DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant's Communication received on February 25, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed February 25, 2026, with respect to new claims 11-14 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
Accordingly, claims 11-14 are indicated as allowable subject matter.
Applicant's arguments filed February 25, 2026, with respect to claims 1-10 rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive as explained below.
Applicant respectfully assert that {In other words, Sekizuka does not disclose, teach or suggest the feature recited in claim 1 that allows selection from among a plurality of low-speed damping specifications. The Applicant asserts that Sekizuka neither teaches nor suggests a configuration in which any desired low-speed damping specification can be selected. Rather, Sekizuka discloses only a single damping specification for low vehicle speed which is automatically selected by a controller in an ECU, even when the vehicle speed is at or below a predetermined threshold}.
The Examiner respectfully submits SEKIZUKA discloses a control part 25a for electrically controlling the damping force characteristics of the damping mechanisms. The control part 25a is constituted to start a switching operation from the damping force characteristic for low speed to the damping force characteristic for high speed when vehicle speed becomes speed V1 and complete the switching operation from the damping force characteristic for low speed to the damping force characteristic for high speed when vehicle speed reaches speed V2.
More specifically, claims 1 and 10 requires “…wherein the controller is configured to apply any damping specification for low vehicle speed, during low-speed traveling at a speed equal to or lower than a predetermined speed, and the controller is configured to automatically apply the damping specification for high vehicle speed, during high-speed traveling at a speed exceeding the predetermined speed…” which reads on SEKIZUKA disclosure cited above.
The “inventive features” that Applicant are trying to claim are distinguishable in the language of new claims 11-14 (in combination with the language of claims 1 or 10) which the Examiner already indicated as allowable subject matter.
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-14 are pending in this application.
Claims 11-14 are objected as allowable subject matter.
Claims 1-10 are rejected.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (SEKIZUKA – JP 2010167907 A).
Regarding claim 1, SEKIZUKA discloses:
An electronically controlled suspension comprising:
a suspension (suspension devices right side front fork 13 and a rear suspension 38: Fig. 1) configured to damp vibration of a wheel (At least one of front wheel 6 and a rear wheel 37: Fig. 1) of a saddle-riding vehicle (motorcycle 1: Fig. 1);
an actuator (compression side electronic control valve 48 and the extension side electronic control valve 49: Fig. 1) configured to change a damping force of the suspension (suspension devices right side front fork 13 and a rear suspension 38: Fig. 1);
an operation device (control part 25a for electrically controlling the damping force characteristics of the damping mechanisms: Fig. 3) configured to receive a selection of a damping specification among a plurality of damping specifications for low vehicle speed; and
a controller (control unit 25: Fig. 3) configured to operate the actuator (compression side electronic control valve 48 and the extension side electronic control valve 49: Fig. 1) with the damping specification for low vehicle speed or a damping specification for high vehicle speed,
wherein the controller (control unit 25: Fig. 3) is configured to apply any damping specification for low vehicle speed, during low-speed traveling at a speed equal to or lower than a predetermined speed, and
the controller (control unit 25: Fig. 3) is configured to automatically apply the damping specification for high vehicle speed, during high-speed traveling at a speed exceeding the predetermined speed ([Abstract]: “Motorcycle 1 includes: suspension devices (a right side front fork 13 and a rear suspension 38) including damping mechanisms (a compression side electronic control valve 23, an elongation side electronic control valve 24, a compression side electronic control valve 48 and an elongation side electronic control valve 49) capable of switching a damping force characteristic to a damping force characteristic for low speed and a damping force characteristic for high speed by damping force on at least one side of an elongation direction and a compression direction when wheels (a front wheel 6 and a rear wheel 37) and a vehicle body are relatively moved; and a control part 25a for electrically controlling the damping force characteristics of the damping mechanisms. The control part 25a is constituted to start a switching operation from the damping force characteristic for low speed to the damping force characteristic for high speed when vehicle speed becomes speed V1 and complete the switching operation from the damping force characteristic for low speed to the damping force characteristic for high speed when vehicle speed reaches speed V2”).
