DETAILED ACTION
This FINAL action is in response to Application No. 18/914,290 originally filed 10/14/2024. The amendment presented on 03/25/2026 which provides amendments to claims 1, 16, and 19 and claims 3, 6, 10, 12-13, 15, and 18 are cancelled is hereby acknowledged.
Currently Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-9, 11, 14, 16-17, and 19-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Chang teaches in the identified paragraphs identifying a change in content that may involve identifying a change in content within in a particular block on the display of active area. Chang additionally teaches that blocks from areas of the electronic display that may be more susceptible to thermal variations may be smaller, while blocks from areas of the electronic display that may be less susceptible to thermal variations may be larger. In relation to Lynch, both Chang and Lynch identify providing variable zone over components such as a driver which can be expressly seen in the identified Figures 10-11 of Lynch. Both Chang and Lynch expressly teach identifying temperature changes over “a driver”. While both teach identifying this issue, Lynch does not expressly appear to perform adjustments of the panel based on prediction. Chang, however, does. Chang further explains in the identified paragraphs that a content-dependent temperature correction loop 270 may include circuitry or logic to determine changes in the content (i.e. image data inclusive of grayscale values see also [0054]) of various blocks Chang further teaches this is used obtain a rate of temperature change estimated based on a previous content of a previous frame or an average of previous frames and the current frame of image data. Thus, Chang provides temperature prediction, calculation, and applies these changes to the various sub-blocks in response the predictive value. In response to applicant's arguments, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In this case, the claimed features have been identified in both Chang and Lynch for identifying temperature issues in zones or other components including drivers. Chang further teaches and identifies predicting temperature issues prior to them being a problem and would have been utilized for the purpose of to avoid visual artifacts that could occur due to these temperature changes. Thus, the result of providing temperature prediction in combination with features readily known in the art in view Lynch would have been predictable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-9, 11, 14, 16-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lynch et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0321361 A1 hereinafter Lynch and further in view of Chang et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0082631 A1 hereinafter Chang.
Consider Claim 1:
Lynch discloses a display device comprising: (Lynch, See Abstract.)
a display unit including pixels connected to data lines and scan lines and including a plurality of blocks partitioned to include at least two or more of the pixels; (Lynch, [0051], “To address these concerns, FIG. 9 illustrates a display 14 having an array of OLEDs 66, thermal sensors 55, a power driver 64a, an image driver 64b, a controller 62, and possibly other components. The OLEDs 66 are driven by the power driver 64a and image driver 64b (collectively drivers 64). Each power driver 64a and image driver 64b may drive one or more OLEDs 66. In some embodiments, the drivers 64 may include multiple channels for independently driving multiple OLEDs 66 with one driver 64.”)
at least one data integrated circuit for driving the data lines; a scan driver for driving the scan lines; a timing controller that controls the data integrated circuit and the scan driver, and includes a temperature determiner for predicting a temperature of the display unit in a unit of the blocks; and at least one driver for driving the display unit, wherein the driver includes at least one of the data integrated circuit, the scan driver, and the timing controller; and (Lynch, [0059-0060], [0037], “A variety of electronic devices may incorporate the electronic displays with integrated thermal sensors mentioned above. One example appears in a block diagram of FIG. 1, which describes an electronic device 10 that may include, among other things, one or more processors 22 (e.g. central processing unit (CPU), graphical processing unit (GPU)), memory 28, a display 14, input structures 16, an input/output (I/O) controller 20, I/O ports 18, and/or a network device 26. The various functional blocks shown in FIG. 1 may include hardware, executable instructions, or a combination of both. In the present disclosure, the processor(s) 22 and/or other data processing circuitry may be generally referred to as "data processing circuitry." This data processing circuitry may be embodied wholly or in part as software, firmware, hardware, or any combination thereof. Furthermore, the data processing circuitry may be a single, contained processing module or may be incorporated wholly or partially within any of the other elements within the electronic device 10.”)
a temperature determiner for predicting a temperature of the display unit in a unit of the blocks, (Lynch, [0064], “As discussed above, in an embodiment, the controller 62 (FIG. 9) may utilize the temperature map 75 to determine the compensation for OLEDs 66 to counter color and/or brightness shifts due to the measured operating temperature. In another embodiment, the temperature map 75 may be utilized to estimate the temperature of each component 57 beneath the display. The controller 62 may adjust the operation of a component 57 based on its affect on the operating temperature of certain OLEDs 66. For example, the temperature map 75 above the CPU 52 may indicate an increased operating temperature, affecting light emitted by the OLEDs 66 above the CPU. Based on the temperature map 75, the controller 62 may slow the CPU 52 to lower the operating temperature for the OLEDs 66 above the CPU 52. This may compensate for a shift in brightness and/or color of some OLEDs 66 by lowering the temperature without changing the driving strengths of those OLEDs 66. In some embodiments, the controller 62 may adjust both the driving strengths of OLEDs 66 and the operation of components 57 based on the temperature map 75. For example, the controller 62 may slow the CPU 52 and increase the driving strength for OLEDs 66 above the CPU to compensate for shifts in the brightness and/or color of those OLEDs 66”)
wherein the blocks include a first block including first sub-blocks positioned adjacent to the driver, and a second block including second sub-blocks positioned spaced apart from the driver, and an area of each of the first sub-blocks and an area of each of the second sub-blocks are different, (Lynch, [0071], [0070], “The zones 60 may be arranged in a grid or in a matrix over the plane of the display 14 as shown in FIG. 12, but zone arrangements may not be limited to this configuration. In some embodiments, zones 60 may be arranged in strips, circles, or irregular shapes. Zones 60 may be of uniform shape and size across the display 14, or have varied shapes and sizes. In some embodiments, certain areas of the display 14 will have more zones 60 and possibly, more thermal sensors 55 than others areas. The number, size, and shape of zones 60 may affect the resolution of the temperature map 75. For example, zones 60 over components 57 with localized heat sources may be sized smaller so that a more precise temperature map 75 may be measured. Components 57 with substantially uniform temperatures during use may have less zones 60 and possibly less thermal sensors 55. Zones 60 may be defined as having a certain number of OLEDs 66 or as the OLEDs 66 closest to each thermal sensor 55.”)
