DETAILED ACTION
Priority
1. Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority to U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/545,990 filed on 10/27/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, the phrase “the pair of refuse compartments” is indefinite. It is unclear which previous “pair of refuse compartments” applicant is referring to. For examination purposes, examiner has interpreted "the pair of refuse compartments " as “a pair of refuse compartments”.
In the art rejection above, the claims have been treated as best understood by the examiner. Any claim not explicitly rejected under this heading is rejected as being dependent on an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1, 4, 6-8, 11, 13-16, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gentry et al. (US 20230011695, hereinafter Gentry) in view of Boivin (US 20030165374, hereinafter Boivin).
Regarding claim 1, Gentry teaches a refuse vehicle (see at least Fig. 1), comprising:
a body defining a refuse compartment (see at least Fig. 1 and [0077]: “Body 106 defines a hopper 112 and a storage compartment 114.”);
a hopper configured to receive refuse and direct the refuse into the refuse compartment (see at least Fig. 1 and [0077]: “A wall (or partition, etc.) separates hopper 112 from storage compartment 114. A container collection arm 116 is secured behind cab 104 to the hopper 112.”);
a robotic arm implement (see at least Fig. 1 and [0078]: “The container collection arm 116 includes a telescoping boom 118 and a grasping assembly 120.”);
a plurality of cameras positioned at the hopper (see at least Figs. 3, 9, and [0081]: “Contamination detection system 108 includes refuse support panel 124, refuse support panel actuator system 126, and sensor 128…The control system can use the information from sensor 128 and/or other sensors to control refuse support panel actuator system 126. In some implementations, sensor 128 is an image sensor. For illustrative purposes, only one of sensors 128 is shown in FIG. 2. A contamination detection system may, however, include any number of sensors. Each of the various sensors can provide image data and/or other sensor data to be used in contamination detection, refuse processing, or other vehicle operations.”); and
processing circuitry (see at least [0133]: “In some implementations, the analysis of the operational sensor data 1110, contaminant sensor data 1111, and/or packer sensor data 1113 is performed at least partly by the onboard computing device 1112, e.g., by processes that execute on the processor(s) 1114.”) configured to:
obtain image data of the hopper from the plurality of cameras (see at least Figs. 3, 9, and [0081]: “The control system can use the information from sensor 128 and/or other sensors to control refuse support panel actuator system 126. In some implementations, sensor 128 is an image sensor. For illustrative purposes, only one of sensors 128 is shown in FIG. 2. A contamination detection system may, however, include any number of sensors. Each of the various sensors can provide image data and/or other sensor data to be used in contamination detection, refuse processing, or other vehicle operations.”);
detect an object to be separated from other refuse in the hopper based on the image data (see at least [0058]: “In some implementations, an RCV includes a refuse support panel on which refuse can be placed for gathering image and/or sensor data for identifying material types and/or contamination.”; [0117]: “Control unit 346 may use image or sensor data captured by sensor 328 or other devices to control robotic arm 344. Robotic arm 344 may be used to remove selected items from refuse support panel 324. In the example shown in FIG. 19, items picked from refuse support panel 324 may be placed on a platform 348. In other implementations, items or material removed from a refuse support panel can be placed in a container, packed, crushed, recycled, or ejected from the vehicle.”); and
operate the robotic arm implement to move the object from a first part of the hopper to a second part of the hopper for storage in the refuse compartment separate from the other refuse (see at least Fig. 19 and [0117]: “Referring to FIG. 19, vehicle 340 includes robotic system 342 including robotic arm 344 and control unit 346. Control unit 346 is coupled to robotic arm 344. Control unit 346 may use image or sensor data captured by sensor 328 or other devices to control robotic arm 344. Robotic arm 344 may be used to remove selected items from refuse support panel 324. In the example shown in FIG. 19, items picked from refuse support panel 324 may be placed on a platform 348. In other implementations, items or material removed from a refuse support panel can be placed in a container, packed, crushed, recycled, or ejected from the vehicle. In some implementations, items can be treated. Examples of treatments include heat, light, radiation, disinfectants, chemicals, or forced air.”).
Gentry fails to explicitly teach a pair of refuse compartments to store objects.
However, Boivin teaches an apparatus and system for a refuse collection vehicle that comprises a pair of refuse compartments to store objects (see at least Fig. 1 and [0005]: “This accommodation is especially suitable when refuse is being collected from compartmentalized containers placed beside the roadway that have two separate chambers containing two distinct types of refuse.”; [0025]: “In FIG. 1 the refuse collection bin 1 of a vehicle is provided with two internal compartments 2, 3 having different storage capacities.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gentry to incorporate the teachings of Boivin and provide a pair of refuse compartments to store objects, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to store and keep different types of refuse in separate compartments [0005].
