DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hiramatsu (US 2018/0351131 A1).
With respect to claim 1: Hiramatsu teaches “a display device (DSP) comprising: a substrate (SUB1); a first electrode on the substrate (RP+PE); a light emitting layer on the first electrode (ORG); and a second electrode on the light emitting layer (CE), wherein the first electrode comprises: a first pattern layer (RP) comprising aluminum (paragraph 46); a second pattern layer (first ITO layer of PE; see paragraph 46) on the first pattern layer (see Fig. 3) and comprising a transparent conductive material (ITO; see paragraph 46); a third pattern layer (Ag layer of PE; see paragraph 46) on the second pattern layer (see Fig. 3) and comprising silver (paragraph 46); and a fourth pattern layer on the third pattern layer (second ITO layer of PE; see paragraph 46) and comprising a transparent conductive material (ITO; see paragraph 46)”.
With respect to claim 11: Hiramatsu teaches “The display device of claim 1 (see above), further comprising a pixel defining film (15) on the first electrode (see Fig. 3)”.
With respect to claim 12: Hiramatsu teaches “the display device of claim 11 (see above), wherein the pixel defining film is on the second pattern layer and overlaps an edge area of the first pattern layer (see Fig. 3)”.
With respect to claim 13: Hiramatsu teaches “The display device of claim 11 (see above), wherein the pixel defining film is on the second pattern layer and the fourth pattern layer and overlaps the edge area of the first pattern layer (see Fig. 3)”.
With respect to claim 14: Hiramatsu teaches “the display device of claim 1 (see above), wherein the transparent conductive material comprises ITO (paragraph 46)”.
With respect to claim 15: Hiramatsu teaches “an optical device (PNL) comprising: a display device (DSP); and an optical path conversion member (SUB2; see paragraph 21) on the display device (see Fig. 1), wherein the display device comprises: a substrate (SUB1); a first electrode on the substrate (RP+PE); a light emitting layer on the first electrode (ORG); and a second electrode on the light emitting layer (CE), wherein the first electrode comprises: a first pattern layer (RP) comprising aluminum (paragraph 46); a second pattern layer (First ITO layer of PE; see paragraph 46) on the first pattern layer (see Fig. 3) and comprising a transparent conductive material (ITO; see paragraph 46); a third pattern layer (Ag layer of PE; see paragraph 46) on the second pattern layer (see Fig. 3) and comprising silver (paragraph 46); and a fourth pattern layer (second ITO layer in PE) on the third pattern layer and comprising a transparent conductive material (paragraph 46)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7, 10, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiramatsu as applied to claims 1, 15 above, and further in view of Im et al. (US 20070257253 A1) and Lee et al. (US 20090200922 A1).
With respect to claim 2: Hiramatsu teaches “The display device of claim 1 (see above)”.
Hiramatsu is silent about “wherein the first pattern layer has a greater thickness than the thickness of the third pattern layer”.
Hiramatsu’s first pattern layer is a reflective plate analogous to reflective metal layer 180a of Im. Im describes said plate as having a thickness of 500-2000 Å in order to have sufficient thickness to have a proper reflective property (Im paragraph 45).
Hiramatsu’s third pattern layer is the Ag layer in a ITO/Ag/ITO electrode structure analogous to layer 193 of electrode 191 of Lee. Lee states that the thickness of the translucent conductive layer 193 determines the width of the emission spectrum (paragraph 84) and describes said layer 193 as having a thickness of about 50-300 Å in a green pixel in order to obtain a sharp green spectrum with a narrow width.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Hiramatsu by forming the first pattern layer to have the thickness of 500-2000 Å as taught by Im in order to have a proper reflective property (Im paragraph 45) and to form the third pattern layer to have the thickness of 50-300 Å as taught by Lee in order to optimize the width of the emission spectrum (Lee paragraph 84).
With respect to claim 3: Hiramatsu in view of Im and Lee teaches “The display device of claim 2 (see above)”.
The combination of Hiramatsu, Im, and Lee teaches “wherein the thickness of the first pattern layer (500-2000 Å; Im paragraph 45) is four times the thickness of the third pattern layer (50-300 Å; Lee paragraph 84)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Hiramatsu by forming the first pattern layer to have the thickness of 500-2000 Å as taught by Im in order to have a proper reflective property (Im paragraph 45) and to form the third pattern layer to have the thickness of 50-300 Å as taught by Lee in order to optimize the width of the emission spectrum (Lee paragraph 84).
With respect to claim 4: Hiramatsu teaches “The display device of claim 1 (see above)”.
