Notice to Applications
This communication is in response to the Application filed on October 16, 2024.
Claims 1-9 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 16, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 27 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered and attached by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d).
The certified copies have been filed as Application No. JP2023-185219, filed on October 30, 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable of Manabe et al., US 12137195 B2, (hereinafter “Manabe”) in view of Muraishi et al., US 20240106935 A1, (hereinafter “Muraishi”).
Regarding claim 1, Manabe teaches an image inspection apparatus comprising:
a reader configured to read management information formed on a sheet ([Col.4, lines 40-43] “A sheet on which an image has been formed by the image forming apparatus 0101 is read by the inspection unit 0106, and the quality of an image formed on the sheet is inspected by the inspection apparatus 0108.”) ([Col.8, lines 46-52] “An inspection preprocessing program 305 is a program used for generating an inspection job by performing reference image generation, assignment of a book ID of a print job, or the like. An inspection program 306 is a program for collating the image data received by the reception program 304 with respect to the inspection job generated by the inspection preprocessing program 305.” wherein the management information is the image data); and
a hardware processor configured to ([Col.14, lines 37-63] “The sheet inspection result table 700 includes a book ID column 701, a bar code column 702, a page column 703, a time column 704, and a result column 705. The sheet inspection result table 700 is generated by the inspection apparatus 0108 in step S503 of FIG. 5A. Specifically, the inspection apparatus 0108 generates a row corresponding to the number of pages of the print job acquired in step S411, and fills each row of the page column 703 with the page number in the inspection order. As the inspection target information, the book ID generated in step S502 is filled in the book ID column 701, and the bar code information corresponding to the book ID is filled in the bar code column 702. In the example of FIG. 7A, one copy is composed of five pages. In the present embodiment, the inspection apparatus 0108 determines that the number of reference images received from the image forming apparatus 0101 corresponds to the number of pages of one copy. For example, when five reference images are received, it is determined that one copy is composed of five pages. In the example of FIG. 7A, an example of a copy is illustrated…More specifically, the inspection apparatus 0108 repeatedly compares the scan image received at the time of inspection with the reference image of the first page to fifth page, thereby performing inspection of a plurality of copies and creating a sheet inspection result table for a plurality of inspected copies.” wherein a collation information management table is a sheet inspection result table)
Manabe does not specifically disclose the management information matches the collation information and configured to set a start page number from which the determination is started.
However, Muraishi teaches the management information matches the collation information and configured to set a start page number from which the determination is started ([0109] “Rows 1211, 1212, and 1213 in the inspection area list indicate the settings of individual inspection areas set in a registered reference image. The row 1211 indicates the settings in a case in which the inspection settings in FIG. 7B have been set with respect to the area 702 in the sheet 1 in FIG. 7A. Accordingly, the collation value in this case is “001”. The row 1212 indicates the settings in a case in which “002” has been set as the starting number in the inspection settings in FIG. 7B with respect to the area 703 in the sheet 1 in FIG. 7A. Accordingly, the collation value in this case is “002”. The row 1213 indicates the settings in a case in which “003” has been set as the starting number in the inspection settings in FIG. 7B with respect to the area 704 in the sheet 1 in FIG. 7A. Accordingly, the collation value in this case is “003”.”) ([0095] “By displaying collation values that are in accordance with sequential-number setting values in a case in which sequential numbers are to be added to a plurality of reference images obtained by duplicating a reference image as described above, it can be confirmed, prior to actual inspection, whether sequential number values have been correctly set.”) ([0072] “FIG. 7B illustrates example sequential-number settings in a case in which an area of the sequential number 702 has been set as a sequential-number inspection area. Because the starting number of the sequential number 702 is “001”, “001” is set as the starting number.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the information management table method of Manabe with the collation information matching method of Muraishi to ensure collation information is correct, thereby preventing collation error.
Regarding claim 2, Manabe in view of Muraishi teaches the image inspection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in a situation that the reader is not able to read the management information, the hardware processor determines that the management information does not match the collation information (Manabe - [Col.12, lines 49-57] “In step S508, the sheet inspection result table of a book ID of interest illustrated in FIG. 7A is referred to, and it is judged whether or not there is an NG in the result column 705 in the table. That is, it is determined whether there is a page that is a defective product. When it is determined that there is an NG (step S508: Yes), the inspection result for the book ID is set as NG (step S509). When it is determined that there is no NG (step S508: No), the inspection result for the book ID is set as OK (step S510).”) (Muraishi - [0048] “The information transmitted to the finisher 120 here is information indicating whether or not there are a defect in a printed matter. Using the received information, the finisher 120 discharges a printed matter without defect to a regular paper-discharge tray and discharges a printed matter with defect to a tray that is different from the regular paper-discharge tray. Thus, the printed matter without defect and the printed matters with defect can be prevented from being mixed with one another.” wherein it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that if a “defect” is detected and removed from an inspection pipeline wherein the matching step occurs, then it can be determined that the management information containing the defect, does not match any collation information).
