DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the claims dated 10/18/2024.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “361” (par[0128]). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a size of the third hole is smaller than each of the size of first hole and the size of the second hole” (claim 5) and “the light blocking pattern (361 or 362) overlaps a sidewall of the display panel (100), which defines the third hole” (claim 6) and “a sidewall of the first lower functional layer (600), which defines the first hole, does not overlap the light blocking pattern” (claim 8) and “an opening is defined in a portion of the second lower functional layer overlapping the folding area” (claim 13) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Double Patenting
Current Application:
1. A display device, comprising:
a display panel; and
lower functional layers disposed below the display panel,
wherein the lower functional layers comprise:
a first lower functional layer disposed below the display panel and including a cushion layer; and
a second lower functional layer spaced apart from the display panel with the first lower functional layer interposed therebetween, and
wherein a first thickness of the cushion layer is less than or equal to a second thickness of the second lower functional layer.
2. The display device of claim 1, wherein the first lower functional layer includes a first hole, wherein the second lower functional layer includes a second hole overlapping the first hole, and wherein a size of the first hole is greater than a size of the second hole.
3. The display device of claim 2, wherein a portion of the display panel, which overlaps the first hole, is configured to display an image.
4. The display device of claim 2, wherein the display panel includes a third hole overlapping the first hole and the second hole.
5. The display device of claim 4, wherein a size of the third hole is smaller than each of the size of the first hole and the size of the second hole.
6. The display device of claim 4, further comprising a light blocking pattern disposed on the display panel, and wherein, when viewed in a plane, the light blocking pattern overlaps a sidewall of the display panel, which defines the third hole.
7. The display device of claim 6, wherein, when viewed in the plane, the light blocking pattern is surrounded by a sidewall of the first lower functional layer, which defines the first hole.
8. The display device of claim 6, wherein, when viewed in the plane, a sidewall of the first lower functional layer, which defines the first hole, does not overlap the light blocking pattern.
9. The display device of claim 4, further comprising:
a window disposed on the display panel; an impact absorbing layer disposed between the window and the display panel; and a hard coating layer disposed between the impact absorbing layer and the display panel, and wherein a portion of the hard coating layer is exposed through the third hole.
10. The display device of claim 1, further comprising:
a window disposed on the display panel; and an adhesive layer disposed between the window and the display panel, the adhesive layer being attached to the window, and wherein the adhesive layer has an area smaller than an area of the window.
11. The display device of claim 10, further comprising: a protective layer disposed on the window, and wherein a sidewall of the protective layer protrudes outward more than a sidewall of the window.
12. The display device of claim 1, wherein the first lower functional layer further comprises: a first cushion adhesive layer; a barrier film disposed below the first cushion adhesive layer; and a second cushion adhesive layer disposed below the cushion layer, and wherein the cushion layer disposed between the barrier film and the second cushion adhesive layer.
13. The display device of claim 1, wherein a folding area to be folded and unfolded is defined in the display panel, and an opening is defined in a portion of the second lower functional layer overlapping the folding area.
14. An electronic device, comprising: a display panel;
lower functional layers disposed below the display panel; and
an electronic module inserted in a hole defined in the lower functional layers, wherein the lower functional layers comprise: a first lower functional layer disposed below the display panel and including a first hole; and
a second lower functional layer disposed below the first lower functional layer and including a second hole overlapping the first hole,
wherein the electronic module faces a first sidewall of the first lower functional layer defining the first hole and a second sidewall of the second lower functional layer defining the second hole in a first direction; and wherein a portion of an upper surface of the second lower functional layer is disposed between the first sidewall and the second sidewall.
15. The electronic device of claim 14, wherein the first hole has a first width in the first direction, wherein the second hole has a second width in the first direction, wherein the first width of the first hole is greater than the second width of the second hole, and wherein the electronic module is spaced apart from the first sidewall and the second sidewall in the first direction.
16. The electronic device of claim 15, wherein the display panel includes a third hole overlapping the first hole and the second hole and having a third width in the first direction, and wherein the third width is smaller than each of the first width and the second width.
17. The electronic device of claim 16, further comprising a light blocking pattern disposed on the display panel, and wherein, when viewed in a plane, the light blocking pattern overlaps a sidewall of the display panel, which defines the third hole.
