DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s selection without traverse of invention I (claims 1-12 and 20) in the reply filed on 04/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention(s), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/13/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wei et al. (US-20250030038-A1).
With regards to claim 1, in ¶ 0053 and Fig. 2, Wei teaches a cell flattening apparatus which reads on a pressurizing apparatus configured to pressurize a flattened electrode assembly (battery core). Wei teaches that the pressurizing apparatus (flattening apparatus) includes a conveying mechanism that drives the electrode assembly (battery core) through different processing stations (¶ 0053). One such processing station is a flattening device which includes a first driving member (401) configured to drive a flattening seat (402) to press the tabs of the electrode assembly (battery core) (¶ 0056). Wei teaches flattening grooves in which the electrode assembly is placed to be pressed by the driving member (401) and flattening seat (402) (¶ 0056). These grooves read on a support member configured for placing the electrode assembly (battery core). The driving member (401) combined with the flattening seat (402) read on a pressuring assembly configured to pressurize the electrode assembly. As shown in Figs. 2 and 4 below, the pressuring assembly (401 and 402) and the support member (grooves, 403) are disposed on opposite sides from each other. As discussed above the pressurizing assembly and the support member being disposed on two sides of a tab of the electrode assembly is interpreted as the pressurizing assembly and the support member being disposed on opposite sides of a tab. Thus, the pressuring assembly and support member taught by Wei are disposed on two sides of a tab of the electrode assembly. Figs. 1 and 4 are shown below.
With regards to claim 2, as discussed earlier, Wei teaches that the pressuring assembly (401 and 402) comprises a first driving member (401) configured to drive a flattening seat (402) to press the tabs of the electrode assembly (battery core) (¶ 0056). The flattening seat (402) reads on a pressuring member configured to pressurize the electrode assembly while first driving member (401) reads on a pressurizing drive member. Wei teaches that the pressurizing member (flattening seat) is mounted on the first driving member (pressurizing drive member). This reads on a pressurizing drive member (401) connected to the pressurizing member (402) and configured to drive the pressurizing member (402) to pressurize the electrode assembly. See Fig. 4 below.
With regards to claim 3, Wei teaches that the pressurizing apparatus (flattening apparatus) comprises a base that supports the battery core (¶ 0019 and Fig. 2). This base reads on a support frame. In ¶ 0056, Wei teaches that the flattening device which comprises the pressurizing assembly is disposed on the support frame (base) (¶0056). This reads on the pressurizing apparatus comprising a support frame, and the pressurizing assembly being mounted on the support frame. See Fig. 2 above.
With regards to claim 4, Wei teaches that the pressuring apparatus (flattening apparatus) a first detection device comprising a first detection mechanism disposed on the support frame (base) as another processing station (¶ 0054). Wei teaches that the first detection mechanism includes a distance measuring sensor that can measure the distance from itself to the end surface of the electrode assembly (battery core). The distance measuring sensor taught by Wei reads on a detection assembly disposed on the support frame (base) and configured to detect a distance between the electrode assembly and the detection assembly.
With regards to claim 5, Wei teaches that the conveying mechanism drives the support frame (base) to pass through the first detection device which also serves to adjusts the position of the electrode assembly (battery core) such that it is centered on the support frame (base) at a preset position (¶ 0053 - ¶ 0054). Wei goes on to teach a fixing device that fixes the electrode assembly (battery core) in position on the base and continues this fixing effect until unloading (¶ 0053). Wei teaches that the fixing device ensure that the electrode assembly (battery core) remains in the preset position and does not move relative to the base during the manufacturing process (¶ 0055). Wei teaches that after the first detection device processing station, the electrode assembly goes to the flattening device station (¶ 0053). As discussed earlier, the flattening device includes a first driving member (401) and a flattening seat (402) on one side of a tab of the electrode assembly (battery core) that reads on the pressurizing assembly, and flattening grooves on the opposite side that read on the support member (¶ 0056 and Fig. 4). Since the fixing device fixes the electrode assembly (battery core) in position on the base throughout manufacturing, the fixing device will fix the electrode assembly between the support member (grooves) and the pressurizing assembly (401 and 402). This fixing device reads on a positioning assembly configured to position the electrode assembly between the support member and the pressurizing assembly.
Claim(s) 1 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US-20220388266-A1).
