DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “wherein the nonuniform vector field include a high-density region, which includes a relatively higher density of vectors of the plurality of vectors, and a low-density region, which includes a remainder of the plurality of vectors,” rendering the claim indefinite. It is not clear if the claim recites measuring a property (e.g. density) or varying a parameter (e.g. laser power). That is, it is not clear how the “high density region” is calculated or measured. The instant specification paragraph [0111] states:
More specifically, the amount of energy may be based, at least in part, on a number of vectors in the plurality of vectors that extends within the previously formed portion of the manufactured component. Thus, and as illustrated in FIGS. 21-22, a density of vectors 78 within various regions of a nonuniform vector field 76 may be varied in order to preferentially weight the amount of energy higher for certain relative orientations between amount of energy 42 and previously formed portion 92 of manufactured component 90.
Thus, the instant specification paragraph [0111] discloses the amount of energy is based on the vectors, and the vectors are varied achieve the amount of energy desired. This is a circular reasoning and does not clarify if the vectors measure any physical property or simply correspond to the desired power of the software/controller. For purposes of examination, the vectors will be understood to be geometrical data at a location in physical space.
Claims 6-7 are rejected because each claim depends from claim 5 and further recites “high density region” without further clarification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liebl (US 2017/0282246 A1) in view of Beuth (US 2016/0041111 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liebl teaches an additive manufacturing system for additively manufacturing a manufactured component, the additive manufacturing system comprising: a support platform configured to support the manufactured component during additive manufacture of the manufactured component; (component platform (not shown) that can be lowered, [0022]) a feedstock supply system configured to supply a feedstock material (at least one powder supply for application of at least one powder layer of a component material [0013]) an energy source configured to deliver an amount of energy to the addition location; (radiation source 10, [0022]) and a controller programmed to control operation of the additive manufacturing system by: (i) determining an energy application parameter at the addition location; (exposure parameters: power P, velocity v, and focal position F, of the laser beam 12 are adjusted as a function of several construction parameters, [0022]) (ii) supplying, via the feedstock supply system, the feedstock material to the addition location; (at least one powder supply for application of at least one powder layer of a component material [0013]) (iii) delivering, via the energy source, to the addition location, and along an axis of incidence, the amount of energy, wherein the amount of energy is sufficient to form a melt pool of the feedstock material at the addition location, (laser sintering and/or laser melting [0007]) wherein the amount of energy is based, at least in part, on the energy application parameter, (exposure parameters: power P, [0022]) and further wherein the energy application parameter includes a directionality parameter that is based, at least in part, on the axis of incidence; (Liebl teaches the exposure parameters is adjusted based on several construction parameters from the group: angle of incidence a of the high-energy beam or laser beam 12 relative to the surface of a respective component layer 15, [0022]) and (iv) permitting consolidation of the melt pool with the previously formed portion of the manufactured component to form an additional portion of the manufactured component. (layer-wise local solidifying of a powder-form component material that is applied in a build-up and joining zone 14, [0022]).
Liebl does not teach a feedstock supply system configured to supply a feedstock material to an addition location on a previously formed portion of the manufactured component.
Beuth teaches a feedstock supply system configured to supply a feedstock material to an addition location on a previously formed portion of the manufactured component. (material is provided from a material source 104, such as a wire feed (as shown), a powder feed, or a powder bed, [0026] additive manufacturing and repair (AMR), which adds one or more features to an existing component, either as a manufacturing step or for component repair, [0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the material source 104 of Beuth with the additive manufacturing system of Liebl because it allows adding one or more features to an existing component, either as a manufacturing step or for component repair, which has applications in the aerospace and medical implant industries, see [0004].
Regarding claim 2, Liebl as modified by Beuth meets the claimed the additive manufacturing system of claim 1, wherein the delivering the amount of energy further includes selectively varying the amount of energy, utilizing the energy source, responsive to variation in the energy application parameter. (Liebl teaches the exposure parameters is adjusted based on several construction parameters from the group: angle of incidence a of the high-energy beam or laser beam 12 relative to the surface of a respective component layer 15, [0022]).
