DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This communication is in response to the Application Filed on 10/17/2024.
Claims 1-17 are pending in this application.
Drawings
The drawing(s) filed on 10/17/2024 are accepted by the Examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/17/2024, 08/26/2025, and 09/04/2025, and are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 9, 10, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover mental process (concept performed in a human mind, including as observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion). The independent claim 1 recites a method for inspecting. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the steps do not add meaningful limitations to be considered specifically applied to a particular technological problem to be solved. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the steps of the claimed invention can be done mentally and no additional features in the claims would preclude them from being performed as such except for the generic computer elements at high level of generality (i.e., processor, memory).
According to the USPTO guidelines, a claim is directed to non-statutory subject matter if:
STEP 1: the claim does not fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention (process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter), or
STEP 2: the claim recites a judicial exception, e.g. an abstract idea, without reciting additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, as determined using the following analysis:
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
Using the two-step inquiry, it is clear that the independent claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea as shown below:
STEP 1: Do the claims fall within one of the statutory categories? YES. Independent claim 1 is directed to a method.
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea? YES, the claims are directed toward a mental process (i.e. abstract idea).
With regard to STEP 2A (PRONG 1), the guidelines provide three groupings of subject matter that are considered abstract ideas:
Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations;
Certain methods of organizing human activity – fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions); and
Mental processes – concepts that are practicably performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion).
Independent claim 1 comprises a mental process that can be practicably performed in the human mind (or generic computers or components configured to perform the method) and, therefore, an abstract idea.
Regarding independent claim(s) 1: the limitations recite:
using a camera apparatus to photograph a composite material tape being transported on a laminator to obtain an inspection image covering the composite material tape, wherein the inspection image comprises a cathode electrode plate body region (Pre-solution activity insignificant activity, e.g., data collection)
extracting the cathode electrode plate body region from the inspection image (Mental process including observation and evaluation, and can be done mentally in the human mind)
inspecting the cathode electrode plate body region to determine a metal leakage defect existing in the cathode electrode plate body region (Mental process including observation and evaluation, and can be done mentally in the human mind)
These limitations, as drafted, is a simple process that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind or by a human. The Examiner notes that under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III), the courts consider a mental process (thinking) that “can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper" to be an abstract idea. CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1695 (Fed. Cir. 2011). As the Federal Circuit explained, "methods which can be performed mentally, or which are the equivalent of human mental work, are unpatentable abstract ideas the ‘basic tools of scientific and technological work’ that are open to all.’" 654 F.3d at 1371, 99 USPQ2d at 1694 (citing Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 175 USPQ 673 (1972)). See also Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs. Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965 ("‘[M]ental processes[] and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work’" (quoting Benson, 409 U.S. at 67, 175 USPQ at 675)); Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 589, 198 USPQ 193, 197 (1978) (same).
As such, a person could mentally analyze image information and determine whether a defect exist in an area of interest in the image. Thus, the claims recite a mental process.
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? NO, the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
With regard to STEP 2A (prong 2), whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, the guidelines provide the following exemplary considerations that are indicative that an additional element (or combination of elements) may have integrated the judicial exception into a practical application:
an additional element reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field;
an additional element that applies or uses a judicial exception to affect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition;
an additional element implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim;
an additional element effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; and
an additional element applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
While the guidelines further state that the exemplary considerations are not an exhaustive list and that there may be other examples of integrating the exception into a practical application, the guidelines also list examples in which a judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application:
an additional element merely recites the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea;
an additional element adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception; and
an additional element does no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
Independent claim 1 does not recite any of the exemplary considerations that are indicative of an abstract idea having been integrated into a practical application. Independent claim 1 discloses using a camera apparatus to photograph a composite material tape being transported on a laminator to obtain an inspection image covering the composite material tape, wherein the inspection image comprises a cathode electrode plate body region which are generic computer components and/or insignificant pre/post-solution extra activity that do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea in a method.
These limitations are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general action or change being taken based on the results of the acquiring step) and amounts to mere post solution actions, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Further, the claims are claimed generically and are operating in their ordinary capacity such that they do not use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? No, the claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With regard to STEP 2B, whether the claims recite additional elements that provide significantly more than the recited judicial exception, the guidelines specify that the pre-guideline procedure is still in effect. Specifically, that examiners should continue to consider whether an additional element or combination of elements:
adds a specific limitation or combination of limitations that are not well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field, which is indicative that an inventive concept may be present; or
simply appends well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, which is indicative that an inventive concept may not be present.
Independent claim 1 does not recite any additional elements that are not well-understood, routine or conventional. The use of a generic computer elements are routine, well-understood and conventional process that is performed by computers.
Thus, since independent claim 1 is: (a) directed toward an abstract idea, (b) does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and (c) does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, it is clear that independent claim 1 is not eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C 101.
Regarding claim 9: the additional limitations do not integrate the mental process into practical application or add significantly more to the mental process. The limitation(s): using the camera apparatus to photograph each side of the composite material tape being transported on the laminator to obtain the inspection image covering the composite material tape are mental processes including insignificant pre/post-solution extra activity of generating data.