The motivation for combining Manabe and Muraishi is the same motivation as used for claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Manabe in view of Muraishi teaches the image inspection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in a situation that a print job is interrupted, the hardware processor determines a page number at which the print job is interrupted to be the start page number from which the determination is resumed (Manabe - [Col.17, lines 22-27] “In step S802, the image forming apparatus 0101 notifies the inspection apparatus 0108 of the jam information. The jam information includes, for example, position information indicating where the jam occurred, a book ID for which the jam occurred, a page number for which the jam occurred, and the like.”) (Manabe - [Col.17, lines 40-49] “In step S805, the image forming apparatus 0101 restarts printing from the page at which the jam occurred in the jam recovery process. Thereafter, the processing from step S806 to step S811 is the same as the processing from step S419 to step S423. When resuming printing, the inspection apparatus 0108 may be notified of the page from which to resume the printing. In doing so, the inspection apparatus 0108 can specify the reference image of the page whose printing has been resumed and continue the inspection.”).
The motivation for combining Manabe and Muraishi is the same motivation as used for claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Manabe in view of Muraishi teaches the image inspection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the hardware processor searches for the start page number from the page numbers in the collation information management table (Muraishi - [0072] “FIG. 7B illustrates example sequential-number settings in a case in which an area of the sequential number 702 has been set as a sequential-number inspection area. Because the starting number of the sequential number 702 is “001”, “001” is set as the starting number.”) (Manabe - [Col.14, lines 37-63] “The sheet inspection result table 700 includes a book ID column 701, a bar code column 702, a page column 703, a time column 704, and a result column 705. The sheet inspection result table 700 is generated by the inspection apparatus 0108 in step S503 of FIG. 5A. Specifically, the inspection apparatus 0108 generates a row corresponding to the number of pages of the print job acquired in step S411, and fills each row of the page column 703 with the page number in the inspection order. As the inspection target information, the book ID generated in step S502 is filled in the book ID column 701, and the bar code information corresponding to the book ID is filled in the bar code column 702. In the example of FIG. 7A, one copy is composed of five pages. In the present embodiment, the inspection apparatus 0108 determines that the number of reference images received from the image forming apparatus 0101 corresponds to the number of pages of one copy. For example, when five reference images are received, it is determined that one copy is composed of five pages. In the example of FIG. 7A, an example of a copy is illustrated…More specifically, the inspection apparatus 0108 repeatedly compares the scan image received at the time of inspection with the reference image of the first page to fifth page, thereby performing inspection of a plurality of copies and creating a sheet inspection result table for a plurality of inspected copies.” wherein a collation information management table is a sheet inspection result table) (Muraishi - [0109] “Rows 1211, 1212, and 1213 in the inspection area list indicate the settings of individual inspection areas set in a registered reference image. The row 1211 indicates the settings in a case in which the inspection settings in FIG. 7B have been set with respect to the area 702 in the sheet 1 in FIG. 7A. Accordingly, the collation value in this case is “001”. The row 1212 indicates the settings in a case in which “002” has been set as the starting number in the inspection settings in FIG. 7B with respect to the area 703 in the sheet 1 in FIG. 7A. Accordingly, the collation value in this case is “002”. The row 1213 indicates the settings in a case in which “003” has been set as the starting number in the inspection settings in FIG. 7B with respect to the area 704 in the sheet 1 in FIG. 7A. Accordingly, the collation value in this case is “003”.”).