Regarding claim 3, Liebl as modified by Beuth meets the claimed additive manufacturing system of claim 1, wherein the additive manufacturing system further includes an actuation assembly configured to generate motion of the addition location on the previously formed portion of the manufactured component, (the laser beam 12 is deflected by an appropriate optics unit in a way known in and of itself onto the desired regions of the build-up and joining zone 14, [0022]) and further wherein the determining the energy application parameter includes determining a location-specific energy application parameter that is based, at least in part, on a position of the addition location on the previously formed portion of the manufactured component. (exposure parameters of the laser beam 12 are adjusted as a function of several construction parameters from the group: a vertical axis z of the component layer, distance w from a complete volume element of the component layer, [0022]).
Regarding claim 4, Liebl as modified by Beuth meets the claimed additive manufacturing system of claim 1, wherein the directionality parameter includes a nonuniform vector field, which includes a plurality of vectors that radially extends from the addition location, (Examiner notes that “vector” is not defined the claims or specification. The term is given the broadest reasonable interpretation to include geometrical position data. Liebl teaches component geometry (overhang angle (γ), layer thickness (n) etc.) as well as the laser beam angle (α) to be used to calculate parameters, see [0028]. As shown in Fig. 4 of Liebl these angles and thickness (n) are measures from the point of laser bean incidence and meet the claimed vectors radially extends from the addition location. Liebl teaches with the help of these values, during the build-up, the power P, the velocity v, and the focus F, of the high-energy beam 12 are determined along the scan vectors 24, see [0028])
Liebl does not teach further wherein the delivering includes delivering such that the amount of energy is based, at least in part, on a number of vectors in the plurality of vectors that extends within the previously formed portion of the manufactured component.
Beuth teaches further wherein the delivering includes delivering such that the amount of energy is based, at least in part, on a number of vectors in the plurality of vectors that extends within the previously formed portion of the manufactured component. Beuth teaches the primary process variables that control AM processes are power (P) of the heat source 106, the translation speed (V) of the heat source 106, the material feed rate (MFR, in units of volume per time) of the material source 104 or a related variable, one or more process variables related to the geometry being deposited, [0028], and in the geometries shown in FIGS. 4-6, the coordinate origin is taken to be the location where the heat source is positioned, and deposition proceeds in the positive x direction, [0048], and mapping transient geometries with external radius 630, Fig. 6, [0051], [0053]. Examiner notes Beuth depicts in Fig. 4 z-axis (i.e. vector) in the existing part 402, which meets the claimed vectors that extends within the previously formed portion of the manufactured component).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the mapping of transient geometries during fabrication of Beuth with the additive manufacturing system of Liebl because transient response to variation in power and speed are needed to maintain a constant thermal process characteristic for varying geometries, see [0053].
Regarding claim 5, Liebl as modified by Beuth meets the claimed additive manufacturing system of claim 4, wherein the nonuniform vector field include a high-density region, which includes a relatively higher density of vectors of the plurality of vectors, and a low-density region, which includes a remainder of the plurality of vectors.
Examiner notes this claim is found indefinite, see rejection under 35 USC 112(b) above. Examiner notes that “vector” is not defined the claims or specification. The term is given the broadest reasonable interpretation to include geometrical position data. Liebl teaches component geometry (overhang angle (γ), layer thickness (n) etc.) as well as the laser beam angle (α) to be used to calculate parameters, see [0028]. As depicted in Fig. 4 of Liebel, there are geometric areas below the laser incidence with greater geometric data (downskin region 20) than other areas (empty space above region 20) and meets the claim.
Regarding claim 6, Liebl as modified by Beuth meets the claimed additive manufacturing system of claim 5, wherein the axis of incidence extends within the high-density region. Examiner notes this claim is found indefinite, see rejection under 35 USC 112(b) above. As depicted in Fig. 4 of Liebel, there are geometric areas below the laser incidence with greater geometric data (downskin region 20) which directly extends from the laser incidence.
Regarding claim 7, Liebl as modified by Beuth meets the claimed additive manufacturing system of claim 5, wherein the high-density region extends away from the addition location along the axis of incidence. Examiner notes this claim is found indefinite, see rejection under 35 USC 112(b) above. As depicted in Fig. 4 of Liebel, there are geometric areas below the laser incidence with greater geometric data (downskin region 20) which directly extends from the laser incidence.
Regarding claim 8, Liebl as modified by Beuth does not meet the claimed additive manufacturing system of claim 1, wherein the energy application parameter further includes an overlap volume between a virtual geometric shape, which is positioned at the addition location, and the previously formed portion of the manufactured component.