Regarding claim 10: the additional limitations do not integrate the mental process into practical application or add significantly more to the mental process. The limitation(s): outputting an inspection result, wherein the inspection result comprises at least one of position information of the cathode electrode plate body region in the composite material tape and an area of the cathode electrode plate body region are mental processes including observation and evaluation, and can be done mentally in the human mind.
Regarding claim 12: the additional limitations do not integrate the mental process into practical application or add significantly more to the mental process. The limitation(s): An electronic device, comprising at least one processor and a memory communicatively connected to the at least one processor, wherein the memory stores instructions that are executable by the at least one processor, and the instructions are executed by the at least one processor to enable the at least one processor to perform the method according to claim 1 are mental processes including generic computers or components configured to perform the method.
Regarding claim 17: the additional limitations do not integrate the mental process into practical application or add significantly more to the mental process. The limitation(s): A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer instructions, wherein the computer instructions are configured to enable a computer to perform the method according to claim 1 are mental processes including generic computers or components configured to perform the method.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9, 11-13, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (CN 109598721 A, hereinafter, “Wang”).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a method (See Wang translation, Pg. 4, line 21, a battery pole piece defect detection method) for inspecting a cathode electrode plate of a composite material tape (See Wang translation, Pg. 4, lines 30-31, the pole piece is the core component of the battery; in one battery can comprise a positive pole piece and a negative pole piece), comprising:
using a camera apparatus to photograph a composite material tape being transported on a laminator to obtain an inspection image covering the composite material tape (See Wang translation, Pg. 4, lines 22-23, the camera 120 shoots the battery pole piece 110 of the first image. Examiner considers the first image to be the inspection image; Pg. 5, lines 34-36, the pole piece is composed of multiple layers of material by bonding, the adhesive coating is not uniform in the bonding process, the material is not completely adhered together), wherein the inspection image comprises a cathode electrode plate body region (See Wang translation, Pg. 4, line 28, S101, obtaining the first image of the pole piece to be detected; Pg. 4, lines 30-31, the pole piece is the core component of the battery; in one battery can comprise a positive pole piece and a negative pole piece);
extracting the cathode electrode plate body region from the inspection image (See Wang translation, Pg. 5, lines 13-15, Further, the detecting device after identifying the defect area of the first image, can by obtaining the image characteristic of the defect area, generating a second image; it also can through the image processing tool, cutting the first image, dividing operation to obtain the second image. Examiner considers cutting the first image, dividing operation to be extracting a region of interest); and
inspecting the cathode electrode plate body region to determine a metal leakage defect existing in the cathode electrode plate body region (See Wang translation, Pg. 5, lines 25-26, identify the defect type of the second image; Pg. 5, lines 31-33, the defect type of the second image may be classified according to different features of the defect, may include: any one of bubble defect, decarburization defect, metal defect, black point defect, bright defect and streak defect).
Regarding claim 2, in which claim 1 is incorporated, Wang discloses wherein the inspecting the cathode electrode plate body region to determine a metal leakage defect existing in the cathode electrode plate body region (See Wang translation, Pg. 5, lines 25-26, identify the defect type of the second image; Pg. 5, lines 31-33, the defect type of the second image may be classified according to different features of the defect, may include: any one of bubble defect, decarburization defect, metal defect, black point defect, bright defect and streak defect) comprises: inspecting based on a pixel value of the cathode electrode plate body region (See Wang translation, Pg. 9, lines 10-13, the detection device can according to the pixel of the first image to divide the area, to obtain the grey value of each pixel; it also can firstly divide the first image primarily, obtaining each area, then averaging the grey value of each pixel in the area, obtaining the average grey value of the area).
Regarding claim 3, in which claim 2 is incorporated, Wang discloses wherein the inspecting based on a pixel value of the cathode electrode plate body region (See Wang translation, Pg. 9, lines 10-13, the detection device can according to the pixel of the first image to divide the area, to obtain the grey value of each pixel; it also can firstly divide the first image primarily, obtaining each area, then averaging the grey value of each pixel in the area, obtaining the average grey value of the area comprises: determining whether the cathode electrode plate body region comprises at least one suspected defect region (See Wang translation, Pg. 9, lines 17-18, Further, the detecting device obtains the grey scale of each area, can be combined with the preset grey threshold value, to determine the defect area in the first image), and a pixel value of any pixel in each suspected defect region is within a first pixel value range; and in response to determining that the cathode electrode plate body region comprises at least one suspected defect region and that the at least one suspected defect region meets a preset condition (See Wang translation, Pg. 9, lines 37-40, if the defect state of the pole piece satisfies the preset defect marking condition, then the pole piece can be marked as defective product wherein the defect mark condition can be determined according to the defect number or defect area of the pole piece), determining that a metal leakage defect exists in the cathode electrode plate body region (See Wang, Pg. 10, lines 3-5, The defect detection method of the battery pole piece, the detection device according to the defect type of the second image to judge whether the pole piece satisfies the defect mark condition, can effectively judge whether the pole piece is defective product).
Regarding claim 4, in which claim 3 is incorporated, Wang discloses wherein the preset condition comprises: an area of any one of the suspected defect regions is greater than a preset threshold (See Wang translation, Pg. 9, lines 37-40, if the defect state of the pole piece satisfies the preset defect marking condition, then the pole piece can be marked as defective product wherein the defect mark condition can be determined according to the defect number or defect area of the pole piece. Examiner considers the defect marking condition as a threshold).