With regards to claim 1, Park teaches a pressing apparatus for pressing battery cells that reads on a pressurizing apparatus configured to pressurize a flattened electrode assembly (¶ 0046 and Fig. 4). Park teaches that the pressurizing apparatus (pressing apparatus) comprises a heat sink (300) on which the battery cells are mounted (¶ 0046 and Fig. 4). This heat sink reads on a support member configured for placing the electrode assembly. Park goes on to teach that the pressurizing apparatus (pressing apparatus) includes a pressing jig (110) and a transfer unit (120) that moves the pressing jig (¶ 0049). Park teaches that the pressing jig also includes pressing rods (112) held above the heat sink by a support plate (121) (¶ 0049 and Fig. 4). Park teaches that the support plate moves in an upper and lower direction by the transfer unit (¶ 0050). Park teaches that the transfer unit moves downward to press the battery cells (¶ 0057 and Fig. 4). The pressing jig and transfer unit together read on a pressurizing assembly configured to pressurize the electrode assembly, wherein the pressurizing assembly and the
support member are disposed on two sides of a tab of the electrode assembly. See Fig. 4 below.
With regards to claim 12, as shown and discussed above in Fig. 4, Park teaches that the transfer unit moves downward to press the battery cells (¶ 0057 and Fig. 4). This reads on a pressurization direction of the pressurizing assembly being a gravity direction of the electrode assembly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US-20250030038-A1) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Li et al. (US-20240226981-A1).
With regards to claim 6, as discussed above, the fixing device taught by Wei read on the positioning assembly. As shown in Fig. 3 below, Wei teaches that the fixing device includes a mounting seat and a fixing piece in contact with the electrode assembly (¶ 0055). Wei teaches that the fixing piece is mounted on an output end of a driving member that drives the fixing piece to move towards the base to fix the electrode assembly (battery core) to the base to prevent movement of the electrode assembly (battery core) during manufacturing (¶ 0055). As shown in Fig. 3, the fixing piece is floatingly mounted on the mounting seat. However, Wei does not specifically teach a clamping jaw.
In a similar field of endeavor, Li teaches a device for flattening a battery cell electrode tab that reads on a pressurizing apparatus configured to pressurize a flattened electrode assembly (¶ 0037 and Fig. 1). Li teaches that the pressurizing apparatus (flattening device) comprises a clamping mechanism that limits a movement of the battery cell during the flattening process (¶ 0037 and ¶ 0043). Li teaches that the clamping mechanism includes a clamping block that cooperates with a support block to clamp the battery cell (¶ 0043 and Fig. 1). The clamping block along with the support block read on a clamping jaw and the clamping mechanism reads a positioning assembly. See Fig. 1 below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to substitute the fixing piece taught by Wei with the clamping block and support block taught by Li as this would predictably effectively clamp the battery and limit movement of the battery cell with no unpredictable results. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.). Through this modification, modified Wei teaches that the positioning assembly comprises a mounting seat, and a clamping jaw floatingly mounted on the mounting seat, wherein the clamping jaw is configured to clamp the electrode assembly.
With regards to claim 7, Wei teaches that the positioning assembly (fixing device) includes a driving mechanism that drives the fixing piece to fix the battery core onto the base. This driving mechanism reads on a clamping jaw drive member. As shown in Fig. 3 above, the fixing device is connected to the driving mechanism. Through the modification discussed above, the fixing piece taught by Wei is substituted for the clamping jaw taught by Li. Thus, the modified positioning assembly (fixing device) comprises a clamping jaw drive member (driving mechanism) wherein the clamping jaw is connected to the clamping jaw drive member and the clamping jaw drive member is configured to drive the clamping jaw to clamp the electrode assembly.
With regards to claim 11, as discussed above, modified Wei teaches that the positioning assembly (fixing device) of the pressurizing apparatus (flattening apparatus) includes a clamping jaw (support block and camping block). In Fig. 2 below, Li shows that the clamping jaw forms a similar cross sectional V-shape as that of Fig. 6 of the claimed invention in the pressurization direction. Thus, modified Wei teaches a cross-sectional shape of the clamping jaw is V-shaped in a pressurization direction of the pressurizing assembly. See Fig. 2 below.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US-20220388266-A1) and further in view of Kim et al. (KR-20160141448-A, translation used for citation).
With regards to claim 20, Park teaches a pressing apparatus for pressing battery cells that reads on a pressurizing apparatus configured to pressurize a flattened electrode assembly (¶ 0046 and Fig. 4). Park teaches that the pressurizing apparatus (pressing apparatus) comprises a heat sink (300) on which the battery cells are mounted (¶ 0046 and Fig. 4). This heat sink reads on a support member configured for placing the electrode assembly. Park goes on to teach that the pressurizing apparatus (pressing apparatus) includes a pressing jig (110) and a transfer unit (120) that moves the pressing jig (¶ 0049). Park teaches that the pressing jig also includes pressing rods (112) held above the heat sink by a support plate (121) (¶ 0049 and Fig. 4). Park teaches that the support plate moves in an upper and lower direction by the transfer unit (¶ 0050). Park teaches that the transfer unit moves downward to press the battery cells (¶ 0057 and Fig. 4). The pressing jig and transfer unit together read on a pressurizing assembly configured to pressurize the electrode assembly, wherein the pressurizing assembly. and the and the support member are disposed on two sides of a tab of the electrode assembly.
