DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 19, 21, 24, 32, 33, 35, 36 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cohen (US 20160285481, hereinafter “Cohen”).
Regarding claim 19, Cohen discloses,
An apparatus comprising
a plurality of power amplifiers, wherein at least some of the plurality of power amplifiers have different maximum output power capabilities (The array of communication units is formed by an unequal array of power amplifiers that have different output power levels and different peak power levels (e.g., a maximum/ saturation/average power) for communicating data signals with a corresponding antenna or antenna port, [0021]; [0027]-[0028]);
a multiplicity of antenna ports (…communicating data signals with a corresponding antenna or antenna port [0021]);
at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that (The digital control component 102 can comprise a processor 104 and the data store 106. The digital control component 102 can operate to process input signals by one or more pre-coders, encoders, decoders, or other communication components for receiving or transmitting communication data [0023]), when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to select a set of one or more power amplifiers from the plurality of power amplifiers (The phased array system 200, for example, selects or generates an optimal combination of activated, or connected, strong power amplifiers (e.g., power amplifiers 202a) with respect to weak amplifiers (e.g., 202b) of operating processing chains 108 that increases a total power efficiency in comparison to an array with uniform power amplifiers, [0040]-[0042]) for simultaneous transmission via respective antenna ports (Each sub-array can be replicated any number of times within the communication array 110. In one aspect, a first sub-array and a second sub-array of power amplifiers can be used to transmit output signals in space at different antenna 112 in order to generate or re-construct an original amplitude- and phase-modulated signal 116 in air based on unequal array/sub-array configurations [0029]-[0030]; [0039]-[0041]).
Regarding claim 21, Cohen discloses,
wherein the apparatus is configured to select the set of power amplifiers such that the power amplifiers in the set have different maximum output power capabilities (The array of communication units is formed by an unequal array of power amplifiers that have different output power levels and different peak power levels (e.g., a maximum/ saturation/average power) for communicating data signals with a corresponding antenna or antenna port, [0021]; [0027]-[0028]).
Regarding claim 24, Cohen discloses,
wherein the apparatus is configured to select a set of one or more power amplifiers from the plurality of power amplifiers for simultaneous transmission via respective antenna ports and distribute a combined total transmit power of the set of one or more power amplifiers across the set of one or more power amplifiers, to achieve a distribution of a maximum total transmit power target across a number of power amplifiers required that reduces or minimizes backoff from maximum output power capabilities of the power amplifiers ( the method 900 can further comprise selectively activating power amplifiers of the array of power amplifiers to increase an overall array power efficiency based on a back-off target level and a predetermined ratio of a first number of power amplifiers and a second number of power amplifiers of the array of power amplifiers, wherein the first number of power amplifiers comprise a lower peak power level than the second number of power amplifiers, [0066]-[0067]).
Regarding claim 32, Cohen discloses,
a multiplicity of antennas wherein each of the multiplicity of antennas is coupled to one of the multiplicity of antenna ports for at least transmission (The wireless communication device 100 can be a phased array device 100 that includes a digital control component 102, one or more processing chains 108 and a communication array 110. The phased array device 100 operates with an array of antennas 112, in which relative phases of the signals feeding the antennas are varied in phase and gain relationships to ensure that the effective radiation pattern of the array of antennas 112 is reinforced in a desired direction and suppressed in undesired directions [0022]; [0025]).
Regarding claim 33, Cohen discloses,
a user equipment configured for communication with a cellular telecommunications network, wherein one or more of the plurality of power amplifiers are configurable for simultaneous uplink transmission to the cellular telecommunications network (Each sub-array can be replicated any number of times within the communication array 110. In one aspect, a first sub-array and a second sub-array of power amplifiers can be used to transmit output signals in space at different antenna 112 in order to generate or re-construct an original amplitude- and phase-modulated signal 116 in air based on unequal array/sub-array configurations [0029]-[0030]; [0039]-[0041]).
Regarding claim 35, Cohen discloses,
wherein the apparatus is a user equipment (The wireless communication device 100 can be a phased array device 100 that includes a digital control component 102, one or more processing chains 108 and a communication array 110 [0022]).
