DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to application number 18/917,792 filed on 10/16/2024, in which
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/28/2024, 12/30/2024, 03/06 have been received and considered by the examiner, except where lined through. Specifically, foreign reference fifteen, WO-2019174949-A1 was not considered because it is a duplicate reference of foreign reference fourteen. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
FIG. 1, pg. 9, para 0038: “home 118” is first referenced with FIG. 4 and should either be first referenced with FIG. 1, for example pgs. 5-6, paras 0027-0030, or identified as a reference character of FIG. 1, for example “home 118 (as shown in FIG. 1).”.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it does not discuss identifying, selecting, or scheduling a charging time at an available home within a vicinity of an electric vehicle as recited in independent Claims 1, 9 and 17. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
pg. 7, para 0032: “database 220” should be “database 310”,
pg. 13, para 0053: “home 118 so assist” should be “home 118 to assist”,
pg. 13, para 0054: “detected vehicles are within” should be “detected locations are within”,
pg. 14, para 0062: “common place in phones” should be “common place in cars” and
pg. 16, para 0067: “when cars are level 5 “ should be clarified..
Appropriate correction is required.
The use of the term “AIRBNB” (pg. 15, para 0066), which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5; 9, 11, 13-14; and 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 16, 19; 1, 5-6; 20 of U.S. Patent No. US-12,145,469-B1, respectively. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both teach a system, a medium, and a method for identifying a plurality of homes within a vicinity of and capable of charging an electric vehicle, where a home is selected based on a determined availability, a rank, and variety of factors, and a charging time is scheduled based on a home occupancy, where the time and a new route are transmitted to the electric vehicle.
Underlined portions of claim text represents different claim language and italicized portions of claim text represents claim language that is not identical, but conveys the same meaning.
Current Application
U.S. Patent No. US-12,145,469-B1
Claim 1
A computer system for managing charging of an electric vehicle, the computer system comprising:
at least one memory with instructions stored thereon; andat least one processor in communication with the at least one memory, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to:
identify a plurality of homes that are within a vicinity of the electric vehicle and are configured to charge electric vehicles;
select a home of the plurality of homes to charge the electric vehicle based at least in part upon the availability of the selected home;
determine availability of the plurality of homes to charge the electric vehicle;
schedule a charging time for the electric vehicle at the selected home, wherein the charging time satisfies a home occupancy preference for the selected home, the home occupancy preference being one of the selected home being occupied or unoccupied; and
transmit a notification associated with the selected home and the charging time to the electric vehicle.
Claim 16
A computer system for recharging a battery of an electric vehicle with a low state of charge (SOC), the system comprising:
a network; the electric vehicle operatively coupled to the network; a plurality of potential charging locations operatively coupled to the network; and a server operatively coupled to the network, the server comprising a controller configured to: determine the electric vehicle has a state
in response to the determination that the SOC is below the predetermined threshold,
determine a plurality of homes capable of charging electric vehicles within a vicinity of a GPS location of the low SOC vehicle; of charge (SOC) below a predetermined threshold;
rank the plurality of homes based upon various factors;
determine availability of the plurality of homes to charge the low SOC vehicle; and
schedule a rendezvous time for the low SOC vehicle with a selected home of the plurality of homes, wherein the selected home is, from among homes of the plurality of homes both capable of charging the low SOC vehicle and available to charge the low SOC vehicle, a home with the highest rank, and wherein the rendezvous time satisfies a home occupancy preference for the selected home, the home occupancy preference being one of the selected home being occupied or unoccupied.
Claim 3
The computer system of Claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to rank the plurality of homes based upon a plurality of factors.
Claim 5
The computer system of Claim 3, wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to select the selected home further based at least in part upon a rank of the selected home.
Claim 2
The computer system of Claim 1, wherein the vicinity comprises a predefined distance.
Claim 19
19. The computer system of claim 16, wherein the vicinity is defined as a determined distance that the electric vehicle is capable of driving, based upon the SOC remaining in the electric vehicle.
Every limitation in Claims 1-3 and 5 of the current application are made obvious by Claims 16 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. US-12,145,469-B1, and therefore, Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting.
Current Application
U.S. Patent No. US-12,145,469-B1
Claim 9
At least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium with instructions stored thereon for managing charging of an electric vehicle, wherein the instructions, in response to execution by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to:
identify a plurality of homes that are within a vicinity of the electric vehicle and are configured to charge electric vehicles;
determine availability of the plurality of homes to charge the electric vehicle;
select a home of the plurality of homes to charge the electric vehicle based at least in part upon the availability of the selected home;
schedule a charging time for the electric vehicle at the selected home, wherein the charging time satisfies a home occupancy preference for the selected home, the home occupancy preference being one of the selected home being occupied or unoccupied; and
transmit a notification associated with the selected home and the charging time to the electric vehicle.
Claim 20
At least one non-transitory computer readable storage medium with instructions stored thereon, the instructions causing, in response to execution by at least one processor, the at least one processor to:
determine a low state of charge (SOC) vehicle, the low SOC vehicle having an SOC below a predetermined threshold;
in response to determining that the SOC is below the predetermined threshold, determine a plurality of homes capable of charging electric vehicles within a vicinity of a GPS location of the low SOC vehicle;
rank the plurality of homes based upon various factors;
determine availability of the plurality of homes to charge the low SOC vehicle;
schedule a rendezvous time for the low SOC vehicle with a selected home of the plurality of homes, wherein the selected home is, from among homes of the plurality of homes both equipped to charge the low SOC vehicle and available to charge the low SOC vehicle, a home with the highest rank, and wherein the rendezvous time satisfies a home occupancy preference for the selected home, the home occupancy preference being one of the selected home being occupied or unoccupied;
generate route information from a location of the low SOC vehicle to the selected home;
and cause the route information to be transmitted to the low SOC vehicle.
Claim 11
The at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of Claim 9, wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to rank the plurality of homes based upon a plurality of factors.
Claim 13
The at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of Claim 11, wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to select the selected home further based at least in part upon a rank of the selected home.
Claim 14
The at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of Claim 9, wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to: generate route information from a location of the electric vehicle to the selected home; andcause the route information to be transmitted to the electric vehicle.
Every limitation in Claims 9, 11, and 13-14 of the current application are made obvious by Claim 20 of U.S. Patent No. US-12,145,469-B1, and therefore, Claims 9, 11, and 13-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting.
Current Application
U.S. Patent No. US-12,145,469-B1
Claim 17
A computer-implemented method for managing charging of an electric vehicle, the computer-implemented method implemented by at least one processor in communication with at least one memory, the computer-implemented method comprising:
identifying a plurality of homes that are within a vicinity of the electric vehicle and are configured to charge electric vehicles;
determining availability of the plurality of homes to charge the electric vehicle;
selecting a home of the plurality of homes to charge the electric vehicle based at least in part upon the availability of the selected home;
scheduling a charging time for the electric vehicle at the selected home, wherein the charging time satisfies a home occupancy preference for the selected home, the home occupancy preference being one of the selected home being occupied or unoccupied; and
transmitting a notification associated with the selected home and the charging time to the electric vehicle.
Claim 1
A computer-implemented method for charging a battery of an electric vehicle with a low state of charge (SOC), the method being implemented via one or more processors, transceivers, servers, or sensors, any of which may be local or remote, the method comprising:
determining, via the one or more processors, the electric vehicle has a state of charge (SOC) below a predetermined threshold;
in response to determining that the SOC is below the predetermined threshold, determining, via the one or more processors, a plurality of homes capable of charging electric vehicles within a vicinity of a GPS location of the low SOC vehicle;
ranking, via the one or more processors, the plurality of homes based upon various factors;
determining, via the one or more processors, availability of the plurality of homes to charge the low SOC vehicle;
scheduling, via the one or more processors, a rendezvous time for the low SOC vehicle with a selected home of the plurality of homes, wherein the selected home is, from among homes of the plurality of homes both equipped to charge the low SOC vehicle and available to charge the low SOC vehicle, a home with the highest rank, and wherein the rendezvous time satisfies a home occupancy preference for the selected home, the home occupancy preference being one of the selected home being occupied or unoccupied;
generating, via the one or more processors, route information from a location of the low SOC vehicle to the selected home; and
causing, via the one or more processors, the route information to be transmitted to the low SOC vehicle.
Claim 20
The computer-implemented method of Claim 17, further comprising:generating route information from a location of the electric vehicle to the selected home; andincluding the route information in the notification.
Claim 19
The computer-implemented method of Claim 17, further comprising ranking the plurality of homes based upon a plurality of factors, the plurality of factors for each respective home of the plurality of homes including at least one of a distance between the electric vehicle and the respective home, charging equipment of the respective home, neighborhood of the respective home, ease of access to the respective home, or whether the respective home is located along a route of the electric vehicle.
Claim 6
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein each of the homes capable of charging electric vehicles within the vicinity of the GPS location of the low SOC vehicle is ranked based upon distance of the home to the low SOC vehicle; charging equipment of the home; neighborhood of the home; ease of access to the home; and/or whether the home is located along a route of the low SOC vehicle.
Claim 18
The computer-implemented method of Claim 17, wherein the vicinity comprises a predefined distance.
Claim 5
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the vicinity is defined as a determined distance that the electric vehicle is capable of driving, based upon the SOC remaining in the electric vehicle.
