FINAL ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s claim amendment submitted on 04/17/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Examiner’s Remarks – Specification Objection (Title)
The examiner finds applicants’ remarks persuasive and therefore withdraws the objection.
Examiner’s Remarks – 35 USC § 101 Rejection
Applicant argues:
“As stated in Applicant's specification, "a computer readable storage medium, as used herein, is not to be construed as being transitory signals per se." See, e.g., paragraph [0111] of Applicant's specification. Hence, it is quite clear that the computer readable storage medium of claim 8 does not cover transitory signals as alleged by the Examiner.”.
The examiner notes that a medium may technically include an electrical signal in a wire or light pulses in a fiber-optic cable, physical but transitory forms of signal transmission. As such, the examiner contends that a medium can be embodied by conventional, known means, such as electrical signals, modulated electromagnetic waves, and pulses in fiber optic cable. In re Nuijten, 84 USPQ2d 1495, 1500 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (emphasis in the original). Such transitory embodiments are not directed to statutory subject matter. Id.
The examiner respectfully notes that simply by stating, “medium…is not to be construed as being transitory signal per se”, in the specification does not negate the known technical embodiments of a medium as described above.
Examiner’s Remarks – 35 USC § 103 Rejection – Independent Claims 1, 8 and 15
Applicant argues:
“There is no language in the cited passages that teaches or suggests receiving an identification of the proprietary information of the targeted quantum circuit to be obscured.”.
The examiner contends that the claim element in question simply reads “receiving an identification of the proprietary information of the targeted quantum circuit to be obscured”.
The examiner points out that the current claim construction of applicant’s independent claim does not restrict or limit applicant’s process of “receiving an identification”. The examiner points out that the current claim construction of applicant’s independent claim does not restrict or limit what applicant’s “proprietary information” is. The examiner points out that the current construction of applicant’s independent claims do not restrict or limit the implementation of obscuring the information.
Therefore, the examiner respectfully adds that such claim structure as exhibited currently in applicant’s independent claims affords a few reasonable interpretations/implementations.
Fong tells us in par. 0030 the following: “The quantum execution bundle, which may include one or more quantum circuits, may be associated with a number of shots (for each quantum circuit) that may be specified as metadata on quantum circuits.”.
Fong tells us in par. 0033 the following: “the distribution of shots across the selected quantum processing units may also vary.”.
Fong further teaches in par. 0033 the following: “variations in predicted runtime characteristics may lead to distributing the shot in an uneven manner”. The examiner notes that the uneven manner of distributing is certainly a reasonable means to practically obscure information. Again the shots are associated with the quantum execution bundle.
Again, applicant’s current independent claim structure does not restrict or limit the limitation(s) of, “receiving an identification of the proprietary information of the targeted quantum circuit to be obscured”. Therefore, the examiner notes that such claim structure affords several reasonable interpretations/implementations.
Applicant argues:
“Applicant further asserts that Zhang and Fong, taken singly or in combination, do not teach or suggest "transforming said target quantum circuit into a power-attack resistant quantum circuit by encoding said proprietary information in virtual quantum gates which are not executed on quantum hardware whose logical effects are tracked classically”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
The examiner points out that the current claim construction of applicant’s independent claims does not restrict or limit applicant’s process of “proprietary information”. The examiner points out that the current claim construction of applicant’s independent claims does not restrict or limit what applicant’s “logical effects” is. The examiner points out that the current claim construction of applicant’s independent claims does not restrict or limit how to carry out applicant’s claim limitation feature of, “… tracked classically”.
As such, the examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim element, there are many reasonable interpretation(s)/implementation(s) that realizes applicant’s claim limitation element(s) in this instance. The examiner notes that Zhang further elaborates on the cited passage in par. 0131 disclosing the following: “the objective of controlling a partial structure in the physical quantum chip to smoothly execute the quantum task in subsequent operations is achieved, and pertinence of executing the quantum task through the partial structure in the physical quantum chip is improved.”. The examiner notes that by improving how the physical quantum chip executes the task by way of controlling a partial structure (i.e., “transforming”) of the physical quantum chip can reasonably be considered means for achieving a power-attack resistant quantum circuit.