Beuth meets the claimed wherein the energy application parameter further includes an overlap volume (Examiner notes that as described in claim 8 and the instant specification, [0072]-[0077], the claimed “overlap volume” is a theoretical melt pool of the laser, given it is simply the area of laser heating on the object) between a virtual geometric shape, which is positioned at the addition location, and the previously formed portion of the manufactured component. (maximum melt pool cross-sectional area, A, equals the cross-sectional area of the deposited bead 304 (Adeposited) plus the cross-sectional area of the material 306 melted on the surface of the part 300, [0037], Fig. 3. Beuth teaches mapping thermally related process characteristics such as solidification cooling rates at a specific location along a melt pool solidification front, [0035], Fig. 3. Examiner notes that areas distal to the incidence of the laser are lower values, see Fig. 3. Beuth teaches using this information in process mapping, [0039])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the measuring of the deposited material and melt pool of Beuth with the additive manufacturing system of Liebl because I enables mapping of the role of primary process variables on the transient behavior of process characteristics such as melt pool dimensions, see Beuth [0039].
Regarding claim 9, Liebl as modified by Beuth meets the claimed additive manufacturing system of claim 8, wherein the directionality parameter includes a weighting function, which is applied to an internal volume of the virtual geometric shape. (Liebl teaches the exposure parameters is adjusted based on several construction parameters from the group: angle of incidence a and layer thickness n of the component layer, [0022]. Examiner notes the “adjusted” and “layer thickness” of Liebl meets the claim “weighting function” and “internal volume”).
Regarding claim 10, Liebl as modified by Beuth meets the claimed 10. The additive manufacturing system of claim 9, wherein: (i) the weighting function is relatively higher within a region of the virtual geometric shape that is relatively proximate the axis of incidence and extends away from the addition location along the axis of incidence; and (ii) the weighting function is relatively lower within a region of the virtual geometric shape that is relatively distal the axis of incidence. (Beuth teaches mapping thermally related process characteristics such as solidification cooling rates at a specific location along a melt pool solidification front, [0035], Fig. 3. Examiner notes that areas distal to the incidence of the laser are lower values, see Fig. 3. Beuth teaches using this information in process mapping, [0039]).
Regarding claim 11, Liebl as modified by Beuth meets the claimed additive manufacturing system of claim 9, wherein the weighting function is selected such that the amount of energy is proportional to an extent to which the axis of incidence extends within the overlap volume. (Beuth teaches measuring maximum melt pool cross-sectional area, A, equals the cross-sectional area of the deposited bead 304 (Adeposited) plus the cross-sectional area of the material 306 melted on the surface of the part 300, [0037], Fig. 3. Beuth teaches using this information in process mapping, [0039])
Regarding claim 12, Liebl as modified by Beuth meets the claimed 12. The additive manufacturing system of claim 9, wherein a region of the axis of incidence extends away from the addition location and to a surface of the virtual geometric shape, and further wherein the weighting function is selected such that at least one of: (i) the amount of energy is proportional to a magnitude of the region of the axis of incidence that extends within the overlap volume; (Leibl teaches the power P is reduced in the downskin region 20 down to approximately 50% of the power P, Fig. 4, so that the power P of the high-energy beam 12 has the smallest value at the thinnest site of the downskin region 20 or for the smallest angle of incidence a. Furthermore, Beuth teaches mapping thermally related process characteristics such as solidification cooling rates at a specific location along a melt pool solidification front, [0035], Fig. 3. Examiner notes that areas distal to the incidence of the laser are lower values, see Fig. 3. Beuth teaches using this information in process mapping, [0039]). (ii) the amount of energy is relatively higher when an entirety of the region of the axis of incidence extends within the overlap volume; (iii) the amount of energy is relatively lower when less than the entirety of the region of the axis of incidence extends within the overlap volume; (iv) the amount of energy is relatively higher when the weighting function increases a calculated value of the overlap volume; and (v) the amount of energy is relatively lower when the weighting function decreases the calculated value of the overlap volume.
