Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Reference number
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: CONTAINER FOR ONE OR MORE ELECTRONIC DEVICES WITHIN AN INTERIOR ENCLOSURE WITH HEAT EXCHANGER AND METHODS OF USE THEREOF
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0043], Line 7-8, "interior enclosure though the vent" should read "interior enclosure through the vent" .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6,11-13, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gates (US 6,050,327 - hereinafter, "Gates").
With respect to Claim 1, Gates teaches (in Figure 1 and as shown in annotated Figure 1 below)
A container (see annotated Figure 1 below) for at least one electronic device (4 or 6, column 2, lines 28-31, “The external enclosure contains two transmitter/receiver units 4, two power amplifiers 6, two duplexers 8 and a processor board 10”), said container comprising:
an exterior enclosure (28, column 2, lines 49-54, “The external enclosure 2 is contained by a ventilated case 28 having vents 30 in its bottom 32, louvers 34 in its side walls 36, and apertures covered by grills 38 near the top of its side walls 36. The walls 16 and 24 have extended surfaces 40 that project into air passages 42 between the external enclosure 2 and the case 28”);
an interior enclosure (2, column 2, lines 49-54, “The external enclosure 2 is contained by a ventilated case 28 having vents 30 in its bottom 32, louvers 34 in its side walls 36, and apertures covered by grills 38 near the top of its side walls 36. The walls 16 and 24 have extended surfaces 40 that project into air passages 42 between the external enclosure 2 and the case 28”), said interior enclosure (2) being within said exterior enclosure (28) and containing dielectric fluid (air, Gates implies that there is air within the internal enclosure (2) and air is a known dielectric) therein, the at least one electronic device (4 or 6) being within the interior enclosure (2); and
a heat exchanger (46, column 2 line 62 to column 3, line 1, “The evaporator of each heat pipe 46 is pressed into a groove 48 in the wall 16 or 24 so as to extend to the hot spot in the region of a component such as the power transistors 44 that generates relatively large amounts of heat. Each heat pipe extends from its groove 48 through an aperture 50 in the part 52a or 52b of the top wall 52 belonging to the part 2a or 2b of the external enclosure in which it is mounted”), said heat exchanger (46) being a passive heat exchanger with a first end (see annotated Figure 1 below) within said interior enclosure (2) and a second end (see annotated Figure 1 below) outside of said interior enclosure (2) and inside of said exterior enclosure (28).
Figure I
With respect to Claim 2, Gates further teaches (in Figure 1 and as shown in annotated Figure 1 above)
wherein said at least one electronic device (4 or 6) is submerged in said dielectric fluid (air).
With respect to Claim 3, Gates further teaches (in Figure 1 and as shown in annotated Figure 1 above)
wherein said first end (see annotated Figure 1 above) of said heat exchanger (46) is submerged in said dielectric fluid (air).
With respect to Claim 4, Gates further teaches (in Figure 1 and as shown in annotated Figure 1 above)
wherein said heat exchanger (46) is a heat pipe (46, column 2 line 62 to column 3, line 1, “The evaporator of each heat pipe 46 is pressed into a groove 48 in the wall 16 or 24 so as to extend to the hot spot in the region of a component such as the power transistors 44 that generates relatively large amounts of heat. Each heat pipe extends from its groove 48 through an aperture 50 in the part 52a or 52b of the top wall 52 belonging to the part 2a or 2b of the external enclosure in which it is mounted”).
With respect to Claim 5, Gates further teaches (in Figure 1 and as shown in annotated Figure 1 above)
wherein said heat pipe (46) is vertically oriented within said container (see annotated Figure 1 above).
With respect to Claim 6, Gates further teaches (in Figure 1 and as shown in annotated Figure 1 above)
wherein said interior enclosure (2) comprises a shell (2a and 2b, column 2, lines 26-28) with fins (40, column 2, lines 52-58).
