CTNF 18/918,639 CTNF 98498 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 20 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim reads "pat" instead of "path" . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Komukai (WO 2021106831 A1) . Regarding claim 1, Komukai teaches An endoscope including: an observation window (fig. 2, element 34, p. 3, para. 7, observation window 34); and a nozzle (fig. 2, element 40, p. 3, para. 3, nozzle 40) at a distal end of an insertion portion, wherein the nozzle configures a flow path having an opening, the opening ejects fluid toward the observation window, the flow path includes: a first flow path (fig. 4, element 42, p. 3, para. 11, water supply channel 42) parallel to a longitudinal direction of the insertion portion; and a second flow path (fig. 4, element 41b, p. 4, para. 1, conduit 41b) communicating with the first flow path and having a curved surface for directing the fluid from the first flow path towards the opening, and the curved surface including: a first surface (fig. 4, element 41b, conduit 41b is bounded on either side by two surfaces); a second surface (fig. 4, element 41b, conduit 41b is bounded on either side by two surfaces); and a ridge sandwiched by respective edges of the first surface and the second surface (fig. 4, element 52, p. 4, para. 1, injection port 52 is formed by a ridge shaped gap between the two edges), and the respective edges being along a direction of extension of the second flow path. Regarding claim 2, Komukai teaches The endoscope according to claim 1, wherein a center line of the ridge is located on a virtual plane including a center line of the flow path, a center point of the opening, and a center point of the observation window (fig. 3, element 22, p. 4, para. 6, tip portion 22 comprises the flat distal face of the endoscope and features all elements). Regarding claim 3, Komukai teaches The endoscope according to claim 2, wherein an opening width of the opening is greater than 10% and less than 70% of an outer diameter of the observation window (fig. 3, the nozzle extends more than 5% on either side of the center line but does not exceed 35%). Regarding claim 4, Komukai teaches The endoscope according to claim 2, wherein a minimum value of a crossing angle between the first surface and the second surface is greater than 60 degrees and less than 150 degrees (fig. 4, the bend angle of the bending portion of the nozzle is approximately 90 degrees). Regarding claim 5, Komukai teaches The endoscope according to claim 4, wherein the crossing angle increases in the second flow path between the first flow path and the opening (fig. 4, the path is angled from 0 degrees in the first flow path and 90 degrees in the opening and increases along the second flow path). Regarding claim 6, Komukai teaches The endoscope according to claim 5, wherein a flow path width of the second flow path increases between the first flow path and the opening (fig. 4, element 41a, p. 3, para. 11, conduit 41a at the base end portion 40a is wider than the first conduit 42). Regarding claim 7, Komukai teaches The endoscope according to claim 1, wherein the ridge having a curved surface, and a ridge width of the ridge is smaller than an outer diameter of the observation window (fig. 3, the nozzle extends more than 5% on either side of the center line but does not exceed 35%). Regarding claim 8, Komukai teaches The endoscope according to claim 7, wherein the ridge width is less than 30% of a flow path width of the second flow path (fig. 4, element 41b, the flow path narrows toward the tip). Regarding claim 9, Komukai teaches The endoscope according to claim 1, wherein the ridge is an apex of the first surface and the second surface (fig. 4, element 52, the ridge, being the nozzle tip, is at the distal end of the surfaces). Regarding claim 10, Komukai teaches The endoscope according to claim 6, wherein the first surface and the second surface are each planar (fig. 4, element 41b shows curved planar walls). Regarding claim 11, Komukai teaches The endoscope according to claim 6, wherein the first surface and the second surface are curved surfaces having a same shape (fig. 4, element 41b, the adjacent walls of the conduit are complementary to form the shape of the conduit), and a curvature of the curved surfaces of the first surface and the second surface decreases continuously between the first flow path and the opening (fig. 4, the curving joint between 41a and 41b decreases until the straight conduit 41b). Regarding claim 12, Komukai teaches The endoscope according to claim 6, wherein the flow path width of the flow path increases continuously in the second flow path fig. 4, element 41a, p. 3, para. 11, conduit 41a at the base end portion 40a is wider than the first conduit 42). Regarding claim 13, Komukai teaches The endoscope according to claim 6, wherein the opening has an elongated oval shape having a pair of planar opposing sides (fig. 1, element 52, opening 52 features curved and planar sides in an oval shape). Regarding claim 14, Komukai teaches The endoscope according to claim 6, wherein an inside inner surface of the flow path in a curvature direction is a plane from the position where the crossing angle is minimum toward the opening (fig. 4, the curving joint between 41a and 41b decreases until the straight conduit 41b). Regarding claim 15, Komukai teaches The endoscope according to claim 6, further comprising: a third flow path that is in communication with the second flow path, wherein the third flow path includes the opening, a cross section of the third flow path orthogonal to a center line has an elongated oval shape having a pair of planar opposing sides, and the flow path width of the third flow path is constant (fig. 1, element 52, opening 52 features curved and planar sides in an oval shape, the straight section of distal conduit 41b being interpreted to be a third section of the flow path). Regarding claim 16, Komukai teaches The endoscope according to claim 1, wherein the first surface and the second surface are each concave relative to a center line of the flow path (p. 3, para. 10, circular flow path formed by concave walls). Regarding claim 17, Komukai teaches The endoscope according to claim 1, wherein the first surface and the second surface are each convex relative to a center line of the flow path (fig. 4, element 41a, flow path narrows as it approaches the bend and changes shape. The shape changing section is formed by convex surfaces). Regarding claim 18, Komukai teaches The endoscope according to claim 1, wherein the first surface having a first edge, the second surface having a second edge (fig. 4, element 52, the opposing edges of the distal portions of either wall of the distal portion of the conduit can be considered edges), a transition between each of the first and second edges and opposing sides of the ridge being non-continuous (fig. 2, element 52, the nozzle is rectangular, hence there are side walls separating the opposing sides of the ridge). Regarding claim 19, Komukai teaches The endoscope according to claim 1, wherein the ridge is convex relative to a center line of the flow path (fig. 4, element 41a, flow path narrows as it approaches the bend and changes shape. The shape changing section is formed by convex surfaces). Regarding claim 20, Komukai teaches The endoscope according to claim 1, wherein the first surface and the second surface are each convex relative to a center line of the flow pat (fig. 4, element 41a, flow path narrows as it approaches the bend and changes shape. The shape changing section is formed by convex surfaces); the ridge is convex relative to a center line of the flow path (fig. 4, element 40b, the profile of the outer section of the nozzle is convex); and a radius of curvature of the ridge is greater than a radius of curvature of each of the first and second surfaces (fig. 4, element 41a/b, the bending section for the flow path makes a tighter curve than the straighter opening end of the nozzle). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TIMOTHY TUAN LUU whose telephone number is (703)756-4592. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Tuesday, Thursday-Friday. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Michael Carey can be reached at 5712707235. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /TIMOTHY TUAN LUU/ Examiner, Art Unit 3795 /MICHAEL J CAREY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795 Application/Control Number: 18/918,639 Page 2 Art Unit: 3795 Application/Control Number: 18/918,639 Page 3 Art Unit: 3795 Application/Control Number: 18/918,639 Page 4 Art Unit: 3795 Application/Control Number: 18/918,639 Page 5 Art Unit: 3795 Application/Control Number: 18/918,639 Page 6 Art Unit: 3795 Application/Control Number: 18/918,639 Page 7 Art Unit: 3795 Application/Control Number: 18/918,639 Page 8 Art Unit: 3795 Application/Control Number: 18/918,639 Page 9 Art Unit: 3795 Application/Control Number: 18/918,639 Page 10 Art Unit: 3795