Regarding claim 5, in which claim 3 is incorporated, Wang discloses wherein the determining whether the cathode electrode plate body region comprises at least one suspected defect region (See Wang translation, Pg. 9, lines 37-40, if the defect state of the pole piece satisfies the preset defect marking condition, then the pole piece can be marked as defective product wherein the defect mark condition can be determined according to the defect number or defect area of the pole piece) comprises: in the cathode electrode plate body region, obtaining a plurality of abnormal pixels with pixel values within the first pixel value range (See Wang translation, Pg. 7, lines 5-19, the data set deep learning by the convolutional neural network may be the following group of data, such as (0.21, 0.13, 0.56, 0.87, 0.02, 0.11), then the detection device can through the data in the data group for ordering… determining the defect type of the second image); and dividing the plurality of abnormal pixels so that adjacent pixels in the plurality of abnormal pixels are located in at least one suspected defect region which is independently connected (See Wang translation, Pg. 7, lines 3-5, each data in the data group can be sorted to obtain the maximum value of the data, and the defect type corresponding to the data bit with the maximum value is determined as the defect type of the second image. Examiner considers dividing the abnormal pixels as sorting the pixels).
Regarding claim 9, in which claim 1 is incorporated, Wang discloses wherein the using a camera apparatus to photograph a composite material tape being transported on a laminator to obtain an inspection image covering the composite material tape (See Wang translation, Pg. 4, lines 22-23, the camera 120 shoots the battery pole piece 110 of the first image. Examiner considers the first image to be the inspection image) comprises: using the camera apparatus to photograph each side of the composite material tape being transported on the laminator to obtain the inspection image covering the composite material tape (See Wang translation, Pg. 4, line 40 and pg. 5, line 1, shooting the front image and the back image of the pole piece by the camera, The first image is formed by the image of the front face and the back face. Examiner considers the first image to be the inspection image and the front and back image to be each side of the material tape).
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses an apparatus for inspecting a cathode electrode plate of a composite material tape (See Wang translation, Pg. 10, lines 14-15, In one embodiment, as shown in FIG. 5, there is provided a defect detection device of a battery pole piece), comprising: an image acquisition unit (See Wang, Pg. 10, line 16, obtaining module 10, for obtaining the first image of the pole piece to be detected. Examiner considers the obtaining module to be the image acquisition unit), configured to use a camera apparatus to photograph a composite material tape being transported on a laminator to obtain an inspection image covering the composite material tape (See Wang translation, Pg. 4, lines 22-23, the camera 120 shoots the battery pole piece 110 of the first image. Examiner considers the first image to be the inspection image; Pg. 5, lines 34-36, the pole piece is composed of multiple layers of material by bonding, the adhesive coating is not uniform in the bonding process, the material is not completely adhered together), wherein the inspection image comprises a cathode electrode plate body region (See Wang translation, Pg. 4, line 28, S101, obtaining the first image of the pole piece to be detected; Pg. 4, lines 30-31, the pole piece is the core component of the battery; in one battery can comprise a positive pole piece and a negative pole piece. Examiner considers the first image to be the inspection image); a region extraction unit (See Wang translation, Pg. 10, line 19, a detection module 20), configured to extract the cathode electrode plate body region from the inspection image (See Wang translation, (See Wang translation, Pg. 10, lines 19-20, a detection module 20, for inputting the second image into the preset deep learning the convolutional neural network for defect detection, obtaining the defect type of the second image) and a metal leakage inspection unit (See Wang translation, Pg. 10, lines 27-29, first determining unit 202, for obtaining the data bit of the data group median maximum, and the value of the largest data bit corresponding to the defect type is determined as the defect type of the second image. Examiner considers the first determining unit to be the metal leakage inspection unit), configured to inspect the cathode electrode plate body region to determine a metal leakage defect existing in the cathode electrode plate body region (See Wang translation, Pg. 5, lines 25-26, identify the defect type of the second image; Pg. 5, lines 31-33, the defect type of the second image may be classified according to different features of the defect, may include: any one of bubble defect, decarburization defect, metal defect, black point defect, bright defect and streak defect).
Regarding claim 12, Wang discloses an electronic device (See Wang translation, Pg. 11, lines 15-16, In one embodiment, there is provided a detection device, the internal structure diagram can be shown in FIG. 8), comprising at least one processor and a memory communicatively connected to the at least one processor (See Wang translation, Pg. 11, lines 33-34, a memory and a processor, the memory is stored with a computer program, the processor executes the computer program), wherein the memory stores instructions that are executable by the at least one processor (See Wang translation, Pg. 11, lines 33-34, a memory and a processor, the memory is stored with a computer program, the processor executes the computer program), and the instructions are executed by the at least one processor to enable the at least one processor to perform the method according to claim 1 (See Wang translation, Pg. 10, lines 23-24, When the computer program is executed by a processor, a defect detection method of a battery pole piece is realized; See Wang as cited above for claim 1).
