DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: “first polymer later”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Shangguan, Junyi. Atomistic Insights into Materials Transformations Using Liquid Cell Transmission Electron Microscopy. Diss. University of California, Berkeley, 2022, hereinafter referred to as Shangguan1.
Regarding claim 1, Shangguan1 teaches an assembly comprising: a first transition electron microscopy (TEM) element comprising a first grid (The process starts from the commercial hole TEM grid (section 2.6; para. [0003])),
a first oxide disposed on a first side of the first grid (A layer of Al2O3 is sputtered onto the grid so that it would be less likely to cause a short circuit during the biasing experiment (section 2.6, para. [0003])),
a first polymer layer disposed on the first oxide (Then the polyimide support film is fabricated and transferred onto the TEM grid (section 2.6, para. [0003])),
and a first electrode and a second electrode disposed on the first polymer layer (Left: the well-aligned electrode on the membrane. Right: the off-aligned electrode on the membrane. (Fig. 2.10 caption)),
the first TEM element having a first circular shape (Fig. 2.7 below);
a second TEM element comprising a second grid having a second oxide disposed on a first side of the second grid (A layer of Al2O3 is sputtered onto the grid so that it would be less likely to cause a short circuit during the biasing experiment (section 2.6, para. [0003])),
and a second polymer layer disposed on the second oxide (Then the polyimide support film is fabricated and transferred onto the TEM grid (section 2.6, para. [0003])),
the second TEM element having a second circular shape with a portion of the second circular shape being removed such that an end of the first electrode and an end of the second electrode are exposed when the second TEM element is placed on top of the first TEM element to form the assembly (Fig. 2.7 below).
As shown in Figure 2.7 above the oxide layer and polymer layer are added to both the first and second TEM elements.
Regarding claim 2, Shangguan1 teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the first electrode is a working electrode and the second electrode is a counter electrode (Fig. 2.7 below).
The terms “working” and “counter” impart no further structure on the electrodes. Any electrode is configured to work as a “working” or “counter” electrode.
Regarding claim 3, Shangguan1 teaches the assembly of claim 2, wherein the first electrode includes first arms, wherein the second electrode includes second arms, and wherein the first arms are interdigitated with the second arms (Fig. 2.7 below).
As explained by the specifications of the present disclosure “a definition of interdigitate is “to become interlocked like the fingers of folded hands.” While the first arms 412 with the second arms 422 are not physically interlocked or physically in contact with one another, they are arranged such that the arms alternate first arm, second arm, first arm, second arm, and so on” (para. [0020]). An image of this arrangement can be seen in Figure 2.7 above.
Regarding claim 4, Shangguan1 teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the first electrode and the second electrode comprise platinum (Pt electrode (section 2.6, para. [0005])), gold, titanium, or carbon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-12, 15, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shangguan, Junyi, et al. "Development of liquid cells for high resolution imaging and chemical analysis in situ with Transmission Electron Microscopy." Microscopy and Microanalysis 27.S1 (2021): 804-806, hereinafter referred to as Shangguan, in view of Wang, Yu, et al. "Dynamic deformability of individual PbSe nanocrystals during superlattice phase transitions." Science advances 5.6 (2019): eaaw5623, hereinafter referred to as Wang, and S. F. Tan, K. Reidy, S. Lee, J. Klein, N. M. Schneider, H. Y. Lee, F. M. Ross, Multilayer Graphene—A Promising Electrode Material in Liquid Cell Electrochemistry. Adv. Funct. Mater. 2021, 31, 2104628. https://doi.org/10.1002/adfm.202104628, hereinafter referred to as Tan.
Regarding claim 1, Shangguan teaches an assembly comprising: a first transition electron microscopy (TEM) element comprising a first grid (Fig. 1c as annotated below),
a first polymer layer disposed on the first oxide (A new electrochemical liquid cell with sandwiched structure (polymer membrane-patterned electrode-polymer membrane) (Fig. 1c caption)),
a patterned electrode disposed on the first polymer layer (A new electrochemical liquid cell with sandwiched structure (polymer membrane-patterned electrode-polymer membrane) (Fig. 1c caption))
the first TEM element having a first circular shape (Fig. 1c below);
a second TEM element comprising a second grid (Fig. 1c below)
and a second polymer layer disposed on the second oxide (A new electrochemical liquid cell with sandwiched structure (polymer membrane-patterned electrode-polymer membrane) (Fig. 1c caption)),
the second TEM element having a second circular shape with a portion of the second circular shape being removed such that an end of the first electrode and an end of the second electrode are exposed when the second TEM element is placed on top of the first TEM element to form the assembly (Fig. 1c below).