Regarding claim 4, modified Gentry teaches the limitations of claim 1. Gentry further teaches wherein the object comprises an object having a disposal requirement that is different than the other refuse (see at least Fig. 19 and [0117]: “Referring to FIG. 19, vehicle 340 includes robotic system 342 including robotic arm 344 and control unit 346. Control unit 346 is coupled to robotic arm 344. Control unit 346 may use image or sensor data captured by sensor 328 or other devices to control robotic arm 344. Robotic arm 344 may be used to remove selected items from refuse support panel 324. In the example shown in FIG. 19, items picked from refuse support panel 324 may be placed on a platform 348. In other implementations, items or material removed from a refuse support panel can be placed in a container, packed, crushed, recycled, or ejected from the vehicle. In some implementations, items can be treated. Examples of treatments include heat, light, radiation, disinfectants, chemicals, or forced air.”).
Regarding claim 6, modified Gentry teaches the limitations of claim 1. Gentry further teaches wherein the object is a first object that the second part of the hopper is configured to dispose of (see at least Fig. 19 and [0117]: “Robotic arm 344 may be used to remove selected items from refuse support panel 324. In the example shown in FIG. 19, items picked from refuse support panel 324 may be placed on a platform 348.”), wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
detect a second object to be rejected from the other refuse in the hopper based on the image data (see at least Fig. 19 and [0117]: “Robotic arm 344 may be used to remove selected items from refuse support panel 324. In the example shown in FIG. 19, items picked from refuse support panel 324 may be placed on a platform 348.”); and
operate the robotic arm implement to move the second object from the hopper to a ground surface (see at least Fig. 19 and [0117]: “Robotic arm 344 may be used to remove selected items from refuse support panel 324. In the example shown in FIG. 19, items picked from refuse support panel 324 may be placed on a platform 348. In other implementations, items or material removed from a refuse support panel can be placed in a container, packed, crushed, recycled, or ejected from the vehicle.”).
Regarding claim 7, modified Gentry teaches the limitations of claim 6. Gentry further teaches wherein the second object is a type of object that is not supported for disposal by the refuse vehicle (see at least [0067]: “Identifying contaminants (unexpected or undesirable materials in a refuse stream) is important to the recycling industry because most recyclables today are collected via single-stream recycling…Contamination can refer to the presence of non-recyclable material in a stream that is expected to be recyclable, the presence of a recyclable material in a stream that is expected to be non-recyclable, and/or in general the presence of an unsuitable, unexpected, and/or undesirable material in a refuse stream.”; [0117]: “Robotic arm 344 may be used to remove selected items from refuse support panel 324. In the example shown in FIG. 19, items picked from refuse support panel 324 may be placed on a platform 348. In other implementations, items or material removed from a refuse support panel can be placed in a container, packed, crushed, recycled, or ejected from the vehicle.”).
Regarding claim 8, Gentry teaches a control system for a refuse vehicle (see at least Figs. 1 and 22), the control system comprising:
a robotic arm implement (see at least Fig. 1 and [0078]: “The container collection arm 116 includes a telescoping boom 118 and a grasping assembly 120.”);
a plurality of cameras positioned at a hopper of the refuse vehicle (see at least Figs. 3, 9, and [0081]: “Contamination detection system 108 includes refuse support panel 124, refuse support panel actuator system 126, and sensor 128…The control system can use the information from sensor 128 and/or other sensors to control refuse support panel actuator system 126. In some implementations, sensor 128 is an image sensor. For illustrative purposes, only one of sensors 128 is shown in FIG. 2. A contamination detection system may, however, include any number of sensors. Each of the various sensors can provide image data and/or other sensor data to be used in contamination detection, refuse processing, or other vehicle operations.”); and
processing circuitry (see at least [0133]: “In some implementations, the analysis of the operational sensor data 1110, contaminant sensor data 1111, and/or packer sensor data 1113 is performed at least partly by the onboard computing device 1112, e.g., by processes that execute on the processor(s) 1114.”) configured to:
obtain image data of the hopper from the plurality of cameras (see at least Figs. 3, 9, and [0081]: “The control system can use the information from sensor 128 and/or other sensors to control refuse support panel actuator system 126. In some implementations, sensor 128 is an image sensor. For illustrative purposes, only one of sensors 128 is shown in FIG. 2. A contamination detection system may, however, include any number of sensors. Each of the various sensors can provide image data and/or other sensor data to be used in contamination detection, refuse processing, or other vehicle operations.”);
detect an object to be separated from other refuse in the hopper based on the image data (see at least [0058]: “In some implementations, an RCV includes a refuse support panel on which refuse can be placed for gathering image and/or sensor data for identifying material types and/or contamination.”; [0117]: “Control unit 346 may use image or sensor data captured by sensor 328 or other devices to control robotic arm 344. Robotic arm 344 may be used to remove selected items from refuse support panel 324. In the example shown in FIG. 19, items picked from refuse support panel 324 may be placed on a platform 348. In other implementations, items or material removed from a refuse support panel can be placed in a container, packed, crushed, recycled, or ejected from the vehicle.”); and
operate the robotic arm implement to move the object from a first part of the hopper to a second part of the hopper for storage in the refuse compartment separate from the other refuse (see at least Fig. 19 and [0117]: “Referring to FIG. 19, vehicle 340 includes robotic system 342 including robotic arm 344 and control unit 346. Control unit 346 is coupled to robotic arm 344. Control unit 346 may use image or sensor data captured by sensor 328 or other devices to control robotic arm 344. Robotic arm 344 may be used to remove selected items from refuse support panel 324. In the example shown in FIG. 19, items picked from refuse support panel 324 may be placed on a platform 348. In other implementations, items or material removed from a refuse support panel can be placed in a container, packed, crushed, recycled, or ejected from the vehicle. In some implementations, items can be treated. Examples of treatments include heat, light, radiation, disinfectants, chemicals, or forced air.”).
Gentry fails to explicitly teach a pair of refuse compartments to store objects.
However, Boivin teaches an apparatus and system for a refuse collection vehicle that comprises a pair of refuse compartments to store objects (see at least Fig. 1 and [0005]: “This accommodation is especially suitable when refuse is being collected from compartmentalized containers placed beside the roadway that have two separate chambers containing two distinct types of refuse.”; [0025]: “In FIG. 1 the refuse collection bin 1 of a vehicle is provided with two internal compartments 2, 3 having different storage capacities.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gentry to incorporate the teachings of Boivin and provide a pair of refuse compartments to store objects, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to store and keep different types of refuse in separate compartments [0005].
Regarding claim 11, modified Gentry teaches the limitations of claim 8. Gentry further teaches wherein the object comprises an object having a disposal requirement that is different than the other refuse (see at least Fig. 19 and [0117]: “Referring to FIG. 19, vehicle 340 includes robotic system 342 including robotic arm 344 and control unit 346. Control unit 346 is coupled to robotic arm 344. Control unit 346 may use image or sensor data captured by sensor 328 or other devices to control robotic arm 344. Robotic arm 344 may be used to remove selected items from refuse support panel 324. In the example shown in FIG. 19, items picked from refuse support panel 324 may be placed on a platform 348. In other implementations, items or material removed from a refuse support panel can be placed in a container, packed, crushed, recycled, or ejected from the vehicle. In some implementations, items can be treated. Examples of treatments include heat, light, radiation, disinfectants, chemicals, or forced air.”).
Regarding claim 13, modified Gentry teaches the limitations of claim 8. Gentry further teaches wherein the object is a first object that the second part of the hopper is configured to dispose of (see at least Fig. 19 and [0117]: “Robotic arm 344 may be used to remove selected items from refuse support panel 324. In the example shown in FIG. 19, items picked from refuse support panel 324 may be placed on a platform 348.”), wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
detect a second object to be rejected from the other refuse in the hopper based on the image data (see at least Fig. 19 and [0117]: “Robotic arm 344 may be used to remove selected items from refuse support panel 324. In the example shown in FIG. 19, items picked from refuse support panel 324 may be placed on a platform 348.”); and
operate the robotic arm implement to move the second object from the hopper to a ground surface (see at least Fig. 19 and [0117]: “Robotic arm 344 may be used to remove selected items from refuse support panel 324. In the example shown in FIG. 19, items picked from refuse support panel 324 may be placed on a platform 348. In other implementations, items or material removed from a refuse support panel can be placed in a container, packed, crushed, recycled, or ejected from the vehicle.”).
Regarding claim 14, modified Gentry teaches the limitations of claim 13. Gentry further teaches wherein the second object is a type of object that is not supported for disposal by the refuse vehicle (see at least [0067]: “Identifying contaminants (unexpected or undesirable materials in a refuse stream) is important to the recycling industry because most recyclables today are collected via single-stream recycling…Contamination can refer to the presence of non-recyclable material in a stream that is expected to be recyclable, the presence of a recyclable material in a stream that is expected to be non-recyclable, and/or in general the presence of an unsuitable, unexpected, and/or undesirable material in a refuse stream.”; [0117]: “Robotic arm 344 may be used to remove selected items from refuse support panel 324. In the example shown in FIG. 19, items picked from refuse support panel 324 may be placed on a platform 348. In other implementations, items or material removed from a refuse support panel can be placed in a container, packed, crushed, recycled, or ejected from the vehicle.”).
