DETAILED ACTION
Claims status: amended claims: 1, 3-4, 9, 14, 16, 18-19; new claims: 21-22; canceled claims:11 ,17; the rest is unchanged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. A new secondary reference is currently being used in the present rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 14-15, 18, 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hennecke et al. (US 2020/0370955 A1; pub. Nov. 26, 2020) in view of Pacal et al. (US 2017/0289524 A1; pub. Oct. 5, 2017).
Regarding claim 1, Hennecke et al. disclose: A method of manufacturing a LIDAR system, the method comprising: providing at least one light-emitter device (para. [0027]); providing a receiver subsystem, wherein the receiver subsystem comprises:
a substrate (abstract teaches SPAD, SPAD are formed on a substrate);
a plurality of single photon avalanche diodes (SPADs) coupled to the substrate (para. [0008]-[0009]);
a plurality of outputs coupled to the substrate (para. [0074]); and
a plurality of electrical components coupled to the substrate (para. [0064], transistors); and
coupling the receiver subsystem to the at least one light-emitter device (para. [0052], [0074]).
Hennecke et al. are silent about: an aperture array comprising a plurality of apertures; the plurality of electrical components are configured to selectively connect the plurality of SPADs to the plurality of outputs so as to optically align at least a portion of the SPADs to the at least one light-emitter device.
In a similar field of endeavor Pacala et al. disclose: an aperture array comprising a plurality of apertures (para. [0039], [0060]); the plurality of electrical components are configured to selectively connect the plurality of SPADs to the plurality of outputs so as to optically align at least a portion of the SPADs to the at least one light-emitter device (para. [0039], [0060]) motivated by the benefits for improved SNR (Pacala et al. para. [0028]).
In light of the benefits for improved improved SNR t as taught by Pacala et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hennecke et al. with the teachings of Pacala et al.
Regarding claim 2, Hennecke et al. and Pacala et al. disclose: selectively connecting the plurality of SPADs to the plurality of outputs so as to define a plurality of silicon photomultipliers (SiPMs) in the device such that each SiPM of the plurality of SiPMs comprises a respective set of one or more SPADs connected to a respective output of the plurality of outputs (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, Hennecke et al. and Pacala et al. disclose: selectively connecting the plurality of SPADs to the plurality of outputs is performed so as to achieve a desired mapping of respective SPADs to respective optical channels (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Regarding claim 5, Pacala et al. disclose: selectively connecting the plurality of SPADs to the plurality of outputs occurs only a single time (para. [0039], [0060]) motivated by the benefits for improved SNR (Pacala et al. para. [0028]).
Regarding claim 6, Pacala et al. disclose: selectively connecting the plurality of SPADs to the plurality of outputs occurs in a dynamic fashion (para. [0039], [0060]) motivated by the benefits for improved SNR (Pacala et al. para. [0028]).
Regarding claim 7, Hennecke et al. disclose: the electrical components comprise transistors (para. [0064]).
Regarding claim 8, Hennecke et al. disclose: the electrical components comprise severable connections (para. [0064]).
Regarding claim 14, Hennecke et al. and Pacala et al. disclose: A method of manufacturing a LIDAR system, the method comprising: providing a first LIDAR element, wherein providing the first LIDAR element comprises selecting the first LIDAR element from among a plurality of different LIDAR elements that correspond to a plurality of different LIDAR types providing a SPAD detector array, wherein the SPAD detector array comprises: a plurality of single photon avalanche diodes (SPADs) coupled to the substrate; a plurality of outputs coupled to the substrate; and a plurality of electrical components coupled to the substrate; and coupling the SPAD detector array to the first LIDAR element, wherein the plurality of electrical components are configured to selectively connect the plurality of SPADs to the plurality of outputs so as to optically align at least a portion of the SPADs to the at least one first LIDAR element (the claim contains the same substantive limitations as claim 1, therefore, the claim is rejected on the same basis).
Regarding claim 15, Hennecke et al. and Pacala et al. disclose: selectively connecting the plurality of SPADs to the plurality of outputs so as to define a plurality of silicon photomultipliers (SiPMs) in the device such that each SiPM of the plurality of SiPMs comprises a respective set of one or more SPADs connected to a respective output of the plurality of outputs (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Regarding claim 18, Hennecke et al. disclose: the pluratity of different LIDAR types have different spatial resolutions (para. [0105]).
Regarding claim 20, Hennecke et al. disclose: method reduces cost and complexity of the LIDAR system while improving serviceability and product life (para. [0105], [0124]).