18. The electronic device of claim 17, when viewed in the plane, wherein the first sidewall of the first lower functional layer does not overlap the light blocking pattern.
19. The electronic device of claim 16, further comprising:
a window disposed on the display panel; an impact absorbing layer disposed between the window and the display panel; and a hard coating layer disposed between the impact absorbing layer and the display panel, and wherein a portion of the hard coating layer is exposed through the third hole.
20. The electronic device of claim 16, further comprising:
a window disposed on the display panel; an adhesive layer disposed between the window and the display panel, the adhesive layer being attached to the window; and a protective layer disposed on the window, wherein a sidewall of the window protrudes outward more than a sidewall of the adhesive layer, and wherein a sidewall of the protective layer protrudes outward more than the sidewall of the window.
U.S. Patent 12,156,327:
1. A display device, comprising:
upper functional layers;
a display panel disposed below the upper functional layers; and
lower functional layers disposed below the display panel,
wherein the lower functional layers comprise:
a first lower functional layer disposed below the display panel and including a first hole; and
a second lower functional layer spaced apart from the display panel with the first lower functional layer interposed therebetween and
including a second hole overlapping the first hole, and wherein a size of the first hole is greater than a size of the second hole.
2. The display device of claim 1, wherein a portion of the display panel, which overlaps the first hole, is configured to display an image.
3. The display device of claim 1, wherein the display panel includes a third hole overlapping the first hole and the second hole.
The display device of claim 3, wherein a size of the third hole is smaller than each of the size of the first hole and the size of the second hole.
5. The display device of claim 3, wherein the upper functional layers comprise a light blocking pattern disposed on the display panel, and wherein, when viewed in a plane, the light blocking pattern overlaps a sidewall of the display panel, which defines the third hole.
6. The display device of claim 5, wherein, when viewed in the plane, the light blocking pattern is surrounded by a sidewall of the first lower functional layer, which defines the first hole.
7. The display device of claim 5, wherein, when viewed in the plane, a sidewall of the first lower functional layer, which defines the first hole, does not overlap the light blocking pattern.
8. The display device of claim 3, wherein the upper functional layers comprise:
a window; an impact absorbing layer disposed between the window and the display panel; and a hard coating layer disposed between the impact absorbing layer and the display panel, and wherein a portion of the hard coating layer is exposed through the third hole.
9. The display device of claim 1, wherein the upper functional layers comprise: a window; and an adhesive layer disposed between the window and the display panel, the adhesive layer being attached to the window, and wherein the adhesive layer has an area smaller than an area of the window.
10. The display device of claim 9, wherein the upper functional layers further comprise a protective layer disposed on the window, and wherein a sidewall of the protective layer protrudes outward more than a sidewall of the window.
11. The display device of claim 1, wherein the first lower functional layer comprises: a first cushion adhesive layer; a barrier film disposed below the first cushion adhesive layer;
a cushion layer disposed below the barrier film; and a second cushion adhesive layer disposed below the cushion layer.
12. The display device of claim 1, wherein the upper functional layers, the display panel, and the lower functional layers are configured to fold and unfold about a folding axis, which extends in a predetermined direction.
13. The display device of claim 1, wherein a folding area to be folded and unfolded is defined in the display panel, and an opening is defined in a portion of the second lower functional layer overlapping the folding area.
14. An electronic device, comprising: upper functional layers; a display panel disposed below the upper functional layers; lower functional layers disposed below the display panel; and
an electronic module inserted in a hole defined in the lower functional layers, wherein the lower functional layers comprise: a first lower functional layer disposed below the display panel and including a first hole having a first width in a first direction; and a second lower functional layer disposed below the first lower functional layer and including a second hole overlapping the first hole and having a second width in the first direction, wherein the second width is different from the first width, wherein the electronic module faces a first sidewall of the first lower functional layer defining the first hole and a second sidewall of the second lower functional layer defining the second hole in the first direction; and wherein the electronic module is spaced apart from the first sidewall and the second sidewall in the first direction.
15. The electronic device of claim 14, wherein the first width of the first hole is greater than the second width of the second hole.
16. The electronic device of claim 14, wherein the display panel includes a third hole overlapping the first hole and the second hole and having a third width in the first direction, and wherein the third width is smaller than each of the first width and the second width.
