DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
Applicant submitted a preliminary amendment, presently claims 21-40 are pending.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 16/808339, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Application No. 16/808339 does not provide support for “a magnetic connector” as such the majority of the claims have priority back to 07/01/2022. However, 18/195152 fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for claims 27, 35, and 40.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: claims 27, 35, and 40 do not have antecedent basis within the originally filed specification.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,145,053 in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0078760 to Oh.
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,115,443 in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0078760 to Oh.
With regard to both ‘053 and ‘443 each of these patents claims limitations that are far more specific than the present application. However, ‘053 does not claim electrical connection, but such is taught by Oh (0055). Furthermore ‘443 does have an electrical connection claim in claim 3 which depends from 1 and further is also taught by Oh (0055). It would have been obvious to make such combinations in order to have a data transfer so that the gaming device and the mobile device would be able to talk to each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-28, 31-35, 39 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0182011 to Vroom in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0078670 to Oh.
With regard to claim 21, Vroom discloses a handheld game controller comprising: a first handle; a second handle (fig 1, elements 105, 110); a magnetic connector positioned between the first and second handles, wherein the magnetic connector is configured to magnetically retain a mobile device to the handheld game controller (0072-0073).
Vroom does not appear to be explicitly clear about an electronic connector in the handles. However, Oh teaches an electrical connector on one of the first and second handles, wherein the electrical connector is configured to physically connect with a corresponding electrical connector on the mobile device to provide transfer of data between the mobile device and the handheld game controller (0075).
With regard to claim 22¸Vroom discloses that the first and second handles are movable between an extended position and a retracted position (figs. 1, 2).
With regard to claim 23¸the combination of Vroom and Oh discloses in the extended position, a span between the first and second handles allows the mobile device to be positioned between the first and second handles to be magnetically retained by the magnetic connector and physically connected with the electrical connector on one of the first and second handles (Vroom at fig. 8; 0072-0073; Oh at 0055).
With regard to claim 24, Vroom discloses in the retracted position, the first and second handles contact side surfaces of the mobile device to physically retain the mobile device to the handheld game controller, wherein the mobile device is both magnetically retained by the magnetic connector and physically retained by the first and second handles (fig. 8; 0072-0073).
With regard to claim 25, Vroom discloses an overhang portion configured to contact a top surface of the mobile device when the first and second handles are in the retracted position (fig. 3 elems 145, 150; fig. 11E elems 975, 985).
With regard to claim 26, the combination of Vroom and Oh teaches wherein the electrical connector comprises a USB-C connector (Vroom at 0084; Oh at 0075).
With regard to claim 27, Vroom discloses wherein the magnetic connector is configured to provide wireless charging but not wireless transfer of data between the mobile device and the handheld game controller (0072-0073).
With regard to claim 28, Vroom discloses a bridge in sliding engagement with the first and second handles, wherein the magnetic connector is in the bridge (0072-0073).
Claims 31-36, 39, and 40 are similar claims to claims 21-28 and are rejected in like manner.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to combine the teachings of Oh with the disclosure of Vroom in order to provide a physical data connection that is more secure between the gaming device and the mobile device.
Claims 29, 30, 37, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vroom in view of Oh as applied to claims 21, 28, 31 and 36 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0358534 to Fang.
With regard to claims 29 and 37, Vroom does not appear to explicitly disclose a first rack and a second rack working together with a pinion. However, Fang teaches a first linear rack coupled to the first handle and in sliding engagement with the bridge; a second linear rack coupled to the second handle and in sliding engagement with the bridge; and a pinion in contact with the first and second linear racks, the pinion configured to rotate relative to the bridge as the first and second linear racks are translated relative to the pinion (figs. 4A-4B; 0042).
With regard to claims 30 and 38, Fang teaches the first linear rack is located partly in the first handle and partly in the bridge; and the second linear rack is located partly in the second handle and partly in the bridge (figs. 4A-4B; 0042).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to combine the teachings of Fang with the disclosure of Vroom as a known substitution of sliding mechanisms such as replacing a telescoping slide with a rack and pinion slide.
Conclusion
/Jay Trent Liddle/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715