Hiramatsu does not specifically teach “wherein the first pattern layer has a thickness in a range of 700 Å to 1000 Å”.
However, Im teaches “wherein the first pattern layer has a thickness in a range of 700 Å to 1000 Å (paragraph 45)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Hiramatsu by forming the first pattern layer to have the thickness of 500-2000 Å as taught by Im in order to have a proper reflective property (Im paragraph 45).
With respect to claim 5: Hiramatsu teaches “The display device of claim 1 (see above)”.
Hiramatsu does not specifically teach “wherein the third pattern layer has a thickness in a range 200 Å to 300 Å”.
However, Lee teaches “wherein the third pattern layer has a thickness in a range 200 Å to 300 Å (paragraph 84)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Hiramatsu by forming the the third pattern layer to have the thickness of 50-300 Å as taught by Lee in order to optimize the width of the emission spectrum (Lee paragraph 84).
With respect to claim 6: Hiramatsu teaches “The display device of claim 1 (see above)”.
Hiramatsu does not specifically teach “wherein the second pattern layer has a thickness equal to or less than 100 Å”.
However, Im teaches “wherein the second pattern layer has a thickness equal to or less than 100 Å (paragraph 46)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Hiramatsu by forming the second pattern layer within the range taught by Im in order to avoid an interference effect (Im paragraph 46)”.
With respect to claim 7: Hiramatsu teaches “The display device of claim 1 (see above)”.
Hiramatsu does not specifically teach “wherein the fourth pattern layer has a thickness equal to or less than 100 Å”.
However, Im’s second pattern layer, which is considered analogous to the fourth pattern layer due to both being ITO layers in an OLED anode, teaches “wherein the fourth pattern layer has a thickness equal to or less than 100 Å (paragraph 46)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Hiramatsu by forming the fourth pattern layer within the range taught by Im in order to avoid an interference effect (Im paragraph 46)”.
With respect to claim 10: Hiramatsu teaches “The display device of claim 1 (see above)”.
Hiramatsu does not specifically teach “wherein the third pattern layer is surrounded by the second pattern layer and the fourth pattern layer”.
However, Lee teaches “wherein the third pattern layer (193) is surrounded by the second pattern layer (192) and the fourth pattern layer (194)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Hiramatsu by surrounding the third pattern layer with the second and fourth pattern layers as taught by Lee in order to improve color reproducibility of the display (Lee paragraph 108).
With respect to claim 16: Hiramatsu teaches “The optical device of claim 15 (see above)”.
Hiramatsu does not specifically teach “wherein the first pattern layer has a greater thickness than the third pattern layer”.
Hiramatsu is silent about “wherein the first pattern layer has a greater thickness than the thickness of the third pattern layer”.
Hiramatsu’s first pattern layer is a reflective plate analogous to reflective metal layer 180a of Im. Im describes said plate as having a thickness of 500-2000 Å in order to have sufficient thickness to have a proper reflective property (Im paragraph 45).
Hiramatsu’s third pattern layer is the Ag layer in a ITO/Ag/ITO electrode structure analogous to layer 193 of electrode 191 of Lee. Lee states that the thickness of the translucent conductive layer 193 determines the width of the emission spectrum (paragraph 84) and describes said layer 193 as having a thickness of about 50-300 Å in a green pixel in order to obtain a sharp green spectrum with a narrow width.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Hiramatsu by forming the first pattern layer to have the thickness of 500-2000 Å as taught by Im in order to have a proper reflective property (Im paragraph 45) and to form the third pattern layer to have the thickness of 50-300 Å as taught by Lee in order to optimize the width of the emission spectrum (Lee paragraph 84).
Claims 8, 9, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiramatsu as applied to claims 1, 15 above, and further in view of Yokoyama (US 2005/0001963 A1).
With respect to claim 8: Hiramatsu teaches “The display device of claim 1 (see above)”.
Hiramatsu does not specifically teach “wherein, in a plan view, the first pattern layer has a greater area than the third pattern layer”.
However, Yokoyama teaches an anode structure for a display device in which layers are disposed to have a forward tapered shape, wherein its width becomes gradually narrow from the flat surface 11A of the lower end face toward an upper end face 14D (see Fig. 2). Applying this instruction to Hiramatsu would result in the lowest layer (the first pattern layer) to be the largest and the subsequent layers to be smaller and smaller.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Hiramatsu by forming the layers to have a forward tapered shape as taught by Yokoyama and thus obtain the instant invention in order to avoid deposition failure (Yokoyama paragraph 56).
With respect to claim 9: Hiramatsu teaches “The display device of claim 1 (see above)”.