Regarding claim 13, Wang discloses a system for inspecting a cathode electrode plate of a composite material tape (See Wang translation, Pg. 4, line 21, a battery pole piece defect detection method; Pg. 4, lines 30-31, the pole piece is the core component of the battery; in one battery can comprise a positive pole piece and a negative pole piece), comprising: at least one camera apparatus, configured to photograph the composite material tape being transported on a laminator (See Wang translation, lines 21-23, The embodiment of the invention claims a battery pole piece defect detection method, which can be 21 applied to the application environment shown in FIG. 1. wherein the camera 120 shoots the battery pole piece 110 of the first image. Examiner considers the first image to be the inspection image; Pg. 5, lines 34-36, the pole piece is composed of multiple layers of material by bonding, the adhesive coating is not uniform in the bonding process, the material is not completely adhered together); and the electronic device according to claim 12 (See Wang translation as cited above for claim 12).
Regarding claim 16, Wang discloses a laminator (See Wang translation, Pg. 4, lines 31-35, the manufacturing process of the pole piece is complex… compacting and densifying the particle coating of the dry pole piece, then cutting or dividing strip to prepare pole piece. Examiner considers the laminator function cited to be similar to the laminator as described in the Applicant’s Specification), comprising the system according to claim 13 (See Wang translation as cited above for claim 13).
Regarding claim 17, Wang discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer instructions (See Wang translation, Pg. 10, lines 20-21, The internal memory provides an environment for operating systems and computer programs in a non-volatile storage medium), wherein the computer instructions are configured to enable a computer to perform the method according to claim 1 (See Wang translation, Pg. 10, lines 23-24, When the computer program is executed by a processor, a defect detection method of a battery pole piece is realized; See Wang translation as cited above for claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 109598721 A, hereinafter, “Wang”) in view of Zhou et al. (WO 2021248554 A1, hereinafter, “Zhou”).
Regarding claim 6, in which claim 1 is incorporated, Wang discloses [wherein the camera apparatus is a line-scan camera, and the inspection image is a continuous scanning image of the composite material tape being transported on the laminator], and the extracting the cathode electrode plate body region from the inspection image (See Wang translation, Pg. 5, lines 13-15, Further, the detecting device after identifying the defect area of the first image, can by obtaining the image characteristic of the defect area, generating a second image; it also can through the image processing tool, cutting the first image, dividing operation to obtain the second image. Examiner considers cutting the first image, dividing operation to be extracting a region of interest) comprises: [intercepting at least one image slice from the inspection image]; and extracting the cathode electrode plate body region from the image slice (See Wang translation, Pg. 5, lines 13-15, Further, the detecting device after identifying the defect area of the first image, can by obtaining the image characteristic of the defect area, generating a second image; it also can through the image processing tool, cutting the first image, dividing operation to obtain the second image. Examiner considers cutting the first image, dividing operation to be extracting a region of interest).
However, Wang does not disclose wherein the camera apparatus is a line-scan camera, and the inspection image is a continuous scanning image of the composite material tape being transported on the laminator, [and the extracting the cathode electrode plate body region from the inspection image comprises:] intercepting at least one image slice from the inspection image; [and extracting the cathode electrode plate body region from the image slice.]
Zhou teaches wherein the camera apparatus is a line-scan camera (See Zhou translation, Pg. 6, line 27, a line scan camera 12), and the inspection image is a continuous scanning image of the composite material tape being transported on the laminator (See Zhou translation, Pg. 7, lines 27-28, S32. The detection software system obtains the images obtained in step S31 at regular intervals, first stitches the images obtained by line scanning into a large image. Examiner considers the images taken at regular intervals as a continuous scanning image, in which images are continuously captured by the line scan camera as cited above), [and the extracting the cathode electrode plate body region from the inspection image comprises:] intercepting at least one image slice from the inspection image (See Zhou translation, Pg. 7, lines 24-25, S31. The image acquisition module performs pole piece image sampling at a set frequency, acquires 24 the pole piece surface image, and stores it in the memory for later use. Examiner considers the image sampling as intercepting an image slice); [and extracting the cathode electrode plate body region from the image slice.]
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s reference to wherein the camera apparatus is a line-scan camera, and the inspection image is a continuous scanning image of the composite material tape being transported on the laminator, and intercepting at least one image slice from the inspection image based on the method of Zhou’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to complete the high-speed and high-precision pole piece detection requirements as suggested by Zhou translation at Pg. 2, lines 23-24.
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhou with Wang to obtain the invention as specified in claim 6.
Regarding claim 10, in which claim 1 is incorporated, Wang discloses wherein the method (See Wang translation, Pg. 10, lines 14-15, In one embodiment, as shown in FIG. 5, there is provided a defect detection device of a battery pole piece), further comprises: in response to determining that a metal leakage defect exists in the cathode electrode plate body region (See Wang translation, Pg. 5, lines 25-26, identify the defect type of the second image; Pg. 5, lines 31-33, the defect type of the second image may be classified according to different features of the defect, may include: any one of bubble defect, decarburization defect, metal defect, black point defect, bright defect and streak defect), outputting an inspection result (See Wang translation, Pg. 6, lines 6-7, directly output the defect type), [wherein the inspection result comprises at least one of position information of the cathode electrode plate body region in the composite material tape and an area of the cathode electrode plate body region.]
However, Wang does not disclose wherein the inspection result comprises at least one of position information of the cathode electrode plate body region in the composite material tape and an area of the cathode electrode plate body region.
