Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) [ 1,3-6,8,9,11,10,12 and 13 ] is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a (1) as being anticipated by Shaheen (US 20180324768 A1)] hereon after Shaheen.
Regarding claim 1, Shaheen teaches; An apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: [0381] FIG. 20 illustrates various components that may be utilized in a UE 2002. The UE 2002 described in connection with FIG. 20 may be implemented in accordance with the UE 102 described in connection with FIG. 1. The UE 2002 includes a processor 2003 that controls operation of the UE 2002, receive in a radio resource control information configuration information that at least indicates slots usable for carrying uplink grant information among slots allocatable at least for downlink information; [0288] Here, the gNB 160 may configure one or more occasions (i.e., a first occasion(s)) of DL control channel(s) (e.g., PDCCH(s)) monitoring with respect to the one or more numerologies 301 of the DL control channel(s) (e.g., the first numerologies 301). Here, the occasion(s) may correspond to a subframe, a slot 583, a sub-slot 507, and/or a symbol … Here, the gNB 160 may configure, (e.g., by using the RRC signal, the MIB, and/or the SIB), one or more DCI format(s) (i.e., a first DCI format(s)) which the UE 102 may monitor in the occasion(s) of the DL control channel(s) with respect to the one or more numerologies 301 of the DL control channel(s), apply the configuration information to determine, per a slot in a downlink control channel, whether the slot is of a first type that is not for carrying any uplink grant information or of a second type that is for carrying at least uplink grant information; [0289] the gNB 160 may configure the first DCI format(s) and/or the first RNTI(s) for the occasion(s). The UE 102 may monitor in a certain occasion, the DL control channel(s) based on the numerology 301, the first DCI format(s), and/or the first RNTI(s). Namely, the UE 102 may monitor in the certain occasion, the DL control channel(s) by assuming the configured numerology 301. Also, the UE 102 may monitor in the certain occasion, the DL control channel(s) by assuming that the first DCI format(s) is transmitted, and determine a search space for blind decoding for uplink grant information to be a space comprising slots of the second type and not slots of the first type., [0284] The UE may monitor a set of candidates of the DL control channel(s) (e.g., in the occasions(s))… The term “monitor” means that the UE attempts to decode each DL control channel(s) in the set of candidates of the DL control channel(s) in accordance with all the DCI format(s) (e.g., the UL grant) to be monitored. The set of candidates of the DL control channel(s) which the UE monitors may be also referred to as a search space (e.g., DL control channel set etc.). That is, the search space is a set of resource that may possibly be used for transmission of the DL control channel(s). (Paragraph 0291 also states “the set of the occasion(s), the DCI format(s), and/or the RNTI(s) may be configured only for the DL control channel(s) of the USS.”).
Regarding claim 3, Shaheen teaches wherein the at least one processor and the at least one memory storing instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to use at least one search space configuration included in the configuration information, a search space configuration specifying the search space either for slots of the first type or for slots of the second type [0289] the gNB 160 may configure, (e.g., by using the RRC signal, the MIB, and/or the SIB), a set of the occasion(s), the first DCI format(s), and/or the first RNTI(s) (e.g., a combination of the occasion(s), the first DCI format(s), and/or the first RNTI(s)). Namely, the gNB 160 may configure the first DCI format(s) and/or the first RNTI(s) for the occasion(s).
Regarding claim 4, Shaheen teaches wherein the slots allocatable at least for downlink information are slots comprising downlink control information in the downlink control channel, [0276] Here, the DCI (i.e., the DCI format) may be transmitted on a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH). More than one DCI format may be defined for DCI transmission on the PDCCH. Fields may be defined in the DCI format, and the fields may be mapped to the information bits (e.g., DCI bits), and wherein the first type is for downlink grants and the second type is at least for uplink grants [0276] a DCI format 1A that is used for scheduling of one physical shared channel (PSCH) (e.g., PDSCH, transmission of one downlink transport block) in a cell may be defined as the DCI format for the downlink. Also, for example, a DCI format (e.g., a DCI format 0, a DCI format 0A, and/or a DCI format 0C) that is used for scheduling of the PUSCH (e.g., the PUSCH transmission of one uplink transport block) in a cell may be defined as the DCI format for the uplink. Also, for example, a DCI format (e.g., DCI format 0B) that is used for scheduling of the PUSCH in each of multiple subframes may be defined as the DCI format for the uplink.
