DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 9-11, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji (US 2014/0094035 A1) in view of Henri (US 2022/0199417 A1).
Claims 1-2, 9-10, 12:
Ji teaches a method for using amorphous carbon to provide gap fill for gap features during semiconductor processing [0003]. The process steps are illustrated in Fig. 1 and include a deposition step of depositing an amorphous carbon layer in a gap 103, followed by conducting etching to remove deposited carbon at gap entry 105, and repeating the deposition and etching 107 until the gap is filled 111. The entire process takes place in a PECVD apparatus where the deposition step is PECVD [0039] and the etching step is plasma etching [0046]. Both processes use a combination of high and low radio frequency to generate the plasma (Table 1).
Ji does not teach carbon dioxide as the sole etching gas, but rather teaches H2 and Ar [0041].
However, Henri teaches a similar method of depositing and etching amorphous carbon (abstract) wherein the etching gas is carbon dioxide or H2, possibly including diluents including Ar [0026]. The deposition and etching can occur simultaneously [0146] or sequentially [0155].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the H2 and Ar etching gas of Ji with the sole etching gas of carbon dioxide. Henri establishes carbon dioxide is a suitable etching gas for the purpose of etching amorphous carbon.
Ji and Henri do not explicitly teach, during the etching step, simultaneously forming a pattern wall protective layer including a non-volatile carbon compound layer. According to Applicant’s spec., the formation of non-volatile carbon compound layer is the result of using carbon dioxide to etch amorphous carbon [62]. In this respect, the formation of a pattern wall protective layer including a non-volatile carbon compound layer is considered inherent. It is noted that Henri teaches the same chemistry [0098-0102] and same process parameters (Table II).
Claim 5, 11:
Ji teaches the substrate temp, RF power, and pressure (Table 1). Henri teaches power [0098] and carbon dioxide flow rate [0103] including that it is highly tunable to achieve the desired etch rate (Id.). See also Henri Table II.
Claims 16-17:
Henri teaches critical dimension control for keeping the critical dimension low and avoids unwanted increases in the width of the feature [0007]
Claim(s) 7, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji (US 2014/0094035 A1) in view of Henri (US 2022/0199417 A1) in view of Lee (US 2025/0243585 A1; PCT/US2023/015209, PCT Filing Date 3/14/23).
Previously cited prior art is discussed above but does not teach an exposing step. However, Lee teaches the process of simultaneously etching and depositing a deposition layer (abstract). The material being etched includes amorphous carbon and the etch gas includes an oxygen component such as carbon dioxide [0020]. Lee further teaches a post etch step [0022;0031].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further include a post etch step for exposing a portion of the pattern wall because Lee establishes it is suitable to do so when performing gap fill for semiconductor processing.
Claim(s) 8, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji (US 2014/0094035 A1) in view of Henri (US 2022/0199417 A1) in view of Lee (US 2025/0243585 A1; PCT/US2023/015209, PCT Filing Date 3/14/23) in view of Davis (US 2004/0200574 A1).
Previously cited prior art does not teach a CMP process. However, Davis teaches post-etch processes include CMP [0028]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a CMP process after etching as a post-etch step.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/17/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The examiner disagrees that the prior art does not render obvious the use of carbon dioxide etching gas as the sole etching gas. For example, Henri specifies the sole use of carbon dioxide etching gas at [0098]. The examiner maintains the position that the formation of a pattern wall protective layer during this etching is inherent, because it is based on the presence of the amorphous carbon layer and the use of carbon dioxide etching gas.
Applicant asserts unexpected results with respect to the critical dimension of the pattern walls, and also void formation. To succeed at establishing unexpected results, the provided results must be 1) truly unexpected, 2) commensurate in scope with the claims, and 3) compared to the closest prior art. MPEP 716.02. In this case the results are not found to be unexpected due to Ji’s goal of avoiding void formation and Henri’s goal of maintaining control over the critical dimension.
Conclusion
/ALEX A ROLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759