DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 1/19/2026, have been fully considered and the examiner’s responses are given below.
The specification objections are withdrawn.
The claim objections are withdrawn, however new objections are presented below.
The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections are withdrawn, however new rejections are presented below.
The 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections are withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to the independent claims including performing autonomous driving related operation of changing a speed, direction, and acceleration is a practical application.
The 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejections are withdrawn, however new grounds are presented below.
Applicant’s arguments about paragraph [0064] of Benisch has been considered and is persuasive. However, due to the nature of applicant’s amendments, the examiner has decided to apply a different prior art.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 1 and 7, “a road segment indication that indicative of” should read “a road segment indication that is indicative of”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, “the driving scenario indication” lacks antecedent basis, therefore this claim is indefinite. For the purposes of examination, Examiner has interpreted “the driving scenario indication” to mean any driving scenario indication.
Regarding claims 2-6 and 14-20, these claims depend from claim 1 and are therefore rejected for the same reason as claim 1 above, as they do not cure the deficiencies of claim 1 noted above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-12, and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benisch (US 20210191407 A1, cited in a previous office action) in view of Schildwaechter (US 20230112417 A1).
Claim 1
Benisch teaches:
A method of providing adaptive decision for autonomous driving applications, the method comprises (Benisch - Paragraphs 0034-0035);
obtaining sensor data input relating to an environment of a vehicle (Benisch - Paragraph 0075);
determining a driving scenario, based on the sensor input data (Benisch - Paragraphs 0025-0030, 0075);
providing, by an artificial intelligence model, a special purpose decision making that is adaptive to a road segment being approached by the vehicle, in accordance with the driving scenario, when obtaining a road segment indication that indicative of the road segment (Benisch - Paragraphs 0025, 0031-0032, Fig. 1B) “separate localized machine-learning models can be trained for each road segment that a vehicle may travel”
wherein the artificial intelligence model, is trained, in a scenario-level learning by using sensed data captured in the environment of the vehicle (Benisch - Paragraphs 0025-0028) “Generalized machine-learning models are trained based on many different environments where the majority of events/training data are not unusual features or events”
and is further trained in a special purpose learning, by collecting special-purpose data relating directly to the road segment indication and reflecting behavioral data of drivers captured along the road segment (Benisch - Paragraphs 0025, 0031-0032, Fig. 1B) “separate localized machine-learning models can be trained for each road segment that a vehicle may travel”
outputting by the scenario-level decision making or the special-purpose decision making, an instruction executable by an autonomous control unit of the vehicle to perform an autonomous driving related operation that comprises changing at least one of a speed, direction or acceleration of the vehicle; and performing the autonomously driving related operation (Benisch - Paragraph 0025, 0100) “control module 1025 may transmit commands to an accelerator actuator”
Benisch does not teach:
Providing a scenario level decision making artificial intelligence (AI) model when provided with the driving scenario and not with the road segment.
However, Schildwaechter teaches:
providing, by the artificial intelligence model, a scenario-level decision making in accordance with the driving scenario when provided with the driving scenario indication and not with the road segment indication (Schildwaechter - Paragraphs 0028-0030, 0038) “If no suitable localization result is available, switching module 160, in contrast, switches to the safety mode, in this case trajectory 422 ascertained in a map-less manner”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Benisch with providing a scenario level decision making artificial intelligence (AI) model when provided with the driving scenario and not with the road segment of Schildwaechter with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that both Benisch and Schildwaechter are in the field of driving models based on location. One would have been motivated to combine as this achieves a robust autonomous driving system (Schildwaechter – Paragraph 0005).
Claim 2
The combination of Benisch and Schildwaechter teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as seen above.
Benisch further teaches:
the road segment is a given road segment (Paragraphs 0031-0037, Fig. 1B);
the driving scenario is a given driving scenario (Paragraphs 0025-0030);
and the special- purpose decision making is associated with the given road segment (Paragraphs 0025-0037, Fig. 1B).
Claim 3
The combination of Benisch and Schildwaechter teaches all of the limitations of claim 2 as seen above.
Benisch further teaches:
providing the special-purpose decision making that is associated with the given road segment, when the vehicle faces the given driving scenario and is at an equivalent road segment (Paragraph 0025);
the equivalent road segment differs by location from the given driving scenario (Paragraph 0025);
and is associated with a same behavioral data of drivers as the behavioral data of drivers captured along the given road segment (Paragraph 0025).
Claim 4
The combination of Benisch and Schildwaechter teaches all of the limitations of claim 2 as seen above.
Benisch further teaches:
providing another special-purpose decision making that is ignorant to behavioral data of drivers captured along another road segment (Paragraph 0031-0032);
when the vehicle faces the given driving scenario (Paragraph 0031-0032);
and the autonomous driving application of the vehicle was not trained using special-purpose data that reflects behavioral data of drivers captured along the other road segment (Paragraph 0031-0032).
Claim 5
The combination of Benisch and Schildwaechter teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as seen above.
Benisch further teaches:
obtaining the road segment indication is by means of localization or involves interacting with a vehicle localization process (Paragraphs 0031-0037, 0075-0077).
Claim 7
Benisch teaches:
A non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that, when executable by at least one processing device, cause the device to (Benisch - Paragraphs 0101-0106, Fig. 11).
all the other limitations have been examined with respect to claim 1. Please see the rejection above.
Claims 8-11
All the limitations of these claims have been examined with respect to the claims 2-5. Please see the rejections above.