Zhou teaches wherein the inspection result comprises at least one of position information of the cathode electrode plate body region in the composite material tape (See Zhou translation, Pg. 4, line 2, classify the defects in the figure and regress to calculate the position of the defect) and an area of the cathode electrode plate body region (See Zhou translation, Pg. 5, lines 17-18, each predicted convolution branch predicts 3 different suspected defect region candidate frames at each pixel position of the feature map).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s reference wherein the inspection result comprises at least one of position information of the cathode electrode plate body region in the composite material tape based on the method of Zhou’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to complete the high-speed and high-precision pole piece detection requirements as suggested by Zhou translation at Pg. 2, lines 23-24.
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhou with Wang to obtain the invention as specified in claim 10.
Regarding claim 14, in which claim 13 is incorporated, Wang discloses wherein the at least one camera apparatus comprises [a first line-scan camera] configured to photograph a first side surface of the composite material tape (See Wang translation, Pg. 4, line 40 and pg. 5, line 1, shooting the front image and the back image of the pole piece by the camera, The first image is formed by the image of the front face and the back face. Examiner considers the front image to be the first side surface) and [a second line-scan camera] configured to photograph a second side surface of the composite material tape opposite the first side surface (See Wang translation, Pg. 4, line 40 and pg. 5, line 1, shooting the front image and the back image of the pole piece by the camera, The first image is formed by the image of the front face and the back face. Examiner considers the back image to be the second side surface), [wherein the system further comprises a first line light source for providing illumination to an image acquisition region of the first line-scan camera and a second line light source for providing illumination to an image acquisition region of the second line-scan camera.]
However, Wang does not disclose wherein the at least one camera apparatus comprises a first line-scan camera configured to [photograph a first side surface of the composite material tape] and a second line-scan camera configured to [photograph a second side surface of the composite material tape opposite the first side surface], wherein the system further comprises a first line light source for providing illumination to an image acquisition region of the first line-scan camera and a second line light source for providing illumination to an image acquisition region of the second line-scan camera.
Zhou teaches wherein the at least one camera apparatus comprises a first line-scan camera (See Zhou translation, Fig. 4, Pg. 3, line 13, this system uses two above-mentioned cameras. Examiner considers one of the two cameras a first camera) configured to [photograph a first side surface of the composite material tape] and a second line-scan camera (See Zhou translation, Fig. 4, Pg. 3, line 13, this system uses two above-mentioned cameras. Examiner considers one of the two cameras a second camera) configured to [photograph a second side surface of the composite material tape opposite the first side surface], wherein the system further comprises a first line light source (See Zhou translation, Pg. 6, line 33, first light source 111) for providing illumination to an image acquisition region of the first line-scan camera (See Zhou translation, Fig. 4, Pg. 3, line 13, this system uses two above-mentioned cameras. Examiner considers one of the two cameras a first camera; Pg. 6, lines 28-29, the line scan camera 12 scans and photographs the illuminated part of the pole piece) and a second line light source (See Zhou translation, Pg. 9, line 33, second light source 112) for providing illumination to an image acquisition region of the second line-scan camera (See Zhou translation, Fig. 4, Pg. 3, line 13, this system uses two above-mentioned cameras. Examiner considers one of the two cameras a second camera; Pg. 6, lines 28-29, the line scan camera 12 scans and photographs the illuminated part of the pole piece).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s reference wherein the at least one camera apparatus comprises a first line-scan camera and a second line-scan camera, wherein the system further comprises a first line light source for providing illumination to an image acquisition region of the first line-scan camera and a second line light source for providing illumination to an image acquisition region of the second line-scan camera. based on the method of Zhou’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been for a well-arranged light source structure to light the pole piece, and then design a suitable image acquisition system and image processing system as suggested by Zhou translation at Pg. 2, lines 22-23.
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhou with Wang to obtain the invention as specified in claim 14.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 109598721 A, hereinafter, “Wang”) in view of Nishihara et al. (JP 2017111864 A, hereinafter, “Nishihara”).
Regarding claim 7, in which claim 1 is incorporate, Wang discloses [wherein the inspection image further comprises a separator region surrounding the cathode electrode plate body region, a backup roller region at least partially surrounding the separator region, and a plurality of tab regions located at two sides of the separator region,] wherein the extracting the cathode electrode plate body region from the inspection image (See Wang translation, Pg. 5, lines 13-15, Further, the detecting device after identifying the defect area of the first image, can by obtaining the image characteristic of the defect area, generating a second image; it also can through the image processing tool, cutting the first image, dividing operation to obtain the second image) comprises: at least based on pixel values of a plurality of pixels comprised in the inspection image (See Wang translation, Pg. 9, lines 10-13, the detection device can according to the pixel of the first image to divide the area, to obtain the grey value of each pixel; it also can firstly divide the first image primarily, obtaining each area, then averaging the grey value of each pixel in the area, obtaining the average grey value of the area), extracting the cathode electrode plate body region from the inspection image (See Wang translation, Pg. 5, lines 13-15, Further, the detecting device after identifying the defect area of the first image, can by obtaining the image characteristic of the defect area, generating a second image; it also can through the image processing tool, cutting the first image, dividing operation to obtain the second image).
However, Wang does not disclose wherein the inspection image further comprises a separator region surrounding the cathode electrode plate body region, a backup roller region at least partially surrounding the separator region, and a plurality of tab regions located at two sides of the separator region.
