DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-7 in the reply filed on 8/6/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tedesco (5481962) in view of Lubrina et al. (20020179588).
Tedesco teaches a cooking control method comprising:
in response to a cooking signal (col. 5 lines 54-55), controlling a heating apparatus of a cooking device to heat (col. 5 lines 59-62) a cooking pot (col. 3 line 55 ref. 12) of the cooking device (col. 3 line 32 ref. 10), to cause the cooking device to enter a first cooking stage (col. 6 lines 6-13), the cooking device further including a cooker body (col. 4 lines 15-19 dome and body) and a circulation fan (col. 4 lines 39-42), the cooking pot, the heating apparatus, and the circulation fan being located in the cooker body (fig. 3, fig. 1), the heating apparatus being located between the cooking pot and the cooker body (col. 4 lines 30-33; relative dome top), and the circulation fan being opposite to an opening of the cooking pot (fig. 3 ref. 70).
obtaining a temperature in the cooking pot (col. 6 lines 1-3)
in response to the temperature being equal to a first temperature threshold (col. 6 lines 6-10 less than 375 recycle heating element) and less than a second temperature threshold (col. 6 lines 6-10 375), controlling the circulation fan to operate (col. 6 lines 1-3) and
in response to the temperature being equal to the second temperature threshold (col. 6 lines 6-10 375), controlling the cooking device to enter a second cooking stage (col. 6 lines 14-23), a power (col. 6 line 14; no power) of the heating apparatus in the second cooking stage being less than a power of the heating apparatus in the first cooking stage (col. 6 line 14).
Tedesco teaches a closed cooking cavity and a thermal sensor for determining temperature thresholds and thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to the art of convection cooking as taught by Lubrina.
Lubrina teaches an enclosed space for cooking food by convection where the cooking space includes a sensor for measuring the temperature of the interior space (par. 0038).
Thus since both teach convection cooking, since both teach temperature sensors and since Lubrina teaches the temperature sensor for the interior of the cooking cavity comprising steam for increasing humidity (par. 0041). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to teach a type of thermal sensor relative the broadly taught genus of a thermal sensor as taught by Tedesco such as sensor for measuring steam temperature in a same cavity, i.e. cavity temperature for its art recognized and applicants intended purpose of controlling the heating elements and fan based on a desired temperature and controlling cooking responsive to temperature conditions within the cooking cavity as taught by Tedesco (col. 6 lines 1-23)
Claim 2, in response to the steam temperature being less than the first temperature threshold (col. 5 lines 59-63 375F), controlling the circulation fan to operate in a first mode (col. 5 lines 59-63; off col. 6 line 1-3 activate)
wherein:
controlling the circulation fan to operate in response to the temperature being greater than or equal to the first temperature threshold and less than the second temperature threshold includes, in response to the steam temperature being greater than or equal to the first temperature threshold and less than the second temperature threshold, controlling the circulation fan to operate in a second mode (col. 6 lines 1-3 activate) and
an average rotation speed of the circulation fan in the second mode is greater than an average rotation speed of the circulation fan in the first mode (col. 6 lines 1-3 activated vs not).
Claim 3, wherein controlling the circulation fan to operate in the second mode includes: controlling the circulation fan to rotate periodically (col. 6 lines 20-22; timed; alternatively relative on/off, subsequent batches).
Claim 4, Tedesco teaches cycling of the heating elements to maintain a temperature (col. 6 lines 8-9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to teach controlling the circulation fan to rotate periodically includes controlling the circulation fan to alternate between rotating for a first time duration and stopping rotating for a second time duration, i.e. cycling during a same cycling of heating elements as taught by Tedesco thus preventing the drying out of the food products while the temperature is changing during cooking as taught by Lubrina (par. 0049 last 3 lines)
Claim 5, in response to the steam temperature being less than the first temperature threshold, controlling the circulation fan to stop operating (col. 5 lines 59-63; off col. 6 line 1-3 activate).
Claim 6, in response to the steam temperature being greater than or equal to the first temperature threshold and less than the second temperature threshold, obtaining a heating time that the heating apparatus has operated (col. 6 lines 9-10) and
in response to the heating time being equal to a preset time (col. 6 lines 9-10), controlling the cooking device to enter the second cooking stage (col. 6 lines 14-18).
Claim 7, further comprising: in response to the heating time being less than the preset time (col. 6 lines 9-10 less than 10-15 second), reobtaining the steam temperature in the cooking pot (col. 6 lines 6-8 temperature maintained).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. 20200096202, 20080095905, 10123556 directed to methods of controlled steam cooking, 20190045964 directed to cooking device comprising fan in lid.
/STEVEN N LEFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1792