With regards to applicant’s claim limitation element of, “encoding said proprietary information in virtual quantum gates which are not executed on quantum hardware whose logical effects are tracked classically”, Zhang tell us in par. 0065 the following: “Generate a virtual quantum circuit of the quantum task according to topology information represented by a virtual quantum chip and the logical quantum circuit,”. The examiner notes the quantum task as noted by Zhang could reasonably be considered proprietary information in this instance. As such the generation of the quantum task gets encoded in the form of virtual circuit data (i.e., gates). The examiner notes that par. 0060 of Zhang states the following: “quantum task is a computing task in the field of quantum chemical simulation, quantum artificial intelligence and cryptographic analysis, meteorological forecasting, drug design, financial analysis, oil exploration, or the like”. Again, the examiner contends that it is reasonable to interpret Zhang’s quantum task to be “proprietary information” based on Zhang’s paragraph 0060.
Applicant argues:
“There is no language in the cited passages that teaches or suggests transforming the target quantum circuit into a power-attack resistant quantum circuit.”.
As such, the examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim element, there are many reasonable interpretation(s)/implementation(s) that realizes applicant’s claim limitation element of, “… a power-attack resistant quantum circuit”. The examiner notes that Zhang further elaborates on the cited passage in par. 0131. Zhang teaches in par. 0131 the following: “the objective of controlling a partial structure in the physical quantum chip to smoothly execute the quantum task in subsequent operations is achieved, and pertinence of executing the quantum task through the partial structure in the physical quantum chip is improved.”. The examiner notes that by improving how the physical quantum chip executes the task by way of controlling a partial structure (i.e., “transforming”) of the physical quantum chip can reasonably be considered means for power-attack resistant quantum circuit.
The examiner notes that other instances of Zhang that are noteworthy is Zhang’s teachings in par. 0081 of the following: “Selecting a different virtual quantum chip to execute a quantum task means using a different partial structure in the physical quantum chip to execute the quantum task. Because physical qubits at different positions in the physical quantum chip have different reliability, the physical quantum chip is segmented into the plurality of virtual quantum chips, so that different virtual quantum chips have different computing characteristic.”.
The examiner notes that other instances of Zhang that are noteworthy is Zhang’s teachings in par. 0124 the following: “[0124] The virtual quantum chip has topology information. To be specific, some virtual qubits included in the virtual quantum chip have a topology relationship, and the other virtual qubits have no topology relationship. If virtual qubits corresponding to the plurality of (at least two) logical qubits on which the first gate unit is configured to perform the logical operation have no connectivity, states of the virtual qubits need to be first swapped to other virtual qubits by using a quantum gate, and then the first gate unit performs the corresponding logical operation on the other virtual qubits, to achieve an effect that the first gate unit and the second gate unit have the same function.”.
The examiner notes that other instances of Zhang that are noteworthy is Zhang’s teachings in par. 0125 the following: “[0125] Since the quantum gates for state conversion is newly added to achieve the same effect as the first gate unit, in this case, the quantity of quantum gates included in the second gate unit is greater than the quantity of quantum gates included in the first gate unit. For example, the second gate unit includes at least one swap gate unit and a gate unit of the same type as the first gate unit.”.
Again, applicant’s current independent claim 1 claim structure does not restrict or limit the limitation(s) of, “transforming the target quantum circuit into a power-attack resistant quantum circuit.”. Therefore, such claim structure affords several reasonable interpretations/implementations.
Applicant argues:
“Neither is there any language in the cited passages that teaches or suggests transforming the target quantum circuit into a power-attack resistant quantum circuit by encoding the proprietary information in virtual quantum gates which are not executed on quantum hardware whose logical effects are tracked classically.”.
The examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim element, there are many reasonable interpretation(s)/implementation(s) that realizes applicant’s claim limitation element of, “… a power-attack resistant quantum circuit”. Again, the examiner points out that the current claim construction of applicant’s independent claim does not restrict or limit applicant’s process of “proprietary information”. The examiner points out that the current claim construction of applicant’s independent claim does not restrict or limit what applicant’s “logical effects” is. The examiner points out that the current claim construction of applicant’s independent claim does not restrict or limit how to carry out applicant’s claim limitation feature of, “… tracked classically”.