Nishihara teaches wherein the inspection image further comprises a separator region surrounding the cathode electrode plate body region (See Nishihara translation, Fig. 4- element R1, Pg. 5, lines 2-4, The first imaging unit 4 is set in advance so as to capture an image of the imaging range R1 having a size that matches the size of the individual electrode 15; Pg. 8, lines 36-37, in addition to the positive electrode and the negative electrode 36 described above, the individual electrode 15 may be a separator-wrapped positive electrode) a backup roller region at least partially surrounding the separator region (See Nishihara translation, Fig. 4- element R1, Pg. 5, lines 2-4, The first imaging unit 4 is set in advance so as to capture an image of the imaging range R1 having a size that matches the size of the individual electrode 15; Pg. 5, line 1, strip electrode 10 is placed on the transport surface 22a. Examiner considers the transport surface to be the backup roller region as they are both used to move the electrode) and a plurality of tab regions located at two sides of the separator region (See Nishihara translation, Fig. 4- element R1, Pg. 5, lines 2-4, The first imaging unit 4 is set in advance so as to capture an image of the imaging range R1 having a size that matches the size of the individual electrode 15 based on the parameter information; Pg. 2, lines 41-43, The positive electrode tab and the negative electrode tab are formed at positions that do not overlap each other when the positive electrode and the negative electrode are stacked. Examiner considers no overlap in a positive and negative electrode tab to mean there could be multiple tabs on two sides of the separator, since this way there will be no overlap).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s reference wherein the inspection image further comprises a separator region surrounding the cathode electrode plate body region, a backup roller region at least partially surrounding the separator region, and a plurality of tab regions located at two sides of the separator region based on the method of Nishihara’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been if it is desired to perform an image inspection only on a specific part portion. In that case, instead of setting the imaging ranges to match the size of the individual electrodes, the imaging range is set so that the part to be inspected appears as large as possible as suggested by Nishihara translation at Pg. 10, lines 2-5.
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhou with Wang to obtain the invention as specified in claim 7.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 109598721 A, hereinafter, “Wang”) in view of Nishihara et al. (JP 2017111864 A, hereinafter, “Nishihara”) and further in view of Zhao (CN 109613000 A, hereinafter, “Zhao”).
Regarding claim 8, in which claim 7 is incorporated, Wang discloses wherein the at least based on pixel values of a plurality of pixels comprised in the inspection image (See Wang translation, Pg. 9, lines 10-13, the detection device can according to the pixel of the first image to divide the area, to obtain the grey value of each pixel; it also can firstly divide the first image primarily, obtaining each area, then averaging the grey value of each pixel in the area, obtaining the average grey value of the area), extracting the cathode electrode plate body region from the inspection image (See Wang translation, Pg. 5, lines 13-15, Further, the detecting device after identifying the defect area of the first image, can by obtaining the image characteristic of the defect area, generating a second image; it also can through the image processing tool, cutting the first image, dividing operation to obtain the second image) comprises: [based on a first pixel threshold corresponding to the backup roller region, removing the backup roller region from the inspection image] to obtain a first intermediate image (See Wang translation, Pg. 5, lines 13-15, Further, the detecting device after identifying the defect area of the first image, can by obtaining the image characteristic of the defect area, generating a second image; it also can through the image processing tool, cutting the first image, dividing operation to obtain the second image. Examiner considers the second image to be the first intermediate image); extracting, from the first intermediate image (See Wang translation, Pg. 5, lines 13-15, Further, the detecting device after identifying the defect area of the first image, can by obtaining the image characteristic of the defect area, generating a second image; it also can through the image processing tool, cutting the first image, dividing operation to obtain the second image. Examiner considers the second image to be the first intermediate image), an image of a largest rectangular region inscribed with an edge thereof, as a second intermediate image to remove the plurality of tab regions (See Wang translation, Pg. 5 lines 17-18, wherein the shape of the second image can be regular shape, such as rectangle, in the image of the rectangular shape just comprises a defect area); and [based on a second pixel threshold] corresponding to the cathode electrode plate body region, extracting the cathode electrode plate body region from the second intermediate image (See Wang translation, Pg. 5, lines 13-15, Further, the detecting device after identifying the defect area of the first image, can by obtaining the image characteristic of the defect area, generating a second image; it also can through the image processing tool, cutting the first image, dividing operation to obtain the second image. Examiner considers cutting the first image, dividing operation to be extracting a region of interest, and the second image to be the second intermediate image).
However, Wang does not disclose [wherein the at least based on pixel values of a plurality of pixels comprised in the inspection image, extracting the cathode electrode plate body region from the inspection image comprises:] based on a first pixel threshold corresponding to the backup roller region, removing the backup roller region from the inspection image to obtain [a first intermediate image; extracting, from the first intermediate image, an image of a largest rectangular region inscribed with an edge thereof, as a second intermediate image to remove the plurality of tab regions;] and based on a second pixel threshold [corresponding to the cathode electrode plate body region, extracting the cathode electrode plate body region from the second intermediate image.]