17. The electronic device of claim 16, wherein the upper functional layers comprise a light blocking pattern disposed on the display panel, and wherein, when viewed in a plane, the light blocking pattern overlaps a sidewall of the display panel, which defines the third hole.
18. The electronic device of claim 17, when viewed in the plane, wherein the first sidewall of the first lower functional layer does not overlap the light blocking pattern.
19. The electronic device of claim 16, wherein the upper functional layers comprise: a window; an impact absorbing layer disposed between the window and the display panel; and a hard coating layer disposed between the impact absorbing layer and the display panel, and wherein a portion of the hard coating layer is exposed through the third hole.
20. The electronic device of claim 16, wherein the upper functional layers comprise: a window; an adhesive layer disposed between the window and the display panel, the adhesive layer being attached to the window; and a protective layer disposed on the window, wherein a sidewall of the window protrudes outward more than a sidewall of the adhesive layer, and wherein a sidewall of the protective layer protrudes outward more than the sidewall of the window.
6. Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent 12,156,327 in view of Kwon et al. U.S. Patent 10,929,635.
Regarding claim 1, U.S. Patent 12,156,327 teaches most of claim 1 of the current application (see above claim comparison table), except a cushion layer, wherein a first thickness of the cushion layer is less than or equal to a second thickness of the second lower functional layer.
Kwon et al. teaches a display device (figure 1), comprising:
a display panel (35; figure 4); and
lower functional layers (layers positioned below layer 35; figure 4) disposed below the display panel (35), wherein the lower functional layers comprise:
a first lower functional layer (41;figure 4) disposed below the display panel (35) and including a cushion layer (41; figure 4; column 7, lines 34-43); and
a second lower functional layer (42; figure 4) spaced apart from the display panel (35) with the first lower functional layer (41) interposed therebetween, and wherein a first thickness (see figure 4) of the cushion layer (41) is equal (see figure 4) to a second thickness (see figure 4) of the second lower functional layer (42).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further provide the display device of claim 1 of the current application with a cushion layer, wherein a first thickness of the cushion layer is equal to a second thickness of the second lower functional layer, as suggested by Kwon et al., to provide cushion support for above/below layers.
7. Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of U.S. Patent 12,156,327. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 of U.S. Patent 12,156,327 teaches most of claimed limitations of claim 14 of the current application (see above claim comparison table), except wherein a portion of an upper surface of the second lower functional layer is disposed between the first sidewall and the second sidewall.
However, from the claimed limitations of claim 14 of U.S. Patent 12,156,327, it would be implicitly understood that a portion of an upper surface of the second lower functional layer would be disposed between the first sidewall and the second sidewall.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kwon et al. U.S. Patent 10,929,635.
Regarding claim 1, Kwon et al. teaches a display device (figure 1), comprising:
a display panel (35; figure 4); and
lower functional layers (layers positioned below layer 35; figure 4) disposed below the display panel (35), wherein the lower functional layers comprise:
a first lower functional layer (41;figure 4) disposed below the display panel (35) and including a cushion layer (41; figure 4; column 7, lines 34-43); and
a second lower functional layer (42; figure 4) spaced apart from the display panel (35) with the first lower functional layer (41) interposed therebetween, and wherein a first thickness (see figure 4) of the cushion layer (41) is equal (see figure 4) to a second thickness (see figure 4) of the second lower functional layer (42).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. U.S. Patent 10,929,635.
Regarding claim 10, Kwon et al. teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising:
a window (10; figure 4 of Kwon et al.) disposed on the display panel; and
an adhesive layer (20; figure 4) disposed between the window and the display panel (10), the adhesive layer (20) being attached to the window.
Even though, Kwon et al. does not specifically teach the adhesive layer has an area smaller than an area of the window, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to derive such area, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 12, Kwon et al. teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the first lower functional layer further comprises a barrier film (34; figure 8; see column 13, lines 23-33), a cushion layer (41; figure 8; see column 13, lines 23-33) and double-sided adhesive film (see column 9, lines 4-6) for bonding layers together.
