DETAILED ACTION
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
Applicant's arguments filed 6/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments with regard to the independent claims 1 and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) that the combination of the references does not teach/suggest the claimed feature “… indicative of a first quantity of data banks …” because O’Brien does not teach/suggest instruction containing information indicative of a size/quantity; applicant's arguments have fully been considered, but are not found to be persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., instruction containing information indicative of a size/quantity) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
I. REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Brien et al. (US Patent 8,296,526) in view of Furukawa et al. (US Pub.: 2009/0287850).
As per claim 1, O’Brien teaches/suggests a method, comprising:
first operating based on first instructions from a processor and second based on second instructions from the processor, the first indicative of a first quantity of data banks to access for first data, the second indicative of a second quantity of data banks to access for second data (e.g. associated with first memory access instruction and second memory access instruction from the processor for accessing memory bank in memory device: Fig. 1-2; col. 5, l. 31 to col. 6, l. 7; col. 10, ll. 33-42);
locating the first data for a first data access operation in a first data bank of at least one of a store queue or a storage (e.g. associated location at memory device (108) would need to be located when the processor accesses corresponding memory bank for first read/write operation: Fig. 1-2; col. 5, l. 31 to col. 6, l. 7; col. 10, ll. 33-42);
locating the second data for a second data access operation in a second data bank of at least one of the store queue or the storage (e.g. associated location at memory device (108) would need to be located when the processor accesses corresponding memory bank for second read/write operation: Fig. 1-2; col. 5, l. 31 to col. 6, l. 7; col. 10, ll. 33-42).
O’Brien does not teach the method, comprising:
generating first transaction data and second transaction data, the first transaction data indicative of a first operation, the second transaction data indicative of a second operation;
based on the first data bank being different from the second data bank, assigning the first transaction data to be transmitted to the first data bank and the second transaction data to be transmitted to the second data bank.
Furukawa teaches/suggests a method, comprising: generating first transaction data and second transaction data , the first transaction data indicative of a first operation, the second transaction data indicative of a second operation (e.g. associated with generating first subcommand group and second subcommand group: [0085]-[0086]); based on the first data bank being different from the second data bank (e.g. associated with determining whether or not the commands access different banks (Step S103) of Fig. 6; Fig. 6, [0133]), assigning the first transaction data to be transmitted to the first data bank and the second transaction data to be transmitted to the second data bank (e.g. associated forwarding corresponding command for accessing first bank (Step S104) and forwarding corresponding command for accessing second bank (Step S105) in Fig. 6: Fig. 6; [0134]-[0137]) (Fig. 6; [0081]-[0090]; and [0130]-[0142]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in this art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Furukawa’s subcommand groups into O’Brien’s memory accessing operations for the benefit of improving access efficiency while lowering power consumption (Furukawa, [0023]-[0024]) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
As per claim 2, O’Brien and Furukawa teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where O’Brien and Furukawa further teach/suggest the method further comprising: based on the first data bank being the same as the second data bank, determining whether the first data access operation or the second data access operation is a read data operation or a write data operation; and based on the first data access operation being the read data operation and the second data access operation being a write data operation, assigning the first transaction data to be transmitted to the first data bank and not assigning the second transaction data to be transmitted (O’Brien, Fig. 1-2; col. 5, l. 31 to col. 6, l. 7; col. 10, ll. 33-42; and Furukawa, Fig. 6; [0081]-[0090]; [0130]-[0142]), wherein it would have been obvious that the resulting combination of the references would further teach/suggest the above claimed features as reading and writing of memory banks are properly carried out.
As per claim 3, O’Brien and Furukawa teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where O’Brien and Furukawa further teach/suggest the method comprising: wherein the first data access operation includes reading a first portion of the first data from one or more of the first data banks and writing a second portion of the first data to one or more of the second data banks, the first data bank included in the one or more of the first data banks or the one or more of the second data banks, and wherein the method further comprises: based on locating the first portion in the first data banks of the store queue: transmitting the first portion from the store queue to the storage; transmitting a control signal from the store queue to arbiter logic, the arbiter logic coupled to the storage; and based on the arbiter logic obtaining the control signal, writing the first portion and the second portion to the storage (O’Brien, Fig. 1-2; col. 5, l. 31 to col. 6, l. 7; col. 10, ll. 33-42; and Furukawa, Fig. 6; [0081]-[0090]; [0130]-[0142]), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features as reading and writing of memory banks are properly carried out.
As per claim 4, O’Brien and Furukawa teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where O’Brien and Furukawa further teach/suggest the method comprising: wherein the first data bank is included in the store queue, and wherein the method further comprises, based on the store queue being full, instructing arbiter logic coupled to the store queue to prevent assigning the first transaction data to be transmitted to the first data bank (O’Brien, Fig. 1-2; col. 5, l. 31 to col. 6, l. 7; col. 10, ll. 33-42; and Furukawa, Fig. 6; [0081]-[0090]; [0130]-[0142]), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features as reading and writing of memory banks are properly carried out.