Zhao teaches [wherein the at least based on pixel values of a plurality of pixels comprised in the inspection image, extracting the cathode electrode plate body region from the inspection image comprises:] based on a first pixel threshold (See Zhao translation, Pg. 5, line 30, the first threshold range is (0,160)) corresponding to the backup roller region, removing the backup roller region from the inspection image (See Zhao translation, Pg. 5, lines 27-28, Specifically, in the step of the base region of the target image extracting grey value meets the first threshold range. Examiner considers the base region a background region such as a backup roller region) to obtain [a first intermediate image; extracting, from the first intermediate image, an image of a largest rectangular region inscribed with an edge thereof, as a second intermediate image to remove the plurality of tab regions;] and based on a second pixel threshold (See Zhao translation, Pg. 5, line 36-37, the second threshold range is (0, average gray value of coating region -55) [corresponding to the cathode electrode plate body region, extracting the cathode electrode plate body region from the second intermediate image.]
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s reference wherein based on a first pixel threshold corresponding to the backup roller region, removing the backup roller region from the inspection image and based on a second pixel threshold [corresponding to the cathode electrode plate body region, extracting the cathode electrode plate body region from the second intermediate image] based on the method of Zhao’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to accurately detect the defect of the lithium battery pole piece, and for precisely locating and matching the defect area as suggested by Zhao translation in the Abstract.
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhao with Wang and Nishihara to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 109598721 A, hereinafter, “Wang”) in view of Zhou et al. (WO 2021248554 A1, hereinafter, “Zhou”), further in view of Yang (CN 113592845 A, hereinafter, “Yang”) and further in view of Chun et al. (KR 20100010887 A, hereinafter, “Chun”).
Regarding claim 15, in which claim 14 is incorporated, Wang discloses [a first backup roller, wherein the first backup roller is configured to abut against the second side surface of the composite material tape in the image acquisition region of the first line-scan camera; a first encoder connected to the first backup roller, wherein the first encoder is configured to send a pulse signal to the first line-scan camera along with the progressing of the composite material tape on the first backup roller, so as to trigger the first line-scan camera] to photograph the first side surface of the composite material tape line by line (See Wang translation, Pg. 4, line 40 and pg. 5, line 1, shooting the front image and the back image of the pole piece by the camera, The first image is formed by the image of the front face and the back face. Examiner considers the front image to be the first side surface); [a second backup roller, wherein the second backup roller is configured to abut against the first side surface of the composite material tape in the image acquisition region of the second line-scan camera; and a second encoder connected to the second backup roller, wherein the second encoder is configured to send a pulse signal to the second line-scan camera along with the progressing of the composite material tape on the second backup roller, so as to trigger the second line-scan camera] to photograph the second side surface of the composite material tape line by line (See Wang translation, Pg. 4, line 40 and pg. 5, line 1, shooting the front image and the back image of the pole piece by the camera, The first image is formed by the image of the front face and the back face. Examiner considers the back image to be the second side surface).
However, Wang does not disclose a first backup roller, wherein the first backup roller is configured to abut against the second side surface of the composite material tape in the image acquisition region of the first line-scan camera; a first encoder connected to the first backup roller, wherein the first encoder is configured to send a pulse signal to the first line-scan camera along with the progressing of the composite material tape on the first backup roller, so as to trigger the first line-scan camera to [photograph the first side surface of the composite material tape line by line]; a second backup roller, wherein the second backup roller is configured to abut against the first side surface of the composite material tape in the image acquisition region of the second line-scan camera; and a second encoder connected to the second backup roller, wherein the second encoder is configured to send a pulse signal to the second line-scan camera along with the progressing of the composite material tape on the second backup roller, so as to trigger the second line-scan camera to [photograph the second side surface of the composite material tape line by line].
Zhou teaches a [first backup roller, wherein the first backup roller is configured to abut against the second side surface of the composite material tape in the image acquisition region] of the first line-scan camera (See Zhou translation, Fig. 4, Pg. 3, line 13, this system uses two above-mentioned cameras. Examiner considers one of the two cameras a first camera); [a first encoder connected to the first backup roller, wherein the first encoder is configured to send a pulse signal to the] first line-scan camera (See Zhou translation, Fig. 4, Pg. 3, line 13, this system uses two above-mentioned cameras. Examiner considers one of the two cameras a first camera) [along with the progressing of the composite material tape on the first backup roller, so as to trigger] the first line-scan camera (See Zhou translation, Fig. 4, Pg. 3, line 13, this system uses two above-mentioned cameras. Examiner considers one of the two cameras a first camera) to [photograph the first side surface of the composite material tape line by line; a second backup roller, wherein the second backup roller is configured to abut against the first side surface of the composite material tape in the image acquisition region of the second line-scan camera (See Zhou translation, Fig. 4, Pg. 3, line 13, this system uses two above-mentioned cameras. Examiner considers one of the two cameras a second camera); and a second encoder connected to the second backup roller, wherein the second encoder is configured to send a pulse signal to the second line-scan camera (See Zhou translation, Fig. 4, Pg. 3, line 13, this system uses two above-mentioned cameras. Examiner considers one of the two cameras a second camera) along with the progressing of the composite material tape on the second backup roller, so as to trigger the second line-scan camera (See Zhou translation, Fig. 4, Pg. 3, line 13, this system uses two above-mentioned cameras. Examiner considers one of the two cameras a second camera) to [photograph the second side surface of the composite material tape line by line].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s reference in which there is a first- and second-line scan camera based on the method of Zhou’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to complete the high-speed and high-precision pole piece detection requirements as suggested by Zhou at Pg. 2, lines 23-24.