Every limitation in Claims 17-20 of the current application are made obvious by Claims 1 and 5-6 of U.S. Patent No. US-12,145,469-B1, and therefore, Claims 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1. A computer system for managing charging of an electric vehicle, the computer system comprising:
at least one memory with instructions stored thereon; and [apply it]
at least one processor in communication with the at least one memory, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: [apply it]
identify a plurality of homes that are within a vicinity of the electric vehicle and are configured to charge electric vehicles; [mental process]
determine availability of the plurality of homes to charge the electric vehicle; [mental process]
select a home of the plurality of homes to charge the electric vehicle based at least in part upon the availability of the selected home; [mental process]
schedule a charging time for the electric vehicle at the selected home [mental process], wherein the charging time satisfies a home occupancy preference for the selected home, the home occupancy preference being one of the selected home being occupied or unoccupied [data gathering]; and
transmit a notification associated with the selected home and the charging time to the electric vehicle [post-solution activity].
101 Analysis
Step 1: Statutory Category – Yes
The claim recites a system for managing charging of an electric vehicle using a memory and a processor to identify, determine availability of, and select an available home of a plurality of homes within a vicinity of and capable of charging an electric vehicle, where the home meets an occupancy preference and a charging time is scheduled, and finally, a notification of the home and time is transmitted to the electric vehicle.
Step 2A Prong One Evaluation: Judicial Exception – Yes – Mental Process
The claim recites the mental processes, as bolded above. These limitations, as drafted, are simple processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, could be performed in the human mind. For example, a person could look at a map and determine which homes are available to charge at within proximity to their vehicle, select one of the homes, and schedule the request for a charging time.
Step 2A Prong Two Evaluation: Practical Application – No
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements (underlined above) do not impose any meaningful limit on the judicial exception.
A processor and a memory act merely as a means for applying the abstract idea.
A home occupancy preference, of occupied or unoccupied, is recited at a high level, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
Transmitting a notification of the selected home and charging time to the electric vehicle is recited at a high level and amounts to post-solution activity, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
Step 2B Evaluation:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional claim elements, as stated for Step 2A Prong Two, do no more than provide application of the abstract idea and add extra-solution activity. And therefore, does not provide an inventive concept.
Transmitting a notification of the selected home and charging time to the electric vehicle is recited at a high level and is considered post-solution activity, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. The specification recites transmitting the notification at a high level, for example, specification pg. 29, para 0135 recites, “Additionally, or alternatively, the route being traveled by each electric vehicle, travel distance to destination information, remaining battery power information, and/or power available to transfer information may be contained in telematics data received by the low SOC vehicle or a corresponding mobile device and transmitted by each electric vehicle.” The specification further explains that transmitting is a standard capability of a machine, specification pg. 34, para 0174, “Unless specifically stated otherwise, discussions herein using words such as "processing," "computing," "calculating," "determining," "presenting," "displaying," or the like may refer to actions or processes of a machine (e.g., a computer) that manipulates or transforms data represented as physical (e.g., electronic, magnetic, or optical) quantities within one or more memories (e.g., volatile memory, non-volatile memory, or a combination thereof), registers, or other machine components that receive, store, transmit, or display information.” The specification does not provide any indication that transmitting a notification to the electric vehicle, as recited in Claim 1, is anything other than the standard transmitting used, and known to those of ordinary skill in the art, for providing a notification in a vehicle. Therefore, the specification indicates that transmitting a notification of the selected home and charging time to the electric vehicle is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function as it is claimed in a merely generic manner.
Independent Claims 9 and 17 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claims to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of the claims are direct towards a medium for performing and a method of performing Claim 1, and do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Therefore, Claims 9 and 17 are not patent eligible under the same rational as provided for Claim 1.
Dependent Claims 2-8, 10-16, and 18-20 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claims to be patent eligible. The limitations of the dependent claims further narrow the abstract idea, and thus can also be performed as a mental process, in the human mind. These limitations do no more than further narrow the mental process, add additional data gathering and insignificant extra-solution activity steps, and generally link the claims to a technical field. Therefore, Claims 2-8, 10-16, and 18-20 are not patent eligible under the same rational as provided for Claim 1.
Therefore, Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as being directed to a judicial exception, without amounting to significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9-13, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaffer et al., PG Pub US-2020/0317077-A1 (herein "Schaffer") in view of Logvinov et al., WO-2018/156732-A1 (herein "Logvinov").
Regarding Claim 1, Schaffer discloses: A computer system for managing charging of an electric vehicle, the computer system comprising: at least one memory with instructions stored thereon; and at least one processor in communication with the at least one memory, […]. See [Schaffer, pg. 1, paras 0004 and 0006], which describe an apparatus and system for charging an EV that includes a processor and a memory with instructions for receiving and managing requests for charging by the electric vehicle, “[0004] An example apparatus includes a processor and a memory including instructions that, when executed, cause the processor to receive a request for a mobile charging unit to meet an electric vehicle to provide a battery charge to the electric vehicle. The request is generated by the electric vehicle when a ratio of a remaining trip distance of the electric vehicle to a remaining expected range of the electric vehicle exceeds a threshold. The instructions further cause the processor to identify a location for the battery charge based on input from a user of the electric vehicle regarding a plurality of possible locations for the battery charge. […]. [0006] FIG. 1 illustrates an example system within which the teachings disclosed herein may be implemented to charge an EV.”
Schaffer further disclose: […] wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: identify a plurality […] that are within a vicinity of the electric vehicle and are configured to charge electric vehicles; determine availability of the plurality […] to charge the electric vehicle […]. See again [Schaffer, pg. 1, paras 0004 and 0006] which describe an apparatus and system for charging an EV that includes a processor and a memory with instructions for receiving and managing requests for charging by the electric vehicle. See also [Schaffer, pgs. 4, paras 0034-0035], which explain that at least one battery charge rendezvous request is triggered when the expected range is less than the trip distance, where the system identifies charging units along the route within the distances where the electric vehicle will require a charge, “[0034] There may be times when the remaining trip distance of the EV 102 is greater than a maximum driving range of the EV 102 […]. In such a situation, at least one battery charging process (and possibly more) will be necessary such that a request for a battery charge rendezvous may be triggered […]. […], in some such examples, the remaining expected range may be taken into consideration in generating the request because the remaining expected range of the EV 102 can impact the number of battery charges needed for the trip. […]. [0035] […]. In some examples, the charge monitoring system 114 determines the smallest number of charges needed to enable the EV 102 to travel the full trip distance and determines the approximate locations (e.g., distances along the expected route) where those charges need to occur. Based on these determinations, the charge monitoring system 114 may generate a request corresponding to each of the charge rendezvous expected during the trip. In some examples, the request for some or all of the expected charge rendezvous may be transmitted at or near the same time during the beginning of the trip, […]. Early reservation in this manner may increase the reliability that the MCU 104 will be available. This also allows more time for an MCU 104 to respond to the request and arrive at the specified rendezvous location proximate in time to when the EV 102 is scheduled to arrive. […].” See also [Schaffer, pg. 5, para 0039], which explains that the request can be sent to multiple charging units within the vicinity of the electric vehicle and the charging units can share their availability for the system to use to select a rendezvous location, or charging unit, “In some examples, the request for a charge from the EV 102 may be transmitted to multiple MCUs 104 in different locations in the vicinity of the EV 102. In such examples, each of the MCUs 104 may respond to the request with relevant information concerning their availability to respond to the request. Based on the availability of one or more MCUs 104, the rendezvous selection system 124 may determine a suitable rendezvous location where the EV 102 and the MCU 104 may meet to charge the battery assembly 106 of the EV 102.”
Schaffer does not disclose: […identify a plurality] of homes […]; [determine availability of the plurality] of homes […]; select a home of the plurality of homes to charge the electric vehicle based at least in part upon the availability of the selected home; schedule a charging time for the electric vehicle at the selected home, wherein the charging time satisfies a home occupancy preference for the selected home, the home occupancy preference being one of the selected home being occupied or unoccupied; and transmit a notification associated with the selected home and the charging time to the electric vehicle.