Regarding claim 36, Cohen discloses,
A method comprising selecting a set of one or more power amplifiers from a plurality of power amplifiers (The phased array system 200, for example, selects or generates an optimal combination of activated, or connected, strong power amplifiers (e.g., power amplifiers 202a) with respect to weak amplifiers (e.g., 202b) of operating processing chains 108 that increases a total power efficiency in comparison to an array with uniform power amplifiers, [0040]-[0042]) for simultaneous transmission via respective antenna ports (Each sub-array can be replicated any number of times within the communication array 110. In one aspect, a first sub-array and a second sub-array of power amplifiers can be used to transmit output signals in space at different antenna 112 in order to generate or re-construct an original amplitude- and phase-modulated signal 116 in air based on unequal array/sub-array configurations [0029]-[0030]; [0039]-[0041]), wherein at least some of the plurality of power amplifiers have different maximum output power capabilities (The phased array system 200, for example, selects or generates an optimal combination of activated, or connected, strong power amplifiers (e.g., power amplifiers 202a) with respect to weak amplifiers (e.g., 202b) of operating processing chains 108 that increases a total power efficiency in comparison to an array with uniform power amplifiers, [0040]-[0042]).
Regarding claim 38, Cohen discloses,
A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising program instructions (The digital control component 102 can comprise a processor 104 and the data store 106. The digital control component 102 can operate to process input signals by one or more pre-coders, encoders, decoders, or other communication components for receiving or transmitting communication data [0023]) that, when executed by an apparatus, cause the apparatus to perform at least the following: selection of a set of one or more power amplifiers, from a plurality of power amplifiers (The phased array system 200, for example, selects or generates an optimal combination of activated, or connected, strong power amplifiers (e.g., power amplifiers 202a) with respect to weak amplifiers (e.g., 202b) of operating processing chains 108 that increases a total power efficiency in comparison to an array with uniform power amplifiers, [0040]-[0042]), for simultaneous transmission via respective antenna ports (Each sub-array can be replicated any number of times within the communication array 110. In one aspect, a first sub-array and a second sub-array of power amplifiers can be used to transmit output signals in space at different antenna 112 in order to generate or re-construct an original amplitude- and phase-modulated signal 116 in air based on unequal array/sub-array configurations [0029]-[0030]; [0039]-[0041]), wherein at least some of the plurality of power amplifiers have different maximum output power capabilities (The phased array system 200, for example, selects or generates an optimal combination of activated, or connected, strong power amplifiers (e.g., power amplifiers 202a) with respect to weak amplifiers (e.g., 202b) of operating processing chains 108 that increases a total power efficiency in comparison to an array with uniform power amplifiers, [0040]-[0042]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen, and further in view of Yin et al. (US 20160021618, hereinafter “Yin”).
Regarding claim 20, Cohen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 19), however Cohen does not disclose, wherein the apparatus is configured to control a combined total transmit power of the set of one or more power amplifiers to be less than or equal to a combined total transmit power target.
In the same field of endeavor, Yin discloses, wherein the apparatus is configured to control a combined total transmit power of the set of one or more power amplifiers to be less than or equal to a combined total transmit power target (The UE also determines if a total transmission power of the cell groups exceeds a maximum allowed transmission power of the UE, [0019]-[0021]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cohen by specifically providing wherein the apparatus is configured to control a combined total transmit power of the set of one or more power amplifiers to be less than or equal to a combined total transmit power target, as taught by Yin for the purpose of enhancing the efficient use of radio resources in dual-connectivity operation [0048].
Claim 22, 23 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen, and further in view of Sridharan et al. (US 20210153143, hereinafter “Sridharan”).
Regarding claim 22, Cohen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 19), however Cohen does not disclose, wherein the apparatus is configured to select the set of power amplifiers such that the power amplifiers in the set have lowest maximum output power capabilities sufficient for a combined total transmit power of the set of one or more power amplifiers to meet a combined total transmit power target.