Shangguan fails to explicitly teach a first oxide disposed on a first side of the first grid, and a second oxide disposed on a first side of the second grid.
However, Wang teaches a first oxide disposed on a first side of the first grid, and a second oxide disposed on a first side of the second grid (We first treated two ultrathin (10 nm) TEM carbon grids with oxygen/argon plasma for 30 s to produce hydrophilic surfaces for improved wetting of the highly polar ethylene glycol (EG) solution (section: Experimental set up of in situ liquid-phase TEM)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Shangguan to include the teachings of Wang by disposing a first oxide on a first side of the first grid, and a second oxide on a first side of the second grid. Doing so improves the wettability of the first and second side.
Further, although Shangguan teaches a patterned electrode disposed on the first polymer layer, Shangguan fails to explicitly teach a first electrode and a second electrode.
However, Tan teaches a first and second electrode (working, reference, and counter electrodes (Fig. 1 caption)) (Fig. 1b below).
Shangguan teaches the use of patterned Pt electrodes in a liquid cell. Tan explains the benefits of using thinner graphene electrodes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Shangguan to include the teachings of Tan by replacing the patterned electrodes with the counter and working electrodes of Tan. Doing so improves TEM image resolution (Tan, section 2.5) and enhances control of the liquid in the cells.
Regarding claim 2, Shangguan fails to teach the assembly of claim 1, wherein the first electrode is a working electrode and the second electrode is a counter electrode.
To be clear, the terms “working” and “counter” impart no further structure on the electrodes. Any electrode is configured to work as a “working” or “counter” electrode. However, in the interest of compact prosecution, see the rejection below.
Tan teaches, wherein the first electrode is a working electrode and the second electrode is a counter electrode (E1, E2, and E3 that can be assigned as counter, reference, and working electrodes (Fig. 1 caption)).
Regarding claim 4, Shangguan teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the first electrode and the second electrode comprise platinum, gold, titanium, or carbon (Electrochemical liquid cells may be fabricated by incorporating patterned electrodes of various metals (e.g., Au, Ti, and Pt) on the bottom chip of the cell).
Regarding claim 5, Shangguan fails to teach the assembly of claim 1, wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are about 1 nanometer to 15 nanometers thick.
However, Tan teaches wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are within the range of about 1 nanometer to 15 nanometers thick (we compare mass thickness values for liquid cells with an electrode of 0.7–6 nm graphene (≈2–20 layers) versus 20 nm thick Pt (or Au), as is often used in microfabricated chips (section 2.5)).
Regarding claim 6, Shangguan fails to teach the assembly of claim 1, wherein the first TEM element further includes a third electrode disposed on the first polymer layer, and wherein an end of the third electrode is exposed when the second TEM element is placed on top of the first TEM element to form the assembly.
However, Tan teaches wherein the TEM element further includes a third electrode (reference electrode EI (Fig. 1 below)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Shangguan to include the teachings of Tan by including the reference electrode. He reference electrode provides a stable known potential against which the working electrode can be measured to improve control of the liquid in the cell. Further, to be clear, Shangguan teaches a liquid cell with a sandwiched structure. The structure consists of two grids. The electrodes are placed along the bottom grid. The top grid is a circular shape with a portion removed. So my placing the refernce electrode on the bottom grid, an end of the third electrode will be exposed because the top grid does not fully cover the bottom grid.
Regarding claim 7, Shangguan fails to teach the assembly of claim 6, wherein the first electrode is a reference electrode, wherein the second electrode is a counter electrode, and wherein the third electrode is a working electrode.
However, Tan teaches wherein the first electrode is a reference electrode, wherein the second electrode is a counter electrode, and wherein the third electrode is a working electrode (E1, E2, and E3 that can be assigned as counter, reference, and working electrodes (Fig. 1 caption)).