With respect to Claim 11, Gates teaches (in Figure 1 and as shown in annotated Figure 1 above)
A container (see annotated Figure 1 above) for at least one electronic device (4 or 6, column 2, lines 28-31, “The external enclosure contains two transmitter/receiver units 4, two power amplifiers 6, two duplexers 8 and a processor board 10”), said container comprising:
an exterior enclosure (28, column 2, lines 49-54, “The external enclosure 2 is contained by a ventilated case 28 having vents 30 in its bottom 32, louvers 34 in its side walls 36, and apertures covered by grills 38 near the top of its side walls 36. The walls 16 and 24 have extended surfaces 40 that project into air passages 42 between the external enclosure 2 and the case 28”);
an interior enclosure (2, column 2, lines 49-54, “The external enclosure 2 is contained by a ventilated case 28 having vents 30 in its bottom 32, louvers 34 in its side walls 36, and apertures covered by grills 38 near the top of its side walls 36. The walls 16 and 24 have extended surfaces 40 that project into air passages 42 between the external enclosure 2 and the case 28”) within said exterior enclosure (28), said interior enclosure (2) containing dielectric fluid (air, Gates implies that there is air within the internal enclosure and air is a known dielectric) therein and the at least one electronic device (4 or 6) being within the interior enclosure (2) and submerged within said dielectric fluid (air); and
a heat exchanger (46, column 2 line 62 to column 3, line 1, “The evaporator of each heat pipe 46 is pressed into a groove 48 in the wall 16 or 24 so as to extend to the hot spot in the region of a component such as the power transistors 44 that generates relatively large amounts of heat. Each heat pipe extends from its groove 48 through an aperture 50 in the part 52a or 52b of the top wall 52 belonging to the part 2a or 2b of the external enclosure in which it is mounted”), said heat exchanger (46) comprising at least one heat pipe (46) with a first end (see annotated Figure 1 above) within said interior enclosure (2) submerged within said dielectric fluid (air), and a second end (see annotated Figure 1 above) outside of said interior enclosure (2) and inside of said exterior enclosure (28).
With respect to Claim 12, Gates further teaches (in Figure 1 and as shown in annotated Figure 1 above)
wherein said interior enclosure (2) comprises a shell (2a and 2b, column 2, lines 26-28, “The external enclosure can be cast, for example, from light metal in two parts 2a and 2b environmentally sealed around a joint between two flanges 2c”) with fins (40, column 2, lines 52-58, “The walls 16 and 24 have extended surfaces 40 that project into air passages 42 between the external enclosure 2 and the case 28. Components in the external enclosure are thus cooled by thermal conduction to and through the walls 16 and 24 of the external enclosure 2 and by natural convection over the extended surfaces 40”).
With respect to Claim 13, Gates further teaches (in Figure 1 and as shown in annotated Figure 1 above)
wherein said heat pipe (46) is vertically oriented within said container (see annotated Figure 1 above).
With respect to Claim 16, Gates further teaches (in Figure 1 and as shown in annotated Figure 1 above)
A method comprising the steps of:
providing a container (see annotated Figure 1 above) for at least one electronic device (4 or 6, column 2, lines 28-31, “The external enclosure contains two transmitter/receiver units 4, two power amplifiers 6, two duplexers 8 and a processor board 10”), the container having:
an exterior enclosure (28, column 2, lines 49-54, “The external enclosure 2 is contained by a ventilated case 28 having vents 30 in its bottom 32, louvers 34 in its side walls 36, and apertures covered by grills 38 near the top of its side walls 36. The walls 16 and 24 have extended surfaces 40 that project into air passages 42 between the external enclosure 2 and the case 28”);
an interior enclosure (2, column 2, lines 49-54, “The external enclosure 2 is contained by a ventilated case 28 having vents 30 in its bottom 32, louvers 34 in its side walls 36, and apertures covered by grills 38 near the top of its side walls 36. The walls 16 and 24 have extended surfaces 40 that project into air passages 42 between the external enclosure 2 and the case 28”), said interior enclosure (2) being within said exterior enclosure (28) and containing dielectric fluid (air, Gates implies that there is air within the internal enclosure and air is a known dielectric) therein, the at least one electronic device (4 or 6) being within the interior enclosure (2) and submerged within the dielectric fluid (air); and
