DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2015/0093036).
Regarding claim 16, Part et al. discloses a flow chart in figures 5 and 6 that teaches technique for transcoding graphical texture such as: one or more processors to select one or more compression modes to use for individual blocks in transcoding a graphical texture from an input format to a target format, an encoder for the target format selecting the compression modes to use to transcode the individual blocks from a predetermined list of modes generated for the graphical texture during a prior encoding of the graphical texture (see figures 5,6 and their descriptions).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Part et al. as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Yuan et al. (2023/0245420).
Regarding claim 17, Park fails to teach or suggest format is a block compression (BC6 or BC7) format or an adaptive scalable texture compression (ASTC) format.
While, Yuan et al. discloses an image processing technique that teaches format is an adaptive scalable texture compression (ASTC) format (see para. 0038 and 0077).
Therefore, it would be an obvious to an ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to include Yuan’s teaching into Park’s disclosure to satisfy the invention’s need.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Part et al. as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Wu et al. (US 2023/0351769).
Regarding claim 20, Park fails to teach or suggest a system for performing simulation operation.
While, Wu et al. discloses a technique that teaches a system for performing simulation operation (see para 0026, claim 12 and claim 22).
Therefore, it would be an obvious to an ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to include Wang’s teaching into Park’s disclosure to satisfy the invention’s need.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but it would be considered for allowable if it is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Prior art of record, considered individually or in combination, fails to fairly teach or suggest objected features, which is: wherein the predetermined list of modes is generated using a compressor allowed to test a plurality of possible options for the target format for the individual blocks of the graphical texture.
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but it would be considered for allowable if it is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Prior art of record, considered individually or in combination, fails to fairly teach or suggest objected features, which is: wherein the input format is selected to reduce a storage size of the texture while satisfying at least one quality metric with respect to an initial version of the graphical texture.
Claims 1-15 are allowable.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Claim 1 is allowed over the closest prior art of record. The closest prior art of record, considered individually or in combination, fails to fairly teach or suggest invented features, which is “testing, during a transcoding of the graphical texture, at least a subset of the set of compression modes for the individual blocks of the graphical texture to select a respective compression mode from a plurality of compression modes to use to encode one or more of the individual blocks”, structurally and functionally interconnected with other limitations in the manner as cited in the claim and dependent claims.
Claim 10 is allowed over the closest prior art of record. The closest prior art of record, considered individually or in combination, fails to fairly teach or suggest invented features, which is “analyze, during a transcoding of the graphical texture, at least a subset of the set of compression modes for individual blocks of the graphical texture to select respective compression modes of a plurality of compression modes to use to encode the individual blocks”, structurally and functionally interconnected with other limitations in the manner as cited in the claim and dependent claims.
Cited References
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cited references are related to instant application subject matters.
Conclusion
/LAM T MAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845