Regarding claim 1, Shangguan teaches an assembly comprising: a first transition electron microscopy (TEM) element comprising a first grid (Fig. 1c as annotated below),
a first polymer layer disposed on the first oxide (A new electrochemical liquid cell with sandwiched structure (polymer membrane-patterned electrode-polymer membrane) (Fig. 1c caption)),
a patterned electrode disposed on the first polymer layer (A new electrochemical liquid cell with sandwiched structure (polymer membrane-patterned electrode-polymer membrane) (Fig. 1c caption))
the first TEM element having a first circular shape (Fig. 1c below);
a second TEM element comprising a second grid (Fig. 1c below)
and a second polymer layer disposed on the second oxide (A new electrochemical liquid cell with sandwiched structure (polymer membrane-patterned electrode-polymer membrane) (Fig. 1c caption)),
the second TEM element having a second circular shape with a portion of the second circular shape being removed such that an end of the first electrode and an end of the second electrode are exposed when the second TEM element is placed on top of the first TEM element to form the assembly (Fig. 1c below).
Shangguan fails to explicitly teach a first oxide disposed on a first side of the first grid, and a second oxide disposed on a first side of the second grid.
However, Wang teaches a first oxide disposed on a first side of the first grid, and a second oxide disposed on a first side of the second grid (We first treated two ultrathin (10 nm) TEM carbon grids with oxygen/argon plasma for 30 s to produce hydrophilic surfaces for improved wetting of the highly polar ethylene glycol (EG) solution (section: Experimental set up of in situ liquid-phase TEM)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Shangguan to include the teachings of Wang by disposing a first oxide on a first side of the first grid, and a second oxide on a first side of the second grid. Doing so improves the wettability of the first and second side.
Further, although Shangguan teaches a patterned electrode disposed on the first polymer layer, Shangguan fails to explicitly teach a first electrode and a second electrode.
However, Tan teaches a first and second electrode (working, reference, and counter electrodes (E1, E2, and E3 that can be assigned as counter, reference, and working electrodes, respectively (Fig. 1a caption)) (Fig. 1a below).
Shangguan teaches the use of patterned Pt electrodes in a liquid cell. Tan teaches the use of three Pt electrodes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Shangguan to include the teachings of tan by replacing the patterned electrodes with the reference counter and working electrodes of Tan. The implementation of three electrodes enhances control of the liquid in the cells.
Regarding claim 6, Shangguan fails to teach the assembly of claim 1, wherein the first TEM element further includes a third electrode disposed on the first polymer layer, and wherein an end of the third electrode is exposed when the second TEM element is placed on top of the first TEM element to form the assembly.
However, Tan teaches wherein the TEM element further includes a third electrode (reference electrode EI (Fig. 1 below)).
Regarding claim 9, Shangguan fails to teach the assembly of claim 6, wherein the first electrode, the second electrode, and the third electrode comprise platinum, gold, titanium, or carbon.
However, Tan teaches wherein the first electrode, the second electrode, and the third electrode comprise platinum, gold, titanium, or carbon (Pt electrodes (Fig. 1 caption)).
Regarding claim 10, Shangguan teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the second circular shape with a portion of the second circular shape being removed is a circular shape with a flat portion (Fig. 1c above).
Regarding claim 11, Shangguan teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the first polymer film is proximate the second polymer film when the second TEM element is placed on top of the first TEM element (A new electrochemical liquid cell with sandwiched structure (polymer membrane-patterned electrode-polymer membrane) (Fig. 1c caption)).
The first polymer film and the second polymer film are sandwiched together.
Regarding claim 12, Shangguan does not explicitly teach he assembly of claim 1, wherein the first grid and the second grid comprise copper grids.
However, Wang teaches wherein the first grid and the second grid comprise copper grids (Two ultrathin carbon film (10 nm, 400 mesh)–supported copper grids).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Shangguan to include the teachings of Wang by making the first and second grid out of copper. Copper is known in the art as a cost effective and mechanically robust material for TEM sample holders.
Regarding claim 15, Shangguan teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the first polymer layer and the second polymer layer comprise polyvinyl formal or polyimide (Polyimide was selected as the support film on consideration of its high chemical resistance, moderate sensitivity to electron beam and high mechanical stability (pg. 1, para. [0002])).
Regarding claim 17, Shangguan teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein when in operation, a liquid is disposed between the first polymer layer and the second polymer layer of the assembly (A new electrochemical liquid cell (Fig. 1c caption)).
Shangguan teaches an electrochemical liquid cell with a sandwiched structure such that an electrode lies between two polymer membranes. Electrochemical liquid cells operate by disposing a liquid between the two grids.
Regarding claim 19, Shangguan teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the first polymer layer and the second polymer layer are impermeable to liquids (Polyimide was selected as the support film on consideration of its high chemical resistance, moderate sensitivity to electron beam and high mechanical stability (pg. 1, para. [0002])).