However, Logvinov teaches: […identify a plurality] of homes […]; [determine availability of the plurality] of homes […]; select a home of the plurality of homes to charge the electric vehicle based at least in part upon the availability of the selected home […]. See [Logvinov, pg. 17, para 0085], which explains that electric vehicle controller communicates with the controller of charging apparatuses within a network to receive information regarding charger availability, “In accordance with one aspect of the present disclosure, the controller of an EV 255 may include a mobile app which a user of the EV may configure to allow access, by the controller 240, to various user preferences, a calendar, location information, etc. In addition, the mobile app may communicate with the controller 240, or controllers 230A at the EV charging apparatuses 230 of the system 200, via the network 260 and the network 242, to receive notifications, for example, on charger availability, current charger queues, out-of-order chargers, discounts and other power charging services. The mobile app may also be configured to learn the EV user's driving routes, favorite or preferred EV charging apparatuses and energy usage behavior while the user is at home, such as in circumstances where the user resides at a house 216 of the system 200, and communicate such information to the controller 240. In one embodiment, any of the above-indicated or similar energy and power related information collected or generated by the mobile app at the controller of an EV may be automatically transmitted as EV power-related information over the communication network 260 to the controller 240.” See also [Logvinov, pg. 18-19, paras 0091-0094], which explain that the controller of the system and the electric vehicle share information regarding energy and power for determining a charge schedule, including smart meters of houses, “[0091] In block 602, the controller 240 may receive, via the network 242, energy generation and storage and power consumption related information for the microgrid 202 from any of the controllers of components 218, 220, 222, 230 and 250 and the smart meter 212. In addition, the controller 240 may receive […] energy and power related information associated with the Grid 10, such as capabilities, expected power usage, costs and the like. Further, the controller 240 may receive over the network 260, from a controller of an EV 255, energy storage status information indicating available battery charge at the EV, current and expected energy consumption level information and current and expected location information indicating current and expect location of the EV over a predetermined time period. […]. For ease of reference, any energy and power related information which is received at the controller 240 and may be used to determine a power charging schedule for an EV according to aspects of the present disclosure is referred to herein as EP information. […]. [0092] In one embodiment, the EP information may be from smart meters (not shown) of respective houses 216 using the local transformer 20, and indicate respective current and anticipated load demand and capabilities. Also, the EP information may indicate any other alternative power resources available for use at any house of the system 200, such as an EV 255 with a fully charged battery, and the actual or predicted load for the house. […]. [0093] […]. [0094] In one embodiment, the EP information received at the block 602 may be from public charging stations or curbside chargers on the microgrid 202 that publish forecasted availability.” See also [Logvinov, pg. 23, paras 0112-0113], which further explains determining the power charging schedules for an electric vehicle, where the system transmits a request for available charging apparatuses at houses within a predetermined radius of the electric vehicle, where the system provides charging instructions including a charging location and time period, or reservation, to the electric vehicle, “In one embodiment, a power charging schedule for charging a first EV 255 from the microgrid 202 may be determined based on a change of an existing power charging schedule for charging a second EV 255 from the microgrid 202 to a new power charging schedule. […]. The first EV 255, for example, may not be owned by an owner of any house 216 of the system 200 supplied power from the microgrid 202 and have transmitted a request for charging from any available EV charging apparatus within a predetermined radius of a current location of the first EV, […]. [0113] In block 608, the controller 240 may control transmission of a charging instruction signal for charging an EV 255 from the microgrid 202 based on the charging request therefrom, according to the power charging schedule. In one embodiment, charging instruction signals may be transmitted respectively to one or more of the components of the system 200 on the microgrid 202, and cause the respective controller to perform energy generation or storage, or power consumption, according to the power charging schedule. In one embodiment, the charging instruction signal may include a charging reservation indicating a specific EV charging apparatus 230 on the microgrid 202 at which to charge a specific EV 255 and a time period at which to charge the EV 255 at the EV charging apparatus 230, and respective charging instruction signals may be transmitted for reception by the EV and the specific EV charging apparatus.”
Logvinov further teaches: […] schedule a charging time for the electric vehicle at the selected home, wherein the charging time satisfies a home occupancy preference for the selected home, the home occupancy preference being one of the selected home being occupied or unoccupied […]. See [Logvinov, pg. 26, para 0123], which explain that a power charging schedule is determined for the microgrid, including municipal charging services and charging apparatuses at a house, by matching an electric vehicle to a charging spot such as a spot with a private homeowner, where the homeowner rents their charging apparatus while they are not home, “In an exemplary implementation of the technology of the present disclosure, a power charging schedule for an EV may be determined for the microgrid 202 of the system 200, which is configured to serve the power needs of an area, such as city having curbside parking and smart light poles which have EV charging capabilities. Such municipal charging services may be free or require payment of fee. Based on the limited availability of such EV chargers, the controller 240 may be configured to exchange information with individuals who own and desire to rent charging on a home EV charging apparatus, such as the charging apparatus 230 of a house 216 of the system 200, and determine whether such EV charging apparatuses may be used to fulfill an EV charging request as part of a power charging schedule. The controller 240 may effectively serve as a platform or broker that matches EV owners who desire a charging spot with a private homeowner who may be willing to rent his EV charging apparatus on the microgrid 202, such as during the day when the homeowner is at work. See also [Logvinov, pg. 29, para 0134], which explains that the power charging schedule includes times and prices, “In another embodiment, the charging instructions may include directions for charging the EVs respectively at different locations on microgrid 202, such as at different houses 216 containing respective EV charging apparatuses 230, and at different times during the future time period […]. In still another embodiment, one or more of the power charging schedules may include price of charging information, where a price of charging for a specific power charging schedule may be based on an indicated time for charging by a charging apparatus 230 on the microgrid 202, or the location of the charging apparatus, […].” See also [Logvinov, pgs. 19-20, paras 0095-0096], which further explains that the controller of the system receives charging requests from electric vehicles, including preferences, amount of required energy, or a driving route, and information from the grid including occupancy of a private home and usage or availability of the home’s charging apparatus, “[0095] In block 604, the controller 240 may receive, via the network 260 or the network 242, a request for charging an EV 255. The request, for example, may be from a controller of the EV 255, a smart phone or other communication device, […]. […]. In one embodiment, the message may include preferences of the user of the EV, such as required or available amount of energy, time of arrival and departure from an EV charging apparatus, desired price, upper price limit, preservation of battery health or lifetime, etc. In one embodiment, the message may include a driving route of a user of the EV, […]. [0096] In addition, in block 604 the controller 240 may, based on receipt of the charging request, access, via the network 260, GPS, mapping and calendar applications of a smart phone, such as of a user of another EV 255 who lives in a home 216 of the system 200, to obtain EP information therefrom. The EP information obtained in block 604 may indicate, for example, whether a user of the another EV 255 who charges his EV using the microgrid 202 intends to be away for the weekend with his EV and no charging sessions using the microgrid 202 are needed. Further, in block 604, the controller 240 may access information from IoT devices 224 which indicate data about a house 216 on the microgrid 202, such as whether anyone is at a house 216 or users of the house 216 are in bed, which may indicate the users of the house 216 are not likely to need to use their EV in the near future.”
Logvinov further teaches: […] and transmit a notification associated with the selected home and the charging time to the electric vehicle. See again [Logvinov, pg. 23, paras 0112-0113], which further explains determining the power charging schedules for an electric vehicle, where the system transmits a request for available charging apparatuses at houses within a predetermined radius of the electric vehicle, where the system provides charging instructions including a charging location and time period, or reservation, to the electric vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Schaffer with Logvinov to use homes to schedule a charging time, based on home occupancy and transmit a notification to the electric vehicle. Doing so supports the increasing requirement for charging electric vehicles which places a higher demand on power grids [Logvinov, pg. 1, para 0003] and requires a balanced and efficient system [Logvinov, pg. 4, para 0010]. An electric vehicle must know when and where to travel to satisfy the schedule, where the schedule is based on an optimization of the energy and power information [Logvinov, pg. 22, para 0104], including time, price, and availability. Which can further include a total demand ensuring a load is not exceeding a capability at a house or a capability of the infrastructure [Logvinov, pg. 19, paras 0092-0093], satisfying the safety conditions for charging [Logvinov, pg. 21, paras 0100-0101], times when a homeowner will not be using the charger [Logvinov, see above], time of day, time of the week, and season of the year [Logvinov, pg. 22, para 0104]. Further, utilizing homes allows the homeowner to use surplus energy and charge at competitive or premium pricing, such as using a market auction [Logvinov, pgs. 26-27, paras 0123-0125].
Regarding Claim 2, Schaffer as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 1.
Schaffer further discloses: wherein the vicinity comprises a predefined distance. See again [Schaffer, pgs. 4, paras 0034-0035], which explain that at least one battery charge rendezvous request is triggered when the expected range is less than the trip distance, where the system identifies charging units along the route within the distances where the electric vehicle will require a charge. See also [Schaffer, pg. 3, paras 0027-0028], which further explains that the system compares a remaining trip distance and the expected range of the electric vehicle to determine a ratio or difference for triggering a request for charging, “[0027] Additionally or alternatively, in some examples, the remaining trip distance of the EV 102 is determined based on a distance from the current location of the EV 102 to any of one or more known trip destinations with a stationary charging unit regardless of the current travel path or route of the EV 102. [0028] In the illustrated example, the charge monitoring system 114 compares the remaining trip distance of the EV 102 (based on the expected route) with the remaining expected range of the EV 102 (based on the battery charge level) to determine whether the EV 102 may need a charge before reaching its trip destination (e.g., a location having a stationary charging unit). If so, the charge monitoring system 114 may initiate procedures to request a rendezvous with the MCU 104 to receive a battery charge,” [Schaffer, pg. 5, para 0040], where the charging units are selected within a distance determined by a remaining expected range, “However, one constraint may be that the rendezvous location to be selected is to be a distance from the current location of the EV 102 that is less than the remaining expected range of the EV 102. Otherwise, the EV 102 may not be able to reach the rendezvous location. The amount that the distance to the rendezvous location is less than the remaining expected range may correspond to a safety factor,” or [Schaffer, pg. 6, para 0047] a preselected threshold distance, “In some examples, the rendezvous selection system 124 identifies an area 208 extending along the expected route 202 of the EV 102 within which to select possible rendezvous locations. In some examples, the area 208 is defined to be within a threshold distance 210 of the expected route 202. By defining an outer boundary of the area 208 in this manner, the example rendezvous selection system 124 may reduce the potential amount of diversion off of the expected route 202 for the EV to reach the rendezvous location eventually selected for a battery charge. In some examples, the threshold distance may be any suitable distance (e.g., two blocks, five blocks, half a mile, etc.).”
Regarding Claim 3, Schaffer as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 1.
Schaffer further discloses: wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to rank the plurality […] based upon a plurality of factors. See again [Schaffer, pg. 5, para 0040], which explains that the system ranks charging units based on various factors, including convenience to the user or distance, “In some examples, the rendezvous selection system 124 may identify multiple possible rendezvous locations (associated either with one MCU 104 or multiple different MCUs 104) and rank or rate each location based on one or more parameters associated with a characteristic of the battery charge services provided by the different MCUs, a characteristic of the timing or scheduling of the battery charge, a characteristic of convenience to the EV user, a characteristic of a travel time or travel distance (of the EV 102 and/or the MCU 104), a characteristic of the rendezvous location, a convenience to EV user, and/or other considerations. However, one constraint may be that the rendezvous location to be selected is to be a distance from the current location of the EV 102 that is less than the remaining expected range of the EV 102. Otherwise, the EV 102 may not be able to reach the rendezvous location. The amount that the distance to the rendezvous location is less than the remaining expected range may correspond to a safety factor.”
