DETAILED ACTION
Title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 & 5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, & 9 of U.S. Patent No. US Patent 12,148,740 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 1, A device, comprising: a substrate; a plurality of semi-conductors disposed on the substrate, wherein each one of the plurality of semi-conductors comprises a P-type semi-conductor and an N-type semi-conductor; and an insulating layer disposed on the plurality of semi-conductors, wherein the insulating layer directly connects adjacent two of the plurality of semi-conductors( claim 1 or claim 9 of US Patent 12,148,740 B2).
Claim 5, The device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the insulating layer has a
sidewall profile in a cross-sectional view, and at least a part of the sidewall profile of
the insulating layer is in a shape of a curve( 3 of US Patent 12,148,740 B2).
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okayama (US Pub no. 2012/0169786 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Okayama et al discloses A device, comprising: substrate(210-1,[0123-0124], fig. 32/fig. 33 /fig, 15a/15b); a plurality of semi-conductors(10B,10R,10G,[0066][0127], fig. 32/fig.33/fig. 15a) disposed on the substrate(210-1,[0123-0124][0127], fig. 32/fig. 33 /fig, 15a/15b), wherein each one of the plurality of semi-conductors (10B,10R,10G,[[0066][0127], fig. 32/fig.33/fig. 15a)comprises a P-type semi-conductor and an N-type semi-conductor(Examiner notes that Okayama et al teaches a laminated structure in which a first conductivity type(11,[0066][0068], fig. 2, fig. 15a/15b) an active layer 12 and a second conductivity type(13,[0066][0068], fig. 2, fig. 15a/15b) are laminated in order therefore at least one of the conductivity types is P-type and at least one of the conductivity types is N- type); and an insulating layer (20, [0069-0070][0103], fig. 15a/fig. 15b)disposed on the plurality of semi-conductors(10B,10R,10G,[0066][0103][0127], fig. 32/fig.33/fig. 15a), wherein the insulating layer(20, [0069-0070][0103], fig. 15a/fig. 15b) directly connects adjacent two of the plurality of semi-conductors(10B,10R,10G,[0066][0127], fig. 32/fig.33/fig. 15a)
Regarding claim 2, Okayama et al discloses further comprising a first electrode (30,[0073], fig. 15a/fig. 15b) disposed on a part of the N-type semi-conductor(11 or 13, fig 15a/15b)(Examiner notes that Okayama et al teaches a laminated structure in which a first conductivity type(11,[0066][0068], fig. 2, fig. 15a/15b) an active layer 12 and a second conductivity type(13,[0066][0068], fig. 2, fig. 15a/15b) are laminated, therefore at least one of the conductivity types is P-type and at least one of the conductivity types is N- type; since electrode 30 extends under and covers the side of light emitting element 10, the electrode is disposed on a part of the N-type semi-conductor fig. 15b) .
Regarding claim 3, Okayama et al discloses wherein the first electrode (30,[0073], fig. 15a/15b)has a sidewall profile in a cross-sectional view, and at least a part of the sidewall profile of the first electrode(30,[0073][0103], fig. 15a/15b, insulating layer 20 has an inclined surface(20d) in a negative direction[0103], the electrode 30 is disposed on the base of 20 and conforms to the insulating layer(20) at the point where it rises, thereby forming a curved profile at the transition between the base and the inclined surface(20D)) is in a shape of a curve.
Regarding claim 4, Okayama et al discloses wherein the insulating layer (20, [0070][0103], fig. 15a/fig. 15b)is disposed on the N-type semi-conductor, a part of the P-type semi-conductor)(Examiner notes that Okayama et al teaches a laminated structure in which a first conductivity type(11,[0066][0068], fig. 2, fig. 15a/15b) an active layer 12 and a second conductivity type(13,[0066][0068], fig. 2, fig. 15a/15b) are laminated, therefore at least one of the conductivity types is P-type and at least one of the conductivity types is N- type) and the first electrode(30,[0073], fig. 15a/15b).
Regarding claim 5, Okayama et al discloses wherein the insulating layer (20, [0070][0103], fig. 15a/fig. 15b) has a sidewall profile in a cross-sectional view, and at least a part of the sidewall profile of the insulating layer(20, [0070][0103], fig. 15a/fig. 15b) is in a shape of a curve.
Regarding claim 6, Okayama et al discloses further comprising a second electrode (40, [0073],fig. 15b)disposed on the insulating layer(20, [0070][0103], fig. 15a/fig. 15b) and in contact with the P-type semi- conductor(Examiner notes that Okayama et al teaches a laminated structure in which a first conductivity type(11,[0066][0068], fig. 2, fig. 15a/15b) an active layer 12 and a second conductivity type(13,[0066][0068], fig. 2, fig. 15a/15b) are laminated, therefore at least one of the conductivity types is P-type and at least one of the conductivity types is N- type, therefore electrode 40 is electrically in contact with the p-type semiconductor).
Regarding claim 7, Okayama et al discloses wherein an upper surface of the insulating layer(20, [0070][0103], fig. 15a/fig. 15b) is lower than an upper surface of the second electrode(40, [0073],fig. 15b).
Regarding claim 8, Okayama et al discloses wherein the second electrode(40, [0073],fig. 15b) further extends to a sidewall of the insulating layer(20, [0070][0103], fig. 15a/fig. 15b).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With regards to claim 9, the limitations of further comprising a connection
structure comprising a second N-type semi-conductor, a third electrode, the insulating
layer and a fourth electrode disposed on a non-display area of the substrate, wherein
the third electrode is disposed on the second N-type semi-conductor, the insulating
layer is disposed on the third electrode, and the fourth electrode is disposed on the
insulating layer and in contact with the third electrode was not found in prior art. Claim 10 is objected to since it depends from claim 9.
Conclusion
/LATANYA N CRAWFORD EASON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813