The specifications of the present disclosure explain “In some embodiments, the first polymer layer and the second polymer layer comprise polyvinyl formal or polyimide.” Shangguan teaches the use of a polyimide polymer layer. Therefore, the polymer layer of Shangguan inherently possesses the quality of being impermeable to liquids as evidenced by the specifications of the present disclosure.
Regarding claim 20, Shangguan teaches an assembly comprising: a first transition electron microscopy (TEM) element comprising a first grid (Fig. 1c as annotated below),
a first polymer layer disposed on the first oxide (A new electrochemical liquid cell with sandwiched structure (polymer membrane-patterned electrode-polymer membrane) (Fig. 1c caption)),
a patterned electrode disposed on the first polymer layer (A new electrochemical liquid cell with sandwiched structure (polymer membrane-patterned electrode-polymer membrane) (Fig. 1c caption))
the first TEM element having a first circular shape (Fig. 1c below);
a second TEM element comprising a second grid (Fig. 1c below)
and a second polymer layer disposed on the second oxide (A new electrochemical liquid cell with sandwiched structure (polymer membrane-patterned electrode-polymer membrane) (Fig. 1c caption)),
the second TEM element having a second circular shape with a flat side such that an end of the first electrode and an end of the second electrode are exposed when the second TEM element is placed on top of the first TEM element to form the assembly (Fig. 1c below).
Shangguan fails to explicitly teach a first oxide disposed on a first side of the first grid, and a second oxide disposed on a first side of the second grid.
However, Wang teaches a first oxide disposed on a first side of the first grid, and a second oxide disposed on a first side of the second grid (We first treated two ultrathin (10 nm) TEM carbon grids with oxygen/argon plasma for 30 s to produce hydrophilic surfaces for improved wetting of the highly polar ethylene glycol (EG) solution (section: Experimental set up of in situ liquid-phase TEM)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Shangguan to include the teachings of Wang by disposing a first oxide on a first side of the first grid, and a second oxide on a first side of the second grid. Doing so improves the wettability of the first and second side.
Further, although Shangguan teaches a patterned electrode disposed on the first polymer layer, Shangguan fails to explicitly teach a first electrode and a second electrode.
However, Tan teaches a first and second electrode (working, reference, and counter electrodes (Fig. 1 caption)) (Fig. 1b below).
Shangguan teaches the use of patterned Pt electrodes in a liquid cell. Tan explains the benefits of using thinner graphene electrodes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Shangguan to include the teachings of tan by replacing the patterned electrodes with the counter and working electrodes of Tan. Doing so improves TEM image resolution (Tan, section 2.5) and
enhances control of the liquid in the cells.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shangguan in view of Wang and Tan as applied to claim 3 above, and in further view of Daniel Trimarco (US 20170338090 A1), hereinafter referred to as Trimarco.
Regarding claim 3, Shangguan fails to teach the assembly of claim 2, wherein the first electrode includes first arms, wherein the second electrode includes second arms, and wherein the first arms are interdigitated with the second arms.
However, Trimarco teaches wherein the first electrode includes first arms, wherein the second electrode includes second arms, and wherein the first arms are interdigitated with the second arms (The metal electrodes are defined in a double comb pattern as seen in FIG. 7E (para. [0108])).
Trimarco teaches an electrode chip for applying a potential across fluidic channels. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Shangguan to include the teachings of Trimarco by incorporating the electrode comb structure. As explained by Triamrco “[b]y applying a potential across the two double comb electrodes, or between the double comb electrodes and the upstream electrode, a range of simple two electrode-experiments can be performed” (para. [0108]).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shangguan in view of Tan and Wang, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Joseph Grogan (US 20120298883 A1), hereinafter referred to as Grogan.
Regarding claim 13, Shangguan fails to teach the assembly of claim 1, wherein the first oxide and the second oxide comprise non-electrically conductive oxides.
However, Grogan teaches wherein the first oxide and the second oxide comprise non-electrically conductive oxides (30-nm Ti/Pt/Ti electrode stack deposited and patterned by evaporation and liftoff (c) 150-nm silicon oxide deposited by plasma enhanced chemical vapor deposition (para. [0017])).
Grogan teaches a liquid cell for use with an electron microscope. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Shangguan to include the teachings of Grogan by using silicone oxide as the first and second oxide layer. As explained by Grogan “The silicon oxide also insulates the metallic path from the fluid chamber” (para. [0052]) and is transparent to electrons (para. [0031]).