Schaffer does not disclose: […plurality] of homes […].
However, Logvinov teaches: […plurality] of homes […]. See again [Logvinov, pg. 23, paras 0112-0113], which further explains determining the power charging schedules for an electric vehicle, where the system transmits a request for available charging apparatuses at houses within a predetermined radius of the electric vehicle and [Logvinov, pg. 26, para 0123], which further explains that a power charging schedule is determined for the microgrid, including municipal charging services and charging apparatuses at a house, by matching an electric vehicle to a charging spot such as a spot with a private homeowner, where the homeowner rents their charging apparatus while they are not home.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Schaffer with Logvinov to use homes for charging electric vehicles. Doing so supports the increasing requirement for charging electric vehicles which places a higher demand on power grids [Logvinov, pg. 1, para 0003] and requires a balanced and efficient system [Logvinov, pg. 4, para 0010]. An electric vehicle must know when and where to travel to satisfy the schedule, where the schedule is based on an optimization of the energy and power information [Logvinov, pg. 22, para 0104], including time, price, and availability. Which can further include a total demand ensuring a load is not exceeding a capability at a house or a capability of the infrastructure [Logvinov, pg. 19, paras 0092-0093], satisfying the safety conditions for charging [Logvinov, pg. 21, paras 0100-0101], times when a homeowner will not be using the charger [Logvinov, see above], time of day, time of the week, and season of the year [Logvinov, pg. 22, para 0104]. Further, utilizing homes allows the homeowner to use surplus energy and charge at competitive or premium pricing, such as using a market auction [Logvinov, pgs. 26-27, paras 0123-0125].
Regarding Claim 4, Schaffer as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 3.
Shaffer further discloses: wherein the factors for each respective home of the plurality […] comprise at least one of a distance between the electric vehicle and the respective […], charging equipment of the respective […], neighborhood of the respective […], ease of access to the respective […], or whether the respective […] is located along a route of the electric vehicle. See [Schaffer, pg. 2, para 0019], which explains that charging units are identified along the expected travel route, “In the less common circumstances where an EV user intends to travel a distance greater than the maximum driving range of the vehicle (e.g., greater than 50 miles), one or more rendezvous locations with multiple MCUs at different points along the expected travel route of the EV can be arranged.” See again [Schaffer, pg. 5, para 0040], which explains that the system ranks charging units based on various factors, including convenience to the user or distance, also [Schaffer, pg. 5, para 0041], equipment such as the charging unit connector type, “In some examples, the rendezvous selection system 124 may rank different rendezvous locations based on one or more battery charge service characteristics. Battery charge service characteristics correspond to the services provided by the responding MCU 104 (as compared with other MCUs). For example, different MCUs 104 may have different types of electrical connectors. Additionally or alternatively, different MCUs 104 may provide different charging rates (e.g., speed of delivery of a battery charge),” and [Schaffer, pg. 6, para 0046] the area, or the safety of the area, or neighborhood, “In some examples, the rendezvous selection system 124 may rank different rendezvous locations based on one or more battery charge location characteristics. Battery charge location characteristics correspond to characteristics of the particular location identified for the battery charge. For example, different rendezvous locations may be ranked based on their safety. More particularly, in some examples, the safety of a location may be based on an analysis of the immediate surroundings of the location (e.g., being in a parking lot versus being on the side of a busy road). Additionally or alternatively, in some examples, the safety of a location may be based on information corresponding to the general area of the possible rendezvous location (e.g., crime statistics for the area). Further, whether analyzed with respect to safety or more generally, locations may be ranked based on an analysis of the type of neighborhood (e.g., residential, commercial, industrial, etc.) and/or the types of amenities and/or activities offered nearby (e.g., shopping malls/stores, restaurants, gas stations, etc.). Further, in some examples, location rankings are based on prior user ratings of the locations.”
Schaffer does not disclose: […plurality] of homes [… the respective] home […].
However, Logvinov teaches: […plurality] of homes [… the respective] home […]. See again [Logvinov, pg. 23, paras 0112-0113], which further explains determining the power charging schedules for an electric vehicle, where the system transmits a request for available charging apparatuses at houses within a predetermined radius of the electric vehicle and [Logvinov, pg. 26, para 0123], which further explains that a power charging schedule is determined for the microgrid, including municipal charging services and charging apparatuses at a house, by matching an electric vehicle to a charging spot such as a spot with a private homeowner, where the homeowner rents their charging apparatus while they are not home.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Schaffer with Logvinov to use homes for charging electric vehicles. Doing so supports the increasing requirement for charging electric vehicles which places a higher demand on power grids [Logvinov, pg. 1, para 0003] and requires a balanced and efficient system [Logvinov, pg. 4, para 0010]. An electric vehicle must know when and where to travel to satisfy the schedule, where the schedule is based on an optimization of the energy and power information [Logvinov, pg. 22, para 0104], including time, price, and availability. Which can further include a total demand ensuring a load is not exceeding a capability at a house or a capability of the infrastructure [Logvinov, pg. 19, paras 0092-0093], satisfying the safety conditions for charging [Logvinov, pg. 21, paras 0100-0101], times when a homeowner will not be using the charger [Logvinov, see above], time of day, time of the week, and season of the year [Logvinov, pg. 22, para 0104]. Further, utilizing homes allows the homeowner to use surplus energy and charge at competitive or premium pricing, such as using a market auction [Logvinov, pgs. 26-27, paras 0123-0125].
Regarding Claim 5, Schaffer as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 3.
Schaffer further disclose: wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to select the selected [...] further based at least in part upon a rank of the selected […]. See [Schaffer, pg. 7, para 0051], which explains that the system selects a charging unit, or rendezvous location, based on ranking, “In some examples, the rendezvous selection system 124 automatically selects the rendezvous location for the EV 102 and the MCU 104 based on the rankings (e.g., automatically selecting the highest ranked location). In other examples, the rendezvous selection system 124 may present multiple possible rendezvous locations to a user of the EV 102 (e.g., via the user interface 126) for the user to select. In some such examples, the options are presented to the user in an ordered format based on the rankings. In some examples, the different parameters or factors considered in ranking rendezvous locations are given different weightings based on user preferences, thereby affecting the order in which they are presented to the user. In some examples, the rendezvous locations are ordered based on a particular parameter selected by the user (e.g., list closest locations first, list shortest waiting periods first, list least expensive locations first, etc.).”
Schaffer does not disclose: […selected] home […].
However, Logvinov teaches: […selected] home […]. See again [Logvinov, pg. 23, paras 0112-0113], which further explains determining the power charging schedules for an electric vehicle, where the system transmits a request for available charging apparatuses at houses within a predetermined radius of the electric vehicle and [Logvinov, pg. 26, para 0123], which further explains that a power charging schedule is determined for the microgrid, including municipal charging services and charging apparatuses at a house, by matching an electric vehicle to a charging spot such as a spot with a private homeowner, where the homeowner rents their charging apparatus while they are not home.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Schaffer with Logvinov to use homes for charging electric vehicles. Doing so supports the increasing requirement for charging electric vehicles which places a higher demand on power grids [Logvinov, pg. 1, para 0003] and requires a balanced and efficient system [Logvinov, pg. 4, para 0010]. An electric vehicle must know when and where to travel to satisfy the schedule, where the schedule is based on an optimization of the energy and power information [Logvinov, pg. 22, para 0104], including time, price, and availability. Which can further include a total demand ensuring a load is not exceeding a capability at a house or a capability of the infrastructure [Logvinov, pg. 19, paras 0092-0093], satisfying the safety conditions for charging [Logvinov, pg. 21, paras 0100-0101], times when a homeowner will not be using the charger [Logvinov, see above], time of day, time of the week, and season of the year [Logvinov, pg. 22, para 0104]. Further, utilizing homes allows the homeowner to use surplus energy and charge at competitive or premium pricing, such as using a market auction [Logvinov, pgs. 26-27, paras 0123-0125].
Regarding Claim 9, Schaffer discloses: At least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium with instructions stored thereon for managing charging of an electric vehicle, […]. See [Schaffer, pg. 1, paras 0004 and 0006], which describe an apparatus and system for charging an EV that includes a processor and a memory with instructions for receiving and managing requests for charging by the electric vehicle. See also [Schaffer, pg. 12, para 0088], which explains that the system uses a processor and a non-volatile memory, “[0088] The processor 912 of the illustrated example includes a local memory 913 (e.g., a cache). The processor 912 of the illustrated example is in communication with a main memory including a volatile memory 914 and a non-volatile memory 916 via a bus 918. The volatile memory 914 may be implemented by Synchronous Dynamic Random Access Memory (SDRAM), Dynamic Random Access Memory (DRAM), RAMBUS Dynamic Random Access Memory (RDRAM) and/or any other type of random access memory device. The non-volatile memory 916 may be implemented by flash memory and/or any other desired type of memory device. Access to the main memory 914, 916 is controlled by a memory controller.”