wherein the area of the first sub-blocks gradually increases as a distance from the driver increases. (Lynch, [0071], [0070], “The zones 60 may be arranged in a grid or in a matrix over the plane of the display 14 as shown in FIG. 12, but zone arrangements may not be limited to this configuration. In some embodiments, zones 60 may be arranged in strips, circles, or irregular shapes. Zones 60 may be of uniform shape and size across the display 14, or have varied shapes and sizes. In some embodiments, certain areas of the display 14 will have more zones 60 and possibly, more thermal sensors 55 than others areas. The number, size, and shape of zones 60 may affect the resolution of the temperature map 75. For example, zones 60 over components 57 with localized heat sources may be sized smaller so that a more precise temperature map 75 may be measured. Components 57 with substantially uniform temperatures during use may have less zones 60 and possibly less thermal sensors 55. Zones 60 may be defined as having a certain number of OLEDs 66 or as the OLEDs 66 closest to each thermal sensor 55.”)
Lynch however does not appear to expressly teach wherein the temperature determiner comprises: a voltage determiner for generating voltage data including voltage information corresponding to a grayscale of input data; a temperature predictor for generating a temperature prediction value of the driver using the voltage data; and a temperature calculator for generating a temperature value by calculating a temperature of the first sub-blocks and the second sub-blocks in response to the temperature prediction value.
Chang however teaches that it was known technique to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide temperature determination and therefore teaches wherein the temperature determiner comprises: a voltage determiner for generating voltage data including voltage information corresponding to a grayscale of input data; (Chang, [0070-0083], [0076], “One example of a system for operating the electronic display 18 to avoid visual artifacts due to temperature changes based on content appears in a block diagram of FIG. 18. The block diagram of FIG. 18 may include a content-dependent temperature correction loop 270 that may operate based at least partly on changes in content in the image data that is to be displayed on the electronic display 18. In the example shown in FIG. 18, uncompensated image data 272 in a linear domain is used, but the uncompensated image data 102 or the compensated image data 52, both of which may be in the gamma domain for display on the electronic display 18, may be used instead. To generate the uncompensated image data 102 from the uncompensated image data 272 in the linear domain, a gamma transformation 274 may be performed.”)
a temperature predictor for generating a temperature prediction value of the driver using the voltage data; and (Chang, [0070-0083], [0077], “The content-dependent temperature correction loop 270 may include circuitry or logic to determine changes in the content of various blocks 220 of content in the image data 272 (block 276). A content-dependent temperature correction lookup table (CDCT LUT) 278 may obtain a rate of temperature change estimated based on a previous content of a previous frame or an average of previous frames and the current frame of image data 272. An example of the content-dependent temperature correction lookup table (CDCT LUT) 278 will be discussed further below with reference to FIG. 19. The estimated rate of temperature change (dT/dt) due to the change in content may be provided to circuitry or logic that keeps a running total of temperature change over time for each block of content. This running total may be used to predict when the change in temperature will result in a total amount of temperature change that exceeds the ability of the current temperature lookup table (LUT) 100 to compensate the uncompensated image data 102 (block 280). Frame duration control and sense scan control circuitry or logic 282 may cause the electronic display 18 to receive a new frame, performing display sense feedback 56 on at least on a subset of the active area 64 that includes the block exceeding the artifact threshold. The display sense feedback 56 therefore may be provided to the correction factor LUT 120 to update the temperature lookup table (LUT) 100 at least for the block that is predicted to have changed enough in temperature to otherwise cause an artifact if it had not otherwise been refreshed. Thus, when the uncompensated image data 102 of the frame is compensated using the temperature lookup table (LUT) 100, the uncompensated image data 52 may take into account the current temperature on the display as measured by the display sense feedback 56.”)
