DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/25/2024 and 05/07/2025 have been placed in record and considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
This office action considers claims 21-39 filed on 10/14/2024 are pending for prosecution.
Claims 1-20 are canceled.
Claims 21-39 are added new.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 28-30 and 38-39 are rejected 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 28, line 1 recites the limitation “the event-based” which lacks antecedent basis in the claim, making claim indefinite.
Claims 29-30 and 38-38, citing “the event-based” also lack antecedent basis for the respective claims, making the claims indefinite.
NOTICE for all US Patent Applications filed on or after March 16, 2013
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-29 and 31-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Rahman et al. (WO 2023027543 A1, of IDS, hereinafter ‘RAHMAN’).
Regarding claim 21, RAHMAN teaches an apparatus (Fig. 1 UE 111…116,
[56] The gNB 102 provides wireless broadband access to the network 130 for a first plurality of user equipments (UEs) within a coverage area 120 of the gNB 102. The first plurality of UEs includes a UE 111, which may be located in a small business; a UE 112 …. UE 116
See also Fig. 3 UE 116) comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (
Fig. 3, UE 116, [72] As shown in FIGURE 3, the UE 116 includes …., a processor 340, … and a memory 360. The memory 360 includes an operating system (OS) 361 and one or more applications 362.
[75] The processor 340 can include one or more processors or other processing devices and execute the OS 361 stored in the memory 360 in order to control the overall operation of the UE 116.
[109] For UL beam indication and measurement, the reference RS can be NZP CSI-RS, SSB, and/or SRS. Here, UL beam indication is done via the SRS resource indicator (SRI) field in UL-related DCI which is linked to one (and only one) reference RS. This linkage is configured via higher-layer signaling using the SpatialRelationInfo RRC parameter. Essentially, only one TX beam is indicated to the UE.
[130] FIGURE 10, an UL multi-beam operation 1000 ….
[150] As shown in FIGURE 14, a UE is configured to measure (receive) P.sub.1 DL measurement RS resources (such as CSI-RS or SSB), where P.sub.1≥1. This configuration can be transmitted by the NW/gNB (received by the UE) via higher-layer (RRC) signaling.
[155] In one example, the beam report is configured via reportQuantity in CSIRcportConfig that is set to a new value, i.e., 'cri-RSRP-r17' or 'ssb-Indcx-RSRP-r17' or 'cri-SINR-r17', or 'ssb-Index-SINR-r17', where the term 'cri' or 'ssb-Index' corresponds to the resource indicator…. the term 'r17' corresponds to the index I.
[164] In one example, the index I indicates an information about the coherence type. For example, the index I indicates one of the following:
[165] • Full-coherent (FC) indicating all SRS ports. In one example, this co1Tcsponds to the case of 1 antenna panel comprising all SRS ports. In one example, this cmTesponds to the case of all SRS ports being selected ( or turned ON).
[579] In one embodiment, the UE is further indicated with a SRS resource indicator (SRI), e.g., via UL-related DCI, which is based on the SRS resources corresponding to one SRS resource set (S) among the multiple SRS resource sets (Sl,S2, ... ), where the SRS resource set (S) can be aligned with the UE reported information corresponding to the index I.
[598] S = Sl or S2 based on UE capability and/or RRC configuration.), cause the apparatus at least to perform:
receiving a configuration from a network including associating an amount N of downlink reference signals respectively with N sounding reference signals (
[127] when DL RS (such as CSI-RS and/or SSB) is used as reference RS (pertinent when DL-UL beam correspondence or reciprocity holds), the NW/gNB transmit the RS to the UE (for UL and by reciprocity, this corresponds to an UL RX beam). In response, the UE measures the reference RS (and in the process selects an UL TX beam) and reports the beam metric associated with the quality of the reference RS. In this case, the UE determines the TX-RX beam pair for every configured (DL) reference RS.
Fig. 10, step 1001, [130] FIGURE 10, an UL multi-beam operation 1000 starts with the gNB/NW signaling to a UE an aperiodic CSI-RS (AP-CSI-RS) trigger or indication (step 1001). ….. The SRI corresponds to a “target” SRS resource that is linked to a reference RS (in this case, an AP-CSI-RS) via SpatialRelationInfo configuration.
[150] As shown in FIGURE 14, a UE is configured to measure (receive) P.sub.1 DL measurement RS resources (such as CSI-RS or SSB), where P.sub.1≥1. This configuration can be transmitted by the NW/gNB (received by the UE) via higher-layer (RRC) signaling.