Hiramatsu does not specifically teach “wherein, in a plan view, the first pattern layer has a greater area than the second pattern layer or the fourth pattern layer”.
However, Yokoyama teaches an anode structure for a display device in which layers are disposed to have a forward tapered shape, wherein its width becomes gradually narrow from the flat surface 11A of the lower end face toward an upper end face 14D (see Fig. 2). Applying this instruction to Hiramatsu would result in the lowest layer (the first pattern layer) to be the largest and the subsequent layers to be smaller and smaller.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Hiramatsu by forming the layers to have a forward tapered shape as taught by Yokoyama and thus obtain the instant invention in order to avoid deposition failure (Yokoyama paragraph 56).
With respect to claim 17: Hiramatsu teaches “The optical device of claim 15 (see above)”.
Hiramatsu does not specifically teach “wherein, in a plan view, the first pattern layer has a greater area than the third pattern layer”.
However, Yokoyama teaches an anode structure for a display device in which layers are disposed to have a forward tapered shape, wherein its width becomes gradually narrow from the flat surface 11A of the lower end face toward an upper end face 14D (see Fig. 2). Applying this instruction to Hiramatsu would result in the lowest layer (the first pattern layer) to be the largest and the subsequent layers to be smaller and smaller.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the optical device of Hiramatsu by forming the layers to have a forward tapered shape as taught by Yokoyama and thus obtain the instant invention in order to avoid deposition failure (Yokoyama paragraph 56).
With respect to claim 18: Hiramatsu teaches “The optical device of claim 15 (see above)”.
Hiramatsu does not specifically teach “wherein, in a plan view, the first pattern layer has a greater area than the second pattern layer or the fourth pattern layer”.
However, Yokoyama teaches an anode structure for a display device in which layers are disposed to have a forward tapered shape, wherein its width becomes gradually narrow from the flat surface 11A of the lower end face toward an upper end face 14D (see Fig. 2). Applying this instruction to Hiramatsu would result in the lowest layer (the first pattern layer) to be the largest and the subsequent layers to be smaller and smaller.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the optical device of Hiramatsu by forming the layers to have a forward tapered shape as taught by Yokoyama and thus obtain the instant invention in order to avoid deposition failure (Yokoyama paragraph 56).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiramatsu in view of Yoon et al. (US 20200227509 A1).
With respect to claim 19: Hiramatsu teaches “a method of manufacturing a display device (method of making DSP), the method comprising forming a first electrode (RP+PE) on a substrate (SUB1), wherein forming the first electrode comprises: sequentially forming a first material layer (RP) comprising aluminum (paragraph 46), a second material layer (first ITO layer of PE) comprising a transparent conductive material (paragraph 46), a third material layer comprising silver (silver layer of PE; see paragraph 46), and a fourth material layer (second ITO layer of PE) comprising a transparent conductive material (paragraph 46)”.
Hiramatsu does not specifically teach “forming a photoresist pattern on the fourth material layer; forming a fourth pattern layer by wet etching the fourth material layer using the photoresist pattern as a mask; forming a third pattern layer by wet etching the third material layer using the photoresist pattern as a mask; and forming each of the second pattern layer and the first pattern layer by respectively dry etching the second material layer and the first material layer using the photoresist pattern as a mask”.
However, Yoon (see Fig. 3) teaches “forming a photoresist pattern (PR) on the fourth material layer (ITO); forming a fourth pattern layer by wet etching the fourth material layer using the photoresist pattern as a mask (step 14-1); forming a third pattern layer by wet etching the third material layer (Ag) using the photoresist pattern as a mask (step 14-1); and forming each of the second pattern layer (ITO layer mentioned in paragraph 48) and the first pattern layer (Ti) by respectively dry etching the second material layer and the first material layer using the photoresist pattern as a mask (step 14-2)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to make the display device Hiramatsu by using the photoresist, wet etching, and dry etching steps taught by Yoon due to the art recognized suitability of these steps for the purpose of making an anode for an OLED display (Yoon paragraph 83).
With respect to claim 20: Hiramatsu in view of Yoon teaches “The method of claim 19 (see above)”.
Hiramatsu further teaches “forming a pixel defining film (15) on a first electrode comprising the first pattern layer, the second pattern layer, the third pattern layer, and the fourth pattern layer (see Fig. 3); forming a light emitting layer (ORG) on the first electrode and the pixel defining film (see Fig. 3); and forming a second electrode (CE) on the light emitting layer (see Fig. 3)”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ko et al. (US 20210057504 A1), which teaches an OLED display device and manufacturing method thereof.
Contact Information
/NATHANIEL J LEE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/EVAN P DZIERZYNSKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875