a heat exchanger (46, column 2 line 62 to column 3, line 1, “The evaporator of each heat pipe 46 is pressed into a groove 48 in the wall 16 or 24 so as to extend to the hot spot in the region of a component such as the power transistors 44 that generates relatively large amounts of heat. Each heat pipe extends from its groove 48 through an aperture 50 in the part 52a or 52b of the top wall 52 belonging to the part 2a or 2b of the external enclosure in which it is mounted”), said heat exchanger (46) being a passive heat exchanger with a first end (see annotated Figure 1 above) submerged within the dielectric fluid (air) within said interior enclosure (2) and a second end (see annotated Figure 1 above) outside of said interior enclosure (2) and inside of said exterior enclosure (28); and
operating the at least one electronic device (4 or 6);
dissipating heat from the at least one electronic device (4 or 6) into the dielectric fluid (air); and
removing the heat from the interior enclosure (2) to outside of the interior enclosure (2, column 2, lines 49-65, “The external enclosure 2 is contained by a ventilated case 28 having vents 30 in its bottom 32, louvers 34 in its side walls 36, and apertures covered by grills 38 near the top of its side walls 36. The walls 16 and 24 have extended surfaces 40 that project into air passages 42 between the external enclosure 2 and the case 28. Components in the external enclosure are thus cooled by thermal conduction to and through the walls 16 and 24 of the external enclosure 2 and by natural convection over the extended surfaces 40. Some components e.g. power transistors 44 generate such large amounts of heat that the cooling already described may be insufficient. Such local hot spots are cooled by heat pipes 46. The evaporator of each heat pipe 46 is pressed into a groove 48 in the wall 16 or 24 so as to extend to the hot spot in the region of a component such as the power transistors 44 that generates relatively large amounts of heat. Each heat pipe extends from its groove 48 through an aperture 50 in the part 52a or 52b of the top wall 52 belonging to the part 2a or 2b of the external enclosure in which it is mounted”) with the heat exchanger (46).
With respect to Claim 17, Gates further teaches (in Figure 1 and as shown in annotated Figure 1 above)
wherein the step of providing a container (see annotated Figure 1 above) further comprises the step of providing a heat exchanger (46) that is a heat pipe (46, column 2 line 62 to column 3, line 1).
With respect to Claim 18, Gates further teaches (in Figure 1 and as shown in annotated Figure 1 above)
wherein the step of providing a container (see annotated Figure 1 above) further comprises the step of vertically orienting the heat pipe (46) within the container (see annotated Figure 1 above).
With respect to Claim 19, Gates further teaches (in Figure 1 and as shown in annotated Figure 1 above)
the steps of: providing an air mover (58, column 3, lines 17-20); and exchanging air from inside of the exterior enclosure (28) with air from outside of the exterior enclosure (28). (See annotated Figure 1 above, the fan (58) would create air flow through the vents and openings 30 & 38)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gates in view of Cosley et al. (US 7,505,269 - hereinafter, "Cosley").
With respect to Claim 7, Gates teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest the limitations of Claim 7.
Cosley, however, teaches (in column 4, lines 58-61, in Figure 3 and as shown in annotated Figure 3 below)
wherein:
an exterior enclosure (16) has an inside;
a shell of insulation (66) is on an inside of said exterior enclosure (16); and
an air gap containing air (see annotated Figure 3 below) is between said shell of insulation (66) and an interior enclosure (18).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Cosley with Gates, such that an exterior enclosure has an inside; a shell of insulation is on an inside of said exterior enclosure; and an air gap containing air is between said shell of insulation and an interior enclosure as taught by Cosley, since doing so would reduce solar gain into the exterior enclosure. (in column 4, lines 52-54)
With respect to Claim 8, Gates as modified by Cosley teaches the limitations of claim 7 as per above and Gates further teaches (in Figure 1 and as shown in annotated Figure 1 above)
Wherein said air (see annotated Figure 3 below as taught by Cosley in Claim 7 as per above) contained within said air gap (see annotated Figure 3 below as taught by Cosley in Claim 7 as per above) can be exchanged with outside air (see annotated Figure 3 below as taught by Cosley in Claim 7 as per above).