Regarding claim 14, Shangguan fails to teach the assembly of claim 1, wherein the first oxide and the second oxide comprise alumina, silicon oxide, or titanium oxide.
However, Grogan teaches wherein the first oxide and the second oxide comprise alumina, silicon oxide, or titanium oxide 30-nm Ti/Pt/Ti electrode stack deposited and patterned by evaporation and liftoff (c) 150-nm silicon oxide deposited by plasma enhanced chemical vapor deposition (para. [0017])).
Grogan teaches a liquid cell for use with an electron microscope. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Shangguan to include the teachings of Grogan by using silicone oxide as the first and second oxide layer. As explained by Grogan “The silicon oxide also insulates the metallic path from the fluid chamber” (para. [0052]) and is transparent to electrons (para. [0031]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shangguan in view of Tan and Wang, and in further view of Zheng, Haimei. "Imaging, understanding, and control of nanoscale materials transformations." Mrs Bulletin 46.5 (2021): 443-450, hereinafter referred to as Zheng.
Regarding claim 16, Shangguan fails to teach the assembly of claim 1, wherein a diameter of the first TEM element and the second TEM element are about 3 millimeters.
However, Zheng teaches liquid cells that are about 3 millimeters (The self-contained liquid cells (Figure 1c) with dimensions typically of 2.6 mm × 2.6 mm a).
As described by the specifications of the present disclosure “[t]he terms “about” or “approximate” and the like are synonymous and are used to indicate that the value modified by the term has an understood range associated with it, where the range can be ± 20%, ± 15%, ± 10%, ± 5%, or ± 1%” (detailed description, para. [0004]). Therefore, 2.6 mm falls within the range of “about 3 millimeters.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Shangguan to include the teachings of Zheng by making the diameter of the first and second TEM element, which make up the liquid cell, about 3 mm. This dimension allows the cell to “fit well into a standard TEM holder” (section: Development of liquid cells allowing high-resolution imaging and chemical analysis, para. [0001])
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shangguan, in view of Tan and Wang, and in further view of Zhang, Q., Peng, X., Nie, Y. et al. Defect-mediated ripening of core-shell nanostructures. Nat Commun 13, 2211 (2022). https://doi.org/10.1038/s41467-022-29847-8, hereinafter referred to as Zhang.
Regarding claim 18, Shangguan teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein when in operation, a liquid is disposed between the first polymer layer and the second polymer layer of the assembly (A new electrochemical liquid cell (Fig. 1c caption)).
Shangguan fails to teach and wherein the liquid has a thickness of about 20 nanometers to 100 nanometers.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the liquid has a thickness of about 20 nanometers to 100 nanometers (The carbon film cell produces small liquid pockets, confining a few nanoparticles in a thin liquid film (10–50 nm in thickness) in individual pockets (section: Results and Discussion)).
Shangguan teaches “[t]he challenges of achieving high resolution imaging and chemical analysis through liquids often arise from the liquid cells being too thick” (para. [0001]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Shanggaung to include the teachings of Zhang by making the liquid have a thickness of 20-100 nm. A “thin wafer design minimizes the attenuation of X-ray signals in energy dispersive X-ray spectroscopy (EDS)” (Shangguan, para. [0001]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Khelfa, Abdelali. "Exploiting and optimizing in situ transmission electron microscopy to study the liquid-phase synthesis of gold nanoparticles." HAL (Le Centre pour la Communication Scientifique Directe) (2021). – relevant to all claims for teachings of a liquid cell with a polymer film and two electrodes.
Mirsaidov, Utkur, Joseph P. Patterson, and Haimei Zheng. "Liquid phase transmission electron microscopy for imaging of nanoscale processes in solution." MRS Bulletin 45.9 (2020): 704-712. – relevant to all claims for teachings of a simple static electrochemical liquid cell with grids.
Lee, Seung-Yong, et al. "Unveiling the mechanisms of lithium dendrite suppression by cationic polymer film induced solid–electrolyte interphase modification." Energy & Environmental Science 13.6 (2020): 1832-1842. – relevant to all claims for teaching an electrochemical liquid cell with a polymer coating.
Franklin Stampley Walden (US 20180372672 A1) – relevant to all claims for teachings of an electrochemistry device with three electrodes, a reference, counter, and working electrode.
/MICA JILLIAN EINHORN/Examiner, Art Unit 2881
/DAVID E SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 2881