Even though, Kwon et al. does not specifically teach the first lower functional layer comprises, in the following order: a first cushion adhesive layer; a barrier film disposed below the first cushion adhesive layer; and a second cushion adhesive layer disposed below the cushion layer, and wherein the cushion layer disposed between the barrier film and the second cushion adhesive layer, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to rearrange known layers to arrive such arrangement, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involved only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
14. Claims 2, 3, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. U.S. Patent 10,929,635 in view of CHENG U.S. 2019/0306295.
Regarding claim 2, Kwon et al. teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the first lower functional layer includes a first hole (see figure 4; hole accommodates inserting device 50).
However, Kwon et al. does not specifically teach wherein the second lower functional layer includes a second hole overlapping the first hole, and wherein a size of the first hole is greater than a size of the second hole.
CHENG teaches a similar structure, suggesting a second lower functional layer (202; figure 8) includes a second hole (see above annotated figure 8) overlapping the first hole (see above annotated figure 8), and wherein a size of the first hole is greater (see above figure e8) than a size of the second hole.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify and equip the display device of Kwon et al. such that the second lower functional layer would include a second hole overlapping the first hole, and wherein a size of the first hole is greater than a size of the second hole, as suggested by CHENG, to accommodate the inserting device, as desired.
Regarding claim 3, the modification of Kwon et al. in view of CHENG would result in the display device of claim 2, wherein a portion (see figures 1 and 4 of Kwon et al.) of the display panel, which overlaps (as modified by figure 8 of CHENG) the first hole, is configured to display an image (implicitly taught).
Regarding claim 14, Kwon et al. teaches an electronic device, comprising:
a display panel (35; figure 4);
lower functional layers (layers positioned below layer 35; figure 4) disposed below the display panel (35); and
an electronic module (50; figure 4) inserted in a hole (see figure 4) defined in the lower functional layers, wherein the lower functional layers comprise:
a first lower functional layer (41; figure 4) disposed below the display panel (35), including a first hole (see figure 4; hole accommodates inserting device 50).
However, Kwon et al. does not specifically teach a second lower functional layer disposed below the first lower functional layer and including a second hole overlapping the first hole, wherein the electronic module faces a first sidewall of the first lower functional layer defining the first hole and a second sidewall of the second lower functional layer defining the second hole in a first direction; and
wherein a portion of an upper surface of the second lower functional layer is disposed between the first sidewall and the second sidewall.
CHENG teaches a similar structure, suggesting a second lower functional layer (202; figure 8) includes a second hole (see above annotated figure 8) overlapping the first hole (see above annotated figure 8), and wherein a size of the first hole is greater (see above figure e8) than a size of the second hole.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify and equip the display device of Kwon et al. such that the second lower functional layer would include a second hole overlapping the first hole, and wherein a size of the first hole is greater than a size of the second hole, as suggested by CHENG, to accommodate the inserting device, as desired.
Regarding claim 15, the modification of Kwon et al. in view of CHENG would result in the electronic device of claim 14, wherein the first hole has a first width (see above figure 8 of CHENG) in the first direction, wherein the second hole has a second width (see above figure 8 of CHENG) in the first direction, wherein the first width of the first hole is greater (see above figure 8 of CHENG) than the second width of the second hole, and wherein the electronic module is spaced apart (implicitly taught in figure 8 of CHENG) from the first sidewall and the second sidewall in the first direction.
15. Claims 4-8 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. U.S. Patent 10,929,635 in view of CHENG U.S. 2019/0306295 and in further view of Han et al. U.S. Patent 10,031,560.
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned above, Kwon et al. in view of CHENG teaches the display device of claim 2.
However, Kwon et al. in view of CHENG does not teach wherein the display panel includes a third hole overlapping the first hole and the second hole.
Han et al. teaches a similar structure (see above figure 7), which suggests a third hole (OP3; figure 7) overlapping a first hole (OP1; figure 7) and a second hole (OP2; figure 7).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify/equip the display device of Kwon et al./CHENG with a third hole such that the third hole overlapping the first hole and the second hole, as suggested by Han et al., to accommodate an inserting module, as desired.
Regarding claim 5, as mentioned above, Kwon et al. in view of CHENG and Han et al. teaches the display device of claim 4.