In the same field of endeavor, Sridharan discloses, wherein the apparatus is configured to select the set of power amplifiers such that the power amplifiers in the set have lowest maximum output power capabilities sufficient for a combined total transmit power of the set of one or more power amplifiers to meet a combined total transmit power target (a base station 110 may need to instruct a UE 120 to transmit at maximum power, such as when the UE 120 is located near a cell edge or otherwise has poor link quality with the base station 110. However, different UEs 120 may have different capabilities regarding virtual port synthesis and which virtual ports of the UE 120 are capable of supporting a maximum transmit power, [0051]-[0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cohen by specifically providing wherein the apparatus is configured to select the set of power amplifiers such that the power amplifiers in the set have lowest maximum output power capabilities sufficient for a combined total transmit power of the set of one or more power amplifiers to meet a combined total transmit power target, as taught by Sridharan for the purpose of signaling and configuration of maximum transmit power using virtual ports [0002].
Regarding claim 23, Cohen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 19), however Cohen does not disclose, wherein the apparatus is configured to evenly distribute a combined total transmit power of the set of one or more power amplifiers across the set of one or more power amplifiers, wherein the power amplifiers in the set are controlled to have the same power output simultaneously.
In the same field of endeavor, Sridharan discloses, wherein the apparatus is configured to evenly distribute a combined total transmit power of the set of one or more power amplifiers across the set of one or more power amplifiers, wherein the power amplifiers in the set are controlled to have the same power output simultaneously (FIG. 5A is shown as having a first power amplifier (PA1) that supports a maximum power of 20 decibel-milliwatts (dBm), a second power amplifier (PA2) that supports a maximum power of 20 dBm, a third power amplifier (PA3) that supports a maximum power of 17 dBm, and a fourth power amplifier (PA4) that supports a maximum power of 17 dBm, [0065]-[0068] and Fig. 5A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cohen by specifically providing wherein the apparatus is configured to evenly distribute a combined total transmit power of the set of one or more power amplifiers across the set of one or more power amplifiers, wherein the power amplifiers in the set are controlled to have the same power output simultaneously, as taught by Sridharan for the purpose of signaling and configuration of maximum transmit power using virtual ports [0002].
Regarding claim 37, Cohen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 36), however Cohen does not disclose, selecting a set of power amplifiers such that the power amplifiers in the set have lowest maximum output power capabilities sufficient for a combined total transmit power of the set of one or more power amplifiers to meet a combined total transmit power target.
In the same field of endeavor, Sridharan discloses, selecting a set of power amplifiers such that the power amplifiers in the set have lowest maximum output power capabilities sufficient for a combined total transmit power of the set of one or more power amplifiers to meet a combined total transmit power target (a base station 110 may need to instruct a UE 120 to transmit at maximum power, such as when the UE 120 is located near a cell edge or otherwise has poor link quality with the base station 110. However, different UEs 120 may have different capabilities regarding virtual port synthesis and which virtual ports of the UE 120 are capable of supporting a maximum transmit power, [0051]-[0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cohen by specifically providing selecting a set of power amplifiers such that the power amplifiers in the set have lowest maximum output power capabilities sufficient for a combined total transmit power of the set of one or more power amplifiers to meet a combined total transmit power target, as taught by Sridharan for the purpose of signaling and configuration of maximum transmit power using virtual ports [0002].
Claim 25, 28, 30, 31 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen, and further in view of Spring et al. (US 20230309024, hereinafter “Spring”).
Regarding claim 25, Cohen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 19), however Cohen does not disclose, wherein the combined total transmit power of the set of one or more power amplifiers is determined at the respective antenna ports and includes an estimate of path loss between each power amplifier in the set of one or more power amplifiers and its respective antenna port.
In the same field of endeavor, Spring discloses, wherein the combined total transmit power of the set of one or more power amplifiers is determined at the respective antenna ports and includes an estimate of path loss between each power amplifier in the set of one or more power amplifiers and its respective antenna port (in a TDD SRS antenna switching process, may send a transmission to all the receive antennas at a receiver, such as a base station. In some instances, not all of the post power amplifier (PA) to antenna insertion losses may be equal. Some insertion losses may be worse than the primary transmitter of the UE. The may result in a power imbalance between antennas that are being sounded. The delta power (e.g., different) between antennas maybe ≤3 dB for frequencies<n79, while the delta power between antennas maybe ≤4.5 dB for frequencies=n79. If the imbalance of power is greater than allowable delta between antennas, the imbalance may impact the downlink throughput, [0064]-[0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cohen by specifically providing wherein the combined total transmit power of the set of one or more power amplifiers is determined at the respective antenna ports and includes an estimate of path loss between each power amplifier in the set of one or more power amplifiers and its respective antenna port, as taught by Spring for the purpose of providing a configuration for a UE to signal insertion loss for sounding reference signal (SRS) antenna switching [0002].