As per claim 5, O’Brien and Furukawa teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where O’Brien and Furukawa further teach/suggest the method further comprising: determining a data access operation data size based on the first instructions; determining a data storage address based on the first instructions; mapping the data access operation data size and the data storage address to the first quantity of data banks to be accessed, the first quantity of data banks including a first data bank and a second data bank; and determining that the data access operation includes reading a first portion of the first data from the first data bank and writing a second portion of the first data to the second data bank (O’Brien, Fig. 1-2; col. 5, l. 31 to col. 6, l. 7; col. 10, ll. 33-42; and Furukawa, Fig. 6; [0081]-[0090]; [0130]-[0142]), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features as reading and writing of memory banks are properly carried out.
As per claim 6, O’Brien and Furukawa teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where O’Brien and Furukawa further teach/suggest the method further comprising: transmitting the first transaction data to the first data bank and the second transaction data to the second data bank in parallel (O’Brien, Fig. 1-2; col. 5, l. 31 to col. 6, l. 7; col. 10, ll. 33-42; and Furukawa, Fig. 6; [0081]-[0090]; [0130]-[0142]).
As per claim 7, O’Brien and Furukawa teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 6 above, where O’Brien and Furukawa further teach/suggest the method comprising: wherein transmitting the first transaction data to the first data bank and the second transaction data to the second data bank in parallel comprises transmitting the first transaction data to the first data bank and the second transaction data to the second data bank in a same clock cycle (O’Brien, Fig. 1-2; col. 5, l. 31 to col. 6, l. 7; col. 10, ll. 33-42; and Furukawa, Fig. 6; [0081]-[0090]; [0130]-[0142]), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features as reading and writing of memory banks are properly carried out.
As per claim 8, O’Brien and Furukawa teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where O’Brien and Furukawa further teach/suggest the method comprising: wherein the storage and the store queue each includes a set of data banks, and wherein each one of the set of data banks of the storage corresponds to a respective one of the set of data banks of the store queue (O’Brien, Fig. 1-2; col. 5, l. 31 to col. 6, l. 7; col. 10, ll. 33-42; and Furukawa, Fig. 6; [0081]-[0090]; [0130]-[0142]; [0190]; [0195]), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features as reading and writing of memory banks are properly carried out.
As per claim 9, O’Brien and Furukawa teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 8 above, where O’Brien and Furukawa further teach/suggest the method comprising: wherein the set of data banks of the storage includes 16 data banks, and wherein the set of data banks of the store queue includes 16 data banks (O’Brien, Fig. 1-2; col. 5, l. 31 to col. 6, l. 7; col. 10, ll. 33-42; and Furukawa, Fig. 6; [0081]-[0090]; [0130]-[0142]), wherein it would have been obvious design choice to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features for reading and writing operations.
As per claim 10, O’Brien and Furukawa teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where O’Brien and Furukawa further teach/suggest the method comprising: wherein the storage is a level-one (L1) main cache storage and the store queue is an L1 main cache store queue, or the storage is an L1 victim cache storage and the store queue is an L1 victim cache store queue (O’Brien, Fig. 1-2; col. 5, l. 31 to col. 6, l. 7; col. 10, ll. 33-42; and Furukawa, Fig. 6; [0081]-[0090]; [0130]-[0142]), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features as reading and writing of memory banks are properly carried out.
As per claims 11, claim 11 is rejected in accordance to the same rational and reasoning as the above rejection of claim 1, where O’Brien and Furukawa further teach/suggest the system comprising: a cache storage; a cache store queue coupled to the cache storage; and a cache controller coupled to the cache storage and the cache store queue and configured to operate accordingly (O’Brien, Fig. 1-2; col. 5, l. 31 to col. 6, l. 7; col. 10, ll. 33-42; and Furukawa, Fig. 6; [0081]-[0090]; [0130]-[0142]; [0190]; [0195]).
As per claims 12-20, claims 12-20 are rejected in accordance to the same rational and reasoning as the above rejection of claims 2-10.
II. PERTINENT RELATED PRIOR ART
Diamant et al. (US Patent 11,467,973): discloses memory access information used by memory controller being provided as part of an instruction to a neural network processor. The neural network processor can decode the instruction, extract different parameters, and provide the parameters to the memory controller to perform memory accesses using the parameters.
III. CLOSING COMMENTS
CONCLUSION
STATUS OF CLAIMS IN THE APPLICATION
The following is a summary of the treatment and status of all claims in the application as recommended by M.P.E.P. 707.07(i):
CLAIMS REJECTED IN THE APPLICATION
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DIRECTION OF FUTURE CORRESPONDENCES
IMPORTANT NOTE
/CHUN KUAN LEE/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2181 July 14, 2026