See Fig. 4 below.
In ¶ 0004 - ¶ 0005, Park teaches that the battery cells are cylindrical lithium secondary batteries. Park goes on to teach that the battery cell includes a battery can and an electrode assembly accommodated in the battery can (¶ 0048). However, Park is silent on the specific steps of producing the cylindrical battery cell that is pressed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kim teaches a manufacturing process of a lithium secondary battery (Page 2). Kim teaches that the process includes an active material mixing process, an electrode coating process, a rolling process, a slitting process, and a winding process (Page 2). Kim explains that the rolling step includes rollers that compress the electrode sheets to increase the capacitance density by reducing the thickness of the electrode sheet after the coating process of the electrode mixture (Page 2). On Page 2, Kim goes on to teach that this rolling step also increases the adhesion between the electrode current collector and the electrode active material contained in the electrode mixture. The rollers taught by Kim reads on a flattening apparatus configured to flatten an electrode assembly of the battery cell.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to form the battery cell taught by Park using the manufacturing process taught by Kim as this would predictably yield a battery cell with increased capacitance density and adhesion between the electrode components. Through this modification, modified Park teaches a production system of battery cell, comprising a flattening apparatus (rollers) configured to flatten an electrode assembly of the battery cell; and the pressurizing apparatus (pressing apparatus) according to claim 1, wherein the pressurizing apparatus (pressing apparatus) is configured to pressurize the flattened electrode assembly.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 8, Wei teaches a fixing device that reads on the positioning assembly. As shown in Fig. 3 below, Wei teaches that the fixing device includes a mounting seat and a fixing piece in contact with the electrode assembly (¶ 0055). Wei teaches that the fixing piece is mounted on an output end of a driving member that drives the fixing piece to move towards the base to fix the electrode assembly (battery core) to the base to prevent movement of the electrode assembly (battery core) during manufacturing (¶ 0055). As shown in Fig. 3, the fixing piece is floatingly mounted on the mounting seat. However, Wei does not specifically teach a clamping jaw.
In a similar field of endeavor, Li teaches a device for flattening a battery cell electrode tab that reads on a pressurizing apparatus configured to pressurize a flattened electrode assembly (¶ 0037 and Fig. 1). Li teaches that the pressurizing apparatus (flattening device) comprises a clamping mechanism that limits a movement of the battery cell during the flattening process (¶ 0037 and ¶ 0043). Li teaches that the clamping mechanism includes a clamping block that cooperates with a support block to clamp the battery cell (¶ 0043 and Fig. 1). The clamping block along with the support block read on a clamping jaw and the clamping mechanism reads a positioning assembly. See Fig. 1 below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to substitute the fixing piece taught by Wei with the clamping block and support block taught by Li as this would predictably effectively clamp the battery and limit movement of the battery cell with no unpredictable results. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.). Through this modification, modified Wei teaches that the positioning assembly comprises a mounting seat, and a clamping jaw floatingly mounted on the mounting seat, wherein the clamping jaw is configured to clamp the electrode assembly.
Wei teaches that the positioning assembly (fixing device) includes a driving mechanism that drives the fixing piece to fix the battery core onto the base. This driving mechanism reads on a clamping jaw drive member. As shown in Fig. 3 above, the fixing device is connected to the driving mechanism. Through the modification discussed above, the fixing piece taught by Wei is substituted for the clamping jaw taught by Li. Thus, the modified positioning assembly (fixing device) comprises a clamping jaw drive member (driving mechanism) wherein the clamping jaw is connected to the clamping jaw drive member and the clamping jaw drive member is configured to drive the clamping jaw to clamp the electrode assembly.
However, modified Wei does not teach a floating drive member mounted at the mounting seat, wherein the clamping jaw drive member is disposed on the floating drive member, and the floating drive member is configured to drive the clamping jaw and the clamping jaw drive member to move along a pressurization direction of the pressurizing assembly. It would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the positioning assembly taught by modified Wei to include the floating drive member as claimed.
Claim 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HUNSUYADOR MUGEESATU YUSIF/Examiner, Art Unit 1743
/GALEN H HAUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743