Figure II
With respect to claim 14, Gates teaches the limitations of Claim 11 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest the limitations of Claim 14.
Cosley, however, teaches (in column 4, lines 58-61, in Figure 3 and as shown in annotated Figure 3 above)
wherein:
an exterior enclosure (16) has an inside;
a shell of insulation (66) is on an inside of said exterior enclosure (16);
an air gap (see annotated Figure 3 above) containing air (see annotated Figure 3 above) is between said shell of insulation (66) and an interior enclosure (18), wherein said air (see annotated Figure 3 above) contained within said air gap (see annotated Figure 3 above) can be exchanged with outside air (see annotated Figure 3 above).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Cosley with Gates, such that an exterior enclosure has an inside; a shell of insulation is on an inside of said exterior enclosure; an air gap containing air is between said shell of insulation and an interior enclosure, wherein said air contained within said air gap can be exchanged with outside air as taught by Cosley, since doing so would reduce the solar gain into the exterior enclosure. (in column 4, lines 52-54)
Claims 10, 15, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gates in view of Fischer et al. (US 7,535,716 - hereinafter, "Fischer").
With respect to Claim 10, Gates teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest the limitations of Claim 10.
Fischer, however, teaches (in column 3, lines 58-65, in figure 4C and as shown in annotated Figure 4C below)
an out-gas vent (158) on an enclosure (100).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Fischer with that of Gates, such that the internal enclosure of Gates includes an out-gas vent, as taught by Fischer, since doing so would guard against excessive external-to-internal pressure difference within the interior enclosure (in column 3, lines 58-65).
Figure IV
With respect to Claim 15, Gates teaches the limitations of Claim 11 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest the limitations of Claim 15.
Fischer, however, teaches (in column 3, lines 58-65, in figure 4C and as shown in annotated Figure 4C above)
an out-gas vent (158) on an enclosure (100).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Fischer with that of Gates, such that the internal enclosure of Gates includes an out-gas vent, as taught by Fischer, since doing so would guard against excessive external-to-internal pressure difference within the interior enclosure (in column 3, lines 58-65).
With respect to Claim 20, Gates teaches the limitations of Claim 16 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest the limitations of Claim 20.
Fischer, however, teaches (in column 3, lines 58-65, in figure 4C and as shown in annotated Figure 4C above)
wherein the step of providing a container (see Gates’ annotated Figure 1 above) further comprises the step of providing an outgas vent (158) on an enclosure (100).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Fischer with that of Gates, such that the internal enclosure of Gates includes an out-gas vent, as taught by Fischer, since doing so would guard against excessive external-to-internal pressure difference within the interior enclosure (in column 3, lines 58-65).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gates in view of Tikka (US 2001/0052412 - hereinafter, "Tikka").
With respect to Claim 9, Gates teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest the limitations of Claim 9.
Tikka, however, teaches (in paragraph [0019], first sentence) a container which is operational between -80 degrees Fahrenheit and 130 degrees Fahrenheit (in paragraph [0019], first sentence, “The same equipment cabinet is designed to operate both at the normal operating temperature range of -33.degree. C. to +40.degree. C. and the high outdoor temperature range of +40.degree. C. to +50.degree. C.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Tikka with that of Gates, such that the container of Gates has an operational temperature between -80 degrees Fahrenheit and 130 degrees Fahrenheit, as taught by Tikka, since doing so would allow for a container which can be used at a variety of operational temperatures.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 10,321,609 to Hirai et al., which teaches a cooling system includes an immersion tank that includes a liquid coolant sealed therein, a housing that includes through-holes formed in a top portion and a bottom portion thereof, respectively, and disposed within the immersion tank, an electronic device disposed in the housing in a state of being immersed in the coolant and a heat transfer member that transports heat of the coolant in the coolant flow path to an outside of the immersion tank.
