DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a bottom surface of the BE under the MTJ is lower than a bottom surface of the BE on the first metal interconnection” (claims 5, and 12) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haq et al. US 2019/0148630 A1 in view of He et al. US 2022/0223784 A1. Haq discloses (see, for example, FIG. 4) a method for fabricating a magnetoresistive random access memory (MRAM) device, comprising: forming a spin orbit torque (SOT) layer 35 on a substrate 10; and forming a magnetic tunneling junction (MTJ) 45/55/65 on the SOT layer 35, wherein a bottom surface of the MTJ 45/55/65 comprises a first curve. In paragraph [0024], Haq discloses the spin orbit layer 35 including materials such tantalum, tungsten, etc. However, Haq does not clearly disclose these materials having spin orbit torque for the SOT layer. However, it was well known in the art that heavy metals such as tantalum, tungsten, etc. include strong spin-orbit coupling effect for forming spin current in MRAM devices. For example, He discloses (see, for example, paragraph [0034]) heavy metals including tantalum and tungsten that have strong spin-orbit coupling effect. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at a time prior to the effective filing date, to have the spin orbit torque for the SOT layer in order to have strong spin-orbit coupling effect for forming spin current and switching the magnetic state of an MRAM device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5 Claim(s) 2, 3, 6, 7, 9, 10, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haq et al. US 2019/0148630 A1 in view of He et al. US 2022/0223784 A1 as applied to claims 1, and 8 above, and further in view of Wang et al. US 2021/0343786 A1. Haq in view of He does not clearly disclose forming an inter-metal dielectric (IMD) layer on the substrate; forming a first metal interconnection and a second metal interconnection in the IMD layer; forming the SOT layer on the first metal interconnection and the second metal interconnection; forming a top electrode (TE) on the MTJ; and forming a cap layer on the MTJ and the SOT layer. However, Wang discloses (see, for example, FIG. 6) forming an inter-metal dielectric (IMD) layer 28 on the substrate 12; forming a first metal interconnection 30 and a second metal interconnection 32 in the IMD layer 28; forming the SOT layer 42 on the first metal interconnection 30 and the second metal interconnection 32; forming a top electrode (TE) 68 on the MTJ 58; and forming a cap layer 50 on the MTJ and the SOT layer 42. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at a time prior to the effective filing date, to form an inter-metal dielectric (IMD) layer on the substrate; forming a first metal interconnection and a second metal interconnection in the IMD layer; forming the SOT layer on the first metal interconnection and the second metal interconnection; forming a top electrode (TE) on the MTJ; and forming a cap layer on the MTJ and the SOT layer in order to form a more robust MRAM device that makes further connections to other active/passive devices such as MOS transistors, etc. within a semiconductor device.
Regarding claims 3, and 10, see, for example, FIG. 4 wherein Haq discloses forming a bottom electrode (BE) 25 before forming the SOT layer 35.
Regarding claims 6, and 13, see, for example, FIG. 7 wherein Haq discloses a bottom surface of the SOT layer 35 comprises a third curve.
Regarding claims 7, and 14, see, for example, FIG. 7 wherein Haq discloses the bottom surface of the SOT layer 37, and when combined with FIG. 6 of Wang, the bottom surface of the SOT layer 42 under the MTJ 58 in Wang is lower than a bottom surface of the SOT layer 42 on the first metal interconnection 30.
Regarding claim 9, see the rejection for claim 2 above.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 11, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haq et al. US 2019/0148630 A1 in view of He et al. US 2022/0223784 A1 in view of Wang et al. US 2021/0343786 A1 as applied to claims 2, 3, 6, 7, 9, 10, 13, and 14 above, and further in view of Dixit et al US 2022/0059754 A1. Haq in view of He in view of Wang does not disclose a bottom surface of the BE comprises a second curve. However, Dixit discloses (see, for example, Fig. 10) an MRAM device 10 comprising a bottom electrode 16 wherein the bottom electrode comprising a second curve. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at a time prior to the effective filing date, to have a bottom surface of the BE comprises a second curve in order to improve the physical stability of the layers within the MRAM device.
Regarding claims 5, and 12, it is inherent that the bottom surface of the BE under the MTJ is lower than a bottom surface of the BE on the first metal interconnection since only the bottom surface of the bottom electrode under the MTG layer is curved, and therefore, is lower than a bottom surface of the BE on the first metal interconnection.
Regarding claim 11, see the rejection for claim 4 above.
INFORMATION ON HOW TO CONTACT THE USPTO
Eugene Lee
September 22, 2026
/EUGENE LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815