As such, the examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim element, there are many reasonable interpretation(s)/implementation(s) that realizes applicant’s claim limitation element(s) in this instance. The examiner notes that Zhang further elaborates on the cited passage in par. 0131 disclosing the following: “the objective of controlling a partial structure in the physical quantum chip to smoothly execute the quantum task in subsequent operations is achieved, and pertinence of executing the quantum task through the partial structure in the physical quantum chip is improved.”. The examiner notes that by improving how the physical quantum chip executes the task by way of controlling a partial structure (i.e., “transforming”) of the physical quantum chip can reasonably be considered means for achieving a power-attack resistant quantum circuit.
With regards to applicant’s claim limitation element of, “encoding said proprietary information in virtual quantum gates which are not executed on quantum hardware whose logical effects are tracked classically”, Zhang tell us in par. 0065 the following: “Generate a virtual quantum circuit of the quantum task according to topology information represented by a virtual quantum chip and the logical quantum circuit,”. The examiner notes the quantum task as noted by Zhang could reasonably be considered proprietary information in this instance. As such the generation of the quantum task gets encoded in the form of virtual circuit data (i.e., gates). The examiner notes that par. 0060 of Zhang states the following: “quantum task is a computing task in the field of quantum chemical simulation, quantum artificial intelligence and cryptographic analysis, meteorological forecasting, drug design, financial analysis, oil exploration, or the like”. Again, the examiner contends that it is reasonable to interpret Zhang’s quantum task to be “proprietary information” based on Zhang’s paragraph 0060.
Examiner’s Remarks – 35 USC § 103 Rejection – Dependent Claims 2-7, 9-14 and 16-20
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim is directed towards a computer product comprising a computer readable storage medium. A person of ordinary skill in the art will define the computer readable storage medium to include signal and/or carrier wave. Signal and/or carrier wave are non-statutory subject matter. To overcome the rejection to independent claim 8 under 35 USC 101, the examiner suggests adding the limitation of "non-transitory" before "computer readable storage medium".
Claims 9-14 don't cure the deficiency of claim 8 and are therefore rejected under 35 USC 101 for their dependency upon claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-9, 13-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2025/0045115 and ZHANG hereinafter) in view of Fong et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2023/0222372 and Fong hereinafter).
As to claims 1, 8 and 15, ZHANG teaches a method for obscuring proprietary information encoded in quantum circuits, the method comprising:
receiving a target quantum circuit (i.e., …teaches in par. 0079 the following: “… the computer device obtains the logical quantum circuit …”.);
and transforming said target quantum circuit into a power-attack resistant quantum circuit by encoding said proprietary information in virtual quantum gates which are not executed on quantum hardware whose logical effects are tracked classically (i.e., …teaches in par. 0216 the following: “generates a virtual quantum circuit of the quantum task according to topology information represented by a virtual quantum chip and the logical quantum circuit…” …teaches in par. 218 the following: “…according to the topology information of the virtual quantum chip, second gate units respectively corresponding to first gate units in the logical quantum circuit; and the computer device generates the virtual quantum circuit of the quantum task according to the second gate units respectively corresponding to the first gate units and a timing relationship of the first gate units in the logical quantum circuit.”).
The system of ZHANG does not expressly teach:
receiving an identification of said proprietary information of said targeted quantum circuit to be obscured.
In this instance the examiner notes the teachings of prior art reference Fong.
With regards to applicant’s claim limitation element of, “receiving an identification of said proprietary information of said targeted quantum circuit to be obscured”, Fong teaches in par. 0050 the following: “receiving or identifying a quantum bundle at a hybrid or other system. The quantum bundle may include a quantum circuit.”. Teaches in par. 0034 the following: “Processing the bundle 310 may include determining a number of qubits, input parameters, and understanding the quantum circuits or gates therein. Using this information…”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the of the claimed invention was made to implement the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of Fong by having their system comprise an enhanced quantum task execution process. One would have been motivated to do so to provide simple and effective means to lower the utilization of the computing resource, wherein the enhanced quantum task execution process helps facilitate better performance and makes it easier to enhance chip operation.