Regarding claim 21, Hennecke et al. and Pacala et al. disclose: the SPAD detector array is usable with any of the plurality of different LIDAR elements (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Claims 3, 16, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hennecke et al. (US 2020/0370955 A1; pub. Nov. 26, 2020) in view of Pacal et al. (US 2017/0289524 A1; pub. Oct. 5, 2017) and further in view of Moore (US 2020/0173846 A1; pub. Jun. 4, 2020).
Regarding claim 3, the combined references are silent about: receiving, via a reference detector, information indicative of a light intensity, wherein selectively coupling the plurality of SPADs to the plurality of outputs is based on the received information.
In a similar field of endeavor Moore discloses: receiving, via a reference detector, information indicative of a light intensity, wherein selectively coupling the plurality of SPADs to the plurality of outputs is based on the received information (para. [0090]) motivated by the benefits for optimal detection (Moore para. [0035]-[0036]).
In light of the benefits for optimal detection as taught by Moore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hennecke et al. and Pacala et al. with the teachings of Moore.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Hennecke et al. and Pacala et al. and Moore disclose: receiving, via a reference detector, information indicative of a light intensity, wherein selectively connecting the plurality of SPADs to the plurality of outputs is based on the received information (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 3).
Regarding claim 22, Pacala et al. disclose: selectively connecting the plurality of SPADs to the plurality of outputs is performed so as to achieve a desired mapping of respective SPADs to respective optical channels (para. [0018], [0039], [0060]) motivated by the benefits for improved SNR (Pacala et al. para. [0028]).
.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hennecke et al. (US 2020/0370955 A1; pub. Nov. 26, 2020) in view of Pacal et al. (US 2017/0289524 A1; pub. Oct. 5, 2017) and further in view of Iguchi et al. (US 2019/0170866 A1; pub. Ju. 6, 2019).
Regarding claim 9, the combined references are silent about: the severable connections comprise at least one of: a switch, a fuse, or a laser-trimmable trace.
In a similar field of endeavor Iguchi et al. disclose: the severable connections comprise at least one of: a switch, a fuse, or a laser-trimmable trace (para. [0087]) motivated by the benefits for a low cost apparatus (Iguchi et al. para. [0019]).
In light of the benefits for a low cost apparatus as taught by Iguchi et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hennecke et al. and Pacala et al. with the teachings of Iguchi et al.
Claims 12 & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hennecke et al. (US 2020/0370955 A1; pub. Nov. 26, 2020) in view of Pacal et al. (US 2017/0289524 A1; pub. Oct. 5, 2017) and further in view of Droz et al. (US 2018/0175230 A1; pub. Jun. 21, 2018).
Regarding claim 12, the combined references are silent about: the substrate comprises at least one of: silicon, gallium arsenide, silicon-on-insulator, or a printed circuit board.
In a similar field of endeavor Droz et al. disclose: the substrate comprises at least one of: silicon, gallium arsenide, silicon-on-insulator, or a printed circuit board (para. [0027]) motivated by the benefits for enhanced performance.
In light of the benefits for enhanced performance, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hennecke et al. and Pacala et al. with the teachings of Droz et al.
Regarding claim 13, the combined references are silent about: the light-detecting elements comprise at least one of: silicon, germanium, GaAs, AlGaAs, InGaAs, InP, or InGaAsP.
In a similar field of endeavor Droz et al. disclose: the light-detecting elements comprise at least one of: silicon, germanium, GaAs, AlGaAs, InGaAs, InP, or InGaAsP (para. [0030]) motivated by the benefits for a high-speed, high sensitivity photodetector.
In light of the benefits for a high-speed, high sensitivity photodetector, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hennecke et al. and Pacala et al. with the teachings of Droz et al.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hennecke et al. (US 2020/0370955 A1; pub. Nov. 26, 2020) in view of Pacal et al. (US 2017/0289524 A1; pub. Oct. 5, 2017) and further in view of Satat et al. (US 2019/0361099 A1; pub. Nov. 28, 2019).
Regarding claim 19, the combined references are silent about: the plurality of different LIDAR types have different low-light capabilities.
In a similar field of endeavor Satat et al. disclose: the plurality of different LIDAR types have different low-light capabilities (para. [0137], [0156]) motivated by the benefits for a LIDAR system that operate in harsh weather condition.
In light of the benefits for a LIDAR system that operate in harsh weather condition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hennecke et al. and Pacala et al. with the teachings of Satat et al.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAMADOU FAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884