Schaffer further discloses: wherein the instructions, in response to execution by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: identify a plurality […] that are within a vicinity of the electric vehicle and are configured to charge electric vehicles; determine availability of the plurality […] to charge the electric vehicle. See again [Schaffer, pg. 1, paras 0004 and 0006] which describe an apparatus and system for charging an EV that includes a processor and a memory with instructions for receiving and managing requests for charging by the electric vehicle. Also see again [Schaffer, pgs. 4, paras 0034-0035], which explain that at least one battery charge rendezvous request is triggered when the expected range is less than the trip distance, where the system identifies charging units along the route within the distances where the electric vehicle will require a charge. Finally see again [Schaffer, pg. 5, para 0039], which explains that the request can be sent to multiple charging units within the vicinity of the electric vehicle and the charging units can share their availability for the system to use to select a rendezvous location, or charging unit.
Schaffer does not disclose: […identify a plurality] of homes […]; [determine availability of the plurality] of homes […]; select a home of the plurality of homes to charge the electric vehicle based at least in part upon the availability of the selected home; schedule a charging time for the electric vehicle at the selected home, wherein the charging time satisfies a home occupancy preference for the selected home, the home occupancy preference being one of the selected home being occupied or unoccupied; and transmit a notification associated with the selected home and the charging time to the electric vehicle.
However, Logvinov teaches: […identify a plurality] of homes […]; [determine availability of the plurality] of homes […]; select a home of the plurality of homes to charge the electric vehicle based at least in part upon the availability of the selected home […]. See again [Logvinov, pg. 17, para 0085], which explains that electric vehicle controller communicates with the controller of charging apparatuses within a network to receive information regarding charger availability. Also see again [Logvinov, pg. 18-19, paras 0091-0094], which explain that the controller of the system and the electric vehicle share information regarding energy and power for determining a charge schedule, including smart meters of houses. Finally see again [Logvinov, pg. 23, paras 0112-0113], which further explains determining the power charging schedules for an electric vehicle, where the system transmits a request for available charging apparatuses at houses within a predetermined radius of the electric vehicle, where the system provides charging instructions including a charging location and time period, or reservation, to the electric vehicle.
Logvinov further teaches: […] schedule a charging time for the electric vehicle at the selected home, wherein the charging time satisfies a home occupancy preference for the selected home, the home occupancy preference being one of the selected home being occupied or unoccupied […]. See again [Logvinov, pg. 26, para 0123], which explain that a power charging schedule is determined for the microgrid, including municipal charging services and charging apparatuses at a house, by matching an electric vehicle to a charging spot such as a spot with a private homeowner, where the homeowner rents their charging apparatus while they are not home. Also see again [Logvinov, pg. 29, para 0134], which explains that the power charging schedule includes times and prices. Finally see again [Logvinov, pgs. 19-20, paras 0095-0096], which further explains that the controller of the system receives charging requests from electric vehicles, including preferences, amount of required energy, or a driving route, and information from the grid including occupancy of a private home and usage or availability of the home’s charging apparatus.
Logvinov further teaches: […] and transmit a notification associated with the selected home and the charging time to the electric vehicle. See again [Logvinov, pg. 23, paras 0112-0113], which further explains determining the power charging schedules for an electric vehicle, where the system transmits a request for available charging apparatuses at houses within a predetermined radius of the electric vehicle, where the system provides charging instructions including a charging location and time period, or reservation, to the electric vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Schaffer with Logvinov to use homes to schedule a charging time, based on home occupancy and transmit a notification to the electric vehicle. Doing so supports the increasing requirement for charging electric vehicles which places a higher demand on power grids [Logvinov, pg. 1, para 0003] and requires a balanced and efficient system [Logvinov, pg. 4, para 0010]. An electric vehicle must know when and where to travel to satisfy the schedule, where the schedule is based on an optimization of the energy and power information [Logvinov, pg. 22, para 0104], including time, price, and availability. Which can further include a total demand ensuring a load is not exceeding a capability at a house or a capability of the infrastructure [Logvinov, pg. 19, paras 0092-0093], satisfying the safety conditions for charging [Logvinov, pg. 21, paras 0100-0101], times when a homeowner will not be using the charger [Logvinov, see above], time of day, time of the week, and season of the year [Logvinov, pg. 22, para 0104]. Further, utilizing homes allows the homeowner to use surplus energy and charge at competitive or premium pricing, such as using a market auction [Logvinov, pgs. 26-27, paras 0123-0125].
Regarding Claim 10, Schaffer as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 9.
Schaffer further discloses: wherein the vicinity comprises a predefined distance. See again [Schaffer, pgs. 4, paras 0034-0035], which explain that at least one battery charge rendezvous request is triggered when the expected range is less than the trip distance, where the system identifies charging units along the route within the distances where the electric vehicle will require a charge. Also see again [Schaffer, pg. 3, paras 0027-0028], which further explains that the system compares a remaining trip distance and the expected range of the electric vehicle to determine a ratio or difference for triggering a request for charging, [Schaffer, pg. 5, para 0040], where the charging units are selected within a distance determined by a remaining expected range, or [Schaffer, pg. 6, para 0047] a preselected threshold distance.
Regarding Claim 11, Schaffer as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 9.
Schaffer further discloses: wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to rank the plurality […] based upon a plurality of factors. See again [Schaffer, pg. 5, para 0040], which explains that the system ranks charging units based on various factors, including convenience to the user or distance.
Schaffer does not disclose: […plurality] of homes […].
However, Logvinov teaches: […plurality] of homes […]. See again [Logvinov, pg. 23, paras 0112-0113], which further explains determining the power charging schedules for an electric vehicle, where the system transmits a request for available charging apparatuses at houses within a predetermined radius of the electric vehicle and [Logvinov, pg. 26, para 0123], which further explains that a power charging schedule is determined for the microgrid, including municipal charging services and charging apparatuses at a house, by matching an electric vehicle to a charging spot such as a spot with a private homeowner, where the homeowner rents their charging apparatus while they are not home.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Schaffer with Logvinov to use homes for charging electric vehicles. Doing so supports the increasing requirement for charging electric vehicles which places a higher demand on power grids [Logvinov, pg. 1, para 0003] and requires a balanced and efficient system [Logvinov, pg. 4, para 0010]. An electric vehicle must know when and where to travel to satisfy the schedule, where the schedule is based on an optimization of the energy and power information [Logvinov, pg. 22, para 0104], including time, price, and availability. Which can further include a total demand ensuring a load is not exceeding a capability at a house or a capability of the infrastructure [Logvinov, pg. 19, paras 0092-0093], satisfying the safety conditions for charging [Logvinov, pg. 21, paras 0100-0101], times when a homeowner will not be using the charger [Logvinov, see above], time of day, time of the week, and season of the year [Logvinov, pg. 22, para 0104]. Further, utilizing homes allows the homeowner to use surplus energy and charge at competitive or premium pricing, such as using a market auction [Logvinov, pgs. 26-27, paras 0123-0125].
Regarding Claim 12, Schaffer as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 11.
Schaffer further discloses: wherein the factors for each respective home of the plurality […] comprise at least one of a distance between the electric vehicle and the respective […], charging equipment of the respective […], neighborhood of the respective […], ease of access to the respective […], or whether the respective […] is located along a route of the electric vehicle. See again [Schaffer, pg. 2, para 0019], which explains that charging units are identified along the expected travel route. Also see again [Schaffer, pg. 5, para 0040], which explains that the system ranks charging units based on various factors, including convenience to the user or distance, also [Schaffer, pg. 5, para 0041], equipment such as the charging unit connector type, and [Schaffer, pg. 6, para 0046] the area, or the safety of the area, or neighborhood.
Schaffer does not disclose: […plurality] of homes [… the respective] home […].
However, Logvinov teaches: […plurality] of homes [… the respective] home […]. See again [Logvinov, pg. 23, paras 0112-0113], which further explains determining the power charging schedules for an electric vehicle, where the system transmits a request for available charging apparatuses at houses within a predetermined radius of the electric vehicle and [Logvinov, pg. 26, para 0123], which further explains that a power charging schedule is determined for the microgrid, including municipal charging services and charging apparatuses at a house, by matching an electric vehicle to a charging spot such as a spot with a private homeowner, where the homeowner rents their charging apparatus while they are not home.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Schaffer with Logvinov to use homes for charging electric vehicles. Doing so supports the increasing requirement for charging electric vehicles which places a higher demand on power grids [Logvinov, pg. 1, para 0003] and requires a balanced and efficient system [Logvinov, pg. 4, para 0010]. An electric vehicle must know when and where to travel to satisfy the schedule, where the schedule is based on an optimization of the energy and power information [Logvinov, pg. 22, para 0104], including time, price, and availability. Which can further include a total demand ensuring a load is not exceeding a capability at a house or a capability of the infrastructure [Logvinov, pg. 19, paras 0092-0093], satisfying the safety conditions for charging [Logvinov, pg. 21, paras 0100-0101], times when a homeowner will not be using the charger [Logvinov, see above], time of day, time of the week, and season of the year [Logvinov, pg. 22, para 0104]. Further, utilizing homes allows the homeowner to use surplus energy and charge at competitive or premium pricing, such as using a market auction [Logvinov, pgs. 26-27, paras 0123-0125].
Regarding Claim 13, Schaffer as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 11.
Schaffer further disclose: wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to select the selected home further based at least in part upon a rank of the selected home. See again [Schaffer, pg. 7, para 0051], which explains that the system selects a charging unit, or rendezvous location, based on ranking.
Regarding Claim 17, Schaffer further discloses: A computer-implemented method for managing charging of an electric vehicle, the computer-implemented method implemented by at least one processor in communication with at least one memory […]. See [Schaffer, Abstract], which describes “Methods and apparatus to charge electric vehicles,” and again [Schaffer, pg. 1, paras 0004 and 0006], which describe the apparatus and a system for charging an EV that includes a processor and a memory with instructions for receiving and managing requests for charging by the electric vehicle.