Regarding claim 15, Gentry teaches a refuse vehicle (see at least Fig. 1) comprising:
a body defining a refuse compartment (see at least Fig. 1 and [0077]: “Body 106 defines a hopper 112 and a storage compartment 114.”);
a hopper configured to receive refuse and direct the refuse into the refuse compartment (see at least Fig. 1 and [0077]: “A wall (or partition, etc.) separates hopper 112 from storage compartment 114. A container collection arm 116 is secured behind cab 104 to the hopper 112.”);
a plurality of cameras position at the hopper (see at least Figs. 3, 9, and [0081]: “Contamination detection system 108 includes refuse support panel 124, refuse support panel actuator system 126, and sensor 128…The control system can use the information from sensor 128 and/or other sensors to control refuse support panel actuator system 126. In some implementations, sensor 128 is an image sensor. For illustrative purposes, only one of sensors 128 is shown in FIG. 2. A contamination detection system may, however, include any number of sensors. Each of the various sensors can provide image data and/or other sensor data to be used in contamination detection, refuse processing, or other vehicle operations.”); and
processing circuitry (see at least [0133]: “In some implementations, the analysis of the operational sensor data 1110, contaminant sensor data 1111, and/or packer sensor data 1113 is performed at least partly by the onboard computing device 1112, e.g., by processes that execute on the processor(s) 1114.”) configured to:
obtain image data of the hopper from the plurality of cameras (see at least Figs. 3, 9, and [0081]: “The control system can use the information from sensor 128 and/or other sensors to control refuse support panel actuator system 126. In some implementations, sensor 128 is an image sensor. For illustrative purposes, only one of sensors 128 is shown in FIG. 2. A contamination detection system may, however, include any number of sensors. Each of the various sensors can provide image data and/or other sensor data to be used in contamination detection, refuse processing, or other vehicle operations.”);
detect an object to be separated from other refuse in the hopper based on the image data (see at least [0058]: “In some implementations, an RCV includes a refuse support panel on which refuse can be placed for gathering image and/or sensor data for identifying material types and/or contamination.”; [0117]: “Control unit 346 may use image or sensor data captured by sensor 328 or other devices to control robotic arm 344. Robotic arm 344 may be used to remove selected items from refuse support panel 324. In the example shown in FIG. 19, items picked from refuse support panel 324 may be placed on a platform 348. In other implementations, items or material removed from a refuse support panel can be placed in a container, packed, crushed, recycled, or ejected from the vehicle.”); and
operate the hopper to direct the refuse in the hopper including the object into the refuse compartment separate from other refuse (see at least Figs. 2, 19, [0089]: “Referring again to FIG. 2, drive system 130 can be operated to rotate auger screw 131 to advance refuse into storage compartment 114. After material is pushed into storage compartment 114 by auger screw 131, the refuse can be further compacted by the ejector 136.”; and [0117]: “Referring to FIG. 19, vehicle 340 includes robotic system 342 including robotic arm 344 and control unit 346. Control unit 346 is coupled to robotic arm 344. Control unit 346 may use image or sensor data captured by sensor 328 or other devices to control robotic arm 344. Robotic arm 344 may be used to remove selected items from refuse support panel 324. In the example shown in FIG. 19, items picked from refuse support panel 324 may be placed on a platform 348. In other implementations, items or material removed from a refuse support panel can be placed in a container, packed, crushed, recycled, or ejected from the vehicle. In some implementations, items can be treated. Examples of treatments include heat, light, radiation, disinfectants, chemicals, or forced air.”).
Gentry fails to explicitly teach a pair of refuse compartments to store objects.
However, Boivin teaches an apparatus and system for a refuse collection vehicle that comprises a pair of refuse compartments to store objects (see at least Fig. 1 and [0005]: “This accommodation is especially suitable when refuse is being collected from compartmentalized containers placed beside the roadway that have two separate chambers containing two distinct types of refuse.”; [0025]: “In FIG. 1 the refuse collection bin 1 of a vehicle is provided with two internal compartments 2, 3 having different storage capacities.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gentry to incorporate the teachings of Boivin and provide a pair of refuse compartments to store objects, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to store and keep different types of refuse in separate compartments [0005].