Claim 12
The combination of Benisch and Schildwaechter teaches all of the limitations of claim 7 as seen above.
Benisch further teaches:
obtaining the road segment indication involves interacting with a vehicle localization process (Benisch - Paragraphs 0031-0037, 0075-0077).
Claim 14
The combination of Benisch and Schildwaechter teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as seen above.
Benisch further teaches:
training the artificial intelligence model in the scenario-level learning to provide the scenario- level decision in accordance with the driving scenario (Benisch - Paragraphs 0025-0028) “Generalized machine-learning models are trained based on many different environments where the majority of events/training data are not unusual features or events”
and training the artificial intelligence model in the special purpose learning by collecting special-purpose data relating directly to the road segment indication and reflecting behavioral data of drivers captured along the road segment (Benisch - Paragraphs 0025, 0031-0032, Fig. 1B) “separate localized machine-learning models can be trained for each road segment that a vehicle may travel”
Claim 15
The combination of Benisch and Schildwaechter teaches all of the limitations of claim 14 as seen above.
Benisch further teaches:
performing an additional scenario-level learning of an additional artificial intelligence model by using sensed data captured in the environment of the vehicle, in accordance with an additional driving scenario (Benisch - Paragraphs 0025-0028);
and incorporating, in a training of the additional artificial intelligence model, the special-purpose learning of the additional artificial intelligence model with the additional scenario-level learning of the additional artificial intelligence model, to provide an additional special-purpose decision making that is adaptive to the road segment indication, in accordance with the additional driving scenario (Benisch - Paragraphs 0025-0035, Fig. 1B).
Claim 16
The combination of Benisch and Schildwaechter teaches all of the limitations of claim 14 as seen above.
Benisch further teaches:
performing another special-purpose learning by collecting additional special-purpose data relating directly to an additional road segment indication of an additional road segment in the driving path of the vehicle, and feeding the artificial intelligence model with the additional collected special-purpose data, wherein the additional collected special-purpose data reflects behavioral data of drivers captured along the additional road segment (Benisch - Paragraphs 0025-0035, 0075-0077, Fig. 1B).
Claim 17
The combination of Benisch and Schildwaechter teaches all of the limitations of claim 14 as seen above.
Benisch further teaches:
identifying an equivalent road segment that is associated with a same behavioral data of drivers as the behavioral data of drivers captured along the road segment (Benisch - Paragraph 0025);
and associating the equivalent road segment with the special-purpose learning related to the road segment (Benisch - Paragraph 0025-0032).
Claim 18
The combination of Benisch and Schildwaechter teaches all of the limitations of claim 14 as seen above.
Benisch further teaches:
the incorporating of the special-purpose learning of the artificial intelligence model with the scenario- level learning involves (Benisch - Paragraph 0025-0035);
training at least a first head of a neural network implementing the artificial intelligence model to provide the scenario-level decision making in accordance with the driving scenario (Benisch - Paragraph 0025-0035);
and training at least a second head of the neural network to provide the special-purpose decision making that is adaptive to the road segment indication, in accordance with the driving scenario (Benisch - Paragraph 0025-0035).
Claim 19
The combination of Benisch and Schildwaechter teaches all of the limitations of claim 14 as seen above.
Benisch further teaches:
training the artificial intelligence model to: provide the scenario-level decision making in accordance with the driving scenario when provided with a driving scenario indication (Benisch - Paragraph 0025-0031, 0075);
and providing the special-purpose decision making that is adaptive to the road segment indication, in accordance with the driving scenario, when provided with the driving scenario indication and the road segment indication (Benisch - Paragraph 0025-0035, 0075).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benisch and Schildwaechter, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang (US 20250103779 A1).
Claim 6
The combination of Benisch and Schildwaechter teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as seen above.
Benisch does not teach:
the scenario is indicative of an aggressiveness of pedestrians and vehicle.
However, Zhang teaches:
the scenario is indicative of an aggressiveness of pedestrians and vehicle (Zhang - Paragraphs 0045) “The dynamic actor information may include route information for the actors, desired behaviors, or aggressiveness”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Benisch with the scenario indicating an aggressiveness of pedestrians and vehicles of Zhang with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that both Benisch and Zhang are in the field of autonomous driving models. One would have been motivated to combine as this improves safety and comfort of vehicles (Zhang – Paragraph 0026, 0109).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benisch and Schildwaechter, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang 2 (US 20210323552 A1).
Claim 20
The combination of Benisch and Schildwaechter teaches all of the limitations of claim 14 as seen above.
Benisch further teaches:
training the artificial intelligence model in the special purpose learning (Benisch - Paragraphs 0025, 0031-0032, Fig. 1B) “separate localized machine-learning models can be trained for each road segment that a vehicle may travel”
Benisch does not teach:
Training AI models only when there is at least a defined amount of data relating to the road segment.
However, Zhang 2 teaches:
only when there is at least a defined amount of special-purpose data relating directly to the road segment indication (Zhang 2 - Paragraphs 0071-0072) “After determining that the historical driving data reaches a certain amount, the initial longitudinal dynamics model may be trained”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Benisch with training AI models only when there is at least a defined amount of data relating to the road segment of Zhang 2 with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that Benisch and Zhang 2 are both in the field of autonomous driving models. One would have been motivated to combine as achieves an optimal driving model with reduced control errors (Zhang 2 – Paragraph 0077).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to Matthew Ho whose telephone number is (571) 272-1388. The examiner can
normally be reached on Mon-Thurs 9:00-5:30 EST.
/MATTHEW HO/ Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669