Schaffer further discloses: […] the computer-implemented method comprising: identifying a plurality […] that are within a vicinity of the electric vehicle and are configured to charge electric vehicles; determining availability of the plurality […] to charge the electric vehicle. See again [Schaffer, pg. 1, paras 0004 and 0006] which describe an apparatus and system for charging an EV that includes a processor and a memory with instructions for receiving and managing requests for charging by the electric vehicle. Also see again [Schaffer, pgs. 4, paras 0034-0035], which explain that at least one battery charge rendezvous request is triggered when the expected range is less than the trip distance, where the system identifies charging units along the route within the distances where the electric vehicle will require a charge. Finally see again [Schaffer, pg. 5, para 0039], which explains that the request can be sent to multiple charging units within the vicinity of the electric vehicle and the charging units can share their availability for the system to use to select a rendezvous location, or charging unit.
Schaffer does not disclose: […identifying a plurality] of homes […]; [determining availability of the plurality] of homes […]; selecting a home of the plurality of homes to charge the electric vehicle based at least in part upon the availability of the selected home; scheduling a charging time for the electric vehicle at the selected home, wherein the charging time satisfies a home occupancy preference for the selected home, the home occupancy preference being one of the selected home being occupied or unoccupied; and transmitting a notification associated with the selected home and the charging time to the electric vehicle.
However, Logvinov teaches: […identifying a plurality] of homes […]; [determining availability of the plurality] of homes […]; selecting a home of the plurality of homes to charge the electric vehicle based at least in part upon the availability of the selected home […]. See again [Logvinov, pg. 17, para 0085], which explains that electric vehicle controller communicates with the controller of charging apparatuses within a network to receive information regarding charger availability. Also see again [Logvinov, pg. 18-19, paras 0091-0094], which explain that the controller of the system and the electric vehicle share information regarding energy and power for determining a charge schedule, including smart meters of houses. Finally see again [Logvinov, pg. 23, paras 0112-0113], which further explains determining the power charging schedules for an electric vehicle, where the system transmits a request for available charging apparatuses at houses within a predetermined radius of the electric vehicle, where the system provides charging instructions including a charging location and time period, or reservation, to the electric vehicle.
Logvinov further teaches: […] scheduling a charging time for the electric vehicle at the selected home, wherein the charging time satisfies a home occupancy preference for the selected home, the home occupancy preference being one of the selected home being occupied or unoccupied […]. See again [Logvinov, pg. 26, para 0123], which explain that a power charging schedule is determined for the microgrid, including municipal charging services and charging apparatuses at a house, by matching an electric vehicle to a charging spot such as a spot with a private homeowner, where the homeowner rents their charging apparatus while they are not home. Also see again [Logvinov, pg. 29, para 0134], which explains that the power charging schedule includes times and prices. Finally see again [Logvinov, pgs. 19-20, paras 0095-0096], which further explains that the controller of the system receives charging requests from electric vehicles, including preferences, amount of required energy, or a driving route, and information from the grid including occupancy of a private home and usage or availability of the home’s charging apparatus.
Logvinov further teaches: […] and transmitting a notification associated with the selected home and the charging time to the electric vehicle. See again [Logvinov, pg. 23, paras 0112-0113], which further explains determining the power charging schedules for an electric vehicle, where the system transmits a request for available charging apparatuses at houses within a predetermined radius of the electric vehicle, where the system provides charging instructions including a charging location and time period, or reservation, to the electric vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Schaffer with Logvinov to use homes to schedule a charging time, based on home occupancy and transmit a notification to the electric vehicle. Doing so supports the increasing requirement for charging electric vehicles which places a higher demand on power grids [Logvinov, pg. 1, para 0003] and requires a balanced and efficient system [Logvinov, pg. 4, para 0010]. An electric vehicle must know when and where to travel to satisfy the schedule, where the schedule is based on an optimization of the energy and power information [Logvinov, pg. 22, para 0104], including time, price, and availability. Which can further include a total demand ensuring a load is not exceeding a capability at a house or a capability of the infrastructure [Logvinov, pg. 19, paras 0092-0093], satisfying the safety conditions for charging [Logvinov, pg. 21, paras 0100-0101], times when a homeowner will not be using the charger [Logvinov, see above], time of day, time of the week, and season of the year [Logvinov, pg. 22, para 0104]. Further, utilizing homes allows the homeowner to use surplus energy and charge at competitive or premium pricing, such as using a market auction [Logvinov, pgs. 26-27, paras 0123-0125].
Regarding Claim 18, Schaffer as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 17.
Schaffer further disclose: wherein the vicinity comprises a predefined distance. See again [Schaffer, pgs. 4, paras 0034-0035], which explain that at least one battery charge rendezvous request is triggered when the expected range is less than the trip distance, where the system identifies charging units along the route within the distances where the electric vehicle will require a charge. Also see again [Schaffer, pg. 3, paras 0027-0028], which further explains that the system compares a remaining trip distance and the expected range of the electric vehicle to determine a ratio or difference for triggering a request for charging, [Schaffer, pg. 5, para 0040], where the charging units are selected within a distance determined by a remaining expected range, or [Schaffer, pg. 6, para 0047] a preselected threshold distance.
Regarding Claim 19, Schaffer as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 17.
Schaffer further discloses: ranking the plurality […] based upon a plurality of factors, the plurality of factors for each respective home of the plurality [….] including at least one of a distance between the electric vehicle and the respective […], charging equipment of the respective […], neighborhood of the respective […], ease of access to the respective […], or whether the respective […] is located along a route of the electric vehicle. See again [Schaffer, pg. 5, para 0040], which explains that the system ranks charging units based on various factors, including convenience to the user or distance, also [Schaffer, pg. 5, para 0041], equipment such as the charging unit connector type, and [Schaffer, pg. 6, para 0046] the area, or the safety of the area, or neighborhood. Also see again [Schaffer, pg. 2, para 0019], which explains that charging units are identified along the expected travel route.
Schaffer does not disclose: […plurality] of homes [… the respective] home […].
However, Logvinov teaches: […plurality] of homes [… the respective] home […]. See again [Logvinov, pg. 23, paras 0112-0113], which further explains determining the power charging schedules for an electric vehicle, where the system transmits a request for available charging apparatuses at houses within a predetermined radius of the electric vehicle and [Logvinov, pg. 26, para 0123], which further explains that a power charging schedule is determined for the microgrid, including municipal charging services and charging apparatuses at a house, by matching an electric vehicle to a charging spot such as a spot with a private homeowner, where the homeowner rents their charging apparatus while they are not home.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Schaffer with Logvinov to use homes for charging electric vehicles. Doing so supports the increasing requirement for charging electric vehicles which places a higher demand on power grids [Logvinov, pg. 1, para 0003] and requires a balanced and efficient system [Logvinov, pg. 4, para 0010]. An electric vehicle must know when and where to travel to satisfy the schedule, where the schedule is based on an optimization of the energy and power information [Logvinov, pg. 22, para 0104], including time, price, and availability. Which can further include a total demand ensuring a load is not exceeding a capability at a house or a capability of the infrastructure [Logvinov, pg. 19, paras 0092-0093], satisfying the safety conditions for charging [Logvinov, pg. 21, paras 0100-0101], times when a homeowner will not be using the charger [Logvinov, see above], time of day, time of the week, and season of the year [Logvinov, pg. 22, para 0104]. Further, utilizing homes allows the homeowner to use surplus energy and charge at competitive or premium pricing, such as using a market auction [Logvinov, pgs. 26-27, paras 0123-0125].
Claims 6-7, 14-15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaffer in view of Logvinov, and further in view of Hansen et al., PG Pub US-2017/0299402-A1 (herein "Hansen").
Regarding Claim 6, Schaffer as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 1.
Schaffer does not disclose: wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to: generate route information from a location of the electric vehicle to the selected home; and cause the route information to be transmitted to the electric vehicle.
