claim 5 discloses the first engagement plate portion comprises an aperture configured to receive the second lip in the second position (Martin, Figures 3-5: the first plate would need an aperture to allow the second lip to move between the in and out positions similar to the one seen at the bottom of Martin’s invention).
Regarding Claim 17, Phillips discloses the limitations of claim 14. Philips does not disclose moving the second lip between a first position or a second position.
Martin discloses a work tool coupler for a work tool that uses a spring-based mechanism to move a retention pin in multiple positions (Figures 6-8: spring 150 moves retention pin 132 between an internal position to an outward position, Paragraph 39: the retention pin does not have to be a “pin” it can also be a lip/ridge). for the purpose of allowing the pin to engage and disengage with different work tools (Paragraph 52).
It would It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Phillips by including the spring-based mechanism disclosed by Martin to allow second lip to move in an out position where the lip extends forward from a mounting portion of the apparatus relative to the first engagement plate portion and an in position where the lip extends rearward from a mounting portion of the apparatus relative to the first engagement plate portion for the purpose of allowing the second lip to engage or disengage with different work tools and carriers.
Regarding Claim 18, Philips in view of Martin disclose the limitations of claim 17. The combination as applied in claim 17 discloses the second lip is disposed on a plate (Philips Figures 1 and 2: the lips are on the edge of a plate). The combination as applied in claim 17 does not disclose the method comprising detaching the lip plate in the first position from a mounting portion of the apparatus.
Philips discloses the work vehicle couplings that use a sliding pin wedge will have wear on the pin caused by movement of the pin (Column 1 Lines 26-31).
Martin discloses a work tool coupler for a work tool that may use different embodiments of pins for the purpose of matching the mating shape of the work tool (Figures 6-8: retention pin, Paragraph 39). Martin also discloses being using interchangeable and attachable components for the purpose of reducing costs (Paragraph 3).
It would It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combination as applied in claim 17 by making the components including the plate interchangeable and attachable as disclosed by Martin for the purposes of replacing the pin due to wear and matching the mating shape of a respective work tool.
Regarding Claim 19, Philips in view of Martin disclose the limitations of claim 18. The combination as applied in claim 18 does not disclose attaching the lip plate to the mounting portion in the second position.
Martin discloses a work tool coupler that uses a boss and pin (Figure 4: boss 138 and retention pin 132). The boss is used for the purposes of constraining the retention pin based on its positioning through the boss (Paragraph 50) and providing strength and rigidity to oppose forces against retention pin in the forward, backward, left, or right directions (Paragraph 41).
It would It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combination as applied in claim 18 by including the boss disclosed by Martin and placing the pin other positions in the boss for the purposes of constraining the retention pin based on its positioning through the boss and providing strength and rigidity to oppose forces against retention pin in the forward, backward, left, or right directions.
Regarding Claim 20, Philips in view of Martin disclose the limitations of claim 19. The combination as applied in claim 19 discloses pushing the second lip against a spring loaded mechanism that biases the second lip toward the first position (Martin, Figures 6-8: spring 150 moves retention pin 132 between an internal position to an outward position, Martin Paragraphs 12 and 56: the spring is biased in both the first and second position).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bell (US 2021/0363723 A1) discloses a vehicle mount that uses springs to engage and disengage a pin, Dick (US 2002/0127090 A1) discloses a spring-based coupler that uses multiple lips.
/J.K.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3653
/MICHAEL MCCULLOUGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3653