a temperature calculator for generating a temperature value by calculating a temperature of the first sub-blocks and the second sub-blocks in response to the temperature prediction value. (Chang, [0070-0083], [0071], “Identifying a change in content may involve identifying a change in content within in a particular block 220 of content on the display of active area 64, as shown in FIG. 16. The blocks 220 shown in FIG. 16 are meant to provide only one example of blocks of content that may be analyzed. The blocks 220 may be as small as a single pixel or as large as the entire display panel 64. However, by segmenting the pixel 66 into multiple blocks 220 that each encompasses a subset of the total number of pixels 66 of the active area 64, efficiencies may be gained. Indeed, this may reduce the amount of computing power involved in computing brightness change that would be used in calculating this for every single pixel 66, while providing a more discrete portion of the total pixels of the active area 64 than the entire active area.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide temperature calculation and prediction for blocks and/or subblocks as this was a known technique in view of Chang and would have been utilized for the purpose of to avoid visual artifacts that could occur due to these temperature changes, a predicted temperature effect may be used to adjust the operation of the electronic display. (Chang, [0006])
Consider Claim 2:
Lynch in view of Chang discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the area of each of the first sub-blocks is less than the area of each of the second sub-blocks. (Chang, [0070-0083], Lynch, [0071], [0070], “The zones 60 may be arranged in a grid or in a matrix over the plane of the display 14 as shown in FIG. 12, but zone arrangements may not be limited to this configuration. In some embodiments, zones 60 may be arranged in strips, circles, or irregular shapes. Zones 60 may be of uniform shape and size across the display 14, or have varied shapes and sizes. In some embodiments, certain areas of the display 14 will have more zones 60 and possibly, more thermal sensors 55 than others areas. The number, size, and shape of zones 60 may affect the resolution of the temperature map 75. For example, zones 60 over components 57 with localized heat sources may be sized smaller so that a more precise temperature map 75 may be measured. Components 57 with substantially uniform temperatures during use may have less zones 60 and possibly less thermal sensors 55. Zones 60 may be defined as having a certain number of OLEDs 66 or as the OLEDs 66 closest to each thermal sensor 55.”)
Consider Claim 4:
Lynch in view of Chang discloses the display device according to claim 2, wherein the display unit is divided in a plurality of horizontal lines and a plurality of vertical lines in correspondence with a disposition of the first sub-blocks and the second sub-blocks. (Chang, [0070-0083], Lynch, [0071], [0070], “The zones 60 may be arranged in a grid or in a matrix over the plane of the display 14 as shown in FIG. 12, but zone arrangements may not be limited to this configuration. In some embodiments, zones 60 may be arranged in strips, circles, or irregular shapes. Zones 60 may be of uniform shape and size across the display 14, or have varied shapes and sizes. In some embodiments, certain areas of the display 14 will have more zones 60 and possibly, more thermal sensors 55 than others areas. The number, size, and shape of zones 60 may affect the resolution of the temperature map 75. For example, zones 60 over components 57 with localized heat sources may be sized smaller so that a more precise temperature map 75 may be measured. Components 57 with substantially uniform temperatures during use may have less zones 60 and possibly less thermal sensors 55. Zones 60 may be defined as having a certain number of OLEDs 66 or as the OLEDs 66 closest to each thermal sensor 55.”)
Consider Claim 5:
Lynch in view of Chang discloses the display device according to claim 4, wherein an area of the first sub-blocks positioned in a same horizontal line or a same vertical line has a same area. (Chang, [0070-0083], Lynch, [0069], “In some embodiments, each thermal sensor 55 may be disposed in the display 14 with more than one OLED 66. In an embodiment illustrated in FIG. 12, thermal sensors 55 are disposed in zones 60 of the display 14 to measure the temperature of each zone 60. Each zone 60 includes at least one thermal sensor 55 and at least one OLED 66 proximate to the thermal sensor 55. For example, the temperature of each zone 60 across the display 14 may vary, affecting the appearance as discussed above. The thermal sensors 55 may transmit information in the form of an electrical signal in response to measured temperature to a controller 62.”)
Consider Claim 7:
Lynch in view of Chang discloses the display device according to claim 4, wherein the driver is disposed above or under the display unit, and the first sub-blocks are positioned in at least one horizontal line adjacent to the driver. (Chang, [0070-0083], Lynch, [0071], [0070], “The zones 60 may be arranged in a grid or in a matrix over the plane of the display 14 as shown in FIG. 12, but zone arrangements may not be limited to this configuration. In some embodiments, zones 60 may be arranged in strips, circles, or irregular shapes. Zones 60 may be of uniform shape and size across the display 14, or have varied shapes and sizes. In some embodiments, certain areas of the display 14 will have more zones 60 and possibly, more thermal sensors 55 than others areas. The number, size, and shape of zones 60 may affect the resolution of the temperature map 75. For example, zones 60 over components 57 with localized heat sources may be sized smaller so that a more precise temperature map 75 may be measured. Components 57 with substantially uniform temperatures during use may have less zones 60 and possibly less thermal sensors 55. Zones 60 may be defined as having a certain number of OLEDs 66 or as the OLEDs 66 closest to each thermal sensor 55.”)
