DETAILED ACTION
Domestic Benefit
This application is a continuation of International Application No. PCT/JP2023/008033, filed on March 3, 2023. The benefit of the earlier filing date of the international application is claimed under 35 U.S.C. 120 and 365(c).
Foreign Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on April 21, 2022. It is noted that applicant has filed a certified copy of the JP 2022-070179 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55, which was electronically received on February 25, 2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 17, 2024 was filed before the first Office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is considered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive of the invention claimed. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed (37 CFR 1.72(a)). The following title or similar is suggested: Semiconductor Device Having Floating Trench Between First and Second Peripheral Gate Trench Portions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 13, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh '624 (US 2021/0104624 A1) in view of Hsieh '737 (US 2012/0261737 A1).
Regarding independent claim 10, Hsieh '624 discloses a semiconductor device comprising:
a semiconductor layer (epitaxial layer 202; FIG. 2B; para. [0028]; the epitaxial layer is a semiconductor layer formed on a substrate);
a gate trench formed in the semiconductor layer (shielded trenched gates in the active area; FIG. 2B; para. [0028]; the active-area trenches are gate trenches);
an insulation layer formed on the semiconductor layer (gate oxide layer; FIG. 2B; para. [0028]; the oxide lining the trenches is an insulation layer);
a gate electrode embedded in the gate trench via the insulation layer (shielded gate electrode / polysilicon in the active trenches; FIG. 2B; para. [0028]; the conductive fill in the active trenches is a gate electrode);
a protective trench formed in the semiconductor layer (channel stop trenched gate CSTG; FIG. 2A–2B; para. [0028]; the outermost channel-stop trench functions as a protective trench surrounding the termination);
a protective electrode embedded in the protective trench via the insulation layer (electrode in the CSTG; FIG. 2B; para. [0028]; the conductive fill in the channel-stop trench is a protective electrode);
a first floating trench and a second floating trench (floating trenched gates FTG1 and FTG2; FIG. 2A–2B; para. [0028]; the multiple floating trenched gates in the termination are floating trenches); and
a first floating electrode embedded in the first floating trench via the insulation layer, the first floating electrode being electrically floating (floating voltage electrode in FTG; FIG. 2B; para. [0028]; the conductive fill in the floating trenched gates is electrically floating).
Hsieh '624 discloses floating trenched gates in the termination area with a channel-stop trenched gate outward thereof.
However, Hsieh '624 does not expressly teach positioning the floating trenches between a peripheral portion of the gate trench itself and the outermost protective trench, nor the specific relative spacing in which the first floating trench is arranged closer to the second floating trench than to the peripheral gate trench portion.
Hsieh '737 identifies the problem of leakage-path formation and breakdown-voltage degradation in the termination region of trench MOSFETs and solves it by teaching a structure in which multiple trenched floating gates are placed in the termination and a trenched channel-stop gate is formed around the outside of those floating gates (FIG. 18A–18B; para. [0054-0055]). The channel-stop gate is shorted to the drain/epitaxial region to stop channeling and prevent a leakage path between drain and source (para. [0054-0055, 0006-0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the termination structure of Hsieh '624 in view of Hsieh '737 by positioning the floating trenches between a peripheral portion of the gate trench and the outermost protective/channel-stop trench, and by arranging the first floating trench closer to the second floating trench than to the peripheral gate trench portion, because Hsieh '737 expressly teaches that such floating-gate and outer channel-stop arrangements improve breakdown voltage and prevent surface leakage in the termination region. The specific relative positioning and spacing of the floating trenches are results-effective variables that a skilled artisan would routinely optimize, in light of Hsieh '737’s teachings, to further improve field distribution and breakdown voltage in the structure of Hsieh '624. (The claimed relative distance appears to be a result-effective variable1 that may be optimized2 given the general conditions of the claim. As per Hsieh '737, the placement of the floating trenches relative to the surrounding trenches is adjusted in order to improve breakdown voltage and field distribution. The general condition of the claim structure is taught by Hsieh '624 in view of Hsieh '737.)
Regarding claim 13, the semiconductor device according to claim 10, wherein
the first floating trench is equal in width to the peripheral gate trench portion (floating trenched gates FTG having comparable trench width to the active/peripheral trenches; FIG. 2B of Hsieh '624; para. [0028]; the floating trenches are formed with widths that can be set equal to surrounding trench widths as a routine design choice), and
a portion of the insulation layer formed in the first floating trench is equal in thickness to a portion of the insulation layer formed in the peripheral gate trench portion (gate oxide thickness in the floating trenches; FIG. 2B of Hsieh '624; para. [0028]; the oxide lining the floating trenches can be formed with the same thickness as the oxide lining the gate trenches).
