DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 17 remain pending in the application and have been fully considered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “control element” and “actuating mechanism” in claim 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 contains the phrase “a control element that can be actuated” in line 2 that is considered indefinite. A positive recitation of whether the control element is configured to or not is required. For examination purposes, the Examiner will understand the phrase to mean any structure such as a steering wheel that is used to control a steering angle.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the target value" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Correction is required.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the maximum settable nominal wheel setting angle" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Correction is required.
Claims 2 – 17 are rejected for being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 16, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanimoto et al. (US 20112/0215406).
Regarding Claim 1:
Tanimoto et al. teaches a steer-by-wire steering system (paragraph 0042) for a vehicle (12), having a control element (14) that can be actuated by a driver for inputting a steering angle, an actuating mechanism (16) for setting a wheel setting angle, and a control unit (40) that is configured to output a characteristic map for the target value of a position of the actuating mechanism based on a steering angle (via 42) of the control element and a vehicle speed (via 44), wherein a nominal wheel setting angle (via 58, paragraphs 0058 – 0060) that can be set by the actuating mechanism depends on a set steering angle and on a vehicle speed, wherein the maximum settable nominal wheel setting angle is limited depending on the vehicle speed (paragraph 0060, and via 58-1 and 58-N), and wherein the control unit is configured to calculate a vehicle trajectory based on a vehicle speed and a wheel setting angle and, if an actual vehicle trajectory deviates from the calculated vehicle trajectory, to adjust the maximum settable nominal wheel setting angle based on the deviation (Fig 2, paragraphs 0021 – 0023).
Regarding Claim 2:
Tanimoto et al. teaches the steering system comprises a yaw rate sensor (46) and the control unit is configured to detect the measured yaw rate and calculate a yaw rate acting on the vehicle, and to compare the calculated yaw rate with the yaw rate measured by the yaw rate sensor, wherein a deviation of the actual vehicle trajectory from the calculated vehicle trajectory can be determined based on a deviation of the calculated yaw rate from the measured yaw rate (via 40, figs 1 – 2, paragraphs 0016 – 0023).
Regarding Claim 3:
Tanimoto et al. teaches a deviation factor is determined based on the deviation of the actual yaw rate from the calculated yaw rate, in particular wherein the deviation factor for different deviations is stored in a lookup table (via 40).
Regarding Claim 4:
Tanimoto et al. teaches the deviation of the actual vehicle trajectory from the measured vehicle trajectory based on steering-internal variables can be determined by comparing a rack force calculated using a linear single-track model with a rack force determined using a steering model that includes steering-internal measured variables (Figs 1 - 2, via 40).
Regarding Claim 5:
Tanimoto et al. teaches the steering angle and/or information for determining the driving situation can be determined using a sensor or a control device outside the steering system (Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 6:
Tanimoto et al. teaches he control unit is configured to set an upper limit value and a lower limit value of the maximum settable wheel setting angle based on the vehicle speed, wherein the maximum settable nominal wheel setting angle lies between the upper limit value and the lower limit value (Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 7:
Tanimoto et al. teaches the control unit determines an adjusted maximum settable wheel setting angle based on the deviation factor, which angle lies between the upper limit value and the lower limit value of the wheel setting angle (Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 8:
Tanimoto et al. teaches both the upper limit value and the lower limit value of the maximum settable wheel setting angle are dependent on the vehicle speed (Figs 1 – 2).
Regarding Claim 9:
Tanimoto et al. teaches the difference between the upper limit value and the lower limit value increases with increasing deflection of the control element (Figs 1 – 2).
Regarding Claim 10:
Tanimoto et al. teaches at least two, in particular at least five, vehicle speed support points are stored in the control unit, wherein the control unit is configured to calculate a course of the ratio between a deflection of the control element and the nominal wheel setting angle set by the actuating mechanism via the steering angle for the vehicle speed support points (Figs 1 – 2).
Regarding Claim 11:
Tanimoto et al. teaches the actuating mechanism comprises a rack (Fig 1) or at least one electromotive actuator.
Regarding Claim 12:
See rejection of Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 13:
See rejection of Claim 2 above.
Regarding Claim 14:
See rejection of Claim 3 above.
Regarding Claim 15:
See rejection of Claim 6 above.
Regarding Claim 16:
See rejection of Claim 7 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/LONG T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747