Consider Claim 8:
Lynch in view of Chang discloses the display device according to claim 4, wherein the driver is disposed on a left side or a right side of the display unit, and the first sub-blocks are positioned in at least one vertical line adjacent to the driver. (Chang, [0070-0083], Lynch, [0060], “The thermal sensors 55 integrated in the display 14 may measure the operating temperature of OLEDs 66 due to both the ambient environment and environment within the electronic device 10. In the embodiment shown in FIG. 10, components 57 within a handheld device 30 are shown beneath display 14. Due to the display 14 covering much of the surface area of one side of the handheld device, many components 57 lie entirely or at least partially beneath a portion of the display 14. Components 57 may include, but are not limited to, a radio frequency (RF) transmitter 50, a battery 51, CPU 52, GPU 53, and heat sinks 54. A RF transmitter 50 may send and receive electromagnetic signals for many applications, including phone calls, internet browsing, Bluetooth connectivity, etc. A battery 51 powers the components of the handheld device 30. A CPU 52 may perform a myriad of processing functions for the handheld device 30. A GPU 53 may process graphics to be displayed on display 14. Heat sinks 54 may be physically coupled to a number of components 57 to dissipate heat.”)
Consider Claim 9:
Lynch in view of Chang discloses the display device according to claim 4, wherein the driver overlaps the display unit, and the first sub-blocks are positioned at an intersection of at least one horizontal line and at least one vertical line overlapping the driver. (Chang, [0070-0083], Lynch, [0071], [0070], “The zones 60 may be arranged in a grid or in a matrix over the plane of the display 14 as shown in FIG. 12, but zone arrangements may not be limited to this configuration. In some embodiments, zones 60 may be arranged in strips, circles, or irregular shapes. Zones 60 may be of uniform shape and size across the display 14, or have varied shapes and sizes. In some embodiments, certain areas of the display 14 will have more zones 60 and possibly, more thermal sensors 55 than others areas. The number, size, and shape of zones 60 may affect the resolution of the temperature map 75. For example, zones 60 over components 57 with localized heat sources may be sized smaller so that a more precise temperature map 75 may be measured. Components 57 with substantially uniform temperatures during use may have less zones 60 and possibly less thermal sensors 55. Zones 60 may be defined as having a certain number of OLEDs 66 or as the OLEDs 66 closest to each thermal sensor 55.”)
Consider Claim 11:
Lynch in view of Chang discloses the display device according to claim 9, wherein the plurality of first sub-blocks are positioned adjacent to the driver. (Chang, [0070-0083], Lynch, [0071], [0070], “The zones 60 may be arranged in a grid or in a matrix over the plane of the display 14 as shown in FIG. 12, but zone arrangements may not be limited to this configuration. In some embodiments, zones 60 may be arranged in strips, circles, or irregular shapes. Zones 60 may be of uniform shape and size across the display 14, or have varied shapes and sizes. In some embodiments, certain areas of the display 14 will have more zones 60 and possibly, more thermal sensors 55 than others areas. The number, size, and shape of zones 60 may affect the resolution of the temperature map 75. For example, zones 60 over components 57 with localized heat sources may be sized smaller so that a more precise temperature map 75 may be measured. Components 57 with substantially uniform temperatures during use may have less zones 60 and possibly less thermal sensors 55. Zones 60 may be defined as having a certain number of OLEDs 66 or as the OLEDs 66 closest to each thermal sensor 55.”)
Consider Claim 14:
Lynch in view of Chang discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the temperature determiner further comprises: a memory for providing position information and area information of the first sub-blocks and the second sub-blocks to the temperature calculator. (Lynch, [0061-0069], [0064], Chang, [0070-0083], [0062], “FIG. 11 illustrates a system for updating the temperature lookup table (LUT) 100 based on display sense feedback 56 or in the image data generation processing system 50 of the processor core complex 12.”)
Consider Claim 16:
Lynch discloses a method of driving a display device, the method comprising: (Lynch, See Abstract.)
dividing a display unit into a plurality of blocks to determine a temperature of the display unit; (Lynch, [0069-0075], [0069], “In some embodiments, each thermal sensor 55 may be disposed in the display 14 with more than one OLED 66. In an embodiment illustrated in FIG. 12, thermal sensors 55 are disposed in zones 60 of the display 14 to measure the temperature of each zone 60. Each zone 60 includes at least one thermal sensor 55 and at least one OLED 66 proximate to the thermal sensor 55. For example, the temperature of each zone 60 across the display 14 may vary, affecting the appearance as discussed above. The thermal sensors 55 may transmit information in the form of an electrical signal in response to measured temperature to a controller 62.”)
determining a temperature of the blocks in response to input data; and (Lynch, [0076], “The controller 62 may then make adjustments (block 108) to compensate for the noticeably different color and/or brightness of light emitted from the OLEDs 66 operating beyond a threshold temperature. In some embodiments, the compensation may include adjusting the driving strength for each affected OLED 66 so that the properties of the emitted light substantially matches the targeted emitted light for each respective OLED 66. The compensation may be determined by considering numerous factors, including OLED specific factors like the measured temperature, present drive strength, previous drive strength adjustments, recorded operating hours, and information stored in memory 28 like calibration curves, algorithms, and charts. Based on these factors, the controller 62 may then adjust each OLED 66 for the operating temperature measured by the coupled thermal sensor 55. Furthermore, in certain embodiments, the driving strengths may be adjusted to compensate for both a localized increased temperature and an overall increased temperature across the display 14. Changes in brightness and/or color for each OLED 66 from these adjustments may improve the image quality of a display 14.”)