Regarding claim 28, Cohen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 19), however Cohen does not disclose, wherein the apparatus is configured to select an antenna port for each of the power amplifiers in the set of one or more power amplifiers based on at least one of the following: an estimate of power loss in the transmission channels associated with the antenna ports, or an estimate of power loss in the paths between the power amplifiers in the set of one or more power amplifiers and the respective selectable antenna ports.
In the same field of endeavor, Spring discloses, wherein the apparatus is configured to select an antenna port for each of the power amplifiers in the set of one or more power amplifiers based on at least one of the following: an estimate of power loss in the transmission channels associated with the antenna ports, or an estimate of power loss in the paths between the power amplifiers in the set of one or more power amplifiers and the respective selectable antenna ports (in a TDD SRS antenna switching process, may send a transmission to all the receive antennas at a receiver, such as a base station. In some instances, not all of the post power amplifier (PA) to antenna insertion losses may be equal. Some insertion losses may be worse than the primary transmitter of the UE. The may result in a power imbalance between antennas that are being sounded. The delta power (e.g., different) between antennas maybe ≤3 dB for frequencies<n79, while the delta power between antennas maybe ≤4.5 dB for frequencies=n79. If the imbalance of power is greater than allowable delta between antennas, the imbalance may impact the downlink throughput, [0064]-[0068])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cohen by specifically providing wherein the apparatus is configured to select an antenna port for each of the power amplifiers in the set of one or more power amplifiers based on at least one of the following: an estimate of power loss in the transmission channels associated with the antenna ports, or an estimate of power loss in the paths between the power amplifiers in the set of one or more power amplifiers and the respective selectable antenna ports, as taught by Spring for the purpose of providing a configuration for a UE to signal insertion loss for sounding reference signal (SRS) antenna switching [0002].
Regarding claim 30, Cohen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 19), however Cohen does not disclose, wherein the apparatus is configured to control a switching arrangement between the plurality of power amplifiers and the multiplicity of antenna ports, wherein the switching arrangement is configured to connect each of the plurality of power amplifiers to at least one antenna port and at least a first one of the plurality of power amplifiers to any one of multiple different ones of the multiplicity of antenna ports, wherein the first one of the plurality of power amplifiers has the greatest maximum output power capability amongst the plurality of power amplifiers.
In the same field of endeavor, Spring discloses, wherein the apparatus is configured to control a switching arrangement between the plurality of power amplifiers and the multiplicity of antenna ports, wherein the switching arrangement is configured to connect each of the plurality of power amplifiers to at least one antenna port and at least a first one of the plurality of power amplifiers to any one of multiple different ones of the multiplicity of antenna ports, wherein the first one of the plurality of power amplifiers has the greatest maximum output power capability amongst the plurality of power amplifiers (an apparatus for wireless communication at a UE including at least one processor coupled to a memory and configured to determine an insertion loss for each antenna of a plurality of antennas; generate an offset matrix correction based at least on the insertion loss for each antenna of the plurality of antennas; and transmit the offset matrix correction to a base station [0113]-[0117]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cohen by specifically providing wherein the apparatus is configured to control a switching arrangement between the plurality of power amplifiers and the multiplicity of antenna ports, wherein the switching arrangement is configured to connect each of the plurality of power amplifiers to at least one antenna port and at least a first one of the plurality of power amplifiers to any one of multiple different ones of the multiplicity of antenna ports, wherein the first one of the plurality of power amplifiers has the greatest maximum output power capability amongst the plurality of power amplifiers, as taught by Spring for the purpose of providing a configuration for a UE to signal insertion loss for sounding reference signal (SRS) antenna switching [0002].
Regarding claim 31, Cohen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 19), however Cohen does not disclose, wherein the apparatus is configured to switch a power amplifier having a greatest maximum output power capability amongst the plurality of power amplifiers to any one of a first number of the multiplicity antenna ports and a power amplifier that has the lowest maximum output power capability amongst the plurality of power amplifiers to any one of a second number of the multiplicity of antenna ports, wherein the first number is the maximum number of antenna ports to which any of the plurality of power amplifiers is switchable and the second number is a minimum number of antenna ports to which any of the plurality of power amplifiers is switchable.