It would have been obvious to form the first floating trench and its insulation with the same width and thickness as the peripheral gate trench portion, as these are results-effective variables routinely optimized in the termination structures taught by Hsieh '624 and Hsieh '737 to achieve desired breakdown voltage and capacitance characteristics. (The claimed equal widths and equal insulation thicknesses appear to be result-effective variables3 that may be optimized4 given the general conditions of the claim. The general condition of the claim structure is taught by Hsieh '624 in view of Hsieh '737.)
Regarding claim 15, the semiconductor device according to claim 10, wherein
the protective trench includes multiple protective trenches (multiple channel-stop / outer trenches surrounding the floating gates; FIG. 2A–2B of Hsieh '624 and FIG. 18A–18B of Hsieh '737; paras. [0028] and [0009,0054-0055] for the respective references; both references disclose one or more outer channel-stop trenches that can be implemented as multiple protective trenches).
The combination of Hsieh '624 and Hsieh '737 renders the use of multiple protective trenches obvious, as both references teach outer channel-stop structures that can be pluralized without departing from the disclosed termination design.
Regarding claim 18, the semiconductor device according to claim 10, wherein
the semiconductor layer includes an active region (active area under the source metal; FIG. 2A–2B of Hsieh '624; para. [0028]; the region containing the active shielded trenches is an active region),
the gate trench includes an inner gate trench arranged in the active region (shielded trenched gates in the active area; FIG. 2B of Hsieh '624; para. [0028]; the active-area trenches are inner gate trenches), and
a connection trench connecting the inner gate trench and the peripheral gate trench portion (gate runner / connection structures linking active trenches to the termination; FIG. 2A of Hsieh '624; para. [0028]; the layout includes conductive connections between the active gate trenches and the outer termination structures).
The combination further renders these features obvious, as Hsieh '624 and Hsieh '737 disclose active-area gate trenches and termination structures that are electrically and structurally connected in a conventional trench-MOSFET layout.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Independent claim 1. The primary reason claim 1 is indicated as allowable is the combination of a first peripheral gate trench portion and a second peripheral gate trench portion of the gate trench with a floating trench positioned between those two peripheral gate trench portions. The closest prior art, Hsieh '624, teaches floating trenched gates in the termination area and a channel-stop trenched gate outward of those floating gates. Hsieh '737 likewise teaches multiple trenched floating gates in the termination and a trenched channel-stop gate formed around the outside of the floating gates. Neither reference, alone or in combination, teaches or suggests a floating trench that is positioned between a first peripheral gate trench portion and a second peripheral gate trench portion of the gate trench itself. The proposed combination fails because it would require relocating a floating trench into the space between two portions of the gate trench, a configuration neither reference discloses nor provides a reason to implement.
Claims 2–9 are indicated as allowable because they depend from claim 1 and therefore include the allowable subject matter of claim 1.
Claims 11, 12, 14, 16, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 11 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of claim 10 and any intervening claims. The closest prior art (Hsieh '624 in view of Hsieh '737) does not teach or suggest a first floating trench that is greater in width than the protective trench together with a portion of the insulation layer in the first floating trench that is greater in thickness than the portion of the insulation layer in the protective trench.
Claim 12 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of claim 10 and any intervening claims. The closest prior art does not teach or suggest a peripheral gate trench portion that is greater in width than the protective trench in the specific arrangement recited.
Claim 14 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of claim 10 and any intervening claims. The closest prior art does not teach or suggest a first floating trench that is greater in width than the second floating trench together with a portion of the insulation layer in the first floating trench that is greater in thickness than the portion of the insulation layer in the second floating trench.
Claim 16 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of claim 10 and any intervening claims. The closest prior art does not teach or suggest the specific dimensional and positional relationships recited in claim 16 between the floating trenches and the protective trench.
Claim 17 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of claim 10 and any intervening claims. The closest prior art does not teach or suggest the specific relative positioning of the first floating trench with respect to the second floating trench and the peripheral gate trench portion as further limited by claim 17.
Double Patenting
No double patenting rejection is made at this time. No commonly owned patent or application has been identified that claims substantially the same subject matter.
Conclusion
Applicant is given a THREE (3) MONTH shortened statutory period from the mailing date of this communication to reply. This time period may be extended under 37 CFR 1.136(a). Failure to reply within the period for reply will result in abandonment of the application.
Claims 10, 13, 15, and 18 are rejected.
15 October 2026
/John P. Dulka/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817
1 In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977) (A particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable before determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation).
2 In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation).
3 In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977) (A particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable before determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation).
4 In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation).