10DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 4/22/2025 and 7/22/2025 and are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. According, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objection
2. Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 10, lines 5-6, “the foreign object detection reference voltage of the foreign object detection coil” should be changed to --- a foreign object detection reference voltage of a foreign object detection coil ---.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 6 and 15, the dependent claims 6 and 15 appear to be inconsistent with respectively the independent claims 1 and 10, because the latter claims specify that a
protection procedure is activated when the coil voltage (VWN) of the foreign object detection coil exceeds the foreign object detection reference voltage (VFN), that is when VFN < VWN . On the other hand, the claims 6 and 15 specify that the protection procedure is activated when the coil voltage (VWN) of the foreign object detection coil is outside the range [VFN - ΔVb , VFN + ΔVa], which implies that the protection procedure is not activated also in the range
VFN ≤ VWN ≤ VFN + ΔVa, which is incompatible with the condition above stated by the claims 1 and 10. This leads to doubts about the scope of protection of the claims 6 and 15 , which should therefore be amended to correct this inconsistency or should be removed.
Examiner Notes
5. Examiner cites particular paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-2, 6-9, 10-11, 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nguyen et al. (US. Pub. 20180212476 cited from IDS; hereinafter “Nguyen”).
Regarding claim 1 and similarly claim 10, Nguyen discloses, in Figs. 1-11, a foreign object detection device (a foreign object detection system 18 in Figs. 1 and 6-7), comprising: a foreign object detection coil (98A, 98B in Figs. 3, 6-8); a signal acquisition module (109, 110-1, 110-2 in Figs. 6, 8) electrically connected to the foreign object detection coil (see Figs. 1 and 6-7) and configured to: activate a reference voltage acquisition procedure (the procedure of reference voltage acquisition is described in Fig. 10, step at 300 to 332; and paragraphs [059-60, 62, 093-96]) comprising: when there is no to-be-charged device above the foreign object detection device (the steps 300 to 332 in Fig. 10 are performed when the vehicle is off the wireless power transfer (WPT) system, also see 202, 208 in Fig. 9, and 300, 336 in Fig. 10), obtain a foreign object detection reference voltage of the foreign object detection coil (see the steps 312 to 324 in Fig. 10); and a controller electrically connected to the signal acquisition module (109, 110-1, 110-2, 114-1, 114-2 in Figs. 6 and 8) and configured to: when the to-be-charged device is located above the foreign object detection device, activate a first foreign object detection procedure (in paragraphs [062, 63], the procedure of foreign object detection is described at the steps 220-228 in Fig. 9, steps 344-364 in Fig. 10
; and paragraphs. [96-99], the procedure is executed when the vehicle to be charged is at the WPT system, see fig. 9 at steps 220; and steps 336-340 in Fig. 10) , comprising: obtain a coil voltage of one of the foreign object detection coil (360 in Fig. 10); determine whether the coil voltage exceeds the foreign object detection reference voltage (364 in Fig 10); and if the coil voltage of the foreign object detection coil exceeds the foreign object detection reference voltage (364 in Fig. 10 and 228 in Fig. 9), activate a protection procedure (see Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 2 and similarly claim 11, Nguyen discloses the foreign object detection device according to claim 1, wherein the signal acquisition module is further configured to: in the reference voltage acquisition procedure, obtain a plurality of the coil voltages of the foreign object detection coil; and in the reference voltage acquisition procedure, obtain an average value of the coil voltages, and use the average value as the foreign object detection reference voltage (see para. [0048]).
Regarding claim 6 and similarly claim 15, Nguyen discloses the foreign object detection device according to claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to: when the coil voltage is outside a normal range, activate the protection procedure; wherein an upper limit value of the normal range is equal to a sum of the foreign object detection reference voltage and an upper limit adjustment value, and a lower limit value of the normal range is equal to a difference between the foreign object detection reference voltage and a lower limit adjustment value (para. [70,81,98] describe a protection procedure is activated when a difference between the coil voltage of the foreign object detection coil and the foreign object detection reference voltage signal exceeds a threshold value, that is when the coil voltage of the foreign object detection coil is outside a range as that described by the claims 6 and 15). Regarding claim 7 and similarly claim 16, Nguyen discloses the foreign object detection device according to claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to: when an input voltage of the to-be-charged device reaches a first voltage preset value, end the first foreign object detection procedure (see steps 216-236 in Fig. 9). Regarding claim 8 and similarly claim 17, Nguyen discloses the foreign object detection device according to claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to: when an input voltage of the to-be-charged device reaches a second voltage preset value, obtain a latest foreign object detection reference voltage (see steps 216-236 in Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 9 and similarly claim 18, Nguyen discloses the foreign object detection device according to claim 8, wherein the controller is further configured to: when an input voltage of the to-be-charged device reaches a third voltage preset value, activate a second foreign object detection procedure, comprising: obtain the coil voltage of the foreign object detection coil; determine whether the coil voltage exceeds the latest foreign object detection reference voltage; and if the coil voltage of the foreign object detection coil exceeds the latest foreign object detection reference voltage, activate the protection procedure (see steps 216-236 in Fig. 9).