displaying an image corresponding to the input data on the display unit using at least one driver, (Lynch, [0077], [0079], “The method 220, as illustrated in FIG. 15, may make adjustments to each OLED 66 or the image shown on the display 14 based at least in part on the temperature and usage history of each OLED 66. The method 220 may be used with displays 14 as described above with FIGS. 9 and 13 having thermal sensors 55 disposed with OLEDs 66 in a 1:1 ratio or in zones 60 across the display 14. The thermal sensors 55 first measure (block 222) the temperature at each thermal sensor 55. Thus, the measured temperature may relate directly to the operating temperature of proximate OLEDs 66. The thermal sensors 55 transmit temperature information to the controller 62 to process the measured operating temperatures.”)
wherein the driver includes at least one of a data integrated circuit, a scan driver, and a timing controller, (Lynch, [0037], “A variety of electronic devices may incorporate the electronic displays with integrated thermal sensors mentioned above. One example appears in a block diagram of FIG. 1, which describes an electronic device 10 that may include, among other things, one or more processors 22 (e.g. central processing unit (CPU), graphical processing unit (GPU)), memory 28, a display 14, input structures 16, an input/output (I/O) controller 20, I/O ports 18, and/or a network device 26. The various functional blocks shown in FIG. 1 may include hardware, executable instructions, or a combination of both. In the present disclosure, the processor(s) 22 and/or other data processing circuitry may be generally referred to as "data processing circuitry." This data processing circuitry may be embodied wholly or in part as software, firmware, hardware, or any combination thereof. Furthermore, the data processing circuitry may be a single, contained processing module or may be incorporated wholly or partially within any of the other elements within the electronic device 10.”)
wherein the blocks include at least one first sub-block positioned adjacent to the driver and at least one second sub-block positioned spaced apart from the driver, and an area of the first sub-block and an area of the second sub-block are different, (Lynch, [0071], [0070], “The zones 60 may be arranged in a grid or in a matrix over the plane of the display 14 as shown in FIG. 12, but zone arrangements may not be limited to this configuration. In some embodiments, zones 60 may be arranged in strips, circles, or irregular shapes. Zones 60 may be of uniform shape and size across the display 14, or have varied shapes and sizes. In some embodiments, certain areas of the display 14 will have more zones 60 and possibly, more thermal sensors 55 than others areas. The number, size, and shape of zones 60 may affect the resolution of the temperature map 75. For example, zones 60 over components 57 with localized heat sources may be sized smaller so that a more precise temperature map 75 may be measured. Components 57 with substantially uniform temperatures during use may have less zones 60 and possibly less thermal sensors 55. Zones 60 may be defined as having a certain number of OLEDs 66 or as the OLEDs 66 closest to each thermal sensor 55.”)
wherein the blocks include a plurality of first sub-blocks, and the area of the first sub-blocks gradually increases as a distance from the driver increases. (Lynch, [0071], [0070], “The zones 60 may be arranged in a grid or in a matrix over the plane of the display 14 as shown in FIG. 12, but zone arrangements may not be limited to this configuration. In some embodiments, zones 60 may be arranged in strips, circles, or irregular shapes. Zones 60 may be of uniform shape and size across the display 14, or have varied shapes and sizes. In some embodiments, certain areas of the display 14 will have more zones 60 and possibly, more thermal sensors 55 than others areas. The number, size, and shape of zones 60 may affect the resolution of the temperature map 75. For example, zones 60 over components 57 with localized heat sources may be sized smaller so that a more precise temperature map 75 may be measured. Components 57 with substantially uniform temperatures during use may have less zones 60 and possibly less thermal sensors 55. Zones 60 may be defined as having a certain number of OLEDs 66 or as the OLEDs 66 closest to each thermal sensor 55.”)
Lynch however does not appear to expressly teach wherein the determining the temperature of the blocks comprises: generating voltage data including voltage information corresponding to a grayscale of the input data; generating a temperature prediction value of the driver using the voltage data; and generating a temperature value by calculating a temperature of the first sub-block and the second sub-block in response to the temperature prediction value.
Chang however teaches that it was known technique to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide temperature determination and therefore teaches wherein the determining the temperature of the blocks comprises: generating voltage data including voltage information corresponding to a grayscale of the input data; (Chang, [0070-0083], [0076], “One example of a system for operating the electronic display 18 to avoid visual artifacts due to temperature changes based on content appears in a block diagram of FIG. 18. The block diagram of FIG. 18 may include a content-dependent temperature correction loop 270 that may operate based at least partly on changes in content in the image data that is to be displayed on the electronic display 18. In the example shown in FIG. 18, uncompensated image data 272 in a linear domain is used, but the uncompensated image data 102 or the compensated image data 52, both of which may be in the gamma domain for display on the electronic display 18, may be used instead. To generate the uncompensated image data 102 from the uncompensated image data 272 in the linear domain, a gamma transformation 274 may be performed.”)
