DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishikawa (WO 2007/116685).
Regarding claim 1, in Figure 5, Nishikawa discloses a method for manufacturing a multilayer printed wiring board, the method comprising: providing a first laminate (comprising bottom layers 2, 1, and 4) and a second laminate (comprising upper layers 2, 1, and 4), the first laminate including a first conductor layer (bottom layer 2), a first insulating layer (bottom layer 1) containing polyimide, and a second conductor layer (bottom layer 4) which are stacked one on top of another in this order, the second laminate including a second insulating layer (upper layer 1) containing polyimide and a third conductor layer (upper layer 2) which are stacked one on top of the other in this order; heating each of the first laminate and the second laminate under a condition including a heating temperature equal to or higher than 100°C and a heating duration equal to or longer than half an hour (claim 22); and stacking, after heating, the first laminate and the second laminate one on top of the other with a third insulating layer (3) interposed between the second conductor layer and the second insulating layer.
Regarding claim 2, Nishikawa discloses placing, in an interval from an end of the heating to a beginning of the stacking, the first laminate and the second laminate in an atmosphere having a temperature equal to or higher than 18oC and equal to or lower than 28oC and a relative humidity equal to or less than 65% RH for at most one hour (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 3, Nishikawa discloses wherein a weight variation measured by dry weight measurement method with a total volume of the first insulating layer, the second insulating layer, and the third insulating layer defined as a reference is equal to or less than 3000 μg/cm3 (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 4, Nishikawa discloses wherein the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer each have a thickness equal to or greater than 25 μm and equal to or less than 500 μm (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 5, Nishikawa discloses wherein a ratio of a total thickness of the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer to a total thickness of the first insulating layer, the second insulating layer, and the third insulating layer is equal to or greater than 67% (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, Nishikawa discloses wherein an insulating layer thickness X, which is a sum of respective thicknesses of the first insulating layer, the second insulating layer, and the third insulating layer, is equal to or greater than 75 μm and equal to or less than 125 μm, and a transmission loss Y of the multilayer printed wiring board meets the following inequality (1):
0 > Y ≥ 0.6175X – 126.26 (1) and is equal to or greater than –80 (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 7, Nishikawa discloses wherein an insulating layer thickness X, which is a sum of respective thicknesses of the first insulating layer, the second insulating layer, and the third insulating layer, is equal to or greater than 125 μm and equal to or less than 200 μm, and a transmission loss Y of the multilayer printed wiring board meets the following inequality (2):
0 > Y ≥ 0.1532X – 68.221 (2) and is equal to or greater than –49 (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 8, Nishikawa discloses wherein an insulating layer thickness X, which is a sum of respective thicknesses of the first insulating layer, the second insulating layer, and the third insulating layer, is equal to or greater than 200 μm and equal to or less than 325 μm, and a transmission loss Y of the multilayer printed wiring board meets the following inequality (3):
0 > Y ≥ 0.1028X – 58.135 (3) and is equal to or greater than –38 (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 9, Nishikawa discloses wherein an insulating layer thickness X, which is a sum of respective thicknesses of the first insulating layer, the second insulating layer, and the third insulating layer, is equal to or greater than 325 μm and equal to or less than 1025 μm, and a transmission loss Y of the multilayer printed wiring board meets the following inequality (4):
0 > Y ≥ 0.0113X – 28.397 (4) and is equal to or greater than –25 (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 10, Nishikawa discloses wherein the third insulating layer has a dielectric constant equal to or less than 2.9, and the third insulating layer has a dielectric loss tangent equal to or less than 0.003 (Figure 2).
Conclusion
TREMESHA W. BURNS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/TREMESHA W BURNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847