[558] The number (M) of SRS resource sets or SRS resources can be equal to number of panel entities (M), where a panel entity is functionally equivalent to any of the following.
[561] A resource or resources (SRS, CSI-RS, SSB).
(Construed UE received a configuration linking M=N CSI-RS transmission with M=N SRS transmission) );
determining up to N downlink reference signals to be reported based on at least one criterion (
Dig. 10, step 1002, step 1003, [130] FIGURE 10, an UL multi-beam operation 1000 starts with the gNB/NW signaling to a UE an aperiodic CSI-RS (AP-CSI-RS) trigger or indication (step 1001). This trigger or indication can be included in a DCI (either UL-related or DL-related, either separately or jointly signaled with an aperiodic CSI request/trigger) and indicate transmission of AP-CSI-RS in a same (zero-time offset) or later slot/sub-frame (>0 time offset). Upon receiving the AP-CSI-RS transmitted by the gNB/NW (step 1002), the UE measures the AP-CSI-RS and, in turn, calculates and reports a “beam metric” (indicating quality of a particular TX beam hypothesis) (step 1003).
[150] As shown in FIGURE 14, a UE is configured to measure (receive) P.sub.1 DL measurement RS resources (such as CSI-RS or SSB), where P.sub.1≥1. This configuration can be transmitted by the NW/gNB (received by the UE) via higher-layer (RRC) signaling.
See also [558, 561] disclosing M = SRS resources = CSI-RS resources
(Construed CSI report include beam metric for quality criterion based on M CSI-RS resource measurement as configured by RRC signalling));
reporting up to N downlink reference signals to the network, wherein a downlink reference signal reported to the network is indicative to the network that the apparatus is capable to transmit the sounding reference signal associated with the reported downlink reference signal (
Fig. 10, step 1003, step 1004, [130] the UE measures the AP-CSI-RS and, in turn, calculates and reports a “beam metric” (indicating quality of a particular TX beam hypothesis) (step 1003)….. Upon receiving the beam report from the UE, the NW can use the beam report to select an UL TX beam for the UE and indicate the UL TX beam selection (step 1004) using the SRI field in the UL-related DCI …
See also [150] As shown in FIGURE 14, a UE is configured to measure (receive) P.sub.1 DL measurement RS resources (such as CSI-RS or SSB), where P.sub.1≥1. This configuration can be transmitted by the NW/gNB (received by the UE) via higher-layer (RRC) signaling.
[155] In one example, the beam report is configured via reportQuantity in CSIRcportConfig that is set to a new value, i.e., 'cri-RSRP-r17' or 'ssb-Indcx-RSRP-r17' or 'cri-SINR-r17', or 'ssb-Index-SINR-r17', where the term 'cri' or 'ssb-Index' corresponds to the resource indicator…. the term 'r17' corresponds to the index I.
[164] In one example, the index I indicates an information about the coherence type. For example, the index I indicates one of the following:
[165] • Full-coherent (FC) indicating all SRS ports. In one example, this co1Tcsponds to the case of 1 antenna panel comprising all SRS ports. In one example, this cmTesponds to the case of all SRS ports being selected ( or turned ON).);
receiving a command to trigger sounding reference signal transmission, and transmitting the up to N sounding reference signals respectively associated with the reported up to N downlink reference signals to the network in response to receiving the command (
Fig. 10, step 1004, step 1005,
[130] Upon receiving the beam report from the UE, the NW can use the beam report to select an UL TX beam for the UE and indicate the UL TX beam selection (step 1004) using the SRI field in the UL-related DCI (that carries the UL grant, such as DCI format 0_1 in NR). The SRI corresponds to a “target” SRS resource that is linked to a reference RS (in this case, an AP-CSI-RS) via SpatialRelationInfo configuration. Upon successfully decoding the UL-related DCI with the SRI, the UE performs UL transmission (such as data transmission on PUSCH) with the UL TX beam associated with the SRI (step 1005).).
Regarding claim 33, the claim is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 21, and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 21.
Regarding claim 22, RAHMAN teaches the apparatus according to claim 21 configured to:
determine a maximum permissible emission status for resources in a resource set (
[130] the UE measures the AP-CSI-RS and, in turn, calculates and reports a “beam metric” (indicating quality of a particular TX beam hypothesis) (step 1003)
[881] The present disclosure includes the following components for enabling beam measurement and reporting selection procedures, wherein the beam measurement and reporting may include an additional information about a state of each beam reporting, and the state can be related to MPE event).