generating a temperature prediction value of the driver using the voltage data; and (Chang, [0070-0083], [0077], “The content-dependent temperature correction loop 270 may include circuitry or logic to determine changes in the content of various blocks 220 of content in the image data 272 (block 276). A content-dependent temperature correction lookup table (CDCT LUT) 278 may obtain a rate of temperature change estimated based on a previous content of a previous frame or an average of previous frames and the current frame of image data 272. An example of the content-dependent temperature correction lookup table (CDCT LUT) 278 will be discussed further below with reference to FIG. 19. The estimated rate of temperature change (dT/dt) due to the change in content may be provided to circuitry or logic that keeps a running total of temperature change over time for each block of content. This running total may be used to predict when the change in temperature will result in a total amount of temperature change that exceeds the ability of the current temperature lookup table (LUT) 100 to compensate the uncompensated image data 102 (block 280). Frame duration control and sense scan control circuitry or logic 282 may cause the electronic display 18 to receive a new frame, performing display sense feedback 56 on at least on a subset of the active area 64 that includes the block exceeding the artifact threshold. The display sense feedback 56 therefore may be provided to the correction factor LUT 120 to update the temperature lookup table (LUT) 100 at least for the block that is predicted to have changed enough in temperature to otherwise cause an artifact if it had not otherwise been refreshed. Thus, when the uncompensated image data 102 of the frame is compensated using the temperature lookup table (LUT) 100, the uncompensated image data 52 may take into account the current temperature on the display as measured by the display sense feedback 56.”)
generating a temperature value by calculating a temperature of the first sub-block and the second sub-block in response to the temperature prediction value. (Chang, [0070-0083], [0071], “Identifying a change in content may involve identifying a change in content within in a particular block 220 of content on the display of active area 64, as shown in FIG. 16. The blocks 220 shown in FIG. 16 are meant to provide only one example of blocks of content that may be analyzed. The blocks 220 may be as small as a single pixel or as large as the entire display panel 64. However, by segmenting the pixel 66 into multiple blocks 220 that each encompasses a subset of the total number of pixels 66 of the active area 64, efficiencies may be gained. Indeed, this may reduce the amount of computing power involved in computing brightness change that would be used in calculating this for every single pixel 66, while providing a more discrete portion of the total pixels of the active area 64 than the entire active area.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide temperature calculation and prediction for blocks and/or subblocks as this was a known technique in view of Chang and would have been utilized for the purpose of to avoid visual artifacts that could occur due to these temperature changes, a predicted temperature effect may be used to adjust the operation of the electronic display. (Chang, [0006])
Consider Claim 17:
Lynch discloses the method according to claim 16, wherein the area of the first sub-block is less than the area of the second sub-block. (Lynch, [0071], [0070], “The zones 60 may be arranged in a grid or in a matrix over the plane of the display 14 as shown in FIG. 12, but zone arrangements may not be limited to this configuration. In some embodiments, zones 60 may be arranged in strips, circles, or irregular shapes. Zones 60 may be of uniform shape and size across the display 14, or have varied shapes and sizes. In some embodiments, certain areas of the display 14 will have more zones 60 and possibly, more thermal sensors 55 than others areas. The number, size, and shape of zones 60 may affect the resolution of the temperature map 75. For example, zones 60 over components 57 with localized heat sources may be sized smaller so that a more precise temperature map 75 may be measured. Components 57 with substantially uniform temperatures during use may have less zones 60 and possibly less thermal sensors 55. Zones 60 may be defined as having a certain number of OLEDs 66 or as the OLEDs 66 closest to each thermal sensor 55.”)
Consider Claim 19:
Lynch discloses a electronic device comprising: (Lynch, See Abstract.)
a display module including a display panel for displaying an image and at least one driver for driving the display panel; and (Lynch, [0069-0075], [0069], “In some embodiments, each thermal sensor 55 may be disposed in the display 14 with more than one OLED 66. In an embodiment illustrated in FIG. 12, thermal sensors 55 are disposed in zones 60 of the display 14 to measure the temperature of each zone 60. Each zone 60 includes at least one thermal sensor 55 and at least one OLED 66 proximate to the thermal sensor 55. For example, the temperature of each zone 60 across the display 14 may vary, affecting the appearance as discussed above. The thermal sensors 55 may transmit information in the form of an electrical signal in response to measured temperature to a controller 62.”)
wherein the driver includes at least one of a data integrated circuit, a scan driver, and a timing controller; (Lynch, [0037], “A variety of electronic devices may incorporate the electronic displays with integrated thermal sensors mentioned above. One example appears in a block diagram of FIG. 1, which describes an electronic device 10 that may include, among other things, one or more processors 22 (e.g. central processing unit (CPU), graphical processing unit (GPU)), memory 28, a display 14, input structures 16, an input/output (I/O) controller 20, I/O ports 18, and/or a network device 26. The various functional blocks shown in FIG. 1 may include hardware, executable instructions, or a combination of both. In the present disclosure, the processor(s) 22 and/or other data processing circuitry may be generally referred to as "data processing circuitry." This data processing circuitry may be embodied wholly or in part as software, firmware, hardware, or any combination thereof. Furthermore, the data processing circuitry may be a single, contained processing module or may be incorporated wholly or partially within any of the other elements within the electronic device 10.”)
