DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0176070 to Sloan et al. (Sloan).
In reference to claim 1, Sloan teaches an oil lubrication-type compressor for a cryocooler (2, FIG. 2) comprising an air-cooled heat exchanger (6, FIG. 2) that includes a cooling fan (27, FIG. 2) and a first oil line (47, FIG. 2) disposed to be forcibly cooled by the cooling fan (27, FIG. 2); and a second oil line (48, FIG. 2) that bypasses the first oil line (47, FIG. 2).
In reference to claim 4, Sloan teaches the oil lubrication-type compressor for a cryocooler as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Sloan additionally teaches wherein the second oil line (48, FIG. 2) bypasses the air-cooled heat exchanger (6, FIG. 2).
In reference to claim 6, Sloan teaches the oil lubrication-type compressor for a cryocooler as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Sloan additionally teaches wherein the air-cooled heat exchanger (6, FIG. 2) cools a refrigerant gas line (42, FIG. 2).
In reference to claim 7, Sloan teaches the oil lubrication-type compressor for a cryocooler as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Sloan additionally teaches a liquid-cooled heat exchanger (5, FIG. 2) that is connected in series upstream of the air-cooled heat exchanger (6, FIG. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sloan.
In reference to claim 5, Sloan teaches the oil lubrication-type compressor for a cryocooler as explained in the rejection of claim 4 above, but does not explicitly teach wherein the second oil line includes an on-off valve that operates to be closed when the cooling fan is operated and to be opened when the cooling fan is stopped.
Sloan teaches that the fan would be turned on when helium and oil are flowing through air cooled after-cooler (par 0017, second to last sentence). Additionally, Sloan teaches that the control system that determines which after-cooler is being used, when there is a fault, when to switch from one after-cooler to the other, when to turn the fan on and off, and when to open and close a water supply valve, may be either be included as part of the compressor system or located in an external control system (par 0017, last sentence).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sloan, to include an on-off valve on the second oil line that operates to be closed when the cooling fan is operated and to be opened when the cooling fan is stopped, as taught by Sloan, in order to allow for complete cooling of the oil in the system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 8 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See attached PTO-892 for relevant prior art.
/FILIP ZEC/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
8/7/2026