Regarding claim 23, RAHMAN teaches the apparatus according to claim 22, further configured to report such downlink reference signals for which no maximum power backoff is applied or is applied less than a first threshold (
[982] the beam report can include a second metric (in addition to the beam metric) for some reported value(s) of the ‘state’. That is, when the ‘state’ belongs to a set T1, the beam metric is reported (and the second metric is not reported), and when the ‘state’ belongs to a set T2, both the beam metric and the second metric are reported. Whether the second metric can be reported is determined based on at least one of the following examples.
[983] ○ In one example, it is based on a configuration (e.g., via RRC and/or MAC CE and/or DCI).
[987] In one example, when Q.sub.1>1, there are multiple beams (resource indicators and metrics) reported in the beam report. At least one of the following examples is used/configured regarding the ‘state’.
[988] In one example, all Q.sub.1 beams correspond to the same value of the ‘state’. For example, when the ‘state’ is related to the MPE, all Q.sub.1 beams are for (i) for MPE mitigation (taking MPE into account) or (ii) without MPE, i.e., are normal beams without taking MPE into account. A common bit field, IE, or parameter (e.g., 1-bit field or a parameter taking two values) is used for Q.sub.1 beams.
See also [1064-1071]).
Regarding claim 24, RAHMAN teaches the apparatus according to claim 22 configured to perform event triggering of reporting order based on an observed maximum permissible emission status on a reference signal associated with a current uplink transmission (
[881] The present disclosure includes the following components for enabling beam measurement and reporting selection procedures, wherein the beam measurement and reporting may include an additional information about a state of each beam reporting, and the state can be related to MPE event.
[939] when the UE is equipped with X>1 antenna panels….
[940] For X>1 antenna panels at the UE, the ‘state’ can be reported independently for each panel. Or the ‘state’ can be reported for one of the X panels (e.g., the panel that has the worst MPE issue), and can also include a corresponding panel ID optionally. Or the ‘state’ can be reported for all panels that have MPE issue. If there is no MPE issue detected, the UE does not report the ‘state’, otherwise, the UE reports the ‘state’ for all panels having the MPE issue and can also report the corresponding panels ID(s) optionally.
[942] The ‘state’ can be related to an event of interest (such as MPE), or panel status (or ID), or whether the beam report is for one of or both of DL reception and UL transmission. At least one of the following examples can be used for reporting the information about the state.).
Regarding claim 25, RAHMAN teaches the apparatus according to claim 24, further configured to receive at least a first transmission coordination indication state or a second transmission coordination indication state (
See [881, 940] cited above.
See also [1019] RRC parameter is mpe-Reporting-r17 that allows the UE P-MPR-based MPE reporting (similar to Rel. 16 MPE reporting) included in the PHR report when a threshold is reached and is reported via (or triggered by) MAC-CE (entity), similar to the description in section 5.4.6 of TS 38/321.
[1028] In a variation, to facilitate MPE mitigation, the Rel-16 event-triggered P-MPR-based reporting (included in the PHR report when a threshold is reached, reported via MAC-CE) is extended as follows), further wherein the apparatus is configured to trigger the event-based reporting if a power back off to be applied for the current uplink transmission on the first indicated transmission coordination indication state or the second indicated transmission coordination indication state is higher than a second threshold (
See [940, 942] cited above.
[943] In one example, the state is regarding the MPE event or MPE mitigation. For example, a 1-bit indication B can be used to indicate one of the two states: (i) MPE detected (or MPE mitigation), and (ii) MPE not detected (not for MPE mitigation).
[995] In one sub-embodiment, the content or information conveyed by the 'state' is determined ( or configured) according to at least one of the following examples.