In the same field of endeavor, Spring discloses, wherein the apparatus is configured to switch a power amplifier having a greatest maximum output power capability amongst the plurality of power amplifiers to any one of a first number of the multiplicity antenna ports and a power amplifier that has the lowest maximum output power capability amongst the plurality of power amplifiers to any one of a second number of the multiplicity of antenna ports, wherein the first number is the maximum number of antenna ports to which any of the plurality of power amplifiers is switchable and the second number is a minimum number of antenna ports to which any of the plurality of power amplifiers is switchable (the reporting of the insertion loss may be a per-band or a per-band in a band combination UE capability. The insertion loss may apply to SRS antenna switching usage and also for carrier switching. The base station may be configured to derive the downlink channel state information (CSI) acquisition and correct for the insertion loss at the transmission chains which may not be present at the receive chains. In some aspects, the reporting may be explicit of the actual insertion loss per antenna port (e.g., 2 dB, 5 dB, 6 dB, 5 dB), while in some aspects, the reporting may be differential with respect to antenna port 0 (e.g., 3 dB, 4 dB, 3 dB). In both aspects, the resolution of reporting may comprise a resolution of 0.5 dB [0068]; an apparatus for wireless communication at a UE including at least one processor coupled to a memory and configured to determine an insertion loss for each antenna of a plurality of antennas; generate an offset matrix correction based at least on the insertion loss for each antenna of the plurality of antennas; and transmit the offset matrix correction to a base station [0113]-[0117]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cohen by specifically providing wherein the apparatus is configured to switch a power amplifier having a greatest maximum output power capability amongst the plurality of power amplifiers to any one of a first number of the multiplicity antenna ports and a power amplifier that has the lowest maximum output power capability amongst the plurality of power amplifiers to any one of a second number of the multiplicity of antenna ports, wherein the first number is the maximum number of antenna ports to which any of the plurality of power amplifiers is switchable and the second number is a minimum number of antenna ports to which any of the plurality of power amplifiers is switchable, as taught by Spring for the purpose of providing a configuration for a UE to signal insertion loss for sounding reference signal (SRS) antenna switching [0002].
Regarding claim 34, Cohen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 19), however Cohen does not disclose, wherein the combined total transmit power of the set of one or more power amplifiers is determined at the respective antenna ports and includes an estimate of path loss between each power amplifier in the set of one or more power amplifiers and its respective antenna port.
In the same field of endeavor, Spring discloses, wherein the combined total transmit power of the set of one or more power amplifiers is determined at the respective antenna ports and includes an estimate of path loss between each power amplifier in the set of one or more power amplifiers and its respective antenna port (wherein the combined total transmit power of the set of one or more power amplifiers is determined at the respective antenna ports and includes an estimate of path loss between each power amplifier in the set of one or more power amplifiers and its respective antenna port [0069]-[0071).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cohen by specifically providing wherein the combined total transmit power of the set of one or more power amplifiers is determined at the respective antenna ports and includes an estimate of path loss between each power amplifier in the set of one or more power amplifiers and its respective antenna port, as taught by Spring for the purpose of providing a configuration for a UE to signal insertion loss for sounding reference signal (SRS) antenna switching [0002].
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen, and further in view of Liebenrood (US 20070080750, hereinafter “Liebenrood”).
Regarding claim 26, Cohen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 19), however Cohen does not disclose, wherein the apparatus is configured to replace a power amplifier in the set of one or more power amplifiers in response to a requirement to increase the combined total transmit power of the set, only if the output power of the power amplifier, for replacement, has reached its maximum output power capability.
In the similar field of endeavor, Liebenrood discloses, wherein the apparatus is configured to replace a power amplifier in the set of one or more power amplifiers in response to a requirement to increase the combined total transmit power of the set, only if the output power of the power amplifier, for replacement, has reached its maximum output power capability (the high-power amplifier subsection 122 is enabled and the low-power amplifier subsection 132 is disabled by the control system 150 in a high-power mode operation (for example, when the HIGH/LOW control signal is high). By contrast, during a low-power mode, the high-power amplifier subsection 122 is disabled and the low-power amplifier subsection 132 is enabled by the control system 150 (for example, when the HIGH/LOW control signal is low), [0020]-[0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cohen by specifically providing wherein the apparatus is configured to replace a power amplifier in the set of one or more power amplifiers in response to a requirement to increase the combined total transmit power of the set, only if the output power of the power amplifier, for replacement, has reached its maximum output power capability, as taught by Liebenrood for the purpose of providing an improved amplifiers that are compact and that can operate with enhanced efficiency in multiple power modes, thereby providing the high-power power in one mode and efficient, low-power operation in another [0004].