The motivation for combining Manabe and Muraishi is the same motivation as used for claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Manabe in view of Muraishi teaches the image inspection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the hardware processor searches for the management information from the collation information in the collation information management table (Muraishi - [0109] “Rows 1211, 1212, and 1213 in the inspection area list indicate the settings of individual inspection areas set in a registered reference image. The row 1211 indicates the settings in a case in which the inspection settings in FIG. 7B have been set with respect to the area 702 in the sheet 1 in FIG. 7A. Accordingly, the collation value in this case is “001”. The row 1212 indicates the settings in a case in which “002” has been set as the starting number in the inspection settings in FIG. 7B with respect to the area 703 in the sheet 1 in FIG. 7A. Accordingly, the collation value in this case is “002”. The row 1213 indicates the settings in a case in which “003” has been set as the starting number in the inspection settings in FIG. 7B with respect to the area 704 in the sheet 1 in FIG. 7A. Accordingly, the collation value in this case is “003”.”) (Muraishi - [0095] “By displaying collation values that are in accordance with sequential-number setting values in a case in which sequential numbers are to be added to a plurality of reference images obtained by duplicating a reference image as described above, it can be confirmed, prior to actual inspection, whether sequential number values have been correctly set.”) (Manabe - [Col.14, lines 37-63] “The sheet inspection result table 700 includes a book ID column 701, a bar code column 702, a page column 703, a time column 704, and a result column 705. The sheet inspection result table 700 is generated by the inspection apparatus 0108 in step S503 of FIG. 5A. Specifically, the inspection apparatus 0108 generates a row corresponding to the number of pages of the print job acquired in step S411, and fills each row of the page column 703 with the page number in the inspection order. As the inspection target information, the book ID generated in step S502 is filled in the book ID column 701, and the bar code information corresponding to the book ID is filled in the bar code column 702. In the example of FIG. 7A, one copy is composed of five pages. In the present embodiment, the inspection apparatus 0108 determines that the number of reference images received from the image forming apparatus 0101 corresponds to the number of pages of one copy. For example, when five reference images are received, it is determined that one copy is composed of five pages. In the example of FIG. 7A, an example of a copy is illustrated…More specifically, the inspection apparatus 0108 repeatedly compares the scan image received at the time of inspection with the reference image of the first page to fifth page, thereby performing inspection of a plurality of copies and creating a sheet inspection result table for a plurality of inspected copies.” wherein a collation information management table is a sheet inspection result table).
The motivation for combining Manabe and Muraishi is the same motivation as used for claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Manabe in view of Muraishi teaches an image forming apparatus comprising:
the image inspection apparatus according to claim 1; and
an image forming section configured to form an image including the management information on a sheet (Manabe - [Col.4, lines 40-43] “A sheet on which an image has been formed by the image forming apparatus 0101 is read by the inspection unit 0106, and the quality of an image formed on the sheet is inspected by the inspection apparatus 0108.”) (Manabe - [Col.8, lines 46-52] “An inspection preprocessing program 305 is a program used for generating an inspection job by performing reference image generation, assignment of a book ID of a print job, or the like. An inspection program 306 is a program for collating the image data received by the reception program 304 with respect to the inspection job generated by the inspection preprocessing program 305.” wherein the management information is the image data).
The motivation for combining Manabe and Muraishi is the same motivation as used for claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 1 but in the form of a system. Therefore, claim 7 recites similar limitations to claim 1 and is rejected for similar rationale and reasoning (see the analysis for claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 8, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 1 but in the form of a method. Therefore, claim 8 recites similar limitations to claim 1 and is rejected for similar rationale and reasoning (see the analysis for claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 9, Manabe in view of Muraishi teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for a computer of an image inspection apparatus that includes a reader configured to read management information formed on a sheet, the program causing the computer to perform the image inspection method according to claim 8 ([Col.30, lines 39-45] “Embodiment(s) of the present invention can also be realized by a computer of a system or apparatus that reads out and executes computer executable instructions (e.g., one or more programs) recorded on a storage medium (which may also be referred to more fully as a ‘non-transitory computer-readable storage medium’) to perform the functions of one or more of the above-described embodiment(s)”) ([Col.4, lines 40-43] “A sheet on which an image has been formed by the image forming apparatus 0101 is read by the inspection unit 0106, and the quality of an image formed on the sheet is inspected by the inspection apparatus 0108.”) ([Col.8, lines 46-52] “An inspection preprocessing program 305 is a program used for generating an inspection job by performing reference image generation, assignment of a book ID of a print job, or the like. An inspection program 306 is a program for collating the image data received by the reception program 304 with respect to the inspection job generated by the inspection preprocessing program 305.” wherein the management information is the image data).
The motivation for combining Manabe and Muraishi is the same motivation as used for claim 1.
Conclusion
/AMANDA H PEARSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2666
/MING Y HON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2666