a processor for controlling the display module, (Lynch, [0059-0060], [0037], “A variety of electronic devices may incorporate the electronic displays with integrated thermal sensors mentioned above. One example appears in a block diagram of FIG. 1, which describes an electronic device 10 that may include, among other things, one or more processors 22 (e.g. central processing unit (CPU), graphical processing unit (GPU)), memory 28, a display 14, input structures 16, an input/output (I/O) controller 20, I/O ports 18, and/or a network device 26. The various functional blocks shown in FIG. 1 may include hardware, executable instructions, or a combination of both. In the present disclosure, the processor(s) 22 and/or other data processing circuitry may be generally referred to as "data processing circuitry." This data processing circuitry may be embodied wholly or in part as software, firmware, hardware, or any combination thereof. Furthermore, the data processing circuitry may be a single, contained processing module or may be incorporated wholly or partially within any of the other elements within the electronic device 10.”)
wherein the display panel is divided into a plurality of blocks, and (Lynch, [0069-0075], [0069], “In some embodiments, each thermal sensor 55 may be disposed in the display 14 with more than one OLED 66. In an embodiment illustrated in FIG. 12, thermal sensors 55 are disposed in zones 60 of the display 14 to measure the temperature of each zone 60. Each zone 60 includes at least one thermal sensor 55 and at least one OLED 66 proximate to the thermal sensor 55. For example, the temperature of each zone 60 across the display 14 may vary, affecting the appearance as discussed above. The thermal sensors 55 may transmit information in the form of an electrical signal in response to measured temperature to a controller 62.”)
an area of a first sub-block of the blocks positioned adjacent to the driver is different from an area of a second sub-block of the blocks positioned spaced apart from the driver, (Lynch, [0071], [0070], “The zones 60 may be arranged in a grid or in a matrix over the plane of the display 14 as shown in FIG. 12, but zone arrangements may not be limited to this configuration. In some embodiments, zones 60 may be arranged in strips, circles, or irregular shapes. Zones 60 may be of uniform shape and size across the display 14, or have varied shapes and sizes. In some embodiments, certain areas of the display 14 will have more zones 60 and possibly, more thermal sensors 55 than others areas. The number, size, and shape of zones 60 may affect the resolution of the temperature map 75. For example, zones 60 over components 57 with localized heat sources may be sized smaller so that a more precise temperature map 75 may be measured. Components 57 with substantially uniform temperatures during use may have less zones 60 and possibly less thermal sensors 55. Zones 60 may be defined as having a certain number of OLEDs 66 or as the OLEDs 66 closest to each thermal sensor 55.”)
wherein the blocks include a plurality of first sub-blocks, and the area of the first sub-blocks gradually increases as a distance from the driver increases. (Lynch, [0071], [0070], “The zones 60 may be arranged in a grid or in a matrix over the plane of the display 14 as shown in FIG. 12, but zone arrangements may not be limited to this configuration. In some embodiments, zones 60 may be arranged in strips, circles, or irregular shapes. Zones 60 may be of uniform shape and size across the display 14, or have varied shapes and sizes. In some embodiments, certain areas of the display 14 will have more zones 60 and possibly, more thermal sensors 55 than others areas. The number, size, and shape of zones 60 may affect the resolution of the temperature map 75. For example, zones 60 over components 57 with localized heat sources may be sized smaller so that a more precise temperature map 75 may be measured. Components 57 with substantially uniform temperatures during use may have less zones 60 and possibly less thermal sensors 55. Zones 60 may be defined as having a certain number of OLEDs 66 or as the OLEDs 66 closest to each thermal sensor 55.”)
Lynch however does not specify a temperature determiner for predicting a temperature of the blocks, wherein the temperature determiner comprises: a voltage determiner for generating voltage data including voltage information corresponding to a grayscale of input data; a temperature predictor for generating a temperature prediction value of the driver using the voltage data: and a temperature calculator for generating a temperature value by calculating a temperature of the first sub-block and the second sub-block in response to the temperature prediction value.
Chang however teaches that it was known technique to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide temperature determination and therefore teaches a temperature determiner for predicting a temperature of the blocks, wherein the temperature determiner comprises: a voltage determiner for generating voltage data including voltage information corresponding to a grayscale of input data; (Chang, [0070-0083], [0076], “One example of a system for operating the electronic display 18 to avoid visual artifacts due to temperature changes based on content appears in a block diagram of FIG. 18. The block diagram of FIG. 18 may include a content-dependent temperature correction loop 270 that may operate based at least partly on changes in content in the image data that is to be displayed on the electronic display 18. In the example shown in FIG. 18, uncompensated image data 272 in a linear domain is used, but the uncompensated image data 102 or the compensated image data 52, both of which may be in the gamma domain for display on the electronic display 18, may be used instead. To generate the uncompensated image data 102 from the uncompensated image data 272 in the linear domain, a gamma transformation 274 may be performed.”)
