DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1 and 18 are allowable. The restriction requirement among species A, B and C, as set forth in the Office action mailed on 9/12/2025, has been reconsidered in view of the allowability of claims to the elected invention pursuant to MPEP § 821.04(a). The restriction requirement is hereby withdrawn as to any claim that requires all the limitations of an allowable claim. Specifically, the restriction requirement of 9/12/2025 is fully withdrawn and all pending claims 1-20 are herein examined.
In view of the above noted withdrawal of the restriction requirement, applicant is advised that if any claim presented in a divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, a claim that is allowable in the present application, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application.
Once a restriction requirement is withdrawn, the provisions of 35 U.S.C. 121 are no longer applicable. See In re Ziegler, 443 F.2d 1211, 1215, 170 USPQ 129, 131-32 (CCPA 1971). See also MPEP § 804.01.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Sensor, method and display device with driving signals and offset signals according to orientation information”.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: “h” in the last line should read h’ for consistency within the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johansson et al. in US 2016/0216796 in view of Kremin et al. in US 2016/0188105 (hereinafter Kremin).
Regarding claim 11, Johansson disclose a method of operating a sensor device (Johansson’s Figs. 1 and par. 7: touch panel) comprising first sensors arranged along a first direction (Johansson’s Fig. 1A and par. 17: see row electrodes in 130 in y direction), second sensors arranged along a second direction different from the first direction (Johansson’s Fig. 1A and par. 17: see column electrodes in 135 in x direction), and a sensor driver (Johansson’s Figs. 2-3 and par. 30-33: see processing unit 220 performing scanning functions) configured to transmit driving signals to the first sensors (Johansson’s par. 33: applies voltage to a selected row) …and to receive sensing signals from the second sensors (Johansson’s par. 31, 33: current of selected column measured during self capacitance of columns or mutual capacitance) …, the method comprising: receiving orientation information of the sensor device (Johansson’s par. 29, 40: orientation of face of the device based on accelerometer output); determining a mode of the sensor device based on the orientation information (Johansson’s par. 32: selection of rows or columns based on current orientation [portrait vs. landscape]); and performing a self-sensing operation of the sensor device based on the mode (Johansson’s Figs. 4-5 and par. 34-35: self capacitance scanning based on portrait or landscape).
Johansson fails to explicitly disclose first sensor lines or second sensor lines through which the signals are transmitted from the sensor driver to the first or second sensors.
However, in the same field of endeavor of touch panels, Kremin discloses first sensor lines (Kremin’s Fig. 4 and par. 48: see 410), and second sensor lines (Kremin’s Fig. 4 and par. 48: see 420) through which signals are transmitted/received from/to the sensor driver to the first and second sensors (Kremin’s Fig. 4 and par. 48).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, that Johansson includes first sensor lines and second sensor lines between the sensor driver and the first and second sensors to transmit and receive signals, in order to obtain the predictable result of a known method of communication between the sensing electrodes and the processor (as taught by Kremin’s Fig. 4 and par. 48) that permits the signals to be transmitted (Johansson’s Figs. 4 and par. 31-33).
By doing such combination, Johansson in view of Kremin disclose:
A method of operating a sensor device (Johansson’s Figs. 1 and par. 7: touch panel) comprising first sensors arranged along a first direction (Johansson’s Fig. 1A and par. 17: see row electrodes in 130 in y direction), second sensors arranged along a second direction different from the first direction (Johansson’s Fig. 1A and par. 17: see column electrodes in 135 in x direction), and a sensor driver (Johansson’s Figs. 2-3 and par. 30-33: see processing unit 220 performing scanning functions) configured to transmit driving signals to the first sensors (Johansson’s par. 33: applies voltage to a selected row) through first sensor lines (upon combination, Johansson’s Figs. 2, 4: includes sensor lines 410 between row electrodes 130/420 and processing unit 220 per Kremin’s Fig. 4 and par. 48) and to receive sensing signals from the second sensors (Johansson’s par. 31, 33: current of selected column measured during self capacitance of columns or mutual capacitance) through second sensor lines (upon combination, Johansson’s Figs. 1D-1G, 2, 4: includes sensor lines 420 between column electrodes 135/430 and processing unit 220 per Kremin’s Fig. 4 and par. 48), the method comprising:
receiving orientation information of the sensor device (Johansson’s par. 29, 40: orientation of face of the device based on accelerometer output);
determining a mode of the sensor device based on the orientation information (Johansson’s par. 32: selection of rows or columns based on current orientation [portrait vs. landscape]); and
performing a self-sensing operation of the sensor device based on the mode (Johansson’s Figs. 4-5 and par. 34-35: self capacitance scanning based on portrait or landscape).