Regarding claim 16, modified Gentry teaches the limitations of claim 15. Gentry further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to operate a hopper actuator to operate the hopper, the hopper actuator configured to drive a first arm or a second arm of the hopper to direct refuse and the object into the refuse compartment (see at least Figs. 2, 19, [0089]: “Referring again to FIG. 2, drive system 130 can be operated to rotate auger screw 131 to advance refuse into storage compartment 114. After material is pushed into storage compartment 114 by auger screw 131, the refuse can be further compacted by the ejector 136.”; and [0117]: “Referring to FIG. 19, vehicle 340 includes robotic system 342 including robotic arm 344 and control unit 346. Control unit 346 is coupled to robotic arm 344. Control unit 346 may use image or sensor data captured by sensor 328 or other devices to control robotic arm 344. Robotic arm 344 may be used to remove selected items from refuse support panel 324. In the example shown in FIG. 19, items picked from refuse support panel 324 may be placed on a platform 348. In other implementations, items or material removed from a refuse support panel can be placed in a container, packed, crushed, recycled, or ejected from the vehicle. In some implementations, items can be treated. Examples of treatments include heat, light, radiation, disinfectants, chemicals, or forced air.”).
Gentry fails to explicitly teach a pair of refuse compartments to store objects.
However, Boivin teaches an apparatus and system for a refuse collection vehicle that comprises a pair of refuse compartments to store objects (see at least Fig. 1 and [0005]: “This accommodation is especially suitable when refuse is being collected from compartmentalized containers placed beside the roadway that have two separate chambers containing two distinct types of refuse.”; [0025]: “In FIG. 1 the refuse collection bin 1 of a vehicle is provided with two internal compartments 2, 3 having different storage capacities.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gentry to incorporate the teachings of Boivin and provide a pair of refuse compartments to store objects, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to store and keep different types of refuse in separate compartments [0005].
Regarding claim 19, modified Gentry teaches the limitations of claim 15. Gentry further teaches wherein the object comprises an object having a disposal requirement that is different than the other refuse (see at least Fig. 19 and [0117]: “Referring to FIG. 19, vehicle 340 includes robotic system 342 including robotic arm 344 and control unit 346. Control unit 346 is coupled to robotic arm 344. Control unit 346 may use image or sensor data captured by sensor 328 or other devices to control robotic arm 344. Robotic arm 344 may be used to remove selected items from refuse support panel 324. In the example shown in FIG. 19, items picked from refuse support panel 324 may be placed on a platform 348. In other implementations, items or material removed from a refuse support panel can be placed in a container, packed, crushed, recycled, or ejected from the vehicle. In some implementations, items can be treated. Examples of treatments include heat, light, radiation, disinfectants, chemicals, or forced air.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 2, 3, 5, 9-10, 12, 17-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gentry et al. (US 20230011695, hereinafter Gentry) and Boivin (US 20030165374, hereinafter Boivin) in view of Kurani et al. (US 20210188541, hereinafter Kurani).
Regarding claim 2, modified Gentry teaches the limitations of claim 1. Gentry further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to obtain at least part of the image data from a camera positioned within a refuse container (see at least Figs. 3, 9, and [0081]: “The control system can use the information from sensor 128 and/or other sensors to control refuse support panel actuator system 126. In some implementations, sensor 128 is an image sensor. For illustrative purposes, only one of sensors 128 is shown in FIG. 2. A contamination detection system may, however, include any number of sensors. Each of the various sensors can provide image data and/or other sensor data to be used in contamination detection, refuse processing, or other vehicle operations.”).
Gentry fails to explicitly teach obtaining at least part of the image data from a camera positioned within a customer’s refuse container.
However, Kurani teaches a system and method for waste management that obtains at least part of an image data from a camera positioned within a customer’s refuse container (see at least Figs. 6-7 and [0132]: “The intended use of the camera is to take photos and videos inside or near the waste bin which can be used to refine the waste bin waste fill level data and provide type of waste information. The camera can continually learn new waste objects like paper, containers, food scraps, cardboard boxes, litter, hazardous waste, and so on, even from different angles and in various ranges.”; [0254]: “The smart waste bin sensor device 300 sensors hardware comprises an RFID tag sensor 302, a location sensor 304, a fill level sensor 306, a temperature, humidity, and pressure sensor 308, an air quality sensor 310, a smoke sensor 312, a gas sensor 314, an ambient light sensor 316, a motion sensor 318, a waste and litter sensor 320 comprising a camera and flash, a pathogen biosensor 322, and a single board microcomputer 800 comprising an accelerometer sensor 808.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gentry to incorporate the teachings of Kurani and provide means to obtain at least part of the image data from a camera positioned within a customer’s refuse container, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to recognize objects inside the customer’s container when manipulating and sorting the objects.
