DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 12-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Milne et al (US 2024/0373174) in view of Krishnamoorthi et al (US 2023/0328320 – Hereinafter Krish) or Nongpiur et al (US 2017/0199934) and further ALM et al (US 2018/0367591).
Claims 1, 8 and 15, Milne, via Fig. 3, teaches a computer-implemented method, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium and an apparatus for comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory, the at least one processor configured to perform operations for:
receiving an audio stream; (the technology advantageously personalizes audio streams for different users while the users are all watching the same program to ensure that the audio streams are best designed for each user to be able to hear the program. In addition, the technology may customize the audio streams for users with hearing damage based on the type of auditory device and/or hearing profiles associated with the users., [0009]; receives the first audio stream from the streaming application 107a, [0029]);
establishing a connection with a first audio device associated with a first user; (FIG. 1 illustrates a block diagram of an example environment 100. In some embodiments, the environment 100 includes auditory devices 120, a user device 115, and an audio source 101. A first user 125a may be associated with the user device 115 and a first auditory device 120a. A subsequent user 125b may be associated with a subsequent auditory device 120n, [0020]);
establishing a connection with a second audio device associated with a second user; (FIG. 1 illustrates a block diagram of an example environment 100. In some embodiments, the environment 100 includes auditory devices 120, a user device 115, and an audio source 101. A first user 125a may be associated with the user device 115 and a first auditory device 120a. A subsequent user 125b may be associated with a subsequent auditory device 120n, [0020]);
parsing the audio stream, by signal processing, into at least a first segment and a second segment, wherein the first segment comprises a first portion of audio data of the audio stream and the second segment comprises a second portion of audio data of the audio stream, the first portion and the second portion being different; (As presented above, Milne discusses “the technology advantageously personalizes audio streams for different users while the users are all watching the same program to ensure that the audio streams are best designed for each user to be able to hear the program. In addition, the technology may customize the audio streams for users with hearing damage based on the type of auditory device and/or hearing profiles associated with the users., [0009]. Milne further discuses each user has a different profile than the others (i.e., generating a first user profile for the first user… generating a second user profile for the second user), see Abstract. It is obvious that audio stream can be separated into different segments to differently appropriate channel or auditory device types, (i.e., a proprietary connection produced by the manufacturer of the auditory device, or another type of wireless connection, [0055]). To support this obviousness, examiner wishes to provide ALM who teaches, “a video stream may be provided at different resolutions, or an audio stream may be provided in different languages, which streams need to be segmented as in the example of ABS, [0005, 0044]. Here examiner reads that the audio stream is segmented into different portions for each specific language.
deliveringthe first segment (The streaming application 107a may generate a first user profile for the first user that includes first user preferences for streaming a first audio stream from the audio source 101 to the first auditory device 120a. For example, the first user may prefer that the first audio is streamed in English with a standard quality of audio, [0026]) and
delivering second segment of the audio stream to the second audio device based on user preferences associated with the second user. (The streaming application 107a may generate a second user profile for the second user (e.g., the subsequent user 125n) that includes second user preferences for streaming a second audio stream from the audio source 101 to the second auditory device. The first user preferences may include at least one different preference than the second user preferences. For example, the second user preferences may include a high quality of audio and a preferred volume level., [0027]).
Examiner wishes to make a clarification regarding “segment” of audio stream as required by the claims. Milne does not use such term. He does however teach transmission and reception of audio stream throughout his invention. Based on the broadest reasonable interpretation in view of the current Specs, at least [0033, 0050], Milne does suggest/imply segment being part of this transmission/reception of audio streaming. To support this teaching, examiner wishes to provide additional prior art that explicitly discloses the precise use of language/term based on user preference.
Krish teaches, “The system parses the respective audio streams of the first media asset and the second media asset to identify one or more preferred audio segments based on the user preference and generates the playlist of the identified one or more preferred audio segments. Based on a generated audio playlist, the system generates, for presentation on the user device, the video stream for each of the first media asset and the second media asset and the playlist of the identified one or more preferred audio segments”, Abstract, [0008, 0009, 0030, 0034] at least. OR
Nongpiur teaches, “the processor is configured to execute instructions to obtain a user preference indicating a sound signature of interest to a user, to generate one or more designated audio segments of interest from an input audio stream based on the user preference, to generate an event score for each of the designated audio segments of interest, the event score indicating the probability that an audio event associated with the sound signature occurs within the audio segment, and to generate a summarized output audio stream by applying the event score to each of the designated audio segments of interest to emphasize sounds corresponding to the sound signature of interest to the user over sounds that do not correspond to the sound signature of interest to the user, [0003-0005]”.