Regarding claim 5, Shaheen teaches wherein the at least one processor and the at least one memory storing instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to use at least one search space configuration included in the configuration information, a search space configuration specifying the search space either for slots of the first type or for slots of the second type [0289] the gNB 160 may configure, (e.g., by using the RRC signal, the MIB, and/or the SIB), a set of the occasion(s), the first DCI format(s), and/or the first RNTI(s) (e.g., a combination of the occasion(s), the first DCI format(s), and/or the first RNTI(s)). Namely, the gNB 160 may configure the first DCI format(s) and/or the first RNTI(s) for the occasion(s).
Regarding claim 6, Shaheen teaches An apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: [0381] FIG. 20 illustrates various components that may be utilized in a UE 2002. The UE 2002 described in connection with FIG. 20 may be implemented in accordance with the UE 102 described in connection with FIG. 1. The UE 2002 includes a processor 2003 that controls operation of the UE 2002, transmit in a radio resource control information configuration information that at least indicates slots usable for carrying uplink grant information among slots allocatable at least for downlink information; [0034] The base station apparatus includes a transmitting circuitry configured to transmit a radio resource control message including first information used for determining a monitoring occasion where a UE monitors a PDCCH in a search space. The transmitting circuitry is also configured to transmit a radio resource control message comprising second information used for determining DCI formats which accordingly the UE monitors the PDCCH in the search space. The search space is a UE-specific search space. The monitoring occasion includes a slot and/or a symbol. The DCI formats include a DCI format used for scheduling of a PUSCH and/or a DCI format used for scheduling of a PDSCH, apply the configuration information to determine, per a slot in a downlink control channel, whether the slot is of a first type that is not for carrying any uplink grant information or of a second type that is for carrying at least uplink grant information; [0289] the gNB 160 may configure, (e.g., by using the RRC signal, the MIB, and/or the SIB), a set of the occasion(s), the first DCI format(s), and/or the first RNTI(s) (e.g., a combination of the occasion(s), the first DCI format(s), and/or the first RNTI(s)). Namely, the gNB 160 may configure the first DCI format(s) and/or the first RNTI(s) for the occasion(s), transmit at least uplink grant information in the slots of the second type; [0086] In the uplink, an NR gNB 160 may dynamically allocate resources (e.g., Physical Resource Blocks (PRBs) and Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS)) to UEs 102 at each TTI via the Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI) on PDCCH(s), and transmit downlink information at least in the slots of the first type, [0289] the gNB 160 may configure, (e.g., by using the RRC signal, the MIB, and/or the SIB), a set of the occasion(s), the first DCI format(s), and/or the first RNTI(s) (e.g., a combination of the occasion(s), the first DCI format(s), and/or the first RNTI(s)). Namely, the gNB 160 may configure the first DCI format(s) and/or the first RNTI(s) for the occasion(s).
Regarding claim 8, Shaheen teaches wherein the at least one processor and the at least one memory storing instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to include to the configuration information, before transmitting the radio resource control information, [0289] the gNB 160 may configure, (e.g., by using the RRC signal, the MIB, and/or the SIB), a set of the occasion(s), the first DCI format(s), and/or the first RNTI(s) (e.g., a combination of the occasion(s), the first DCI format(s), and/or the first RNTI(s)). Namely, the gNB 160 may configure the first DCI format(s) and/or the first RNTI(s) for the occasion(s), at least one search space configuration, a search space configuration specifying the search space either for slots of the first type or for slots of the second type, [0295] Also, the gNB 160 may configure, (e.g., by using the RRC signal, the MIB, and/or the SIB) one or more occasions (e.g., a second occasion(s)) of monitoring of the DL control channel of the CSS, the second DCI format(s), and/or the second RNTI(s).