Regarding claim 10, SEKIZUKA discloses:
An electronically controlled suspension comprising:
a suspension (suspension devices right side front fork 13 and a rear suspension 38: Fig. 1) configured to damp vibration of a wheel (At least one of front wheel 6 and a rear wheel 37: Fig. 1) of a saddle-riding vehicle (motorcycle 1: Fig. 1);
an actuator (compression side electronic control valve 48 and the extension side electronic control valve 49: Fig. 1) configured to change a damping force of the suspension (suspension devices right side front fork 13 and a rear suspension 38: Fig. 1);
an operation device (control part 25a for electrically controlling the damping force characteristics of the damping mechanisms: Fig. 3) configured to receive a selection of a damping specification among a plurality of damping specifications; and
a controller (control unit 25: Fig. 3) configured to operate the actuator (compression side electronic control valve 48 and the extension side electronic control valve 49: Fig. 1) with the selected damping specification,
wherein the number of damping specifications that are allowed to be selected during high-speed traveling at a speed exceeding a predetermined speed is smaller than the number of damping specifications that are allowed to be selected during low-speed traveling at a speed equal to or lower than the predetermined speed ([Abstract]: “Motorcycle 1 includes: suspension devices (a right side front fork 13 and a rear suspension 38) including damping mechanisms (a compression side electronic control valve 23, an elongation side electronic control valve 24, a compression side electronic control valve 48 and an elongation side electronic control valve 49) capable of switching a damping force characteristic to a damping force characteristic for low speed and a damping force characteristic for high speed by damping force on at least one side of an elongation direction and a compression direction when wheels (a front wheel 6 and a rear wheel 37) and a vehicle body are relatively moved; and a control part 25a for electrically controlling the damping force characteristics of the damping mechanisms. The control part 25a is constituted to start a switching operation from the damping force characteristic for low speed to the damping force characteristic for high speed when vehicle speed becomes speed V1 and complete the switching operation from the damping force characteristic for low speed to the damping force characteristic for high speed when vehicle speed reaches speed V2”).
Regarding claim 2, SEKIZUKA disclose the electronically controlled suspension according to claim 1, and further on SEKIZUKA also discloses:
wherein the operation device (control part 25a for electrically controlling the damping force characteristics of the damping mechanisms: Fig. 3) is configured to receive an adjustment of the damping force based on the damping specification for low vehicle speed and the damping specification for high vehicle speed ([Abstract, 0013-0025, 0042-0068, 0077-0086]).
Regarding claim 3, SEKIZUKA disclose the electronically controlled suspension according to claim 2, and further on SEKIZUKA also discloses:
wherein an adjustment width of the damping force that is allowed to be adjusted under the damping specification for high vehicle speed is narrower than an adjustment width of the damping force that is allowed to be adjusted under the plurality of damping specifications for low vehicle speed ([Abstract, 0013-0025, 0042-0068, 0077-0086]).
Regarding claim 4, SEKIZUKA disclose the electronically controlled suspension according to claim 1, and further on SEKIZUKA also discloses:
wherein the operation device (control part 25a for electrically controlling the damping force characteristics of the damping mechanisms: Fig. 3) is configured to receive an adjustment of the damping force based on the damping specification for low vehicle speed, during low-speed traveling, and the damping specification for high vehicle speed is fixed to a default damping force, during high-speed traveling ([Abstract, 0013-0025, 0042-0068, 0077-0086]).
Regarding claim 5, SEKIZUKA disclose the electronically controlled suspension according to claim 1, and further on SEKIZUKA also discloses:
wherein the operation device (control part 25a for electrically controlling the damping force characteristics of the damping mechanisms: Fig. 3) is configured to receive a selection of the damping specification for low vehicle speed, during low-speed traveling ([Abstract, 0013-0025, 0042-0068, 0077-0086]).
Regarding claim 6, SEKIZUKA disclose the electronically controlled suspension according to claim 1, and further on SEKIZUKA also discloses:
wherein in a case where a vehicle speed is accelerated to exceed the predetermined speed, the controller switches from the damping specification for low vehicle speed to the damping specification for high vehicle speed, and in a case where the vehicle speed is decelerated to or below the predetermined speed, the controller switches the damping specification from the damping specification for high vehicle speed to the damping specification for low vehicle speed ([Abstract, 0013-0025, 0042-0068, 0077-0086]).
Regarding claim 7, SEKIZUKA disclose the electronically controlled suspension according to claim 1, and further on SEKIZUKA also discloses:
wherein in a case where the vehicle speed is accelerated to exceed a first speed, the controller (control unit 25: Fig. 3) shifts the damping specification from the damping specification for low vehicle speed to the damping specification for high vehicle speed, and in a case where the vehicle speed is decelerated to or below a second speed that is higher than the first speed, the controller shifts the damping specification from the damping specification for high vehicle speed to the damping specification for low vehicle speed ([Abstract, 0013-0025, 0042-0068, 0077-0086]).
Regarding claim 8, SEKIZUKA disclose the electronically controlled suspension according to claim 7, and further on SEKIZUKA also discloses:
wherein the controller (control unit 25: Fig. 3) is configured to shift the damping specification from the damping specification for low vehicle speed to the damping specification for high vehicle speed, until the vehicle speed is accelerated from the first speed to the second speed, and the controller is configured to shift the damping specification from the damping specification for high vehicle speed to the damping specification for low vehicle speed, until the vehicle speed is decelerated from the second speed to the first speed ([Abstract, 0013-0025, 0042-0068, 0077-0086]).
Regarding claim 9, SEKIZUKA disclose the electronically controlled suspension according to claim 7, and further on SEKIZUKA also discloses:
wherein the first speed is different for each damping specification for low vehicle speed ([Abstract, 0013-0025, 0042-0068, 0077-0086]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RUBEN PICON-FELICIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/GRANT MOUBRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747