Claim Objections
Claims 1-3 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 3, each instance of “IZTO” should read “indium-zinc-tin-oxide”.
Claims 1-3, each instance of “PANI” should read “polyaniline”.
Claims 1-3, each instance of “PSS” should read “polystyrenesulfonate”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim, Hyeok (KR 2022/0015765 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim, Hyeok discloses a transparent electrode (pg 2, lines 29-30) comprising an indium zinc tin oxide layer forming the upper surface of the electrode (pg 2, line 44) and a PANI:PSS intermediate layer applied to the upper surface of the electrode (pg 3, lines 8-9).
Regarding Claim 2, Kim, Hyeok discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Kim, Hyeok further discloses an intermediate layer comprising PANI:PSS in a weight ratio of 1:1 applied to the upper surface of the electrode (pg 4, Experiment 3, PANI:PSS #2).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim, Hyeok discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Although Kim, Hyeok does not disclose the intermediate layer is formed by spin coating the PANI:PSS as claimed, it is noted that “[E]ven though product by process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product by process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process”, In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) . Further, “although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product”, In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir.1983). See MPEP 2113.
Therefore, absent evidence of criticality regarding the presently claimed process and given that Kim, Hyeok meets the requirements of the claimed transparent IZTO electrode, Kim, Hyeok clearly meet the requirements of present claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biswas et al. ("Decent efficiency improvement of organic photovoltaic cell with low acidic hole transport material by controlling doping concentration") in view of Kim, Young Sung et al. ("Mechanical reliability of transparent conducting IZTO film electrodes for flexible panel displays").
Regarding Claim 1, Biswas discloses organic photovoltaic cells having a hole transport layer between the electrode and the active material (Introduction, lines 6-9), wherein the electrode comprises an indium-tin-oxide (ITO) layer (2.4, lines 1-2) and the hole transport layer comprises PANI:PSS (2.4, lines 8-9). The materials are transparent (4, line 3).
Biswas does not disclose the IZTO film as claimed.
Kim, Young Sung discloses transparent conducting film IZTO electrodes, and discloses IZTO films have excellent mechanical durability and flexibility in comparison to ITO films (Abstract).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Biswas to incorporate the teachings of Kim, Young Sung, and use IZTO film instead of the ITO film in the electrode of Biswas. Doing so would provide excellent mechanical durability and flexibility.
Regarding Claim 2, Biswas in view of Kim, Young Sung discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Biswas further discloses PANI:PSS II, having a weight ratio of 1:1, is preferred (Table 2; 4, lines 17-22).
Regarding Claim 3, Biswas in view of Kim, Young Sung discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Biswas further discloses the PANI:PSS layer is spin coated (2.4, lines 8-9).
Although Biswas in view of Kim, Young Sung does not disclose the spin coating is conducted at 3,000 rpm for 60 seconds as claimed, it is noted that “[E]ven though product by process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product by process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process”, In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) . Further, “although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product”, In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir.1983). See MPEP 2113.
Therefore, absent evidence of criticality regarding the presently claimed process and given that Biswas in view of Kim, Young Sung meets the requirements of the claimed transparent IZTO electrode, Biswas in view of Kim, Young Sung clearly meet the requirements of present claims.
Conclusion
/BETHANY M MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1787
/CALLIE E SHOSHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1787