DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention E and Specie I in the reply filed on 5/12/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 2-6, 9-10, 12-16, and 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/12/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the metes and bounds of the terms “typical printing operations” do not appear to be defined.
Dependent claim 8 is considered rejected for incorporating defects from rejected parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-8, 11, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darling (US 10046558 B1) in view of Owaki et al. (US 20140104348 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Darling discloses A marking system comprising:
a printhead (150, fig. 1, col 3, lines 57-66) comprising a plurality of nozzles configured to eject ink (inherent in Darling);
a fluid supply system configured to supply ink to printhead (inherent in Darling), the fluid supply system comprising:
an ink reservoir fluidly positioned to hold the ink for delivery to the printhead (inherent in Darling),
a degasser (inherent in col 5, lines 37-42) fluidly coupled to a conduit that is positioned to supply the ink from the degasser to the ink reservoir (inherent in col 5, lines 37-42), the degasser configured to degas the ink as ink passes therethrough (inherent in col 5, lines 37-42), and
a pump fluidly configured to provide pressure to one or more components of the fluid supply system (see col 5, lines 43-57); and
a control system configured to:
control the ejection of ink from the plurality of nozzles (inherent in Darling), and
in response to detection of a missing nozzle condition in the printhead, activate a protocol that comprises initiating one or more cycles that comprise operating the pump at a pressure that is lower than a normal operating pressure of the pump to eject the degassed ink through the plurality of nozzles until the missing nozzle condition ends (See col 5, lines 28-57. Darling teaches applying a vacuum to the printhead, but does not expressly teach that this is achieved via a pump. However, Owaki teaches that such a vacuum can be achieved via a pump. See Owaki’s fig. 10 and para 85 which teaches that a negative pressure pump can be installed in the discharge path 210 to adjust pressure at the nozzles. It would be obvious to adopt the pump of Owaki for the purpose of keeping costs low and achieving a compact design. When the pump of Owaki is adopted in Darling, then the pump would lower its normal operating pressure, which is used to maintain a meniscus, in order to allow the ink to drool out of the nozzles.), a threshold number of cycles have completed, or a threshold period of time is reached.
Regarding claim 7, Darling, as modified by Owaki, discloses all the limitations introduced in parent claim 1.
Darling as modified by Owaki, does not appear to explicitly disclose The marking system of claim 1, wherein the pressure at which the pump is operated during the protocol is a pressure from about 1% to about 10% of the standard operating pressure of the pump during typical printing operations of the marking system.
However, the limitations introduced in claim 7 would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because it would be desirable to optimize the effectiveness of the nozzle recovery process, and it would be reasonable to expect one of ordinary skill to fairly quickly converge at such limitations with limited experimentation. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 8, Darling, as modified by Owaki, discloses all the limitations introduced in parent claims 1 and 7.
Darling as modified by Owaki, does not appear to explicitly disclose The marking system of claim 7, wherein the pressure during the protocol is in a range of .25 PSI to .5 PSI.
However, the limitations introduced in claim 8 would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because it would be desirable to optimize the effectiveness of the nozzle recovery process, and it would be reasonable to expect one of ordinary skill to fairly quickly converge at such limitations with limited experimentation. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 11, please note the rejection as set forth above with respect to claim 1. Claim 11 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 1; detailed discussion is omitted for brevity.
Regarding claim 17, please note the rejection as set forth above with respect to claim 7. Claim 17 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 7; detailed discussion is omitted for brevity.
Regarding claim 18, please note the rejection as set forth above with respect to claim 8. Claim 18 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 8; detailed discussion is omitted for brevity.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN SEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853
June 24, 2026