However, Hansen teaches: wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to: generate route information from a location of the electric vehicle to the selected […]; and cause the route information to be transmitted to the electric vehicle. See [Hansen, pg. 4, para 0044], which explains that the vehicle includes a telematics unit and display for alerting the user of a notification including waypoints, or POIs, added along a trip, “The vehicle 102 is equipped with suitable hardware and software that configures/adapts the vehicle 102 to facilitate communications with the communications center 108 via mobile wireless communications. The vehicle 102 includes hardware 110 such as, for example, a telematics unit 114, a microphone 116, a speaker 118, a graphical display device 117 including touchscreen interface functionality, and buttons and/or controls 120 integrated with the telematics unit 114. In a warning mode of operation of the telematics unit 114, the speaker 118 is used, for example, to issue an audible warning/alert to a user when a notification is received from the communications center 108, via the communications system 100, regarding any particular aspect of a currently registered waypoint or potential POI along a current trip. Such use of a speaker to issue notifications can potentially reduce the need for a driver to view a display to obtain warnings/alerts relating to actual/potential waypoints on a current trip.” See also [Hansen, pg. 12, para 0100], which explains that the display includes a set of waypoints and a route and updates the display according to selected waypoints, “A waypoint display module 290 is configured to provide a description of a currently configured set of waypoints, on an identified trip, to an identified vehicle for presentation to vehicle occupants. […]. Such information includes: a list of currently scheduled waypoints on the identified trip (with times provided by the scheduling module 280) and a list of currently proposed POIs (provided by the proposed POI module 270). The waypoint display module associates each currently scheduled waypoint with a map coordinate for rendering on a graphical display output depicting a map including: (1) a trip route that passes through all scheduled waypoints and (2) a set of nodes corresponding to each one of the currently scheduled waypoints. […]. In an exemplary embodiment, operation of the waypoint display module 290 is triggered in response to receiving a notification of a trip schedule update event corresponding to the update of the particular trip record in the POI database and query engine 109 by the waypoint scheduling module 280 as a result of selection of one or more proposed POIs. The waypoint display module 290 is also configured to provide for local presentation (audio and/or visual output) alert messages and any other notifications relating to scheduled waypoints, including displaying information relating to an approaching waypoint contained in or relating to a corresponding waypoint record (see e.g., FIG. 3E).” See also [Hansen, pg. 3, para 0033], which explains that proposed POI can be manually selected by the user or automatically selected by the system, and an updated route is calculated, “Upon sensing a selection of a presented individual proposed POI, by a user or by automated selection by POI selection logic in accordance with configured user preferences/historical behaviors, the system schedules/calculates an updated route, including estimated time(s) of arrival at designated points along a route to a specified destination—[…].” See also [Hansen, pgs. 18-19, para 0153], which explains that the waypoint module completes the processing and sends it to the vehicle telematics unit, which renders it for display, “During 810, the waypoint display module 290 associates each currently scheduled waypoint with a map coordinate for rendering on a graphical display output depicting a map including: (1) a trip route that passes through all scheduled waypoints and (2) a set of nodes corresponding to each one of the currently scheduled waypoints. During 820, the waypoint display module 290 generates proposed POI overlays based upon the proposed POI 426 listings associated with the identified trip. Thereafter, during 830, the waypoint display module 290 initiates transfer of the updated display definition to the vehicle associated with the identified trip. The resulting display definition is processed by the telematics unit and rendered on the touchscreen display 117.” Finally see [Hansen, pg. 3, para 0038], which explains that the waypoints, or POI, include recharging stations, “The system is also configured to prompt a user to enter and/or confirm (in the case of automatically generated waypoint selections added to a trip without previous presentation as a proposed POI) certain necessary/desirable waypoint types. Such waypoint types include: refuel/recharge stations (gas/electricity), food, rest (coffee/fresh air), attractions/entertainment venues, and lodging. Moreover, the set of types of waypoint prompts can be driven by the length of the trip, the vehicle occupants, the time of day, etc. The type of prompt can also be driven by currently sensed conditions,” [Hansen, pg. 17, para 0139] which can be reserved by the scheduler, “By way of background, in association with adding the new POI to the identified trip, the proposed POI module 270 (or alternatively the scheduler module 299) determines whether any messaging is needed with the selected POI to register an order/reservation in association with the selected proposed POI (e.g. a food/coffee order, reserve a recharging station for an electrically powered vehicle, etc.). If such messaging is needed to register the order, then the scheduler 299 (in response to an indication of such need by the proposed POI module 270) invokes the waypoint provider message module 295 to carry out the desired/required messaging on behalf of the vehicle occupant(s) that selected the proposed POI—optionally further responding to the proposed POI module 270 with a particular order/reservation request.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Schaffer with Hansen to include updating the travel route and providing it to the vehicle occupants. Doing so minimizes the amount a user is distracted by interacting with the display by producing alerts, such as audible alerts [Hansen, pg. 4, para 0044] and doing so automatically according to the preferences of the occupants and status of the vehicle [Hansen, pgs. 6-7, paras 0064-0065].
However, Logvinov teaches: [… selected] home […]. See again [Logvinov, pg. 23, paras 0112-0113], which further explains determining the power charging schedules for an electric vehicle, where the system transmits a request for available charging apparatuses at houses within a predetermined radius of the electric vehicle and [Logvinov, pg. 26, para 0123], which further explains that a power charging schedule is determined for the microgrid, including municipal charging services and charging apparatuses at a house, by matching an electric vehicle to a charging spot such as a spot with a private homeowner, where the homeowner rents their charging apparatus while they are not home.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Schaffer with Logvinov to use homes for charging electric vehicles. Doing so supports the increasing requirement for charging electric vehicles which places a higher demand on power grids [Logvinov, pg. 1, para 0003] and requires a balanced and efficient system [Logvinov, pg. 4, para 0010]. An electric vehicle must know when and where to travel to satisfy the schedule, where the schedule is based on an optimization of the energy and power information [Logvinov, pg. 22, para 0104], including time, price, and availability. Which can further include a total demand ensuring a load is not exceeding a capability at a house or a capability of the infrastructure [Logvinov, pg. 19, paras 0092-0093], satisfying the safety conditions for charging [Logvinov, pg. 21, paras 0100-0101], times when a homeowner will not be using the charger [Logvinov, see above], time of day, time of the week, and season of the year [Logvinov, pg. 22, para 0104]. Further, utilizing homes allows the homeowner to use surplus energy and charge at competitive or premium pricing, such as using a market auction [Logvinov, pgs. 26-27, paras 0123-0125].
Regarding Claim 7, Schaffer as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 6.
Schaffer does not disclose: wherein the route information is included in the notification.
However, Hansen teaches: wherein the route information is included in the notification. See again [Hansen, pg. 4, para 0044], which explains that the vehicle includes a telematics unit and display for alerting the user of a notification including waypoints, or POIs, added along a trip. Also see again [Hansen, pg. 3, para 0033], which explains that proposed POI can be manually selected by the user or automatically selected by the system, and an updated route is calculated and [Hansen, pgs. 18-19, para 0153], which explains that the waypoint module completes the processing and sends it to the vehicle telematics unit, which renders it for display. Finally see again [Hansen, pg. 3, para 0038], which explains that the waypoints, or POI, include recharging stations, [Hansen, pg. 17, para 0139] which can be reserved by the scheduler.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Schaffer with Hansen to include updating the travel route and providing it to the vehicle occupants. Doing so minimizes the amount a user is distracted by interacting with the display by producing alerts, such as audible alerts [Hansen, pg. 4, para 0044] and doing so automatically according to the preferences of the occupants and status of the vehicle [Hansen, pgs. 6-7, paras 0064-0065].
Regarding Claim 14, Schaffer as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 9.
Schaffer does not disclose: wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to: generate route information from a location of the electric vehicle to the selected home; and cause the route information to be transmitted to the electric vehicle.
However, Hansen teaches: wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to: generate route information from a location of the electric vehicle to the selected […]; and cause the route information to be transmitted to the electric vehicle. See again [Hansen, pg. 4, para 0044], which explains that the vehicle includes a telematics unit and display for alerting the user of a notification including waypoints, or POIs, added along a trip. Also see again [Hansen, pg. 3, para 0033], which explains that proposed POI can be manually selected by the user or automatically selected by the system, and an updated route is calculated. Also see again [Hansen, pgs. 18-19, para 0153], which explains that the waypoint module completes the processing and sends it to the vehicle telematics unit, which renders it for display. Finally see again [Hansen, pg. 3, para 0038], which explains that the waypoints, or POI, include recharging stations, [Hansen, pg. 17, para 0139] which can be reserved by the scheduler.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Schaffer with Hansen to include updating the travel route and providing it to the vehicle occupants. Doing so minimizes the amount a user is distracted by interacting with the display by producing alerts, such as audible alerts [Hansen, pg. 4, para 0044] and doing so automatically according to the preferences of the occupants and status of the vehicle [Hansen, pgs. 6-7, paras 0064-0065].
However, Logvinov teaches: [… selected] home […]. See again [Logvinov, pg. 23, paras 0112-0113], which further explains determining the power charging schedules for an electric vehicle, where the system transmits a request for available charging apparatuses at houses within a predetermined radius of the electric vehicle and [Logvinov, pg. 26, para 0123], which further explains that a power charging schedule is determined for the microgrid, including municipal charging services and charging apparatuses at a house, by matching an electric vehicle to a charging spot such as a spot with a private homeowner, where the homeowner rents their charging apparatus while they are not home.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Schaffer with Logvinov to use homes for charging electric vehicles. Doing so supports the increasing requirement for charging electric vehicles which places a higher demand on power grids [Logvinov, pg. 1, para 0003] and requires a balanced and efficient system [Logvinov, pg. 4, para 0010]. An electric vehicle must know when and where to travel to satisfy the schedule, where the schedule is based on an optimization of the energy and power information [Logvinov, pg. 22, para 0104], including time, price, and availability. Which can further include a total demand ensuring a load is not exceeding a capability at a house or a capability of the infrastructure [Logvinov, pg. 19, paras 0092-0093], satisfying the safety conditions for charging [Logvinov, pg. 21, paras 0100-0101], times when a homeowner will not be using the charger [Logvinov, see above], time of day, time of the week, and season of the year [Logvinov, pg. 22, para 0104]. Further, utilizing homes allows the homeowner to use surplus energy and charge at competitive or premium pricing, such as using a market auction [Logvinov, pgs. 26-27, paras 0123-0125].
Regarding Claim 15, Schaffer as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 14.
Schaffer does not disclose: wherein the route information is included in the notification.