[1003] the information includes a value of the MPE. For example, the information can be conveyed via a M-bit field.. ….. When M=2, the 2-bit field indicates one of the four values {m.sub.0,m.sub.1,m.sub.2,m.sub.3}, where either all values map to (maximum or minimum) MPE values, or one of them maps to the state “MPE issue not detected”, and the remaining map to the states “MPE detected and a corresponding (maximum or minimum) MPE value.” In general, the M-bit field indicates one of the 2.sup.M values {m.sub.0,m.sub.1,.Math.,m.sub.M-1}, where either all values map to (maximum or minimum) MPE values, or one of them maps to the state “MPE issue not detected”, and the remaining map to the states “MPE detected and a corresponding (maximum or minimum) MPE value.” The set of values {m.sub.0,m.sub.1,.Math.,m.sub.M-1} can be fixed, or configured, e.g., via RRC and/or MAC CE and/or DCI. Or a maximum value for the MPE is configured, e.g., via RRC and/or MAC CE and/or DCI, and the set of values {m.sub.0,m.sub.1,.Math.,m.sub.M-1} is determined based on the configured maximum value. In one example, the set of MP values corresponds to the (maximum or minimum) power headroom (PHR) or Power Management Maximum Power Reduction (P-MPR) or UL duty-cycle values.
See also [1019] cited above.
See also [1028] cited above.
[1029] In one example, Q.sub.1≥1 P-MPR values can be reported together with M≥1 SSBRI(s)/CRI(s), where the M SSBRI(s)/CRI(s) is selected by the UE from a candidate SSB/CSI-RS resource pool and/or from the pool of configured or activated TCI states (UL TCI or joint TCI). ….).
Regarding claim 26, RAHMAN teaches the apparatus according to claim 21 further configured to:
measure reference signal received power (
Fig. 10, step 1003, step 1004, [130] the UE measures the AP-CSI-RS); and
compare a reference signal received power of the current downlink reference signal with another configured downlink reference signal (
[152] The beam report includes N≥1 pairs of (R,I) where R is a resource indicator, and I is an index corresponding to the reported R. In one example, R is SSBRI indicating SSB index, or CRI indicating CSI-RS resource index. In one example, the beam report also include a beam metric corresponding to (or associated with) each reported resource indicator R. ……. When N>1, the beam metrics are reported in a differential manner (as in Rel.15/16) with 7 bits for the first (absolute) beam metric and 4 bits for each of the remaining N-1 (differential) beam metrics with respect to the first beam metric, the details of this differential reporting is as described in Rel. 15/16 NR specification.).
Regarding claim 27, RAHMAN teaches the apparatus according to claim 26, wherein the apparatus is configured to trigger the event-based reporting based on the measured reference signal received power value (
[1016] - A second report (sub-report) is a beam report including resource indicator(s) and possibly beam metrics, reflecting the 'state'. For example, the reported resource indicator(s) take into account the MPE effect. The beam metrics include the MPE effect.
See also [1019] RRC parameter is mpe-Reporting-r17 that allows the UE P-MPR-based MPE reporting (similar to Rel. 16 MPE reporting) included in the PHR report when a threshold is reached and is reported via (or triggered by) MAC-CE (entity), similar to the description in section 5.4.6 of TS 38/321.
[1028] In a variation, to facilitate MPE mitigation, the Rel-16 event-triggered P-MPR-based reporting (included in the PHR report when a threshold is reached, reported via MAC-CE) is extended as follows).
Regarding claim 28, RAHMAN teaches the apparatus according to claim 21 further configured to trigger the event-based reporting based on whether a pathloss measurement has been performed for a measured downlink reference signal (
See Fig. 10, 1002, 1003, [130] Upon receiving the AP-CSI-RS transmitted by the gNB/NW (step 1002), the UE measures the AP-CSI-RS and, in turn, calculates and reports a “beam metric”… (step 1003).
[150] the DL measurement RS resources include the path-loss (PL) RS resources …
[1016] - A second report (sub-report) is a beam report including resource indicator(s) and possibly beam metrics, reflecting the 'state'. For example, the reported resource indicator(s) take into account the MPE effect. The beam metrics include the MPE effect.
[1042] In one example, the beam report includes Q1 pairs (I,J), where I= indicator= SSBRI or CRI or TCI (UL TCI or joint-TC!) or an ID associated with antenna panel (e.g., SRS/CSI-RS resource set ID), and J= metric= mis one of ml and m2
[1043] • m = ml, when 'state' or indicator= 0 or v0, which for example indicates a normal
Metric when there is no MPE issue (MPE issue not detected),
[1044] • m = m2, when 'state' or indicator= 1 or v1, which for example indicates a MPE metric when there is an MPE issue (MPE issue detected).
[1045] At least one of the following examples is used/configured for (m 1, m2).