Regarding claim 13, Liebl as modified by Beuth meets the claimed additive manufacturing system of claim 8, wherein the directionality parameter includes a shape of the virtual geometric shape. (Beuth teaches melt pool length, L, relates to the shape of the solidification front behind the melt pool 302, [0037])
Regarding claim 14, Liebl as modified by Beuth meets the claimed 14. The additive manufacturing system of claim 13, wherein the shape is an elongate virtual geometric shape that is characterized by an elongate axis, which extends along the axis of incidence. (Beuth teaches melt pool length, L, relates to the shape of the solidification front behind the melt pool 302, [0037]. Examiner notes this is depicted as elongate ellipsoid in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 15, Liebl as modified by Beuth meets the claimed additive manufacturing system of claim 13, wherein the virtual geometric shape includes at least one of an ellipsoid and a cylinder. (Beuth teaches melt pool length, L, relates to the shape of the solidification front behind the melt pool 302, [0037]. Examiner notes this is depicted as elongate ellipsoid in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 16, Liebl as modified by Beuth meets the claimed additive manufacturing system of claim 1, wherein the delivering includes delivering such that the amount of energy relatively increases when the directionality parameter indicates that the amount of energy is directed toward an edge of the previously formed portion of the manufactured component and an underlying surface of the previously formed portion of the manufactured component, which partially defines the edge, is relatively proximate the axis of incidence. Leibl teaches the upskin region 18, the power P is increased non-linearly up to 150% with respect to the power P in the inskin region 22.
Regarding claim 17, Liebl as modified by Beuth meets the claimed additive manufacturing system of claim 1, wherein the delivering includes delivering such that the amount of energy decreases when the directionality parameter indicates that the amount of energy is directed toward an edge of the previously formed portion of the manufactured component and an underlying surface of the previously formed portion of the manufactured component, which partially defines the edge, is relatively distal the axis of incidence. Leibl teaches the power P is reduced in the downskin region 20 down to approximately 50% of the power P, Fig. 4, so that the power P of the high-energy beam 12 has the smallest value at the thinnest site of the downskin region 20 or for the smallest angle of incidence a.
Regarding claim 18, Liebl as modified by Beuth meets the claimed additive manufacturing system of claim 1, wherein, for a given addition location, the delivering includes delivering such that: (i) the amount of energy is relatively higher when the directionality parameter indicates that the amount of energy is directed toward an edge of the previously formed portion of the manufactured component and an underlying surface of the previously formed portion of the manufactured component, which partially defines the edge, is relatively proximate the axis of incidence; (Leibl teaches the upskin region 18, the power P is increased non-linearly up to 150% with respect to the power P in the inskin region 22) and (ii) the amount of energy is relatively lower when the directionality parameter indicates that the amount of energy is directed toward the edge of the previously formed portion of the manufactured component and the underlying surface of the previously formed portion of the manufactured component is relatively distal the axis of incidence. (Leibl teaches the power P is reduced in the downskin region 20 down to approximately 50% of the power P, Fig. 4, so that the power P of the high-energy beam 12 has the smallest value at the thinnest site of the downskin region 20 or for the smallest angle of incidence a.)
Regarding claim 19, Liebl as modified by Beuth meets the claimed additive manufacturing system of claim 1, wherein the energy application parameter further includes a process parameter that is based, at least in part, on at least one process condition of the system. (Liebl teaches layer thickness n of the component layer, [0022])
Regarding claim 20, Liebl as modified by Beuth meets the claimed 20. The additive manufacturing system of claim 19, wherein the at least one process condition includes at least one of: (i) a thermal conductivity of the previously formed portion of the manufactured component; (ii) a layer thickness of the additional portion of the manufactured component; (Liebl teaches layer thickness n of the component layer, [0022]) (iii) a gas flow rate of a gas provided to the addition location; and (iv) a granular volume of the feedstock material.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Adam (US 2007/0122560 A1) teaches [0021] FIG. 1 is a perspective view of an IFF system 100, which includes a torch 102 that functions in cooperation with a wire feed mechanism 104 and a positioning system 106 to build up a workpiece in a continuous or layer-by-layer manner. The positioning system 106 continuously positions and repositions the workpiece in a manner whereby feedstock material may be added to it through the wire feed mechanism 104 at predetermined deposition points. Further, the positioning system 106 may also be configured to coordinate movement and control of the torch 102 and the wire feed mechanism 104 together with the workpiece to fabricate three-dimensional articles in a predictable, highly selectable, and useful manner.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL M. ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744