8. Claims 1, 3-6, 10, 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (US. Pub. 20200161906 cited from IDS; hereinafter “Choi”).
Regarding claim 1 and similarly claim 10, Choi discloses, in Figs. 1-2, a foreign object detection device (150 in Fig. 2 and see abstract), comprising: a foreign object detection coil (154 in Figs. 2, 4); a signal acquisition module (109, 110-1, 110-2 in Figs. 6, 8) electrically connected to the foreign object detection coil (see Figs. 2, 4 and paragraphs [059-60, 72-73]) and configured to: activate a reference voltage acquisition procedure (implicit in para. [59-61
], that describe ,among others, the procedure of acquisition of the reference voltage of the third reference range for detecting the presence of a foreign object in the WPT system) comprising: when there is no to-be-charged device above the foreign object detection device, obtain a foreign object detection reference voltage of the foreign object detection coil (as described in para. [61, 64-65], the third reference range is obtained when no to-be-charged device is above the foreign object detection device)); and a controller (154) electrically connected to the signal acquisition module and configured to: when the to-be-charged device is located above the foreign object detection device, activate a first foreign object detection procedure (the procedure of foreign object detection is described in [61-67, and 90-106], and includes acquisition of the coil voltage when the to-be-charged device is located above the foreign object detection device, see para. [98-99])) , comprising: obtain a coil voltage of one of the foreign object detection coil (see para. [0098-99]); determine whether the coil voltage exceeds the foreign object detection reference voltage (see para. [104, 106]); and if the coil voltage of the foreign object detection coil exceeds the foreign object detection reference voltage, activate a protection procedure (see [0067]).
Regarding claim 3 and similarly claim 12, Choi discloses the foreign object detection device according to claim 1, wherein the signal acquisition module comprises: a resonant capacitor electrically connected to the foreign object detection coil; wherein the resonant capacitor and the foreign object detection coil form a resonant circuit (see para. [043-46]; C1-C3 in Fig. 2; 140, C, L in Fig. 4; para. [71, 73, 94]).
Regarding claim 4 and similarly claim 13, Choi discloses the foreign object detection device according to claim 1, wherein the signal acquisition module comprises: a foreign object detection activation circuit electrically connected to the controller and configured to connect or disconnect a connection between the foreign object detection coil and the controller (see para. [0040-45, 55-57, 97-102]; 130, 132 in Fig. 2; 132 in Fig. 4). Regarding claim 5 and similarly claim 14, Choi discloses the foreign object detection device according to claim 1, wherein the foreign object detection device comprises a plurality of the foreign object detection coils; the signal acquisition module comprises: a plurality of foreign object detection activation circuits electrically connected to the controller, wherein each foreign object detection activation circuit is electrically connected to the corresponding foreign object detection coil; and a multiplexer electrically connected to the foreign object detection activation circuits, and configured to control the foreign object detection activation circuits to be turned on in turn (see para. [0040-45, 55-57, 97-102]; 130, 132 in Fig. 2; 132 in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6 and similarly claim 15, Choi discloses the foreign object detection device according to claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to: when the coil voltage is outside a normal range, activate the protection procedure; wherein an upper limit value of the normal range is equal to a sum of the foreign object detection reference voltage and an upper limit adjustment value, and a lower limit value of the normal range is equal to a difference between the foreign object detection reference voltage and a lower limit adjustment value (see the third range in para. [61, 64, 65]).
9. Claims 1-5, 8-9, 10-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roy et al. (US. Pub. 20150323694 cited from IDS; hereinafter “Roy”).
Regarding claim 1 and similarly claim 10, Roy discloses a foreign object detection device (a foreign object detection system in Figs. 5-7 and 26, see abstract), comprising: a foreign object detection coil (602-606 in Figs. 6-7); a signal acquisition module (608, 610, 612 in Figs. 6,7; paragraphs. [240-242];2604, 2612, 2614, 2604 in Fig. 26; para. [389-391]) and configured to: activate a reference voltage acquisition procedure (the procedure of
reference voltage acquisition is described in para. [231-234, 261, 263]) comprising: when there is no to-be-charged device above the foreign object detection device, obtain a foreign object detection reference voltage of the foreign object detection coil (the procedure of para. [231-234] is executed when there is no to-be-charged device above the foreign object detection device); and a controller electrically connected to the signal acquisition module (2616, 2604 in fig. 26; para. [391]) and configured to: when the to-be-charged device is located above the foreign object detection device, activate a first foreign object detection procedure (the procedure for foreign object detection is described in para. [235-238], [360-362],[380-382]; Figs. 24, 25, and it is executed when the to-be-charged device is located above the foreign object detection device, see para. [360, 254-256]) , comprising: obtain a coil voltage of one of the foreign object detection coil (2410 in Fig. 24); determine whether the coil voltage exceeds the foreign object detection reference voltage (2410 in Fig 24, 2504 and 2412 in Fig. 25, and para. [236-237]); and if the coil voltage of the foreign object detection coil exceeds the foreign object detection reference voltage (2506 in Fig. 25 and para. [0238]), activate a protection procedure (2412 in Fig. 24; 2506 in Fig. 25 and para. [257, 362, 381, 382]).