[1046] e In one example, (ml, m2) = (DL RSRP, UL RSRP), where
[1047] DL RSRP = Ll-RSRP as in Rel.15 or a modified Ll-RSRP, where the modification corresponds to one of the following.
).
Regarding claim 29, RAHMAN teaches the apparatus according to claim 21 comprising at least a primary antenna panel and a secondary antenna panel (
[111] In one example pertinent to Rel.15/16 NR, when beam correspondence is utilized, UL beam selection can be performed via measuring DL RS (CSI-RS and/or SSB) and CRI reporting accompanied with corresponding beam metrics (e.g., RSRP, SINR) ….. UE performs UL transmission on PUSCH with the UL TX beam associated with one of the latest CRI reports (especially the one with the highest RSRP or /SINR.
[113] when an event that results in the UE having to select an (alternate) UL TX beam different from what the NW expects….
[114] In one example, such as event can happen due to the so-called Maximum Permissible Exposure (MPE) regulation …..
[115] In another example, such as event can happen due to hardware (HW) limitation at a UE equipped with multiple antenna panels, and in response to the event, the UE needs to select/switch antenna panel for UL transmission.
See also [885] when the UE is equipped with X>1 antenna panels.
(Construed antenna panel providing CRI with highest RSRP or /SINR correspond for UL transmission is construed as the Primary Antenna and Switched antenna panel construed as Secondary antenna panel)));
wherein the apparatus is configured to trigger the event-based reporting based on determining that at least one downlink reference signal can be detected or received on the primary antenna panel and the primary antenna panel is not currently configured for uplink transmission (
See Fig. 10, 1002, 1003, [130] Upon receiving the AP-CSI-RS transmitted by the gNB/NW (step 1002), the UE measures the AP-CSI-RS and, in turn, calculates and reports a “beam metric”… (step 1003).
[111] In one example pertinent to Rel.15/16 NR, when beam correspondence is utilized, UL beam selection can be performed via measuring DL RS (CSI-RS and/or SSB) and CRI reporting accompanied with corresponding beam metrics (e.g., RSRP, SINR). That is, based on the CRI/RSRP or CRI/SINR reporting from the UE, the network (NW) can assume that the UE performs UL transmission on PUSCH with the UL TX beam associated with one of the latest CRI reports (especially the one with the highest RSRP or /SINR).
[113] when an event that results in the UE having to select an (alternate) UL TX beam different from what the NW expects, some additional mechanisms are needed to ensure that (a) the UE has the alternate UL TX beam available when the UE detects such an event and the next UL TX beam indication can only in a later time slot, and (b) the NW is aware of the UE decision. A few examples of such an event are as follows.
.[114] In one example, such as event can happen due to the so-called Maximum Permissible Exposure (MPE) regulation …. Unfortunately, such directions may correspond to the “best” UL TX beams (e.g., associated with the CRI of the highest reported RSRP/SINR ….). When the “best” UL TX beams are not used for UL transmission, some loss of UL throughput (especially coverage) will occur.
[115] In another example, such as event can happen due to hardware (HW) limitation at a UE equipped with multiple antenna panels, and in response to the event, the UE needs to select/switch antenna panel for UL transmission.
(Construed highest RSRP or /SINR for CRI is associated with first choice or Primary Antenna Panel when Ul transmission is not scheduled at the time)).
Regarding claim 31, RAHMAN teaches the apparatus according to claim 21 comprising a plurality of antenna panels (
[885] when the UE is equipped with X> 1 antenna panels…);
wherein different downlink reference signals are mapped to respective different antenna panels of the plurality of antenna panels (
[885] when the UE is equipped with X> 1 antenna panels, Qi=X, and one resource indicator (I) or pair of (LJ)= (resource indicator, beam metric) is reported for each antenna panel. In one example, when the UE is equipped with X> 1 antenna panels, Q1~X, and at least one resource indicator (I) or pair of (I,J)= (resource indicator, beam metric) is reported for each antenna panel. The set of P1 DL measurement RS resources can be partitioned into X subsets, one subset for each antenna panel.).
Regarding claim 32, RAHMAN teaches the apparatus according to claim 31, wherein the apparatus is configured to report the downlink reference signals in a manner that an order of the reported downlink reference signals corresponds with an order of the antenna panels (
[885] when the UE is equipped with X> 1 antenna panels, Q1~X, and at least one resource indicator (I) or pair of (I,J)= (resource indicator, beam metric) is reported for each antenna panel. The set of P1 DL measurement RS resources can be partitioned into X subsets, one subset for each antenna panel.