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
However, Wang and Zhou do not teach a first backup roller, wherein the first backup roller is configured to abut against the second side surface of the composite material tape in the image acquisition region of the [first line-scan camera;] a first encoder connected to the first backup roller, wherein the first encoder is configured to send a pulse signal to the [first line-scan camera] along with the progressing of the composite material tape on the first backup roller; a second backup roller, wherein the second backup roller is configured to abut against the first side surface of the composite material tape in the image acquisition region of the [second line-scan camera;] and a second encoder connected to the second backup roller, wherein the second encoder is configured to send a pulse signal to the [second line-scan camera] along with the progressing of the composite material tape on the second backup roller.
Yang teaches a first backup roller, wherein the first backup roller is configured to abut against the second side surface of the composite material tape in the image acquisition region of the [first line-scan camera] (See Yang translation, Fig. 1 - elements 105 and 132, Pg. 7, lines 25-26, the B position is set on the side of the roller 105, the camera 122 collects the battery coating L on the other side of the image. Examiner considers the other side of the image to be the second side surface); [a first encoder connected to the first backup roller, wherein the first encoder is configured to send a pulse signal to the [first line-scan camera] along with the progressing of the composite material tape on the first backup roller;] a second backup roller, wherein the second backup roller is configured to abut against the first side surface of the composite material tape in the image acquisition region of the [second line-scan camera] (See Yang translation, Fig. 1 - elements 102 and 122, Pg. 7 lines 14-15 A position is set on the side of the roller 102, camera 122 collects the battery coating L on one side of the image. Examiner considers the one side of the image to be the first side surface); [and a second encoder connected to the second backup roller, wherein the second encoder is configured to send a pulse signal to the second line-scan camera along with the progressing of the composite material tape on the second backup roller.]
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s reference in which a first backup roller, wherein the first backup roller is configured to abut against the second side surface of the composite material tape in the image acquisition region of the first line-scan camera and a second backup roller, wherein the second backup roller is configured to abut against the first side surface of the composite material tape in the image acquisition region of the second line-scan camera based on the method of Yang’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to realize the real-time imaging of two sides of the battery coating, providing a hardware base for detecting the defect of the two sides of the battery coating as suggested by Yang translation at Pg. 7, lines 28-30.
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
However, Wang, Zhou, and Yang do not teach a first encoder connected to the first backup roller, wherein the first encoder is configured to send a pulse signal to the [first line-scan camera] along with the progressing of the composite material tape on the first backup roller; and a second encoder connected to the second backup roller, wherein the second encoder is configured to send a pulse signal to the [second line-scan camera] along with the progressing of the composite material tape on the second backup roller.
Chun teaches a first encoder connected to the first backup roller, wherein the first encoder is configured to send a pulse signal to the [first line-scan camera] along with the progressing of the composite material tape on the first backup roller (See Chun translation, Pg. 4, line 23, two line scan cameras; Pg. 5 line 25, Image acquisition using such a line scan camera is controlled by an encoder trigger signal. Examiner considers if there are two line scan cameras then there would be two encoder trigger signals, one being the first encoder for a first camera); and a second encoder connected to the second backup roller, wherein the second encoder is configured to send a pulse signal to the [second line-scan camera] along with the progressing of the composite material tape on the second backup roller (See Chun translation, Pg. 4, line 23, two line scan cameras; Pg. 5 line 25, Image acquisition using such a line scan camera is controlled by an encoder trigger signal. Examiner considers if there are two line scan cameras then there would be two encoder trigger signals, one being the second encoder for a second camera).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s reference with a first encoder connected to the first backup roller, wherein the first encoder is configured to send a pulse signal to the first line-scan camera along with the progressing of the composite material tape on the first backup roller; and a second encoder connected to the second backup roller, wherein the second encoder is configured to send a pulse signal to the second line-scan camera along with the progressing of the composite material tape on the second backup roller based on the method of Chun’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been in consideration of process speed and calculation performance as suggested by Chun translation at Pg. 4, lines 26-27.
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhou, Yang, and Chun with Wang to obtain the invention as specified in claim 15.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Niu (CN 113538430 A) discloses a defect detection method for pole pieces. Gray scale pixel value differences are used and a new image is generated. The new image is then used to identify the type of defect present in the pole piece. The goal of this method is to accurately detect defects during production and improve overall product quality.
Yamazaki et al. (CN 114359176 A) discloses a detection method of a panel. The method requires obtaining and determining a region of interest. Gray scale differences between pixels in the specified region are used to determine a possible defect region. Possible defects can include appearance issues, faulty condition of the conductive particles, or foreign matter introduced during the manufacturing process.
Li et al. (CN 113030093 A) discloses a defect detection method of a battery diaphragm. An area of interest is detected in a template image. The defect type and position information are obtained using pixel gray average values and then outputted. Defect types can include leakage of the coating and spraying process. The method aims to efficiently detect surface defects with high accuracy and low cost.
/JASMIN MARCELINO HERNAND/Examiner, Art Unit 2676
/Henok Shiferaw/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2676