Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Atsumi et al. (2021/0209800), hereinafter referred to as “Atsumi”.
Regarding claim 1, Atsumi discloses a work machine (Atsumi: figure 2), a plurality of spatial recognition devices provided in the work machine and configured to acquire a surrounding situation of the work machine (Atsumi: figures 10 and 14; paragraph 0095, wherein the spatial recognition devices are the stereo cameras), a control device configured to calibrate the plurality of spatial recognition devices, based on an object located around the work machine (Atsumi: figures 17, 18, 20 and 22; paragraph 0189-0191), wherein the control device is configured to teach each spatial recognition device of the plurality of spatial recognition devices whether or not the object is located at a calibratable position (Atsumi: paragraph 0191, wherein the machine is traveled to make sure the target appears in all the captured images which then indicates the object and system have been calibrated).
Regarding claim 2, Atsumi discloses wherein the control device is configured to determine whether or not the object is located at the calibratable position and output a determination result for each spatial recognition device of the plurality of spatial recognition devices (Atsumi: paragraphs 0189-0191; figure 18, item 616).
Regarding claim 3, Atsumi discloses wherein the control device is configured to output information indicating a moving direction of the object when the control device determines that the object is not located at the calibratable position (Atsumi: paragraph 0191. The system recognizes the object has not moved and instead decides to move the excavator to calibrate the image for the camera).
Regarding claim 5, Atsumi discloses a communication device communicable with an external device (Atsumi: figures 17-20), wherein the control device is configured to teach the external device via the communication device whether or not the object is located at the calibration position (Atsumi: figures 17-20).
Regarding claim 6, Atsumi discloses wherein the external device is configured to display image information indicating a detection result of the surrounding situation for each spatial recognition device as a teaching of whether or not the object is located at the calibrated position (Atsumi: figures 21-22, wherein the target offset indicates if the object is at the calibrated position).
Regarding claim 10, note the examiners rejection for claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 7-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US20250326610 10/2025 Ohira
US20210025133 01/2021 Myers
US20180339386 11/2018 Lee
US20170284071 10/2017 Yamaguchi
/Dave Czekaj/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2487