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen, and further in view of Li et al. (US 7795968, hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding claim 27, Cohen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 19), however Cohen does not disclose, wherein the apparatus is configured to select for addition to the set of one or more power amplifiers an additional power amplifier from the remaining power amplifiers of the plurality of power amplifiers that are not presently in the set, wherein the selected additional power amplifier is the power amplifier of the remaining power amplifiers that has the lowest maximum output power capability amongst the remaining power amplifiers.
In the same field of endeavor, Li discloses, wherein the apparatus is configured to select for addition to the set of one or more power amplifiers an additional power amplifier from the remaining power amplifiers of the plurality of power amplifiers that are not presently in the set, wherein the selected additional power amplifier is the power amplifier of the remaining power amplifiers that has the lowest maximum output power capability amongst the remaining power amplifiers (However, it must be borne in mind that details of the matching networks necessarily depend on performance details of the amplifying blocks LP 106, MP 108 and HP 118, and hence the exact value of the matching network devices is best left as a design choice….. When operated in LP (low power) mode, only amplifier device LP 106 is biased for substantial amplification. When operated in medium power mode, both LP 106 and MP 108 are biased for substantial amplification. When they operate in parallel, the bias to the two devices may be optimized to cancel nonlinear distortion at close to maximum output power levels, as noted above with respect to FIG. 1, Col. 5; lines 3-45).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cohen by specifically providing wherein the apparatus is configured to select for addition to the set of one or more power amplifiers an additional power amplifier from the remaining power amplifiers of the plurality of power amplifiers that are not presently in the set, wherein the selected additional power amplifier is the power amplifier of the remaining power amplifiers that has the lowest maximum output power capability amongst the remaining power amplifiers, as taught by Li for the purpose of increasing the overall power and cost efficiency of such plural-range RF PAs (Col. 1; 53-57).
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen, and further in view of Gaal et al. (US 20120213154, hereinafter “Gaal”)
Regarding claim 29, Cohen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 19), however Cohen does not disclose, wherein the apparatus is configured to select an antenna port for a power amplifier of a primary carrier that has the best estimate of power loss in a transmission channel associated with the antenna port.
In the same field of endeavor, Gaal discloses, wherein the apparatus is configured to select an antenna port for a power amplifier of a primary carrier that has the best estimate of power loss in a transmission channel associated with the antenna port (if the UE switches an antenna utilized to transmit one component carrier, then the UE will also switch antennas for every other component carrier comprising the aggregation. On the other hand, if the component carriers comprising the UE's carrier aggregation are non-continuous, i.e., separated from one another in frequency, and use different PAs for different component carriers, then UL TAS may be configured for component carriers in the carrier aggregation independently, [0071] and [0091]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cohen by specifically providing wherein the apparatus is configured to select an antenna port for a power amplifier of a primary carrier that has the best estimate of power loss in a transmission channel associated with the antenna port, as taught by Gaal for the purpose of identifying an inconsistency among the received assignments, and resolves the inconsistency to select an appropriate or optimal antenna port for one or more component carriers [0008].
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
US 20230370097: The present disclosure relates to the field of communication technologies, and in particular to a radio frequency (RF) power amplifier module integrated duplexer (PA Mid) device, a RF system, and a communication device.
US 20230291370: Power amplifiers are used in radio frequency (RF) communication systems to amplify RF signals for transmission via antennas. It is important to manage the power of RF signal transmissions to prolong battery life and/or provide a suitable transmit power level.
US 20230086058: Wireless communication devices and technologies are becoming ever more prevalent, as are communication devices that operate at millimeter-wave (mmW) frequencies. Wireless communication devices generally transmit and/or receive communication signals.
Conclusion
/GOLAM SOROWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641