See also [939] In one example, when the UE is equipped with X> 1 antenna panels, ….. the information about the panel ID can be included/reported explicitly, e.g., by including/reporting the panel ID(s) in the beam report.
(DL beam metric reporting with corresponding antenna panel ID indicates an order of measurement reporting of the antenna panels)).
Regarding claim 34, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 22.
Regarding claim 35, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 23.
Regarding claim 36, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 24.
Regarding claim 37, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 25.
Regarding claim 38, RAHMAN teaches the apparatus according to claim 33, further comprising triggering the event-based reporting based on determining that at least one downlink reference signal can be detected or received on a primary antenna panel and the primary antenna panel is not currently configured for uplink transmission (
See [114-115] cited for claim 29 ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 30 and 39 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahman et al. (WO 2023027543 A1, of IDS, hereinafter ‘RAHMAN’) in view of Calzolari et al. (US 20210297117 A1, hereinafter ‘CALZOLARI‘).
Regarding claim 30, RAHMAN teaches the apparatus according to claim 21 comprising at least a primary antenna panel and a secondary antenna panel (
See [111, 113-115, 885] cited for claim 29.
(Construed antenna panel providing CRI with highest RSRP or /SINR correspond for UL transmission is construed as the Primary Antenna and Switched antenna panel construed as Secondary antenna panel)).
RAHMAN does not explicitly disclose wherein the apparatus is configured to trigger the event-based reporting if a difference between reference signal received power of a downlink reference signal received by the primary antenna panel and reference signal received power of a downlink reference signal received by the secondary antenna panel is higher than an offset value.
In an analogous art, CALZOLARI teaches wherein the apparatus is configured to trigger the event-based reporting if a difference between reference signal received power of a downlink reference signal received by the primary antenna panel and reference signal received power of a downlink reference signal received by the secondary antenna panel is higher than an offset value (
Fig. 8, 825, [0102] At 825, UE 115-c may switch from the first antenna to a second antenna of the set of antennas based on a comparison between the updated dynamic threshold and a comparison value that is based on the current communication measurement. In some cases, the comparison value may be determined by measuring a first current communication measurement (e.g., a first RSRP value) for the first antenna and a second current communication measurement (e.g., a second RSRP value) for the second antenna and calculating a difference between the second current communication measurement and the first current communication measurement (e.g., an RSRPΔ value). Here, “first” and “second” may not denote a temporal association, but instead indicate for which antenna (i.e., the first antenna or the second antenna) the measurement is performed. UE 115-c may switch the operating antenna if UE 115-c determines that the calculated difference (e.g., the RSRPΔ value) is greater than or equal to the dynamic threshold.
(First antenna == Primary antenna panel, Second antenna == Secondary antenna panel)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the technique of thresholds for antenna switching of CALZORI to the system for beam measurement and reporting of RAHMAN in order to take the advantage of method for a user equipment (UE) to operate using an “optimal” antenna (e.g., an antenna with the highest reference signal received power (RSRP) (CALZOLARI: [0005]).
Regarding claim 39, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 30.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kang et al. (US 20250015948 A1), describing METHOD AND DEVICE FOR PERFORMING UPLINK TRANSMISSION AND RECEPTION IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM
Jang et al. (US 20250008512 A1), describing METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR UPLINK DATA REPETITIVE TRANSMISSION AND RECEPTION FOR NETWORK COOPERATIVE COMMUNICATION
Han et al. (US 20240260027 A1), describing UPLINK CONTROL INFORMATION (UCI) MULTIPLEXING FOR MULTI-TRANSMISSION-RECEPTION POINT (M-TRP) OPERATIONS
Chen et al. (US 20240260029 A1), describing TECHNIQUES FOR DYNAMIC SWITCHING BETWEEN ASYMMETRIC ANTENNA PANELS FOR UPLINK
Davoli et al. (US 20230291442 A1), describing NR Beam Reporting With Uplink Power
Rahman et al. (US 20230111064 A1), describing METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR BEAM MEASUREMENT AND REPORTING
Yuan et al. (US 20230031039 A1), describing FLEXIBLE CHANNEL STATE INFORMATION REFERENCE SIGNAL AND SOUNDING REFERENCE SIGNAL ASSOCIATION FOR UPLINK MULTIPLE-INPUT MULTIPLE- OUTPUT
/SHAH M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413