Regarding claim 12, Johansson in view of Kremin disclose wherein when the orientation information indicates that the sensor device is placed horizontally (Johansson’s Figs. 5 and par. 35: landscape orientation which includes the length of the device to be horizontal as shown), in determining the mode of the sensor device (Johansson’s par. 32: selection of rows or columns based on current orientation [portrait vs. landscape]), it is determined that the sensor device performs the self-sensing operation in a first mode (Johansson’s Figs. 5 and par. 35: self-sensing in landscape orientation).
Regarding claim 13, Johansson fails to disclose the self-sensing operation of the sensor device comprising a first period and a second period.
However, Kremin discloses capacitance scanning comprising a first period and a second period (Kremin’s Fig. 3: see S1 and S2), and during a first period (Kremin’s Fig. 3: step of scanning S1), transmitting the driving signals (Kremin’s Figs. 2-3 and par. 41: in-phase signal +1) to h sensors (Kremin’s Fig. 3 and par. 55, 79: see h=3 Tx electrodes supplied +1) and transmitting offset signals (Kremin’s Figs. 2-3 and par. 41: opposite signal -1) to q-h sensors (Kremin’s Fig. 3 and par. 55, 79: see q-h=3 Tx electrodes supplied -1); and during a second period (Kremin’s Fig. 3: step of scanning S2), transmitting the offset signals (Kremin’s Figs. 2-3: opposite signal -1) to the h sensors (Kremin’s Fig. 3 and par. 55, 79: alternating in-phase and opposite phase pattern, thus in S2 h=3 Tx electrodes supplied -1) and transmitting the driving signals (Kremin’s Figs. 2-3: in-phase signal +1) to the q-h sensors (Kremin’s Fig. 3 and par. 55, 79: see q-h=3 Tx electrodes supplied +1), wherein h is a natural number greater than 1 (Kremin’s Fig. 3: h=3, which is the number of Tx electrodes shown being applied either +1 in S1 or -1 in S2), and q is a natural number greater than h (Kremin’s Fig. 3: q=6, which is the number of Tx electrodes shown).
Therefore, it would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, that Johansson’s self-sensing in landscape orientation (Johansson’s Figs. 5 and par. 35) includes a multi-stage period scanning where the phase of the driving signal is inverted in in at least two periods (as taught by Kremin’s Fig. 3 and par. 55, 79: see S1 and S2), in order to obtain the benefit of allowing noise immunity improvement without increasing the driving voltage (Kremin’s par. 86).
By doing such combination, Johansson in view of Kremin disclose:
wherein performing the self-sensing operation of the sensor device based on the mode (Johansson’s Figs. 5 and par. 35: self-sensing in landscape orientation) comprises:
during a first period (Kremin’s Fig. 3: step of scanning S1), transmitting the driving signals (Kremin’s Figs. 2-3 and par. 41: in-phase signal +1) to h sensors (Kremin’s Fig. 3 and par. 55, 79: see h=3 Tx electrodes supplied +1) from among the first sensors (Kremin’s Fig. 3: see Tx electrodes, which are equivalent to rows 130 in Johansson’s Fig. 1A) and transmitting offset signals (Kremin’s Figs. 2-3 and par. 41: opposite signal -1) to q-h sensors (Kremin’s Fig. 3 and par. 55, 79: see q-h=3 Tx electrodes supplied -1) from among the first sensors (Kremin’s Fig. 3: see Tx electrodes, which are equivalent to rows 130 in Johansson’s Fig. 1A); and
during a second period (Kremin’s Fig. 3: step of scanning S2), transmitting the offset signals (Kremin’s Figs. 2-3: opposite signal -1) to the h sensors (Kremin’s Fig. 3 and par. 55, 79: alternating in-phase and opposite phase pattern, thus in S2 h=3 Tx electrodes supplied -1) and transmitting the driving signals (Kremin’s Figs. 2-3: in-phase signal +1) to the q-h sensors (Kremin’s Fig. 3 and par. 55, 79: see q-h=3 Tx electrodes supplied +1), wherein h is a natural number greater than 1 (Kremin’s Fig. 3: h=3, which is the number of Tx electrodes shown being applied either +1 in S1 or -1 in S2), and q is a natural number greater than h (Kremin’s Fig. 3: q=6, which is the number of Tx electrodes shown).