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to make a minor modification to the teaching of Milne to include the teaching of Krish or Nongpiur for the purpose of explicitly using the relevant term to avoid any confusion and enhance greater entertainment/enjoyment when carry out the steps of the invention and also to include the teaching of ALM for the purpose of aligning of segments pertaining to separate content streams according to the different profile, i.e., different languages.
Claims 2, 9 and 16, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: deliver a third segment of the audio stream to the first audio device and the second audio device. (Milne: [0080]… Each of the first audio stream and the second audio stream may be unicast streams. In some embodiments where the first user preferences and the second user preferences are the same, the streaming module 308 may transmit a broadcast stream to both the first auditory device and the second auditory device. In some embodiments, the streaming module 308 instructs the display 341 to include closed captioning when it is part of the user preferences).
Claims 3, 10 and 17, wherein the first segment of the audio stream corresponds with audio content of a first language, and wherein the second segment of the audio stream corresponds with audio content of a second language. (Milne: [0067] The user interface module 304 generates graphical data for displaying a user interface with options for configuring user preferences. The user preferences may include a language, closed captioning, audio descriptive services, a quality of audio, spatial audio, a flat volume, a maximum volume level, and/or one or more presets. The language preference may result in the streaming module 308 providing a different language to the user than the original language that is being streamed. For example, a television program may be in English and the preferred language may be in Spanish. Selecting closed captioning may result in the audio source displaying closed captioning for the user. The audio descriptive services may be a form of narration that is used to provide information surrounding key visual elements in a program for the benefit of blind and visually-impaired users).
Claims 5, 12 and 19, wherein delivering the first segment of the audio stream to the first audio device further comprises: amplifying one or more frequencies associated with the first segment of the audio stream based on the user preferences associated with the first user. (Milne: The first user preferences may include at least one different preference than the second user preferences. For example, the second user preferences may include a high quality of audio and a preferred volume level, [0027]; Also see Fig. 4D, [0077).
Claim 6, 13 and 20, wherein delivering the first segment of the audio stream to the first audio device further comprises: attenuating one or more frequencies associated with the first segment of the audio stream based on the user preferences associated with the first user. (Milne: The first user preferences may include at least one different preference than the second user preferences. For example, the second user preferences may include a high quality of audio and a preferred volume level, [0027]. Krish: For example, the user may have saved a control action for audio segments that contain some subject matter or certain people to decrease the volume a specific amount, present closed captions or mute the media asset altogether, [0034, 0037, 0039, 0059]).
Claims 7 and 14, wherein the first segment of the audio stream comprises audio descriptions associated with visual content corresponding with the audio stream. (Milne: [0071] The user may additionally select a closed-captioning box 411 to indicate a preference for closed captioning, select an audio descriptive services box 413 to indicate a preference for a description of important visual elements in a scene. Nongpiur, [0032] and Fig. 4: the user may select a generic description associated with a generic type of sound signature, such as human speech, baby crying or dog barking, for example. In some embodiments, the user may select a specific sound signature, such as speeches by a particular person, cries of a particular baby, or sounds made by a particular pet, for example).
Claim(s) 4, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Milne in view of Krish or Nongpiur and in view of Sarikaya (US 2021/0020182) OR Gnanasekaran (US 2016/0171109) and further in view of ALM et al (US 2018/0367591).
Claim 4, 11 and 18. Milne does not teach “wherein the first segment of the audio stream is based on a mature language filter associated with a user profile for the first user”.
Sarikaya teaches, “ Filters that may be applied include age appropriate content filters (e.g., certain language may be deemed to complex or too adult-oriented for one or more age groups), preference filters (e.g., a user's personal user profile may indicate that the user does not like R-rated horror movies even if they are over 17 years old), sexual content filters, and profanity filters, among others, [0043].
Gnanasekaran teaches, “[0036] Thus, selecting the appropriate content filter(s) may depend on one or more of a user profile, user location, time of day, day of year, and language. Once an identity of a user or users is determined, a database may be accessed and/or searched to find information about the user(s). Based on one or more of the various factors discussed herein, one or more appropriate content filters may be retrieved, [0036]”.
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Sarikaya OR Gnanasekaran into the teaching of Milne for the purpose of protecting the decency request based on a specific profile by the user.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 6/11/26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues, Milne does not teach "parsing the audio stream, by signal processing, into at least a first segment and a second segment, wherein the first segment comprises a first portion of audio data of the audio stream and the second segment comprises a second portion of audio data of the audio stream, the first portion and the second portion being different . . . delivering the first segment to the first audio device based on user preferences associated with the first user; and delivering the second segment to the second audio device based on user preferences associated with the second user" as recited by claim 1.
Krishnamoorthi, Gadoury, and Nongpiur fail to cure the deficiencies in Milne. (Please see the Applicant’s Remarks for detail).
Examiner respectfully disagrees as examiner has provided additional reference to address the amended claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHUNG-HOANG J NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691