US 2020/0281099 to KLABA et al., which teaches a heat extraction system for an enclosure comprises heat pipes having an evaporating reference temperature and a condensing reference temperature lower than the evaporating reference temperature, an evaporator portion and a condenser portion. The heat extraction system includes a support frame adapted for connection to the enclosure.
US 5842514 to Zapach et al., which teaches heat is conducted from electronic components on the board into the holding elements and from there into heat pipes connected to the holding elements. A housing around the heat pipes has apertures for flow of cooling air around the heat pipes. Part of the housing around the receiving station is thermally insulated thereby ensuring that substantially all of the heat is removed through the heat pipes.
US 2021/0378142 to ZHANG et al., which teaches a server with a cooling system which can maintain a constant and preferred operating temperature for the server includes a computer and a heat dissipation device for dissipating heat generated by the computer. The heat dissipation device includes a liquid tank and a heat exchange device. The liquid tank defines an accommodating cavity for accommodating non-conductive cooling liquid and the computer.
US 2015/0354902 to McDonald, which teaches a thermal transfer system for a pressure vessel adapted for use in an underwater environment includes a housing having a bore adapted to receive a heat pipe. Embodiments of the housing include a mounting flange for mounting the housing to the pressure vessel, a radially extending profile to enhance thermal transfer between the housing and the underwater environment, and an aperture in fluidic communication with the bore.
US 2005/0150251 to Navedo et al., which teaches a personal air conditioning system that may be used, for example, to cool a tent. The personal air conditioning system includes a cooling lid that fits over a typical insulated cooler. The cooling lid includes a heat transfer tower that is configured to transfer heat from a cold medium, such as ice, that is located within the cooler to an area within the cooling lid. A heat sink is provided at the top of the heat transfer tower and at least partially within the cooling lid. A fan is configured to draw air into the cooling lid, across the heat sink, and out of the cooling lid.
US 6,003,319 to Gilley et al., which teaches a thermoelectric refrigerator with a heat transfer system having a thermoelectric device and a heat exchanger with an evaporating surface and a condensing surface. A working fluid is sealed within the heat exchanger. The thermoelectric device includes a thermally conductive hot plate and a thermally conductive cold plate with thermoelectric elements disposed therebetween. The thermoelectric elements are preferably electrically coupled in series and thermally coupled in parallel.
US 5,572,872 to Hlavacek, which teaches a device used for cooling, or keeping cool, an individual liquid container. Although a cooler for milk or coffee creamer will be described in detail, the device can be used for refrigerating any liquid, and the interior of the device may serve as the container. The device is composed of a container, which is normally closed but has an opening feature for loading the device or dispensing a liquid, and a cooling unit. An outer container surface is thermally insulated from an inner container surface and a cooling component portion of a cooling unit is in thermal contact with the inner container surface.
US 4,704,658 to Yokouchi et al., which teaches an evaporation cooling module for cooling plural semiconductor chips bonded on circuit boards immersed in a coolant within the module employs immersed heat exchangers associated with bubble traps which trap gaseous bubbles of evaporated coolant and maintain same in contact with the heat exchanger for improved reliquification efficiency.
US 4,600,050 to Noren, which teaches a heat exchanger assembly for cooling the interior of a closed cabinet containing electronic components or the like includes a finned heat pipe core. The core has a plurality of spaced heat pipes positioned in at least two rows and a plurality of spaced fins which are provided with colinear apertures through which each of the plurality of heat pipes can extend. The heat pipes are secured to the fins. A member is provided for securing the finned heat pipe core to an associated cabinet. A pair of fans are provided, one being operatively connected with each end of the finned heat pipe core.
US 4,375,157 to Boesen, which teaches a thermoelectric cooling system within a long vacuum insulated dewar flask which encompasses the electronic components and the cooling system. The electronic components are directly mounted on the cold plate of the cooling system and will be cooled down to a temperature well below the downhole ambient temperature.
/S.N./Examiner , Art Unit 2841
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841