Regarding claim 2 and similarly claim 11, Roy discloses the foreign object detection device according to claim 1, wherein the signal acquisition module is further configured to: in the reference voltage acquisition procedure, obtain a plurality of the coil voltages of the foreign object detection coil; and in the reference voltage acquisition procedure, obtain an average value of the coil voltages, and use the average value as the foreign object detection reference voltage (see para. [206, 260, 261], [391]: "The detection engine may compare the sensor readings to one or more baseline files or calibrations stored in the calibrations repository 2614. The
comparison may involve calculating a likely system state using the mean and covariance matrices as described herein. ").
Regarding claim 3 and similarly claim 12, Roy discloses the foreign object detection device according to claim 1, wherein the signal acquisition module comprises: a resonant capacitor electrically connected to the foreign object detection coil; wherein the resonant capacitor and the foreign object detection coil form a resonant circuit (see para. [206]). Regarding claim 4 and similarly claim 13, Roy discloses the foreign object detection device according to claim 1, wherein the signal acquisition module comprises: a foreign object detection activation circuit electrically connected to the controller and configured to connect or disconnect a connection between the foreign object detection coil and the controller (see para. [224, 326-327]; 602, 604, 606, 608 in Figs. 6-7; 1602 in Fig. 16). Regarding claim 5 and similarly claim 14, Roy discloses the foreign object detection device according to claim 1, wherein the foreign object detection device comprises a plurality of the foreign object detection coils; the signal acquisition module comprises: a plurality of foreign object detection activation circuits electrically connected to the controller, wherein each foreign object detection activation circuit is electrically connected to the corresponding foreign object detection coil; and a multiplexer electrically connected to the foreign object detection activation circuits, and configured to control the foreign object detection activation circuits to be turned on in turn (see para [224, 326-327]; 602, 604, , 606, 608 in Figs. 6-7; 1602 in Fig. 16). Regarding claim 6 and similarly claim 15, Roy discloses the foreign object detection device according to claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to: when the coil voltage is outside a normal range, activate the protection procedure; wherein an upper limit value of the normal range is equal to a sum of the foreign object detection reference voltage and an upper limit adjustment value, and a lower limit value of the normal range is equal to a difference between the foreign object detection reference voltage and a lower limit adjustment value (see para. [238-239]). Regarding claim 8 and similarly claim 17, Nguyen discloses the foreign object detection device according to claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to: when an input voltage of the to-be-charged device reaches a second voltage preset value, obtain a latest foreign object detection reference voltage (see steps 216-236 in Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 9 and similarly claim 18, Nguyen discloses the foreign object detection device according to claim 8, wherein the controller is further configured to: when an input voltage of the to-be-charged device reaches a third voltage preset value, activate a second foreign object detection procedure, comprising: obtain the coil voltage of the foreign object detection coil; determine whether the coil voltage exceeds the latest foreign object detection reference voltage; and if the coil voltage of the foreign object detection coil exceeds the latest foreign object detection reference voltage, activate the protection procedure (par. [240, 371, and 457]-459] describe the calibration procedure and the foreign object detection procedure of par. [232-238] is repeated at some predetermined input voltage level of the device to be charged , see 4812 to 4820 in Fig. 48).
Prior Art of Record
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Moritomo (U.S Pub. 2022/0385117) discloses a power transmission apparatus 101 includes a communication unit 206 configured to wirelessly communicate with a power reception apparatus using an antenna, a power transmission unit 203 configured to wirelessly transfer power to the power reception apparatus using the antenna, a detection unit 204 configured to measure at least either a voltage or a current output from the antenna in a period where the transfer of the power is stopped and the communication by the communication unit 206 is not performed, and determine that there is an object different from the power reception apparatus based on the result of the measurement, and a control unit 201 configured to, if there is determined to be the object different from the power reception apparatus, restrict the transfer of the power. (see specification for more details). Asanuma (U.S Pub. 2016/0149442) discloses a foreign object detector includes: an oscillator circuit 100 having a coil 110 and resonant capacitors Cx, Cy, the oscillator circuit 100 being configured to output a voltage which includes an AC component and a DC component, the AC component having a positive cycle and a negative cycle; and an electric circuit for sensing a variation of the AC component and a variation of the DC component in the voltage output from the oscillator circuit 100 when a foreign object approaches the coil 110. (see specification for more details).
Conclusion
/THANG X LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858
7/14/2026