However, Hansen teaches: wherein the route information is included in the notification. See again [Hansen, pg. 4, para 0044], which explains that the vehicle includes a telematics unit and display for alerting the user of a notification including waypoints, or POIs, added along a trip. Also see again [Hansen, pg. 3, para 0033], which explains that proposed POI can be manually selected by the user or automatically selected by the system, and an updated route is calculated and [Hansen, pgs. 18-19, para 0153], which explains that the waypoint module completes the processing and sends it to the vehicle telematics unit, which renders it for display. Finally see again [Hansen, pg. 3, para 0038], which explains that the waypoints, or POI, include recharging stations, [Hansen, pg. 17, para 0139] which can be reserved by the scheduler.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Schaffer with Hansen to include updating the travel route and providing it to the vehicle occupants. Doing so minimizes the amount a user is distracted by interacting with the display by producing alerts, such as audible alerts [Hansen, pg. 4, para 0044] and doing so automatically according to the preferences of the occupants and status of the vehicle [Hansen, pgs. 6-7, paras 0064-0065].
Regarding Claim 20, Schaffer as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 17.
Schaffer does not disclose: generating route information from a location of the electric vehicle to the selected home; and including the route information in the notification.
However, Hansen teaches: generating route information from a location of the electric vehicle to the selected […]; and including the route information in the notification. See again [Hansen, pg. 4, para 0044], which explains that the vehicle includes a telematics unit and display for alerting the user of a notification including waypoints, or POIs, added along a trip. Also see again [Hansen, pg. 3, para 0033], which explains that proposed POI can be manually selected by the user or automatically selected by the system, and an updated route is calculated. Also see again [Hansen, pgs. 18-19, para 0153], which explains that the waypoint module completes the processing and sends it to the vehicle telematics unit, which renders it for display. Finally see again [Hansen, pg. 3, para 0038], which explains that the waypoints, or POI, include recharging stations, [Hansen, pg. 17, para 0139] which can be reserved by the scheduler.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Schaffer with Hansen to include updating the travel route and providing it to the vehicle occupants. Doing so minimizes the amount a user is distracted by interacting with the display by producing alerts, such as audible alerts [Hansen, pg. 4, para 0044] and doing so automatically according to the preferences of the occupants and status of the vehicle [Hansen, pgs. 6-7, paras 0064-0065].
However, Logvinov teaches: [… selected] home […]. See again [Logvinov, pg. 23, paras 0112-0113], which further explains determining the power charging schedules for an electric vehicle, where the system transmits a request for available charging apparatuses at houses within a predetermined radius of the electric vehicle and [Logvinov, pg. 26, para 0123], which further explains that a power charging schedule is determined for the microgrid, including municipal charging services and charging apparatuses at a house, by matching an electric vehicle to a charging spot such as a spot with a private homeowner, where the homeowner rents their charging apparatus while they are not home.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Schaffer with Logvinov to use homes for charging electric vehicles. Doing so supports the increasing requirement for charging electric vehicles which places a higher demand on power grids [Logvinov, pg. 1, para 0003] and requires a balanced and efficient system [Logvinov, pg. 4, para 0010]. An electric vehicle must know when and where to travel to satisfy the schedule, where the schedule is based on an optimization of the energy and power information [Logvinov, pg. 22, para 0104], including time, price, and availability. Which can further include a total demand ensuring a load is not exceeding a capability at a house or a capability of the infrastructure [Logvinov, pg. 19, paras 0092-0093], satisfying the safety conditions for charging [Logvinov, pg. 21, paras 0100-0101], times when a homeowner will not be using the charger [Logvinov, see above], time of day, time of the week, and season of the year [Logvinov, pg. 22, para 0104]. Further, utilizing homes allows the homeowner to use surplus energy and charge at competitive or premium pricing, such as using a market auction [Logvinov, pgs. 26-27, paras 0123-0125].
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaffer in view of Logvinov and Hansen, and further in view of Miller et al., PG Pub US-2017/0168493-A1 (herein "Miller").
Regarding Claim 8, Schaffer as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 6.
Schaffer does not disclose: wherein the electric vehicle is an autonomous vehicle, and wherein the notification causes the electric vehicle to route to the selected home.
However, Miller teaches: wherein the electric vehicle is an autonomous vehicle, and wherein the notification causes the electric vehicle to route to the selected […]. See [Miller, pg. 2, para 0034], which explains that an electric vehicle can be autonomous, used for transporting passengers or cargo, and follow a route generated to include charging stations, “Vehicles can either be autonomous or user-governed. An autonomous vehicle may automatically transport cargo or passengers to a desired location. A preprogrammed or programmed on-the-fly destination is entered, and the autonomous vehicle follows a generated route. Similarly, a user-governed vehicle may also obtain preprogrammed or on-the-fly destination routing. Either vehicle may require recharging of the battery while on the route. A global position system (GPS) may be used to determine the location of the vehicle. A plurality of proximate charging stations can be generated based on distance from the route and convenience,” [Miller, pgs. 4-5, para 0055] where the charging stations are selected based on requirements, such as projected remaining charge, historical preference or chargers en route, and associated ratings, “Referring to FIG. 4, a map 400 of a route is shown. A vehicle 402 is depicted. A vehicle 402 has recently left a daily work location 404. […]. If a projected battery state of charge after reaching a “Daily Location” such as the daily home 406 is less than 5%, then the vehicle 402 can suggest using historical charge stations 408, 410 or on-route charge stations 412, 414. […]. Secondary ratings can be safety, activity, or utility rating. […]. All of these categorical decisions are applicable to either a self-governed vehicle or an autonomous vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Schaffer with Miller to include an autonomous vehicle that routes to the selected charger. Doing so accounts for vehicles which may not be manually operated and used for transporting passengers, or cargo [Miller, pg. 2, para 0034], in which case an autonomous vehicle may have reduced requirements, such as reduced safety requirements that allows it to access and automatically route to more charging stations in line with the vehicle requirements such as state of charge [Miller, pgs. 3-4, para 0050].
However, Logvinov teaches: [… selected] home. See again [Logvinov, pg. 23, paras 0112-0113], which further explains determining the power charging schedules for an electric vehicle, where the system transmits a request for available charging apparatuses at houses within a predetermined radius of the electric vehicle and [Logvinov, pg. 26, para 0123], which further explains that a power charging schedule is determined for the microgrid, including municipal charging services and charging apparatuses at a house, by matching an electric vehicle to a charging spot such as a spot with a private homeowner, where the homeowner rents their charging apparatus while they are not home.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Schaffer with Logvinov to use homes for charging electric vehicles. Doing so supports the increasing requirement for charging electric vehicles which places a higher demand on power grids [Logvinov, pg. 1, para 0003] and requires a balanced and efficient system [Logvinov, pg. 4, para 0010]. An electric vehicle must know when and where to travel to satisfy the schedule, where the schedule is based on an optimization of the energy and power information [Logvinov, pg. 22, para 0104], including time, price, and availability. Which can further include a total demand ensuring a load is not exceeding a capability at a house or a capability of the infrastructure [Logvinov, pg. 19, paras 0092-0093], satisfying the safety conditions for charging [Logvinov, pg. 21, paras 0100-0101], times when a homeowner will not be using the charger [Logvinov, see above], time of day, time of the week, and season of the year [Logvinov, pg. 22, para 0104]. Further, utilizing homes allows the homeowner to use surplus energy and charge at competitive or premium pricing, such as using a market auction [Logvinov, pgs. 26-27, paras 0123-0125].
Regarding Claim 16, Schaffer as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 14.
Schaffer does not disclose: wherein the electric vehicle is an autonomous vehicle, and wherein the notification causes the electric vehicle to route to the selected home.
However, Miller teaches: wherein the electric vehicle is an autonomous vehicle, and wherein the notification causes the electric vehicle to route to the selected […]. See [Miller, pg. 2, para 0034], which explains that an electric vehicle can be autonomous, used for transporting passengers or cargo, and follow a route generated to include charging stations, [Miller, pgs. 4-5, para 0055] where the charging stations are selected based on requirements, such as projected remaining charge, historical preference or chargers en route, and associated ratings.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Schaffer with Miller to include an autonomous vehicle that routes to the selected charger. Doing so accounts for vehicles which may not be manually operated and used for transporting passengers, or cargo [Miller, pg. 2, para 0034], in which case an autonomous vehicle may have reduced requirements, such as reduced safety requirements that allows it to access and automatically route to more charging stations in line with the vehicle requirements such as state of charge [Miller, pgs. 3-4, para 0050].
However, Logvinov teaches: [… selected] home. See again [Logvinov, pg. 23, paras 0112-0113], which further explains determining the power charging schedules for an electric vehicle, where the system transmits a request for available charging apparatuses at houses within a predetermined radius of the electric vehicle and [Logvinov, pg. 26, para 0123], which further explains that a power charging schedule is determined for the microgrid, including municipal charging services and charging apparatuses at a house, by matching an electric vehicle to a charging spot such as a spot with a private homeowner, where the homeowner rents their charging apparatus while they are not home.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Schaffer with Logvinov to use homes for charging electric vehicles. Doing so supports the increasing requirement for charging electric vehicles which places a higher demand on power grids [Logvinov, pg. 1, para 0003] and requires a balanced and efficient system [Logvinov, pg. 4, para 0010]. An electric vehicle must know when and where to travel to satisfy the schedule, where the schedule is based on an optimization of the energy and power information [Logvinov, pg. 22, para 0104], including time, price, and availability. Which can further include a total demand ensuring a load is not exceeding a capability at a house or a capability of the infrastructure [Logvinov, pg. 19, paras 0092-0093], satisfying the safety conditions for charging [Logvinov, pg. 21, paras 0100-0101], times when a homeowner will not be using the charger [Logvinov, see above], time of day, time of the week, and season of the year [Logvinov, pg. 22, para 0104]. Further, utilizing homes allows the homeowner to use surplus energy and charge at competitive or premium pricing, such as using a market auction [Logvinov, pgs. 26-27, paras 0123-0125].
Conclusion
/E.M.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/KITO R ROBINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664