As to claims 2, 9 and 16, the system of ZHANG and Fong as applied to claim 1 above teaches virtual quantum chips, specifically ZHANG teaches a method as recited in claim 1, wherein said proprietary information comprises one of the following in the group consisting of: a circuit structure, a measurement outcome, an initial product state of qubits, and parameters to be bound in said target quantum circuit (i.e., …teaches in par. 0057 the following: “To overcome an execution mode defect caused by a physical quantum chip being exclusive to a single quantum task, in this application, based on a virtualization idea, a physical quantum chip 210 is segmented into a plurality of virtual quantum chips 220 through a chip bit mapping method” …teaches in par. 0131 the following: “Based on the logical quantum circuit corresponding to the quantum task, the virtual quantum circuit is generated layer by layer according to the topology information of the virtual quantum chip,”).
As to claims 6, 13 and 20, the system of ZHANG and Egger as applied to claim 1 above teaches virtual quantum chips, specifically ZHANG expressly teach a method as recited in claim 1, wherein said virtual quantum gates encode parameters to be bound in said target quantum circuit by decomposing each parameterized gate into a series of quantum gates comprising a virtual quantum gate (i.e., …teaches in par. 0202 the following: “a virtual quantum chip according to an exemplary embodiment of this application. In this example, the virtual quantum chip is used to process a to-be-processed quantum task. The virtual quantum chip includes five virtual qubits: q[0], q[1], q[2], q[3], and q[4], where q[0] and q[1] have connectivity, q[1] and q[2] have connectivity, q[2] and q[4] have connectivity, and q[3] and q[4] have connectivity.”).
As to claims 7 and 14, the system of ZHANG and Fong as applied to claim 1 above teaches virtual quantum chips, specifically ZHANG expressly teaches a method as recited in claim 1, wherein said virtual quantum gates comprise one of the following in the group consisting of: an X gate, an Rx gate, an Rz gate, and a SWAP gate (i.e., …teaches in par. 0125 the following: “the second gate unit includes at least one swap gate unit and a gate unit of the same type as the first gate unit.”).
Claim(s) 3-5, 10-12 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG in view of Fong as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above and further in view of Martiel et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2022/0067566 and Martiel hereinafter).
As to claims 3, 10 and 17, the system of ZHANG and Egger as applied to claim 1 above teaches virtual quantum chips, specifically ZHANG teaches a method as recited in claim 1, wherein said virtual quantum gates encode a circuit structure of said target quantum circuit by converting said target quantum circuit into dense layers of two-qubit and one-qubit gates (i.e., …teaches in par. 0134 the following: “the first gate unit is a single-bit gate and a case in which the first gate unit is a two-bit gate. When the first gate unit is a multi-bit gate, because the multi-bit gate may be implemented by a combination of at least one of a two-bit gate or a single-bit gate (for example, a function of a three-quantum gate may be implemented by a combination of one two-bit gate and one single-bit gate), the multi-bit gate may be decomposed into a single-bit gate and a two-bit gate, that is, the first gate unit is decomposed into at least two first sub-units, and the first sub-units are used as new first gate units”),
wherein said dense layers of two-qubit and one-qubit gates are formed by: inserting two-qubit gates to form a two-qubit dense layer, teaches in par. 0040 the following: “The quantum gate includes a single-bit gate, a two-bit gate, and a multi-bit gate. The single-bit gate is a logic gate acting on a single qubit, the two-bit gate is a logic gate acting on two qubits, and the multi-bit gate is a logic gate acting on a plurality of qubits.” Teaches in par. 0083 the following: “a two-quantum gate configured to perform logical processing on two virtual qubits”. Teaches in par. 0134 the following: “in which the first gate unit is a single-bit gate and a case in which the first gate unit is a two-bit gate. When the first gate unit is a multi-bit gate, because the multi-bit gate may be implemented by a combination of at least one of a two-bit gate or a single-bit gate (for example, a function of a three-quantum gate may be implemented by a combination of one two-bit gate and one single-bit gate), the multi-bit gate may be decomposed into a single-bit gate and a two-bit gate, that is, the first gate unit is decomposed into at least two first sub-units, and the first sub-units are used as new first gate units.”).