Regarding claim 14, Johansson in view of Kremin disclose wherein when the orientation information indicates that the sensor device is placed vertically (Johansson’s Figs. 4 and par. 34: portrait orientation which includes the length of the device to be vertical as shown), in determining the mode of the sensor device (Johansson’s par. 32: selection of rows or columns based on current orientation [portrait vs. landscape]), it is determined that the sensor device performs the self-sensing operation in a second mode (Johansson’s Figs. 4 and par. 34: self-sensing in portrait orientation).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-10 and 18-20 are allowed. Claims 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding independent claim 1, the prior art fails to disclose “…wherein during a first period, the sensor driver is configured to transmit the driving signals to a first group of sensors from among the first sensors, and to transmit offset signals having a frequency that is equal to that of the driving signals and a phase that is different from that of the driving signals to a second group of sensors from among the first sensors, wherein during a second period, the sensor driver is configured to transmit the offset signals to the first group of sensors and to transmit the driving signals to the second group of sensors, and wherein the sensor driver is configured to generate the driving signals and the offset signals during the first and second periods based on orientation information of the sensor device”. Dependent claims 2-10 are allowed for at least the same reason.
Regarding independent claim 18, the prior art fails to disclose “…wherein the sensor driver is configured to transmit the driving signals to a first group of sensors from among the first sensors, and to transmit offsets signals having a frequency that is equal to that of the driving signals and a phase that is different from that of the driving signals to a second group of sensors from among the first sensors, and wherein the sensor driver is configured to generate the driving signals and the offset signals based on orientation information of the display device”. Dependent claims 19-20 are allowed for at least the same reason.
The closest prior art to Johansson discloses driving signals in self-capacitance according to orientation in portrait or landscape mode (Figs. 4-5 and par. 34-35), but Johansson fails to disclose first and second periods, or phases or frequencies of the signals.
Kremin discloses a multi-period scanning where the signal is inverted for different rows (Kremin’s Fig. 3: see S1 and S2, and signals +1 and -1), but Kremin does not explicitly disclose the offset signals -1 having a frequency that is equal to that of the driving signals, and fails to disclose the driving signal and offset signals based on orientation information of the sensor device.
Regarding dependent claim 15, the prior art fails to disclose ALL limitations of claims 1+14, in addition to “wherein performing the self-sensing operation of the sensor device based on the mode comprises: during a first period, transmitting the driving signals to h′ sensors from among the first sensors and transmitting offset signals to q-h′ sensors from among the first sensors; and during a second period, transmitting, by the sensor driver, the offset signals to the h′ sensors and transmitting the driving signals to the q-h′ sensors, and h′ is greater than q/2, wherein h′ is a natural number greater than 1, and q is a natural number greater than h”.
Kremin discloses six rows, half applied +1 in period S1 and the other half applied -1 in period S1, and then reversed in period S2, and thus Kremin fails to disclose h’ greater than q/2.
Regarding dependent claim 16, the prior art fails to disclose ALL limitations of claims 1+14, in addition to “during a first period, transmitting the driving signals to a first group of sensors and transmitting offset signals to a second group of sensors; and during a second period, transmitting offset signals having a first voltage value to the first group of sensors and transmitting the driving signals to the second group of sensors, wherein a magnitude of the offset signals transmitted to the second group of sensors during the first period is greater than a magnitude of the offset signals transmitted to the first group of sensors during the second period”.
Neither Johansson nor Kremin disclose these features.
Regarding dependent claim 17, the prior art fails to disclose ALL limitations of claims 1+14, in addition to “wherein performing the self-sensing operation of the sensor device based on the mode comprises: during a first period, transmitting the driving signals to a first group of sensors from among the first sensors and transmitting offset signals to a second group of sensors from among the first sensors; and during a second period, transmitting offset signals having a first voltage value to the first group of sensors and transmitting the driving signals to the second group of sensors, wherein a length of the first period is shorter than a length of the second period”.
Neither Johansson nor Kremin disclose these features.
Conclusion
/LILIANA CERULLO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621