a temperature predictor for generating a temperature prediction value of the driver using the voltage data; and (Chang, [0070-0083], [0077], “The content-dependent temperature correction loop 270 may include circuitry or logic to determine changes in the content of various blocks 220 of content in the image data 272 (block 276). A content-dependent temperature correction lookup table (CDCT LUT) 278 may obtain a rate of temperature change estimated based on a previous content of a previous frame or an average of previous frames and the current frame of image data 272. An example of the content-dependent temperature correction lookup table (CDCT LUT) 278 will be discussed further below with reference to FIG. 19. The estimated rate of temperature change (dT/dt) due to the change in content may be provided to circuitry or logic that keeps a running total of temperature change over time for each block of content. This running total may be used to predict when the change in temperature will result in a total amount of temperature change that exceeds the ability of the current temperature lookup table (LUT) 100 to compensate the uncompensated image data 102 (block 280). Frame duration control and sense scan control circuitry or logic 282 may cause the electronic display 18 to receive a new frame, performing display sense feedback 56 on at least on a subset of the active area 64 that includes the block exceeding the artifact threshold. The display sense feedback 56 therefore may be provided to the correction factor LUT 120 to update the temperature lookup table (LUT) 100 at least for the block that is predicted to have changed enough in temperature to otherwise cause an artifact if it had not otherwise been refreshed. Thus, when the uncompensated image data 102 of the frame is compensated using the temperature lookup table (LUT) 100, the uncompensated image data 52 may take into account the current temperature on the display as measured by the display sense feedback 56.”)
a temperature calculator for generating a temperature value by calculating a temperature of the first sub-block and the second sub-block in response to the temperature prediction value. (Chang, [0070-0083], [0071], “Identifying a change in content may involve identifying a change in content within in a particular block 220 of content on the display of active area 64, as shown in FIG. 16. The blocks 220 shown in FIG. 16 are meant to provide only one example of blocks of content that may be analyzed. The blocks 220 may be as small as a single pixel or as large as the entire display panel 64. However, by segmenting the pixel 66 into multiple blocks 220 that each encompasses a subset of the total number of pixels 66 of the active area 64, efficiencies may be gained. Indeed, this may reduce the amount of computing power involved in computing brightness change that would be used in calculating this for every single pixel 66, while providing a more discrete portion of the total pixels of the active area 64 than the entire active area.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide temperature calculation and prediction for blocks and/or subblocks as this was a known technique in view of Chang and would have been utilized for the purpose of to avoid visual artifacts that could occur due to these temperature changes, a predicted temperature effect may be used to adjust the operation of the electronic display. (Chang, [0006])
Consider Claim 20:
Lynch discloses the electronic device according to claim 19, wherein the area of the first sub-block is less than the area of the second sub-block. (Lynch, [0071], [0070], “The zones 60 may be arranged in a grid or in a matrix over the plane of the display 14 as shown in FIG. 12, but zone arrangements may not be limited to this configuration. In some embodiments, zones 60 may be arranged in strips, circles, or irregular shapes. Zones 60 may be of uniform shape and size across the display 14, or have varied shapes and sizes. In some embodiments, certain areas of the display 14 will have more zones 60 and possibly, more thermal sensors 55 than others areas. The number, size, and shape of zones 60 may affect the resolution of the temperature map 75. For example, zones 60 over components 57 with localized heat sources may be sized smaller so that a more precise temperature map 75 may be measured. Components 57 with substantially uniform temperatures during use may have less zones 60 and possibly less thermal sensors 55. Zones 60 may be defined as having a certain number of OLEDs 66 or as the OLEDs 66 closest to each thermal sensor 55.”)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Prior art made of record and not relied upon which is still considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is cited in a current or previous PTO-892. The prior art cited in a current or previous PTO-892 reads upon the applicants claims in part, in whole and/or gives a general reference to the knowledge and skill of persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. Applicant, when responding to this Office action, should consider not only the cited references applied in the rejection but also any additional references made of record.
In the response to this office action, the Examiner respectfully requests support be shown for any new or amended claims. More precisely, indicate support for any newly added language or amendments by specifying page, line numbers, and/or figure(s). This will assist The Office in compact prosecution of this application. The Office has cited particular columns, paragraphs, and/or line numbers in the applied rejection of the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within each claim, however other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing a response, should fully consider the cited reference(s) in its entirety and not only the cited portions as other sections of the reference may expand on the teachings of the cited portion(s).
Applicant Representatives are reminded of CFR 1.4(d)(2)(ii) which states “A patent practitioner (§ 1.32(a)(1) ), signing pursuant to §§ 1.33(b)(1) or 1.33(b)(2), must supply his/her registration number either as part of the S-signature, or immediately below or adjacent to the S-signature. The number (#) character may be used only as part of the S-signature when appearing before a practitioner’s registration number; otherwise the number character may not be used in an S-signature.” When an unsigned or improperly signed amendment is received the amendment will be listed in the contents of the application file, but not entered. The examiner will notify applicant of the status of the application, advising him or her to furnish a duplicate amendment properly signed or to ratify the amendment already filed. In an application not under final rejection, applicant should be given a two month time period in which to ratify the previously filed amendment (37 CFR 1.135(c) ).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. Granting of After Final Interviews: “Interviews merely to restate arguments of record or to discuss new limitations which would require more than nominal reconsideration or new search should be denied.” See MPEP § 713.09.
/Michael J Jansen II/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626