Regarding claim 3, modified Gentry teaches the limitations of claim 1. Gentry further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to communicate with a camera coupled to a refuse container and configured to obtain image data of an interior of the refuse container, the processing circuitry configured to obtain the image data of the interior of the refuse container and detect an object to be separate from the other refuse (see at least Figs. 3, 9, and [0081]: “The control system can use the information from sensor 128 and/or other sensors to control refuse support panel actuator system 126. In some implementations, sensor 128 is an image sensor. For illustrative purposes, only one of sensors 128 is shown in FIG. 2. A contamination detection system may, however, include any number of sensors. Each of the various sensors can provide image data and/or other sensor data to be used in contamination detection, refuse processing, or other vehicle operations.”; [0117]: “Control unit 346 may use image or sensor data captured by sensor 328 or other devices to control robotic arm 344. Robotic arm 344 may be used to remove selected items from refuse support panel 324. In the example shown in FIG. 19, items picked from refuse support panel 324 may be placed on a platform 348. In other implementations, items or material removed from a refuse support panel can be placed in a container, packed, crushed, recycled, or ejected from the vehicle.”).
Gentry fails to explicitly teach communicating with a camera coupled to a customer’s refuse container and configured to obtain image data of an interior of the customer’s refuse container, the processing circuitry configured to obtain the image data of the interior of the customer’s refuse container and detect an object to be separate from the other refuse.
However, Kurani teaches a system and method for waste management that communicates with a camera coupled to a customer’s refuse container, obtain image data of an interior of the customer’s refuse container, and detect an object to be separate from the other refuse (see at least Figs. 1-2, 6-7, 49, [0132], [0223], [0254], [0513-0522]: image data from cameras located inside a customer’s refuse container are acquired and the object data is analyzed and evaluated to create an optimal waste collection vehicle route.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gentry to incorporate the teachings of Kurani and provide means to communicate with a camera coupled to a customer’s refuse container, obtain image data of an interior of the customer’s refuse container, and detect an object to be separate from the other refuse, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to recognize objects inside the customer’s container when manipulating and sorting the objects.
Regarding claim 5, modified Gentry teaches the limitations of claim 4. Gentry further teaches wherein the object comprises materials (see at least [0059]: “The image(s) can be analyzed to detect different types of materials that may be present in the refuse, such as the presence of recyclable materials in refuse that is otherwise expected to be non-recyclable. In some examples, the identification of material(s) in collected refuse can trigger the sending of an alert notification to one or more individuals, and/or other actions.”).
Gentry fails to explicitly teach the object comprises a tire, a container of liquid, an appliance, or garden materials.
However, Kurani teaches a system and method for waste management that recognized object comprising a tire, a container of liquid, an appliance, or garden materials (see at least Figs. 1-2, 6-7, and [0465]: “The waste type classification inside the waste bin 600 comprises: a food waste, a garbage, a plastic container, a paper, a yard waste, a hazardous waste, and a biohazardous waste. The litter type classification surrounding the waste bin comprises: an aluminum can, a paper cup, a fast food wrapper, a cardboard box, a plastic bottle, a cigarette butt, a tire, an electrical appliance, electronics, a battery, and a biohazardous material. The waste and litter image processing module can be programmed to recognize any waste objects.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gentry to incorporate the teachings of Kurani and provide means to recognize object comprising a tire, a container of liquid, an appliance, or garden materials, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to detect specific objects to be sorted by the refuse vehicle.
Regarding claim 9, modified Gentry teaches the limitations of claim 8. Gentry further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to obtain at least part of the image data from a camera positioned within a refuse container (see at least Figs. 3, 9, and [0081]: “The control system can use the information from sensor 128 and/or other sensors to control refuse support panel actuator system 126. In some implementations, sensor 128 is an image sensor. For illustrative purposes, only one of sensors 128 is shown in FIG. 2. A contamination detection system may, however, include any number of sensors. Each of the various sensors can provide image data and/or other sensor data to be used in contamination detection, refuse processing, or other vehicle operations.”).
Gentry fails to explicitly teach obtaining at least part of the image data from a camera positioned within a customer’s refuse container.
However, Kurani teaches a system and method for waste management that obtains at least part of an image data from a camera positioned within a customer’s refuse container (see at least Figs. 6-7 and [0132]: “The intended use of the camera is to take photos and videos inside or near the waste bin which can be used to refine the waste bin waste fill level data and provide type of waste information. The camera can continually learn new waste objects like paper, containers, food scraps, cardboard boxes, litter, hazardous waste, and so on, even from different angles and in various ranges.”; [0254]: “The smart waste bin sensor device 300 sensors hardware comprises an RFID tag sensor 302, a location sensor 304, a fill level sensor 306, a temperature, humidity, and pressure sensor 308, an air quality sensor 310, a smoke sensor 312, a gas sensor 314, an ambient light sensor 316, a motion sensor 318, a waste and litter sensor 320 comprising a camera and flash, a pathogen biosensor 322, and a single board microcomputer 800 comprising an accelerometer sensor 808.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gentry to incorporate the teachings of Kurani and provide means to obtain at least part of the image data from a camera positioned within a customer’s refuse container, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to recognize objects inside the customer’s container when manipulating and sorting the objects.