The system of ZHANG and Fong does not expressly teach:
and inserting dense one-qubit layers of alternating virtual quantum gates and non-virtual quantum gates to ensure said power-attack resistant quantum circuit is identical to said target quantum circuit.
In this instance the examiner notes the teachings of prior art reference Martiel to the record.
With regards to applicant’s claim limitation element of, “and inserting dense one-qubit layers of alternating virtual quantum gates and non-virtual quantum gates to ensure said power-attack resistant quantum circuit is identical to said target quantum circuit”, Martiel teaches in par. 0032 the following: “inserting the predetermined type of quantum gates on their respective qubits in the quantum rotation circuit”. Teaches in par. 0043 the following: “The reversed quantum gates ensure to have the same circuit at the end.”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the of the claimed invention was made to implement the teachings of ZHANG and Fong with the teachings of Martiel by having their system comprise an enhanced quantum gate rotation process. One would have been motivated to do so to provide a simple and effective means to mitigate potential attacks, wherein the enhanced quantum gate rotation process helps facilitate better security and makes it easier to ensure data integrity.
As to claims 4, 11 and 18, the system of ZHANG and Egger as applied to claim 1 above teaches virtual quantum chips, specifically ZHANG does not expressly teach a method as recited in claim 1, wherein said virtual quantum gates encode a measurement outcome by randomly inserting X gates before one or more measurement operations, wherein each X gate is decomposed into alternating layers of virtual quantum gates and non-virtual quantum gates.
In this instance the examiner notes the teachings of prior art reference Martiel to the record.
With regards to applicant’s claim limitation element of, “wherein said virtual quantum gates encode a measurement outcome by randomly inserting X gates before one or more measurement operations”, Martiel teaches in par. 0032 the following: “inserting the predetermined type of quantum gates on their respective qubits in the quantum rotation circuit”.
With regards to applicant’s claim limitation element of, “wherein each X gate is decomposed into alternating layers of virtual quantum gates and non-virtual quantum gates”, teaches in par. 0041 and 0042 the following: “inserting the predetermined type of quantum gates on their respective qubits in the rotation circuit before the X, Y and/or Z n-qubits Pauli operators, and [0042] inserting reversed quantum gates on the same qubits in the rotation circuit, after the X, Y and/or Z n-qubits Pauli operators.”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the of the claimed invention was made to implement the teachings of ZHANG and Fong with the teachings of Martiel by having their system comprise an enhanced quantum gate rotation process. One would have been motivated to do so to provide simple and effective means to mitigate potential attacks, wherein the enhanced quantum gate rotation process helps facilitate better security and makes it easier to ensure data integrity.
As to claims 5, 12 and 19, the system of ZHANG and Egger as applied to claim 1 above teaches virtual quantum chips, specifically ZHANG does not expressly teach a method as recited in claim 1, wherein said virtual quantum gates encode an initial product state of qubits by inserting X gates at a beginning of said target quantum circuit which are decomposed into alternating layers of virtual quantum gates and non-virtual quantum gates to obfuscate an initial basis of each qubit.
In this instance the examiner notes the teachings of prior art reference Martiel to the record.
With regards to applicant’s claim limitation element of, “wherein said virtual quantum gates encode an initial product state of qubits by inserting X gates at a beginning of said target quantum circuit which are decomposed into alternating layers of virtual quantum gates and non-virtual quantum gates to obfuscate an initial basis of each qubit”, Martiel teaches in par. 0041 & 0042 the following: “inserting the predetermined type of quantum gates on their respective qubits in the rotation circuit before the X, Y and/or Z n-qubits Pauli operators, and [0042] inserting reversed quantum gates on the same qubits in the rotation circuit, after the X, Y and/or Z n-qubits Pauli operators.”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the of the claimed invention was made to implement the teachings of ZHANG and Fong with the teachings of Martiel by having their system comprise an enhanced quantum gate rotation process. One would have been motivated to do so to provide simple and effective means to mitigate potential attacks, wherein the enhanced quantum gate rotation process helps facilitate better security and makes it easier to ensure data integrity.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/BRYAN F WRIGHT/Examiner, Art Unit 2497