Regarding claim 9, Shaheen teaches wherein the slots allocatable at least for downlink information are slots comprising downlink control information in the downlink control channel, [0276] Here, the DCI (i.e., the DCI format) may be transmitted on a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH). More than one DCI format may be defined for DCI transmission on the PDCCH. Fields may be defined in the DCI format, and the fields may be mapped to the information bits (e.g., DCI bits), and wherein the first type is for downlink grants and the second type is at least for uplink grants [0276] a DCI format 1A that is used for scheduling of one physical shared channel (PSCH) (e.g., PDSCH, transmission of one downlink transport block) in a cell may be defined as the DCI format for the downlink. Also, for example, a DCI format (e.g., a DCI format 0, a DCI format 0A, and/or a DCI format 0C) that is used for scheduling of the PUSCH (e.g., the PUSCH transmission of one uplink transport block) in a cell may be defined as the DCI format for the uplink.
Regarding claim 10, Shaheen teaches wherein a slot of the second type is either a non-mixed slot for uplink grants or a mixed slot for both downlink grants and uplink grants. [0302] For a normal UL scheduling timeline 609b, DL control channels 611b are mapped the initial part of a slot 683c. The DL control channels 611b schedule UL shared channels 617a in a later slot 683d. For these cases, the association timing (time shift) between the DL slot 683c and the UL slot 683d may be fixed or configured by higher layer signaling.
Regarding claim 11, Shaheen teaches wherein the radio resource control information is for time division duplex communication. [0169] The DCI format 0 may also transmit a UL index. This field may be 2 bits. This field may be present only for Time Division Duplex (TDD) operation with uplink-downlink configuration 0, or TDD operation with uplink-downlink configuration 6 and special subframe configuration 10 when the higher layer parameter symPUSCH-UpPts is configured and the corresponding DCI is mapped onto the UE specific search space given by the C-RNTI.
Regarding claim 12, Shaheen teaches; receiving in a radio resource control information configuration information that at least indicates slots usable for carrying uplink grant information among slots allocatable at least for downlink information; [0288] Here, the gNB 160 may configure one or more occasions (i.e., a first occasion(s)) of DL control channel(s) (e.g., PDCCH(s)) monitoring … the occasion(s) may correspond to a subframe, a slot 583, a sub-slot 507, and/or a symbol … the gNB 160 may configure, (e.g., by using the RRC signal, the MIB, and/or the SIB), one or more DCI format(s) (i.e., a first DCI format(s)) which the UE 102 may monitor in the occasion(s) of the DL control channel(s) with respect to the one or more numerologies 301 of the DL control channel(s), applying the configuration information to determine, per a slot in a downlink control channel, whether the slot is of a first type that is not for carrying any uplink grant information or of a second type that is for carrying at least uplink grant information; [0289] The UE 102 may monitor in a certain occasion, the DL control channel(s) based on the numerology 301, the first DCI format(s), and/or the first RNTI(s). Namely, the UE 102 may monitor in the certain occasion, the DL control channel(s) by assuming the configured numerology 301. Also, the UE 102 may monitor in the certain occasion, the DL control channel(s) by assuming that the first DCI format(s) is transmitted, and determining a search space for blind decoding for uplink grant information to be a space comprising slots of the second type and not slots of the first type. [0284] The UE may monitor a set of candidates of the DL control channel(s) (e.g., in the occasions(s)). Here, the candidates of DL control channel (s) may be candidates for which the DL control channel(s) may possibly be mapped, assigned, and/or transmitted. For example, a candidate of the DL control channel(s) is composed of one or more control channel elements (CCEs). The term “monitor” means that the UE attempts to decode each DL control channel(s) in the set of candidates of the DL control channel(s) in accordance with all the DCI format(s) (e.g., the UL grant) to be monitored.