Regarding claim 10, modified Gentry teaches the limitations of claim 8. Gentry further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to communicate with a camera coupled to a refuse container and configured to obtain image data of an interior of the refuse container, the processing circuitry configured to obtain the image data of the interior of the refuse container and detect an object to be separate from the other refuse (see at least Figs. 3, 9, and [0081]: “The control system can use the information from sensor 128 and/or other sensors to control refuse support panel actuator system 126. In some implementations, sensor 128 is an image sensor. For illustrative purposes, only one of sensors 128 is shown in FIG. 2. A contamination detection system may, however, include any number of sensors. Each of the various sensors can provide image data and/or other sensor data to be used in contamination detection, refuse processing, or other vehicle operations.”; [0117]: “Control unit 346 may use image or sensor data captured by sensor 328 or other devices to control robotic arm 344. Robotic arm 344 may be used to remove selected items from refuse support panel 324. In the example shown in FIG. 19, items picked from refuse support panel 324 may be placed on a platform 348. In other implementations, items or material removed from a refuse support panel can be placed in a container, packed, crushed, recycled, or ejected from the vehicle.”).
Gentry fails to explicitly teach communicating with a camera coupled to a customer’s refuse container and configured to obtain image data of an interior of the customer’s refuse container, the processing circuitry configured to obtain the image data of the interior of the customer’s refuse container and detect an object to be separate from the other refuse.
However, Kurani teaches a system and method for waste management that communicates with a camera coupled to a customer’s refuse container, obtain image data of an interior of the customer’s refuse container, and detect an object to be separate from the other refuse (see at least Figs. 1-2, 6-7, 49, [0132], [0223], [0254], [0513-0522]: image data from cameras located inside a customer’s refuse container are acquired and the object data is analyzed and evaluated to create an optimal waste collection vehicle route.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gentry to incorporate the teachings of Kurani and provide means to communicate with a camera coupled to a customer’s refuse container, obtain image data of an interior of the customer’s refuse container, and detect an object to be separate from the other refuse, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to recognize objects inside the customer’s container when manipulating and sorting the objects.
Regarding claim 12, modified Gentry teaches the limitations of claim 11. Gentry further teaches wherein the object comprises materials (see at least [0059]: “The image(s) can be analyzed to detect different types of materials that may be present in the refuse, such as the presence of recyclable materials in refuse that is otherwise expected to be non-recyclable. In some examples, the identification of material(s) in collected refuse can trigger the sending of an alert notification to one or more individuals, and/or other actions.”).
Gentry fails to explicitly teach the object comprises a tire, a container of liquid, an appliance, or garden materials.
However, Kurani teaches a system and method for waste management that recognized object comprising a tire, a container of liquid, an appliance, or garden materials (see at least Figs. 1-2, 6-7, and [0465]: “The waste type classification inside the waste bin 600 comprises: a food waste, a garbage, a plastic container, a paper, a yard waste, a hazardous waste, and a biohazardous waste. The litter type classification surrounding the waste bin comprises: an aluminum can, a paper cup, a fast food wrapper, a cardboard box, a plastic bottle, a cigarette butt, a tire, an electrical appliance, electronics, a battery, and a biohazardous material. The waste and litter image processing module can be programmed to recognize any waste objects.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gentry to incorporate the teachings of Kurani and provide means to recognize object comprising a tire, a container of liquid, an appliance, or garden materials, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to detect specific objects to be sorted by the refuse vehicle.
Regarding claim 17, modified Gentry teaches the limitations of claim 15. Gentry further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to obtain at least part of the image data from a camera positioned within a refuse container (see at least Figs. 3, 9, and [0081]: “The control system can use the information from sensor 128 and/or other sensors to control refuse support panel actuator system 126. In some implementations, sensor 128 is an image sensor. For illustrative purposes, only one of sensors 128 is shown in FIG. 2. A contamination detection system may, however, include any number of sensors. Each of the various sensors can provide image data and/or other sensor data to be used in contamination detection, refuse processing, or other vehicle operations.”).
Gentry fails to explicitly teach obtaining at least part of the image data from a camera positioned within a customer’s refuse container.