Even though, Kwon et la. in view of CHENG and Hang et al. does not teach a size of the third hole is smaller than each of the size of the first hole and the size of the second hole, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to derive the size of said third hole, such that a size of the third hole is smaller than each of the size of the first hole and the size of the second hole, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 6, the modification of Kwon et al. in view of CHENG and Hang et al. would result in the display device of claim 4, further comprising a light blocking pattern (70; figure 7 of Kwon et al.; see column 12, lines 39-49) disposed on the display panel, and wherein, when viewed in a plane, the light blocking pattern overlaps a sidewall (see figure 7 of Han et al.) of the display panel, which defines the third hole.
Regarding claim 7, the modification of Kwon et al. in view of CHENG and Han et al. would result in the display device of claim 6, wherein, when viewed in the plane, the light blocking pattern (70; figure 7 of Kwon et al.) is surrounded by a sidewall (see figure 7 of Kwon et al.) of the first lower functional layer, which defines the first hole.
Regarding claim 8, as mentioned above, Kwon et al. in view of CHENG and Han et al. teaches the display device of claim 6.
Even though, Kwon et al. in view of CHENG and Han et al. does not specifically teach wherein, when viewed in the plane, a sidewall of the first lower functional layer, which defines the first hole, does not overlap the light blocking pattern, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to rearrange the location of said light blocking pattern such that when viewed in the plane, a sidewall of the first lower functional layer, which defines the first hole, does not overlap the light blocking pattern, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involved only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 16, as mentioned above, Kwon et al. in view of CHENG teaches the electronic device of claim 15.
However, Kwon et al. in view of CHENG et al. does not teach wherein the display panel includes a third hole overlapping the first hole and the second hole and having a third width in the first direction, and wherein the third width is smaller than each of the first width and the second width.
Han et al. teaches a similar structure (see above figure 7), which suggests a third hole (OP3; figure 7) overlapping a first hole (OP1; figure 7) and a second hole (OP2; figure 7).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify/equip the display device of Kwon et al./CHENG with a third hole such that the third hole overlapping the first hole and the second hole, as suggested by Han et al., to accommodate an inserting module, as desired.
Even though, Kwon et al. in view of CHENG/Han et al. does not specifically teach the third width is smaller than each of the first width and the second width, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to change the size of the third hole such that the third hole would have a width is smaller than each of the first width and the second width, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 17, the modification of Kwon et al. in view of CHENG/Han et al. would result in the electronic device of claim 16, further comprising a light blocking pattern (70; figure 7 of Kwon et al.; see column 12, lines 39-49) disposed on the display panel, and wherein, when viewed in a plane, the light blocking pattern overlaps a sidewall (see figure 7 of Han et al.) of the display panel, which defines the third hole.
Regarding claim 18, as mentioned above, Kwon et al. in view of CHENG and Han et al. teaches the display device of claim 17.
Even though, Kwon et al. in view of CHENG and Han et al. does not specifically teach wherein, when viewed in the plane, a sidewall of the first lower functional layer, which defines the first hole, does not overlap the light blocking pattern, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to rearrange the location of said light blocking pattern such that when viewed in the plane, a sidewall of the first lower functional layer, which defines the first hole, does not overlap the light blocking pattern, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involved only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
16. Claims 9, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. U.S. Patent 10,929,635 in view of CHENG U.S. 2019/0306295 and in further view of Han et al. U.S. Patent 10,031,560 and in further view of Kwak et al. U.S. Pub. 2017/0287992.
Regarding claim 9, Kwon et al. in view of CHENG/Han et al. teaches the display device of claim 4, further comprising:
a window (10; figure 4 of Kwon et al.) disposed on the display panel;
an impact absorbing layer (20; figure 4) disposed between the window (10) and the display panel (35; figure 4 of Kwon et al.).
However, Kwon et al. in view of CHENG/Han et al. does not specifically teach a hard coating layer disposed between the impact absorbing layer (20) and the display panel (35), and wherein a portion of the hard coating layer is exposed through the third hole.
Kwak et al. teaches a similar structure, which comprises a window (600; figure 18);
an impact absorbing layer (730; figure 18) disposed between the window and the display panel (725; figure 18); and
a hard coating layer (728; figure 10E of D1) disposed between the impact absorbing layer and the display panel.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify and provide the display device of Kwon et al./CHENG/Han et al. with a hard coating layer disposed between the impact absorbing layer and the display panel, as suggested by Kwak et al., to enhance overall structural integrity of said display device. Such provision of said hard coating layer would result in a portion of the hard coating layer exposed through the third hole.