Regarding claim 13, Shaheen teaches transmitting in a radio resource control information configuration information that at least indicates slots usable for carrying uplink grant information among slots allocatable at least for downlink information; [0034] A base station apparatus is also described. The base station apparatus includes a transmitting circuitry configured to transmit a radio resource control message including first information used for determining a monitoring occasion where a UE monitors a PDCCH in a search space… and [0288] the gNB 160 may configure, (e.g., by using the RRC signal, the MIB, and/or the SIB), one or more DCI format(s) (i.e., a first DCI format(s)) which the UE 102 may monitor in the occasion(s) of the DL control channel(s) with respect to the one or more numerologies 301 of the DL control channel(s), applying the configuration information to determine, per a slot in a downlink control channel, whether the slot is of a first type that is not for carrying any uplink grant information or of a second type that is for carrying at least uplink grant information; [0289] the gNB 160 may configure, (e.g., by using the RRC signal, the MIB, and/or the SIB), a set of the occasion(s), the first DCI format(s), and/or the first RNTI(s) (e.g., a combination of the occasion(s), the first DCI format(s), and/or the first RNTI(s)). Namely, the gNB 160 may configure the first DCI format(s) and/or the first RNTI(s) for the occasion(s), transmitting at least uplink grant information in the slots of the second type; [0086] In the uplink, an NR gNB 160 may dynamically allocate resources (e.g., Physical Resource Blocks (PRBs) and Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS)) to UEs 102 at each TTI via the Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI) on PDCCH(s). Within each scheduling epoch, the scheduling entity may assign a UL/DL grant associated with a set of numerologies/TTI durations for each schedulable UE 102 and transmitting downlink information at least in the slots of the first type, [0301] FIG. 6 shows examples of scheduling timelines 609. For a normal DL scheduling timeline 609a, DL control channels are mapped the initial part of a slot 683a. The DL control channels 611 schedule DL shared channels 613a in the same slot 683a.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim [2 and 7] are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Shaheen in view of Gang (US 20190313383 A1).
In regard to claims 2, Shaheen teaches the limitations of the parent claims.
Shaheen does not teach wherein the at least one processor and the at least one memory storing instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to use at least one value for a scheduled offset comprised in the configuration information to determine a slot type.
However, Gang does teach wherein the at least one processor and the at least one memory storing instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to use at least one value for a scheduled offset comprised in the configuration information to determine a slot type. [0073] A monitoring duration 202 may be described by a contiguous set of monitored slots (e.g., 208 and 210). A monitoring periodicity 206 may be described as the periodicity of the start of the monitoring duration and defined in terms of a number of slots. A monitoring offset may be described by a certain number of slots. A monitoring duration may be comprised of consecutive number of slots within the monitoring periodicity.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Shaheen and Gang before him or her, to modify the method of Shaheen to include the offset configuration as taught by Gang.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved network coverage. (0029 by Gang).
In regard to claims 7, Shaheen teaches the limitations of the parent claims.
Shaheen does not teach wherein the at least one processor and the at least one memory storing instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus at least to use at least one value for a scheduled offset comprised in the configuration information to determine a slot type.
However, Gang does teach wherein the at least one processor and the at least one memory storing instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus at least to use at least one value for a scheduled offset comprised in the configuration information to determine a slot type [0078] At operation 306, base station 302 can communicate RRC signaling 308 which can include PDCCH configuration information 310. The PDCCH configuration information 310 can be the same as configuration information 190A and can include information identifying a PDCCH search space set, such as PDCCH monitoring periodicity, PDCCH monitoring offset, PDCCH monitoring duration associated with the search space set,
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Shaheen and Gang before him or her, to modify the method of Shaheen to include the offset configuration as taught by Gang.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved network coverage. (0029 by Gang).
Relevant Art
A close reference is US 9374819 B2, which speaks on a Downlink grant restricted from the second slot and the UL grant from the first slot and blind decoding is skipped where a grant cannot appear.
Conclusion
/SHEHAB A ALAWDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/JAY P PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466