However, Kurani teaches a system and method for waste management that obtains at least part of an image data from a camera positioned within a customer’s refuse container (see at least Figs. 6-7 and [0132]: “The intended use of the camera is to take photos and videos inside or near the waste bin which can be used to refine the waste bin waste fill level data and provide type of waste information. The camera can continually learn new waste objects like paper, containers, food scraps, cardboard boxes, litter, hazardous waste, and so on, even from different angles and in various ranges.”; [0254]: “The smart waste bin sensor device 300 sensors hardware comprises an RFID tag sensor 302, a location sensor 304, a fill level sensor 306, a temperature, humidity, and pressure sensor 308, an air quality sensor 310, a smoke sensor 312, a gas sensor 314, an ambient light sensor 316, a motion sensor 318, a waste and litter sensor 320 comprising a camera and flash, a pathogen biosensor 322, and a single board microcomputer 800 comprising an accelerometer sensor 808.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gentry to incorporate the teachings of Kurani and provide means to obtain at least part of the image data from a camera positioned within a customer’s refuse container, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to recognize objects inside the customer’s container when manipulating and sorting the objects.
Regarding claim 18, modified Gentry teaches the limitations of claim 15. Gentry further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to communicate with a camera coupled to a refuse container and configured to obtain image data of an interior of the refuse container, the processing circuitry configured to obtain the image data of the interior of the refuse container and detect an object to be separate from the other refuse (see at least Figs. 3, 9, and [0081]: “The control system can use the information from sensor 128 and/or other sensors to control refuse support panel actuator system 126. In some implementations, sensor 128 is an image sensor. For illustrative purposes, only one of sensors 128 is shown in FIG. 2. A contamination detection system may, however, include any number of sensors. Each of the various sensors can provide image data and/or other sensor data to be used in contamination detection, refuse processing, or other vehicle operations.”; [0117]: “Control unit 346 may use image or sensor data captured by sensor 328 or other devices to control robotic arm 344. Robotic arm 344 may be used to remove selected items from refuse support panel 324. In the example shown in FIG. 19, items picked from refuse support panel 324 may be placed on a platform 348. In other implementations, items or material removed from a refuse support panel can be placed in a container, packed, crushed, recycled, or ejected from the vehicle.”).
Gentry fails to explicitly teach communicating with a camera coupled to a customer’s refuse container and configured to obtain image data of an interior of the customer’s refuse container, the processing circuitry configured to obtain the image data of the interior of the customer’s refuse container and detect an object to be separate from the other refuse.
However, Kurani teaches a system and method for waste management that communicates with a camera coupled to a customer’s refuse container, obtain image data of an interior of the customer’s refuse container, and detect an object to be separate from the other refuse (see at least Figs. 1-2, 6-7, 49, [0132], [0223], [0254], [0513-0522]: image data from cameras located inside a customer’s refuse container are acquired and the object data is analyzed and evaluated to create an optimal waste collection vehicle route.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gentry to incorporate the teachings of Kurani and provide means to communicate with a camera coupled to a customer’s refuse container, obtain image data of an interior of the customer’s refuse container, and detect an object to be separate from the other refuse, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to recognize objects inside the customer’s container when manipulating and sorting the objects.
Regarding claim 20, modified Gentry teaches the limitations of claim 19. Gentry further teaches wherein the object comprises materials (see at least [0059]: “The image(s) can be analyzed to detect different types of materials that may be present in the refuse, such as the presence of recyclable materials in refuse that is otherwise expected to be non-recyclable. In some examples, the identification of material(s) in collected refuse can trigger the sending of an alert notification to one or more individuals, and/or other actions.”).
Gentry fails to explicitly teach the object comprises a tire, a container of liquid, an appliance, or garden materials.
However, Kurani teaches a system and method for waste management that recognized object comprising a tire, a container of liquid, an appliance, or garden materials (see at least Figs. 1-2, 6-7, and [0465]: “The waste type classification inside the waste bin 600 comprises: a food waste, a garbage, a plastic container, a paper, a yard waste, a hazardous waste, and a biohazardous waste. The litter type classification surrounding the waste bin comprises: an aluminum can, a paper cup, a fast food wrapper, a cardboard box, a plastic bottle, a cigarette butt, a tire, an electrical appliance, electronics, a battery, and a biohazardous material. The waste and litter image processing module can be programmed to recognize any waste objects.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gentry to incorporate the teachings of Kurani and provide means to recognize object comprising a tire, a container of liquid, an appliance, or garden materials, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to detect specific objects to be sorted by the refuse vehicle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Maroney et al. (US 20200247609) teaches a method and system for operating a refuse collection vehicle to lift and empty refuse containers that comprises a lift arm and utilizes a plurality of cameras to capture images of a customer’s container and the objects from the container.
/T.M.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656