Regarding claim 19, Kwon et al. in view of CHENG/Han et al. teaches the display device of claim 16, further comprising:
a window (10; figure 4 of Kwon et al.) disposed on the display panel;
an impact absorbing layer (20; figure 4) disposed between the window (10) and the display panel (35; figure 4 of Kwon et al.).
However, Kwon et al. in view of CHENG/Han et al. does not specifically teach a hard coating layer disposed between the impact absorbing layer (20) and the display panel (35), and wherein a portion of the hard coating layer is exposed through the third hole.
Kwak et al. teaches a similar structure, which comprises a window (600; figure 18);
an impact absorbing layer (730; figure 18) disposed between the window and the display panel (725; figure 18); and
a hard coating layer (728; figure 10E of D1) disposed between the impact absorbing layer and the display panel.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify and provide the display device of Kwon et al./CHENG/Han et al. with a hard coating layer disposed between the impact absorbing layer and the display panel, as suggested by Kwak et al., to enhance overall structural integrity of said display device. Such provision of said hard coating layer would result in a portion of the hard coating layer exposed through the third hole.
Regarding claim 20, Kwon et al. in view CHENG and Hang et al. teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising:
a window (10; figure 4 of Kwon et al.) disposed on the display panel; and
an adhesive layer (20; figure 4) disposed between the window and the display panel (10), the adhesive layer (20) being attached to the window.
However, Kwon et al. in view of CHENG/Han et al. does not specifically further teach a protective layer disposed on the window, and wherein a sidewall of the protective layer protrudes outward more than a sidewall of the window.
Kwak et al. teaches a similar structure, which suggests a protective layer (600; figure 13) disposed on a lower layer, and wherein a sidewall (left and right side wall of 600) of the protective layer protrudes outward (see figure 13) more than a sidewall (see figure 13) of the lower layer.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further provide display device of Kwon et al. in view of CHENG/Han et al. with a protective layer disposed on the window, and wherein a sidewall of the protective layer protrudes outward more than a sidewall of the window, as suggested by Kwak et al., to protect the window layer.
17. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. U.S. Patent 10,929,635 in view of CHENG U.S. 2019/0306295 and in further view of Kwak et al. U.S. Pub. 2017/0287992.
Regarding claim 11, as mentioned above, Kwon et al. in view of CHENG teaches the display device of claim 10.
However, Kwon et al. in view of CHENG does not specifically further teach a protective layer disposed on the window, and wherein a sidewall of the protective layer protrudes outward more than a sidewall of the window.
Kwak et al. teaches a similar structure, which suggests a protective layer (600; figure 13) disposed on a lower layer, and wherein a sidewall (left and right side wall of 600) of the protective layer protrudes outward (see figure 13) more than a sidewall (see figure 13) of the lower layer.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further provide display device of Kwon et al. in view of CHENG with a protective layer disposed on the window, and wherein a sidewall of the protective layer protrudes outward more than a sidewall of the window, as suggested by Kwak et al., to protect the window layer.
18. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. U.S. Patent 10,929,635 in view of LEE et al. U.S. Pub. 2017/0237149.
Regarding claim 13, as mentioned above, Kwon et al. teaches the display device of claim 1.
However, Kwon et al. does not teach wherein a folding area to be folded and unfolded is defined in the display panel, and an opening is defined in a portion of the second lower functional layer overlapping the folding area.
LEE et al. et al. teaches a similar structure, comprising a folding area (see par[0212] and fig. 23A) to be folded and unfolded (implicitly taught) defined in the display panel.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the display panel of Kwon et al. to comprise a folding area to be folded and unfolded is defined in the display panel, as suggested by LEE et al., to achieve a folding display panel.
LEE et al. also suggests an opening (1124a; figure 11D) is defined in a portion of a functional layer (1120; figure 11D) overlapping the folding area.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further equip the display device of Kwon et al. with an opening (via 1124a at the folding axis; figure 11D of LEE et al.) is defined in a portion of the second lower functional layer overlapping the folding area, as suggested by LEE et al., to establish a loop antenna layer in said device.
Conclusion
/HUNG Q DANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2841 /IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841